Canon EOS 80D Reviews

Expert Reviews: 
 4.3
User Reviews: 
 4.9
 
 

Canon 80D Review

4.1
Verdict: This camera is not specifically "the best" at very much. Cameras like the Nikon D7500 outmuscle it in terms of autofocus and ISO performance, while mirrorless cameras are ahead in features, and Canon's own Rebel lineup wins for price.
1 year ago
 

Canon EOS 80D DSLR Review

No reviews
Verdict: The Canon EOS 80D has a list price of $1,199. For more information, visit usa.canon.com .
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D review: The mid-range master

5.0
Verdict: If you're looking to drop a four-figure wedge of cash of a mid-range DSLR - one that'll last you for a good stretch of time - then Canon is one of the names that so often floats to the surface; the crema on the coffee, if you will.
Pros: Continuous autofocus unparalleled at this level, 100% optical finder (finally), fast performance and significant buffer, decent image quality throughout, vari-angle touchscreen (with speedy live view
Cons: No 4K video, no second SD slot, viewfinder flare from direct light sources, off-centre 1-point AF not always perfect, no speed increase over 70D, finish looks plasticky
3 years ago
 

Review: the Canon EOS 80D does everything but say cheese

4.2
Verdict: They're right, of course, but focus is pretty damn important too – and that's why Canon's new EOS 80D is one of the best cameras we've used in ages.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D review

4.0
Verdict: The EOS 80D makes a number of key improvements over its predecessor, but its core appeal remains unchanged: the speed and confidence of a traditional mid-range DSLR coupled with one of the best movie and live view autofocus systems on the market.
Pros: Good quality 24 Megapixel stills and 1080p movies, Large viewfinder with 100% coverage and on-demand grid lines, Broad and dense 45-point viewfinder AF system, Superb continuous AF during Live View and movies, Fully-articulated touchscreen, Built-in Wifi / NFC with smartphone or computer remote...
Cons: No 4k video or 1080p above 60p for slow motion, Still photos a little less crisp than those from the D7200, Doesn't have twin memory card slots, No GPS / location logging on smartphone app, No focus peaking
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

No reviews
Verdict: Sporting a new 24MP APS-C CMOS sensor coupled with Canon's Dual Pixel on-sensor phase-detection autofocus system, this Camera dominates the 70D's autofocus (AF) system. The 80D also brings in a new 45-point hybrid AF system with all of the points being cross-type.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D Full Review

4.5
Verdict: The new Canon EOS 80D is an update to the 20.2 megapixel 70D DSLR, released back in 2013, and it features a new 24.2 megapixel CMOS sensor and DIGIC 6 processor, alongside a new 45 all cross-type point AF system and a 7fps shooting rate.
Pros: Excellent image quality, Improve noise performance, Excellent focus and shutter response speeds, Live view focus and shutter response is equally fast, Auto White Balance options, 3inch vari-angle touch-screen, Larger 100% view viewfinder, Excellent battery life, Electronic level, Wi-Fi / NFC...
Cons: No auto panoramic shooting mode, Some competitors at this price point offer quicker continuous shooting
3 years ago
 

Goondu review: Canon EOS 80D DSLR

No reviews
Verdict: When I first handled the Canon EOS 80D, I thought I was holding a 70D. Sure, there are some changes to the button design, but for the large part, the camera remains largely untouched. This includes the button placements.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D Review

No reviews
Verdict: Canon EOS 80D Review – On paper, the Canon EOS 80D with 18-135mm IS lens kit is equipped with a lot of goodies. It weighs 730 grams (body only) and has a 24.2 Megapixels APS-C CMOS sensor.
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

4.2
Verdict: The Canon EOS 80D is a refinement of the popular enthusiast Canon EOS 70D. While the body largely remains unchanged compared to its predecessor, the 80D has received a new imaging sensor, a new metering sensor and a revamped AF system.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

4.5
Verdict: It's not revolutionary, but the 80D is still a fine DSLR for the right user.
3 years ago
 

FIRST LOOK - Canon EOS 80D

4.4
Verdict: In the 2.5 years between the EOS 70D and its successor, Canon has released seven DSLR cameras: four with APS-C sized sensors and three 'full frame' models. The most recent was the professional EOS-1D X Mark II, which was announced on 2 February.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

