TP-Link Deco M5 Reviews

$145.00 - $186.80 from 4 retailers
★★★★ 4.2
Manufacturer: TP-Link
X
4.2 ★★★★
Based on 44 reviews.
 

TP-Link Deco M5 Wi-Fi System

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: If you're looking to ditch your traditional router-extender setup for a whole-home Wi-Fi system, put the TP-Link Deco M5 Wi-Fi System on your short list. It's a cinch to install and provides automatic malware and virus protection to every client connected to the network.
Pros: 
  • Solid throughput performance
  • Robust parental controls
  • Built-in virus and malware protection
  • Easy to install
  • Well-designed mobile app
Cons: 
  • No web interface
  • Does not support dedicated band control
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 router review: This mesh network comes with a side of antivirus

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: TP-Link's Deco M5 isn't the absolute fastest whole-home Wi-Fi system on the market, but it delivers very good performance and a strong set of...
Pros: 
  • Very good overall performance
  • Built-in antivirus and anti-malware protection for the entire network
  • Unobtrusive industrial design
Cons: 
  • No dedicated channel for data backhaul
  • Must use a smartphone or tablet for setup and configuration
  • Available in three-packs only
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 Review

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: TP-Link's new Deco M5 mesh networking kit targets simplicity, but it's half-baked.
Pros: 
  • Unique circular design
  • Support for Ethernet-based Deco-to-Deco communication
Cons: 
  • Unstable Bluetooth mobile setup process
  • No web-based backend
  • Wireless AC devices have a 433Mbps limit
  • Shallow "advanced" features
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 Whole Home WiFi System Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Final Thoughts For their first entry into the whole-home WiFi market I think TP-Link has a very strong contender in the Deco M5 system. This is our first time taking a look at a system like this so we cannot compare it to others, but comparing it to typical routers we can definitely see some areas...
Pros: 
  • – Easy setup
  • – Better overall WiFi coverage than a normal router
  • – Small profile
  • – TPLink HomeCare included
  • – Great unboxing experience
Cons: 
  • – Not as many configuration options as a normal router
  • – Will need to buy a switch if you need multiple Ethernet ports
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 Whole Home Wi-Fi System Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Like mentioned above, the setup and configuration of the TP-Link Deco M5 is by far the easiest Wi-Fi router that I have ever set up. This is perfect for those who just want to plug it in and go. There is no need to fiddle with obscure settings or constantly tweak things.
Pros: 
  • Covers up to 4,500 square feet
  • Excellent parental controls
  • Quick and easy setup from mobile device
  • Covers up to 4,500 square feet
  • Excellent parental controls
  • Quick and easy setup from mobile device
Cons: 
  • More on expensive side
  • No web UI access
  • No advanced routing settings
  • More on expensive side
  • No web UI access
  • No advanced routing settings
4 years ago

TP-LINK Deco M5 Whole Home WiFi System Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: TP-Link Deco M5 is definitely an interesting WiFi system which takes advantage of the mesh technology, supports MU-MIMO data streaming, has a really good wireless performance (even if it's just dual-band) and it has an incredibly simple installation process.
Pros: 
  • Good Wireless Performance
  • Fast and Simple Installation Process
  • Really Well Done and Thorough Parental Controls
  • Ethernet + Wireless Backhaul
  • It Has A Competitive Price
Cons: 
  • The Antivirus as a Separate Paid Service After Three Years
  • Has Some Advanced Features
  • but the List is Short
  • App-Only Interface
4 years ago

The TP-Link Deco M5 Whole Home Wi-Fi System

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Overall, we were very impressed with the TP-Link Deco M5. While it didn't match our high-end router in terms of flat-out speed, we think it offers a fantastic overall networking solution for most households.
Pros: 
  • Very easy to use
  • robust network controls that parents will appreciate
  • excellent range
Cons: 
  • Flat-out speed not up to par with high-end routers
  • few tweaks available to power users
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 Whole-Home Wi-Fi System

