Sony Alpha A7 III Reviews

$2,849.88 - $3,449.95 from 16 retailers
Manufacturer: Sony
Expert Reviews: 
 4.6
User Reviews: 
 4.8
 
 

Sony α7 Mark III ILCE7M3B

4.4
Verdict: Until now, Sony has been the only mirrorless camera manufacturer to offer cameras with ‘full-frame' sensors; but that's about to change. On 23 August Nikon will unveil its first mirrorless camera, which will have a full-frame sensor and a new lens mount.
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha a7 III review: All you need in one camera

4.0
Verdict: Sony Alpha a7 III review: This camera has everything you will need and it is not missing anything you would have wanted.
1 year ago
 

Sony a7 III

5.0
Verdict: The Sony a7 III looks a lot like the a7 II , but the upgrades inside are palpable. Its sensor offers the same resolution, but the BSI design improves high ISO performance. The autofocus system is vastly improved, with much wider coverage and 10fps capture.
Pros: 24MP full-frame BSI sensor. 10fps with tracking. 5-axis stabilization. 4K HDR video. Silent shooting available. Tilting touch LCD. Dual SD slots. Vastly improved battery. Focus joystick. Flat profiles available
Cons: Screen not true vari-angle. Only one card slot is UHS-II. No in-body flash. Accessory required for time-lapse. Shooting buffer must clear to start video. Dense menu system. Omits PC sync socket
1 year ago
 

Sony A7 III review

No reviews
Verdict: The Sony Alpha A7 III is a highly versatile and feature-packed camera that redefines what we can expect from a full-frame body at this price point. It delivers crisp and satisfying images from its 24 Megapixel full-frame sensor, captures good-looking 4k video in either full-frame or cropped APSC...
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

No reviews
Verdict: I genuinely think the Sony A7 III is a fantastic camera. Sony describes it as their "basic" option. For that, I understand the mentality. But for the professional photographer, I think the Sony A7 III has no real place in your bag. Instead, go for the Sony a7r III or the Sony a9.
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III review

No reviews
Verdict: The Alpha A7 III sits on the bottom rung of Sony's full-frame mirrorless camera range, and is designed to appeal to both keen enthusiast photographers and professionals.
Pros: 693-point AF system, 10fps burst shooting, Uncropped 4K video, 15-stop dynamic range, 5-axis image stabilization, Compact and durable body
Cons: Limited touchscreen control, Only one SD slot supports UHS-II cards
1 year ago
 

Sony A7 III Review: Sony Goes Back to Basics with Its Lower-End Full-Frame Mirrorless Camera

No reviews
Verdict: So much for "basic," Sony seems to be saying, the A7 III is a premium model worthy of its pricier full-frame stablemates: the high-resolution A7R III and the speedy A9 mirrorless cameras.
Pros: Scorecard, + Pro-level features at a more affordable price, + 10 fps continuous shooting in mechanical and silent modes, + 4K video, + Low noise at high ISOs
Cons: - Inferior weather sealing, - Lower-resolution rear LCD screen and EVF, - Confusing user interface
1 year ago
 

Sony A7 III

5.0
Verdict: Sony referred to the A7 III as a "basic model" during their early promotion, whether jokingly or not, but the A7 III is far from being basic. Indeed, it's so well-specced on paper that it surprised a lot of people who weren't expecting such a well-appointed camera, and thankfully that promise has...
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha 7 III review: The best mirrorless under £2,000

5.0
Verdict: Sony's A7 series has been around for over four years and, since the release of the original A7 and A7R at the start of 2014, the series has improved and expanded to help make Sony a major force in the market.
Pros: Compact size, Good video capabilities, Well-rounded set of features
Cons: No top-plate info LCD, Limited touchscreen facility, Electronic finder could be better
10 months ago
 

Sony Alpha7 III digital camera (review)

4.5
Verdict: The Sony Alpha7 III digital camera is an amazing device, managing to stuff a full frame sensor into a remarkably compact body. Capturing detail in a bright object (such as a fifty carat pink diamond) against a black background called for some exposure compensation.
Pros: Fast accurate photography, superb sensor, excellent exposure tuning
Cons: Display screen not touch sensitive, few trick modes (eg. time lapse, stop motion), slow battery charge
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

No reviews
Verdict: Sony's game-changer, the Alpha 7 III packs incredibly advanced features into an affordable full-frame body. You'll find a 35mm 24.2MP BSI sensor, and an outstanding 693-point phase detection autofocusing system, borrowed from the Alpha 9 , as well as the impressive tracking algorithms and Eye AF.
6 months ago
 