No reviews
Verdict: Even as professionals were catered to by the launch of the top of the range EOS 1D X Mark II at the beginning of this year, next in line for some upgrade love were prosumers and enthusiasts, as Canon launched the follow-up to the well received EOS 70D (review) , the appropriately named 80D, which...
Pros: Excellent autofocus system, Improved sensor, Compact sensor, Wi-Fi and NFC onboard
Cons: Small command wheel, Expensive
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D Review

No reviews
Verdict: I would not be completely forthright to omit a last piece of advice to those considering the addition of an 80D to their kits. While "80D" appears a fine name in print, quickly saying the name to someone who is unfamiliar with the model name will likely come across as "A.D.D.
3 years ago
 

Canon 80D

4.5
Verdict: Sporting a new, higher-resolution 24MP sensor, a faster processor and a beefed-up 45-point AF system, the Canon 80D builds upon foundation laid out by the 70D and its excellent Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology.
Pros: Very good image quality; Better RAW high ISO performance than predecessor; Improved buffer depth; Very fast AF; Dual Pixel CMOS AF is excellent; f/8 AF support; 1080/60p video; Headphone jack; Very good battery life
Cons: New kit lens isn't very sharp; No 4K video; No clean HDMI out; 29:59 minute video recording limit; Phase detect AF not as sensitive in low-light as expected (Dual Pixel AF better in low-light)
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

No reviews
Verdict: Canon's double-digit EOS line has actually been in existence since the launch of the 6.3MP 10D way back in 2003. Since then, the brand's enthusiast-level range has evolved consistently, always offering decent features and a reasonable price-tag.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D Review

4.0
Verdict: Unbeatable autofocus puts Canon's EOS 80D at the top of its class for video.
Pros: Excellent 24-megapixel stills, Best DSLR autofocusing for movie capture, 45-point autofocus system, Headphone jack
Cons: No 4K video
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

4.5
Verdict: The Canon EOS 80D is a prosumer APS-C digital SLR camera. Successor to the three year old 70D, the EOS 80D features a 24.2 megapixel CMOS sensor, an updated Dual-Pixel CMOS AF system which now additionally offers continuous autofocus during live view stills shooting, an Intelligent Viewfinder which...
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D review: A solid upgrade but not much more

3.0
Verdict: Update: You might have expected the price of a camera launched in 2016 to have fallen by now, but the Canon 80D is about the same as it was when it first appeared. You can get hold of one, body only for just shy of a grand and in kit form from around £1,300 with an 18-135mm zoom lens.
Pros: Competent all-rounder, Excellent autofocus in video capture
Cons: Sometimes overexposes high-contrast scenes in JPEG mode, No 4K video capture, Still image autofocus not the most reliable
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D - One Step Up

4.0
Verdict: Canon's new midrange EOS 80D is an attempt at bridging the gap between enthusiast gear and pro gear. It's got several cool features for the average user and a few nice options for more advanced users.
Pros: Great image quality, Solidly built, Easy to use
Cons: Included lens lets the camera down a little, Fiddly to pair with smartphone, Not easily portable
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D Review: Great DSLR for Video

4.0
Verdict: The Canon EOS 80D is great for photographers who want to step up from Canon's Rebel line, as well as 70D owners who want to upgrade to a much better AF system. But there are other cameras in this APS-C class that are worth considering, such as the Nikon D7200 ($1,200).
Pros: 45 Autofocus points, Articulated LCD, Microphone and headphone jacks
Cons: No 4K video, Single card slot
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D Review

No reviews
Verdict: The Canon 80D is just what it is advertised to be – a mid-range DSLR that won't set any spec sheets on fire but is serviceable across a wide range of applications. It is a worthy successor to what Canon started with the 70D for both still and video shooters.
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D review

4.5
Verdict: The new 80D, which replaces the 70D launched in July 2013, sits smack in the middle of Canon's SLR line-up, above the 760D and below the 7D Mark II. That puts it in prime enthusiast territory, which means it needs to appeal to people who want to shoot a range of subjects in a variety of conditions.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