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: At $299 for a set of three units, TP-Link's Deco M5 has more to offer than other similarly priced systems, like the Google Wifi , or the Luma . The most noticeable is the ability to keep the entire home network, including IoT devices, from online threats.
Pros: 
  • The Deco M5 Whole-Home Wi-Fi System is easy to use and delivers reliable Wi-Fi over a large area
  • The system has more features than most other systems, including the ability to protect the entire network against online threats
Cons: 
  • The M5 doesn't have a dedicated backhaul band, so it suffers from signal loss when its units are linked together wirelessly
  • It connects to TP-Link at all times and there's no access point mode for it to work well with an existing router
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 Whole Home Mesh WiFi System review

★★★★★
Verdict: Here at Bob's house, we're awash in technology. Between computers and gadgets, we probably have 15-20 different Wi-Fi enabled devices. But I'm not a gearhead. I don't like spending hours tinkering with network settings to keep everything up and running.
Pros: 
  • Easy to install
  • Robust management and user control features
  • Excellent coverage
  • Consistent
  • reliable performance
  • Excellent
  • hands-off antivirus and intrusion security
  • Remote control features allow you to manage your network from anywhere
Cons: 
  • Need to replace your existing network
  • Continuous data sharing with TP-Link could present some risks
  • Long-term pricing for the security package is unclear
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 Whole-Home Wi-Fi System

★★★★★
Verdict: The Deco M5 Whole-Home Wi-Fi System is definitely an appealing option for those looking to get setup with a Wi-Fi mesh network. It is easy to setup, provides uniform coverage over the area it claims to, and is rather attractively priced.
Pros: 
  • » Easy setup
  • » Provides reliable and consistent Wi-Fi coverage throughout the home
  • » HomeCare anti-virus and other security measures are welcome features
  • » Parental controls are very thorough and easy to setup
  • » Access point mode now available for those that don't want to replace existing...
Cons: 
  • » As a router
  • the features are rather limited
  • » Advanced configuration options are lacking
  • » No USB ports and very limited LAN ports
  • » In access point mode
  • most of the advanced features are disabled
  • » Advertised as AC1300
  • which isn't all that fast these days
  • » Wi-Fi tested slower than...
4 years ago

Got rid of my dead spots

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I purchased this because it will operate in access point mode (use my router) and is supports Ethernet backhaul. There were some minor setup glitches until the firmware updated. After updates and setup completed it has been bullet proof.
4 years ago

Easy to instal. Works great.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: We have very large victorian 3 story home with thick brick walls. Wifi and cell phone reception is very poor. We did have multiple either net ports throughout the house. We were able to set this up easily through the ethernet ports and we have super fast wifi throughout the house.
2 years ago

Disappointed!

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Unfortunately, I had constant issues with mine. The units had a lot of trouble during setup trying to get the mesh connected. After, setup my internet would drop ever so often for no reason whatsoever. I ran a constant ping and was losing about 15-20 percent of my packets.
3 years ago

Must have for Fios

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: If you have FIOS you must have this product. Easy set-up and looks nice if you need to have it out in the open. We now have four in our home and WiFi has never been better. You might even want to lower your speed. Update to follow on that. GS Queens
2 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 3-Pack

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The unit works Great -- Have a 3600 sq ft home and always had an issue in the far bedroom as well as the Rec Room - Put 3 units in and great coverage - Thanks to Crutchfield for advising me of this fix,
4 years ago

Excellent

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I have had this active for about a week. So far, they are working great. I would recommend purchasing them.
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5: A challenger for Google Wifi's crown