Sony A7 III Review

4.6
Verdict: The Sony Alpha A7 III is a feature packed and highly versatile body that sets a new benchmark for "entry-level" full-frame cameras. At $1,999, it's not exactly cheap, but for serious enthusiasts and even professional photographers, the A7 III offers a rich feature set at a reasonable price point.
8 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

No reviews
Verdict: USB 3.1 Gen 1 compatible USB Type-C™25 port makes high-speed PC Remote data transfer smooth and effortless, for handling large image files produced using PC-tethered shooting.
11 months ago
 

Sony a7 III Review

No reviews
Verdict: The a7 III announcement sent waves across the camera marketplace and as I complete this review, many weeks after the camera first hit the streets, it remains out of stock at all major retailers.
2 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

No reviews
Verdict: With three years since its predecessor the A7II, Sony's all-new A7III represents a revolution in its full-frame mirrorless lineup. With the groundbreaking A9 released last year, and the astounding A7RIII earlier this year, Sony claims that the new A7III combines characteristics of both flagship...
1 year ago
 

Sony A7 III

4.5
Verdict: It's hard to believe that Sony's A7-series has been in existence for well over four years now. It feels like only yesterday the manufacturer presented us with the original A7 and A7R, yet here we're looking at the third release of its most basic full-frame mirrorless camera, which advances in a...
Pros: Excellent value for money, Improved battery stamina, Fast and responsive autofocus system, Revised button layout for intuitive control
Cons: AF point illumination could be improved, Convoluted menu system, Thin plastic port covers aren't weather-sealed, Handles poorly with large gloves in cold climates
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

4.4
Verdict: Put simply, the Sony a7 III is a new benchmark for full frame cameras due to its compelling combination of value and capability – and the fact that this series of cameras has come so far in less than five years is impressive in its own right.
Pros: Generalist photographers, wedding, event and action shooters and those that need high quality video
Cons: Those that need more resolution for detailed scenes or large prints, those that need ultimate build quality for harsh shooting conditions
1 year ago
 

Sony A7 III

5.0
Verdict: Sony's "entry-level" full-frame mirrorless camera undergoes its third revision, and by most counts, it's better than ever -- better image quality, better performance, better video, better design and better battery life.
Pros: New 24MP sensor offers excellent image quality; Outstanding high ISO performance and dynamic range; Improved JPEG colors; Improved build quality; Fast autofocus; Excellent 4K video; Very good battery life, Newly developed full-frame 24MP BSI CMOS sensor offers excellent image quality, Outstanding...
Cons: Buffer clearing can be slow even with fast UHS-II cards; UHS-II support only on one card slot; No losslessly compressed RAW option; Dedicated battery charger not included; Menus are still confusing; No built-in flash, Buffer clearing can be slow even with fast UHS-II cards, Only one card slot is...
1 year ago
 

Sony a7 III Review

No reviews
Verdict: Let us save you a lot of time: If you're in the market for a new camera this year and can afford $2,000 for a body, by all means, buy the new Sony A7 III when it goes on sale this April. It really is one of the best interchangeable lens cameras we've ever handled.
Pros: Excellent still image quality, Excellent 4K video, 10 FPS continuous shooting, Significantly improved battery life, Best value in its class
Cons: Slightly heavier than mark II model
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

4.6
Verdict: The Sony Alpha A7 III might not have the highest resolution, fastest shooting speed or best video quality. But by borrowing features from the flagship A9 and A7R III, it's uniformly excellent at everything.
Pros: Stellar low-light/high ISO capability, Much-improved handling, Fast 10 fps shooting, Excellent autofocus, Sharpest 4K video of any Sony full-frame camera, Double the battery life of the last model
Cons: EVF and viewfinder not quite as good as rivals, Two SD card slots but only one is high-speed UHS-II, Not as weather-resistant as the Fujifilm's X-H1, No 10-bit video output like Panasonic's GH5s
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

No reviews
Verdict: The Sony a7 III is an excellent mirrorless camera. A full-frame sensor trimmed with the works -- a super fast, precise autofocus and Eye AF, long battery life, a wider ISO range and impressive noise reduction, 4K capabilities and IBIS, to name a few -- that won't cost you an arm and a leg is the...
Pros: For an affordable camera, the Sony a7 III is jam-packed with features you'll find in the more expensive bodies. It's got the autofocus power to keep up with many action shots and the very wide ISO range of the $4k Sony a9.
Cons: While the bad stuff we're about to mention aren't not necessarily bad, there are some of the things about this camera that make us hesitate and consider the more expensive options. Let's just call them limitations.
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

No reviews
Verdict: Sony's camera division has had a pretty eventful first half this year in India. From launching its latest action camera, the RX0 , to announcing the sixth edition of its highly popular point-and-shoot camera, the RX100, the company has shown no signs of slowing down.
Pros: Good battery life, Compact and well-built, High-quality stills with good dynamic range, 4K video support, Quick autofocusing
Cons: Low EVF resolution, Limited use of touchscreen
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