No reviews
Verdict: Canon's EOS 80D is a fully loaded DSLR featuring an APS-C sized, 24.2-Megapixel CMOS imaging sensor with dual-pixel technology. Its large body also houses a DIGIC 6 image processor, a 45-point Cross-Type AF system, 3.0-inch LCD screen, Built-in WiFi, and the ability to capture full 1080p HD videos.
Pros: The camera is accurate in all shooting modes, providing excellent exposures, Canon EF-mount supports one of the best collections of lenses you will ever find, 24.2-Megapixel CMOS imaging sensor provides loads of detail and a very high quality image, Dual-Pixel AF works wonders for Live View shooting...
Cons: Does not allow video shooting at any time, the camera must be set to capture video, Higher ISO settings show very high levels of noise and low detail, Custom controls are limited compared to higher level cameras, No 4K video capture, which is becoming more popular
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D Review

4.0
Verdict: At a glance: Comparing Canon's current DSLR line-up with what it was three or four years ago highlights how, today, the manufacturer offers a wider range of models catering for all types of photographer and sizes of budget.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

No reviews
Verdict: The EOS 80D camera features a powerful mechanical shutter system with electronically controlled speeds from 1/8000 to 30 sec. at up to 7 fps. An improved mirror drive enables high-speed, low-vibration performance, and even has a silent mode for up to 3 fps, continuous and quiet use.
1 year ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

4.5
Verdict: The Canon EOS 80d is the perfect amateur professional camera which captures that perfect shot!
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D Review

No reviews
Verdict: Canon has created an excellent camera that makes a worthwhile upgrade from the 70D. It's well-built with sensibly arranged controls, has good ergonomics and an extensive feature set, and can be set up to suit your shooting style. Most importantly, the image quality is superb with lots of detail.
10 months ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

4.0
Verdict: Canon's midrange SLR family, including cameras like the previous-generation 70D and the current 80D ($1,199, body only), has long been a solid choice for photographers who feel that the consumer-friendly Rebel line is lacking, but don't need to move up to the pro-grade 7D Mark II or any of the...
Pros: 45-point autofocus system. 7fps capture with focus tracking. Vari-angle touch-screen display. Pentaprism viewfinder. Smooth video autofocus. 1/8,000-sec shutter and 1/250-sec flash sync. Wi-Fi with NFC
Cons: No 4K video support. Single SD card slot. Omits PC sync connection
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D review

5.0
Verdict: The 80D is a really lovely camera to use. Everything is just so effortless - you pick it up, point it at something, click away and get a load of great, in-focus pictures back. Then, if you want, you can connect via Wi-Fi and download them to your phone.
Pros: Superb focusing in all modes, Excellent image quality, Wi-Fi and app features actually work, Swivelling touchscreen and plenty of controls
Cons: Bigger than a non-DSLR (obviously, Pricey, No 4K video
3 years ago
 

Great pictures immediately

5.0
Verdict: I bought this camera for a trip to Alaska. I did not have time to learn all of the features so used it in auto most of the time. The auto focus is fast and mostly accurate. With the long lens I got great wildlife shots of high quality. The camera is light and easy to carry with either lens attached.
1 year ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

5.0
Verdict: LOVE IT!! FIRST CAMERA AND I LOVE IT. IT MAKES ME SO EXCITED TO SHOOT. It's extremely comfortable to hold its light and makes me so more passionate about shooting and I just love it I can't wait to get home from work to go shoot I can't wait to start doing night time shooting it's amazing.
1 year ago
 

Great camera

5.0
Verdict: I bought this camera as an upgrade to my t5i. This dslr is a great enthusiast camera. I love the features. Great choice for a budding pro or experienced hobbyist.
1 year ago
 

Canon EOS 80D ! Just Awosome ...

4.3
Verdict: Moving images aren't entirely negated, of course, with the camera capable of handing Full HD 1080p capture, including both a microphone and headphones sockets for the videographers out there. It's only the lack of 4K capture which sees some competitors, Panasonic GH4 included, offer more.
2 years ago
 

Mostly happy with my new 80D BUT it's early days.