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: TP-Link has regularly topped the list of our favourite wireless routers at Expert Reviews in the past few years, but with mesh networking gaining ground over traditional methods of strengthening your home Wi-Fi coverage, it's having to change tack.
Pros: 
  • Great parental controls
  • Three-year antivirus built in
  • Strong wireless coverage
Cons: 
  • Slightly slow at close range
  • Pricier than BT Whole Home Wi-Fi
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: TP-Link is the latest networking company to launch a mesh network system. It's called Deco because the aim is to ‘paint your home with Wi-Fi'.
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Tired of patchy wifi using conventional extender system, so I wanted to try a mesh system. This one came recommended by "Which" as a Best Buy and was on sale at a discount so I took the plunge. Setting up the wired connection to the broadband modem was very straightforward.
3 years ago

Huge upgrade

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Really easy to install and add further units. We live in an old thick walled bungalow and WiFi has always been an issue. Used powerline etc which help but were never great. These have flooded the house in rock solid and fast WiFi.
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: MESH wifi was about the only option for seamless wifi in our brick century home. Our previous single point wifi solutions would not cover most of rear addition or second floor. We used a range extender for quite awhile however we would need to manually switch between the main SSID and the extender...
2 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: With multi-room mesh-based Wi-Fi solutions becoming more prominent, every networking brand out there has come out with their own trendy lifestyle routers. Routers that aren't conspicuous big grey boxes but devices as elegant and aesthetically appealing as any iPhone or Samsung flagship.
Pros: 
  • App works well
  • Setup is super easy
Cons: 
  • Settings can be light on detail
  • Minimalist design might not be for everyone
4 years ago

Review: TP-Link Deco M5 Whole Home W-Fi System

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Deco M5 is TP-Link's take on the increasing popular whole home Wi-Fi (mesh) product category. These little discs contain a total of four radios each, that act as a combination of Wi-Fi backhaul and client access.
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: In short, the TP-Link Deco M5 is a worthy entry to the low end of the mesh networking market, and it includes network-based antivirus and excellent parental controls. We prefer Google Wifi's app and the way it can proactively change channels to improve wireless performance and avoid interference,...
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 Mesh Wireless Router

★★★★★ 3.2
Verdict: The TP-Link Deco M5 system is an unobtrusive mesh router that is easy to setup and offers good performance.
4 years ago

This mesh router is horrible.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I am so disappointed with the Deco M5. It worked okay for the first couple of weeks but ever since (maybe after a firmware update) it has been horrible. We are not high bandwidth users but for the past 5 months, we have to reboot the main router 3-10 times a week.
Pros: 
  • Compact
3 years ago

TP-Link AC1300 Whole-Home Wi-Fi System, DECO M5 3P

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Very pleased with the product. We have a very long house and this was a great solution. Set up was easily accomplished via Bluetooth and my cell phone. We were up and running in about 20 minutes( have to set up 3 pods).
Pros: 
  • multiple "pods" to place in high usage areas
  • super easy set up
Cons: 
  • cost is high but worth it
4 years ago

Mesh Wifi Networks work !!!! This system is great

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought this a few days ago as the house wifi was not working well and we were not getting the most of our NBN50 internet. Some streaming devices kept buffering and my Google Home kept disconnecting.
3 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Mesh routers aren't exactly new, but until now they've tended to command the kind of price points that have kept them out of the reach of the majority. TP-Link hopes to change that with the Deco M5, which offers up a mesh system much cheaper than the competition.
Pros: 
  • Great value for money
  • Incredibly easy to configure
  • Good coverage
Cons: 
  • Not as fast as some
  • Lacks fine control
3 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 Mesh WiFi Network Review

★★★★★
Verdict: While many people are excited about Google WiFi , there's another name out there that is doing the same thing, and it's actually a bit cheaper. And that's the TP-Link Deco M5. Now TP-Link has been producing routers and other networking products for many years, so it arguably has more experience in...
4 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5, AC1300 Whole-Home Mesh Wi-Fi System - 1 Pack, TP-Link HomeCare include Antivirus, Parental Controls and QoS, Powered by Trend Micro

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Nice and simple to setup and then just starts working. Bigger range than my previous standard wifi router though still has a bit of trouble getting through my coloursteel cladding.
3 years ago

