Lacie Rugged v2 Thunderbolt 9000491 500GB Reviews

$609.72 - $669.00 from 2 retailers
★★★★ 4.1
Manufacturer: Lacie
X
4.1 ★★★★
Based on 23 reviews.
 

Hands-On: Lacie Rugged Safe Hard Drive Review

★★★★★
Verdict: The Lacie Rugged Safe drive is available in 500GB and 1TB and uses 128bit AES (Advanced Encryption Standard) hardware encryption with Fingerprint Scanner Technology to secure any data stored on the device.
11 years ago

LaCie Rugged Hard Disk 500GB review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: LaCie's Rugged Hard Disk gets its name from its rigid metal case and the thick orange rubber bumper that surrounds it. Although we wouldn't want to drop any hard disk, the Rugged feels more robust than many disks.
13 years ago

Lacie Rugged v2 Thunderbolt 9000491 500GB

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: World-renowned designer, Neil Poulton, is at the centre of this superb creation that offers the user a fantastic portable storage solution. It comes with a high-speed USB 2.0 interface connection that's bus powered and plug-and-play compatibility for both PC and Mac users.
12 years ago

Lacie Rugged v2 Thunderbolt 9000491 500GB

★★★★★
Verdict: This is hardly the first time that we're meeting Huawei products for the pages of our website, but these were mostly manufactured by other companies and merely signed by Huawei. After the Ideos 7 Slim... We first saw the famed iPad back in 2010, when it debuted at Apple retail stores.
12 years ago

Don't expect longevity

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Hard drive was on my desk for two years. Only plugged it in to back up maybe once a week. After two years, it started making noises. Customer service is horrible at Lacie. Sales dept is good, Once its out of warranty tech dept won't talk to you without giving your credit card number Crash......
Pros: 
  • Portable
  • Quiet
Cons: 
  • Unreliable
10 years ago

Easy and rugged

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros: 
  • Attractive Design
  • lots of storage space
  • Rugged design
Cons: 
  • None
10 years ago

Do not buy this piece of garbage. I've barely used this and the cables are ...

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Do not buy this piece of garbage. I've barely used this and the cables are so loose they won't even stay in my computer for more than 5 seconds. Very frustrating when i'm trying to edit photos. Don't waste your time
4 years ago

This is a great back-up Plan

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I am always concerned that I may loose my valuable information saved on my computer. I came across this nice back-up drive and am happy I did so. I love the portability and the look of this hard drive. It was very easy to use and I would recommend it to anyone.
10 years ago

Works great!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Plug and play rugged drive. Well designed. I love the association of orange rubber and aluminum. Besides that the drive is a real workhorse. Would recommend it without hesitation to anyone looking for a reliable external hard drive!
10 years ago

LaCie Rugged 500GB External

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Got this drive because we were going to have to support a lot of Macs where I work. Spoke with the Apple engineers that were sent out to setup our servers and they suggested an external firewire drive for imaging, saving stuff, installing, etc. I h...
11 years ago

LaCie Rugged Hard Disk 500 GB: A firm warning to potential buyers

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I wish I had bought a different product
Pros: 
  • Does not require an adaptor
  • features a range of ports
Cons: 
  • Low quality materials
  • gimicky construction
  • is in no way rugged
  • unreliable
  • overpriced
9 years ago

Lacie Rugged v2 Thunderbolt 9000491 500GB

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: ive been using it for sometime and i really enjoy it
Pros: 
  • really good item and good pricing
Cons: 
  • None
9 years ago

LaCie Rugged Hard Disk

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: I am very pleased with my LaCie Rugged 500GB All Terrain Hard disk. It has ample space, very compact & with it's protective casing I am not worried about it getting bashed as I carry it around.
9 years ago

LaCie Rugged All-Terrain Hard Drive

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Good Strong, tough build. Wide range of capacities available. True plug and play, including USB 1.1. Bus-powered. Support for Mac OS 9 and Mac OS X.
Pros: 
  • Strong, tough build
  • Wide range of capacities available
  • True plug and play, including USB 1.1
  • Bus-powered
  • Support for Mac OS 9 and Mac OS X
Cons: 
  • Large price gap between USB and FireWire models
  • No Activity light
14 years ago

It's awesome

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The LaClie Firewire drive is much faster than my previous Verbatim firewire drive. I am still using using the Firewire 400 connection to back up my server. I recommend it to everyone who has critical files to back-up from a Mac.
9 years ago

LaCie Rugged Hard Disk review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Keeping your valuable data safe from some nasty computer spasm that wipes it back to a line of useless noughts is very sensible. And if you're going to back up, you may as well do it with a hard-drive that can survive an apocalyptic nuclear blast.
13 years ago

LaCie Rugged Hard Drive

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Fresh from their colourful 'Bricks' series of hard drives, LaCie has released a new 'rugged' external storage drive, cased in aluminum and protected by a rather bright orange rubberized coating.
Pros: 
  • Triple interface
  • no power required
Cons: 
  • Small drop distance
  • No protection for rear ports
15 years ago

AWESOME USB DRIVE!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I absolutely LOVE this drive. I use it with my MacBook as my backup drive, as well as for my Aperture, iPhoto, and iTunes libraries so that I can keep my local hard drive free and clear. It's completely USB powered with no need for additional power supply, making this drive VERY portable.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Setup
  • Easy to use
  • High Capacity
  • Portable
  • Quiet
  • USB Powered
Cons: 
  • NA
12 years ago

Don't know why LaCie is still in business

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: If you enjoy "Delayed Write Failed" errors when transferring files overnight with no clue where it left off, then finding that your NTFS partition is hosed, then this is the drive for you. Two in a row with the same issue.
10 years ago

LaJunk

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Please, please do not waste your money on this piece of junk. I had my Lacie for less than a year and it constantly had problems mounting onto my computer. The Firewire cable or port must have been faulty. I should have seen it as a warning sign. Now it won't mount AT ALL, even with other cables.
Pros: 
  • Nice design
Cons: 
  • Unreliable
  • Prone to failure
9 years ago

Lacie Rugged 500GB review

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: The name of the Lacie Rugged immediately gives you a good indication of the aim of this eye-catching external hard drive. Lacie has opted for a robust plastic box that cradles the hard drive inside, and will absorb any shocks and knocks should you drop it.
12 years ago

Reliable, bus powered AND rugged

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • Durable
  • Good Value
  • High Quality
Cons: 
  • none
13 years ago

"External Hard-drive fit for rugged adventures"

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The LaCie Rugged All-Terrain External 250 hard-drive is a portable storage device which will allow you to store 250gb of multimedia files such as pictures, music and video. You will obviously also be able to hold documents and other files as well (e.g. software installations).
Pros: 
  • Fast transfer speed
  • protection from knocks and drops
Cons: 
  • Fairly high price
13 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X