5.0
Verdict: I bought this camera less than a month ago along with the EF 100-400mm IS Mk2 lens. After very minimal use to dateand approximately 500 shots I've encountered a very annoying problem. The camera freezes while make adjustments e.g. changing exposure compensation, selecting a focus point/pattern.
3 months ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

5.0
Verdict: I bought this camera together with the 18-135mm USM nano. I already owned a Panasonic FZ1000 and a Canon Sl1. I bought the camera because I was not completely satisfied anymore with the Panasonic FZ 1000 and because the sl1 had only 18 mp.
5 months ago
 

Far better than expected

5.0
Verdict: I had a Canon SLR back in the days of 35 mm film, purchased a compact camera when digital came along but having recently retired and getting out more decided to take the plunge and I have to say I have no regrets at all, this camera is fantastic in every respect.
1 month ago
 

80D - best cropped sensor DSLR you can buy.

5.0
Verdict: Upgraded to this mainly for video. Dual phase continuous auto focus is a beast, weathproof unit, headphone jack for live monitoring, must goes on. lots of full reviews and comparisons on line. If you want the best without going full frame, spend the $$ and get this.
2 years ago
 

What a great camera!

4.0
Verdict: One of the best decisions I've ever made buying this camera! I researched this product and could find nothing but positive reviews. When I received it and was able to hold it you can feel and see the great quality. So far it has exceeded all my expectations!
Pros: Wifi Nice big touch screen
Cons: None
2 years ago
 

great camera

5.0
Verdict: I bought this as an upgrade to my 700d, and so far so good. It's only been a week so I haven't got to use all the features. It's heavier than the 700d, but can do so much more. I'm semi pro and it's handl8ng of different situations is very good. I would definitely recommend it.
2 years ago
 

Fantastic camera. I leave my 5d MkIII home now ...

5.0
Verdict: Fantastic camera. I leave my 5d MkIII home now when I travel for pleasure. It is light and the AF is fantastic. Pity no Cinestyle or Magic lantern as of now.
2 years ago
 

Great Purchase

5.0
Verdict: The package had everything that I wanted and at a great price. I couldn't find anyone else selling it cheaper. Shipping was fast!!!
Pros: The package had everything that I wanted and at a great price. I couldn't find anyone else selling it cheaper. Shipping was fast!!
Cons: Can't think of anything negative
3 years ago
 

Awesome Update

5.0
Verdict: This camera is awesome! I've been getting more into photography over the past 3-4 years using a Canon DSLR Rebel T3i. I've been wanting a camera with more auto focus points and faster shutter speed. I was debating between the 5D and the 80D.
3 years ago
 

cNet Pricing

4.0
Verdict: cNet posted pricing from various sources, but didn't check whether they are quoting pricing of the model reviewed. 42nd Street, was using an older model lens, neither STM or USM.
Pros: Good Review
Cons: Bad Pricing
3 years ago
 

Great camera, better-than-expected lens

5.0
Verdict: If I was given the choice, I would buy this product in a heartbeat. I'm not a big 4K Person, so 4K doesn't bother me. I would have, though, liked to have the choice of ALL-I 1080p at 60fps for better mastering and color rendering in post-production.
Pros: a) This camera is FAR more solidly built than I had expected I initially thought it would be a simple "body upgrade" from a Canon Rebel T2i, but the build quality of the camera, along with the substantial weathersealing that this camera has, makes it a more balanced camera when dealing with...
Cons: a) My 24-70 doesn't always play nice with this camera. Some lenses may need calibration via AFMA (Autofocus Micro Adjustment) in order to do their best on this camera. That being said, I really have to pixel peep to make this condition happen, and most of it is because I don't hold the lens ideally...
2 years ago
 

Canon 80D

5.0
Verdict: Love this camera and all the features. I would defiantly recommend to buy at Sam's club because of all the additional features you get with it.
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS 80D

5.0
Verdict: I have had this camera almost 6 months now and still learning to use it to its full potential. Its predecessor was a Canon T3i 600D which was pretty good for learning and I transferred much of the knowledge to the 80D so I had a good basic understanding but the 80D goes much further, more facilities...
8 months ago
 

My first Big Boy camera

5.0
Verdict: Ive waited a year to write this review in order to let the learning curve flatten out. I am an amateur but I think Ive gotten pretty decent thanks to this camera. First, Im glad that I went with a lighter DSLR version rather than jumping right in with a full frame.
9 months ago
 

Excellent Camera

5.0
Verdict: I'm loving this camera so far. I just upgraded from the Rebel T6 and it definitely feels more sturdy and it takes better photos. I'm loving the AF system and everything about this DSLR. I plan to use this for a long time.
10 months ago
Powered by
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X