Amazing witeless

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I live in a house with big thick walls, and had been using power lines to get internet around the house. This mesh system is excellent. I found that they both needed updating, so just connected them with a network cable to my router and they did the rest.
3 years ago

EASY SETUP

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Having suffered "dead spots" with my existing WiFi, I decided to upgrade to a full MESH network and, after reading professional technical reviews, chose the Link DECO system. Setup was so easy, and trouble free straight out of the box.
3 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This is a great product. It creates a strong wifi signal in our house. As you need one unit to sit with existing wifi router, you really only have two units to place in dead zones around your home. Highly reccommended.
2 years ago

TP-Link (3-pack) AC1300 MU-MIMO Dual-Band Whole Home Wi-Fi System - White (Deco M5)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It really is mostly plug and play after downloading the app. It was definitely the easiest setup out of any router I have ever used. The mesh stations connect pretty seamlessly. No issue with connection speeds on the lower levels and it reaches quite a bit outside the house so I can use it when...
2 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 review: A brilliantly affordable mesh networking kit

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The TP-Link Deco M5 is a worthy entry to the low end of the mesh networking market. It's well priced at £230 for three nodes, includes network-based antivirus and excellent QoS controls.
Pros: 
  • Strong coverage
  • Good long-range speeds
  • Good value
Cons: 
  • Close-range performance isn't the best
3 years ago

So happy we got this!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This product fixed all our dead WiFi spots in the house and low signal strength. Our WiFi router was in the opposite side of the tv room so streaming Netflix or YouTube was awful. Now videos stream instantly.
Pros: 
  • Easily Expanded
  • Easy To Set Up
  • Fast
  • Reliable
  • Small
3 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Has now had my Deco M5 for over 3 months and it works perfectly in our single-storey house of 180 sqm. Covering the entire house without any problems. Especially like the possibility of being able to control the children's possibility of WiFi both in number of possible hours / day and set specific...
3 years ago

Excellent

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great product and it's improved my wi-fi considerably.
2 years ago

TP-LINK Deco M5 WiFi System Review (Retested After 2 Years)

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: The TP-Link Deco M5 was the first WiFi system released by the Shenzhen-based company in an attempt to join the then-already established group of systems, which included the the Linksys Velop , the Google WiFi and the Netgear Orbi .
2 years ago

TP-Link Deco M5 : A great value 3-box mesh Wi-Fi system that's now even cheaper

★★★★★ 5.0
Good wireless coverage, a great price and a strong selection of features, especially for parents
Pros: 
  • Great parental controls
  • Three-year antivirus built in
  • Strong wireless coverage
Cons: 
  • Slightly slow at close range
  • Pricier than BT Whole Home Wi-Fi
9 months ago

TP-Link Deco M5 : At £113, this is Prime Day 2021's BEST wireless network deal

★★★★★ 5.0
Good wireless coverage, a great price and a strong selection of features, especially for parents
Pros: 
  • Great parental controls
  • Three-year antivirus built in
  • Strong wireless coverage
Cons: 
  • Slightly slow at close range
  • Pricier than BT Whole Home Wi-Fi
7 months ago

TP-Link Deco M5 : A great value 3-box mesh Wi-Fi system

★★★★★ 5.0
Good wireless coverage, a great price and a strong selection of features, especially for parents
Pros: 
  • Great parental controls
  • Three-year antivirus built in
  • Strong wireless coverage
Cons: 
  • Slightly slow at close range
  • Pricier than BT Whole Home Wi-Fi
7 months ago

TP-Link Deco M5 : A great value 3-box mesh Wi-Fi system, reduced on Black Friday

★★★★★ 5.0
Good wireless coverage, a great price and a strong selection of features, especially for parents
Pros: 
  • Great parental controls
  • Three-year antivirus built in
  • Strong wireless coverage
Cons: 
  • Slightly slow at close range
  • Pricier than BT Whole Home Wi-Fi
1 month ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X