5.0
Verdict: About 10 days ago I switched to Sony FE system after 14 years with Canon cameras (Powershot A80, EOS 300D, 400D, 5D, 6D), and it seems that Ia€?m not going back. I spent almost half of my life shooting Canon, but after release of EOS 5D MkIV and EOS 6D MkII, I saw that these are not the cameras I...
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

5.0
Verdict: Fantastic! And I am a tough judge. Made me consider abandoning my Fuji system with 11 lenses... The only thing is it's ridiculously configurable, so you need to spend time to create your own 'My menu', otherwise you can never find anything.
9 months ago
 

Leaves you wanting nothing more!

5.0
Verdict: I have had the A7iii since it's pre-order release date... It is really a game changer! I cannot believe all of the features this body has packed into it... I think it will be many many years before you can find another camera with as many features at the price point that this is set at.
1 year ago
 

The Game Changer

4.0
Verdict: Coming from a previous model (A7II) this Camera (A7III) supersedes my expectations. The dynamic range is phenomenal. Performs superbly in low light situations. The Battery Life Is totally better than any other previous Sony camera I have ever owned. I would highly recommend this camera.
Pros: High ISO Capabilities Excellent High Dynamic Range Battery Life Image Quality Superb Auto Focus System Ergonomics Price
Cons: None
1 year ago
 

Wonderful Camera

5.0
Verdict: First mirrorless camera. Great built quality, great functionalities. Great all purpose camera!
9 months ago
 

So- ny- ear, so far, so good. (really good).

5.0
Verdict: I currently own another brand of full frame DSLR, (for topside use), and other brand of micro four thirds mirrorless, (for underwater in a housing use). I needed to go for something a little bit more compact than a full sized DSLR, but with more megapixels and pro functionality than a small micro.
7 months ago
 

The Best Camera I Have Ever Used!

5.0
Verdict: I recently bought the Nikon Z6 and fell in love with the build quality, but poor autofocus performance, limited native lens selection, subpar battery life and issues with the EVF (It shows a brighter image than what the camera will actually capture, Jared Polin talks about this in his Real World...
7 months ago
 

Really impressed

5.0
Verdict: This is not my first mirror less camera but it is my first full frame camera and my first Sony so it was a huge jump for me, I have been using canon for a few years now and I have to say I have no regrets, I am super impressed and very happy with my choice, I have actually picked up the Sony faster...
3 weeks ago
 

Camera of the year so far! 5 Stars across the boar

5.0
Verdict: One of the unique features of this camera is it's focusing and video capabilities! The dual card slot is a warm welcome. At this price point it's extremely difficult to find any real faults. Probably my only gripe is Sony should of at least include a charger.
1 year ago
 

Great, Game Changing Camera, With Some Issues

5.0
Verdict: I bought this camera to explore the exciting developments in auto focusing. Compared to previous Sony models, and to other manufacturers' models, the A7iii is so much better. But the big let down is the awful menu. Where do you find all the settings to get the most out of the auto focusing
Pros: Eye focus brilliant, portraits could be pinsharp, Great Picture Quality, The Auto focus system is stunning
Cons: Awful menu Organisation, Flimsy Construction
1 year ago
 

BEAST is an understatement

5.0
Verdict: I've been shooting with Sony for a while. I was shooting with eh a7sii and it was amazing autofocus was not the best but I shot some killer shoots on it like Post Malone, Newsboys, corporate videos and many weddings but the A7III is awesome no crop in 120 frames amazing battery life (killed 2...
8 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

5.0
Verdict: Two things this camera doesn't do compared to Canon's: 1) a front facing articulating swivel screen, and the workaround for this is basically pairing your smartphone as and when required (or modifying your screen hinges), and 2) feature a slick touchscreen with pinch-to-zoom and easy to use menu...
4 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

2.5
Verdict: This camera is revolutionary good. Sony has really moved the limit of what an entry level camera can do. With a price tag that guaranteed shaking Nikon's and Canon's marketing departments, a professional camera has been released in the budget package.
1 year ago
 

Sony Alpha A7 III

5.0
Verdict: It is a great camera with such horrible screen. The touch screen is hard to use with terrible translation. The main point I want to say is this expensive camera doesn't give you a battery charger, if I use cable to charge, it takes at least 5 hours, when I got my products I don't have any battery at...
5 months ago
 

Quality Quality Quality!

5.0
Verdict: Had this a few weeks now and tested it in various areas. I bought this to replace my A6500... and I am certainly impressed! Ive used Canon DSLRs since they first came out! But needed something that kind of does it all ( 4K video, handle various situations right across the board...
1 month ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X