Asus RT-AC88U AC3100 Reviews

$566.32 - $594.00 from 3 retailers
★★★★ 4.4
Manufacturer: Asus
X
4.4 ★★★★
Based on 32 reviews.
 

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Excellent wi-fi signal. Having 8 hard-wired Ethernet ports is really helpful. The USB-3 port works great for my terabyte USB drive -- now everyone on the home network can use it. I needed to call ASUS tech support during setup, and the experience was excellent -- only a few seconds wait time, and...
2 years ago

Expensive, but loaded with useful features

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this to replace a six month old Netgear R7500. I was so fed up with that. It kept loosing settings and needed a reboot. It was running the latest FW too. Anyway, I saw a review of this and have many other ASUS products all of which perform very well. This router is the mutts.
5 years ago

Not worth the hassle at all

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I use Mac address and Password for a secure wireless connection well. When I first got it, it worked flawlessly for the first 2 to 3 hours. Then my network wouldn't show up at for hours.
Pros: 
  • 8 Ports
  • Tons of features
Cons: 
  • Connection / Broadcast Problems
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Really good router, it works perfectly across all my wireless devices in 2.4G and 5G frequencies. This router works with BT fiber internet and it can be connected directly to the fiber outlet without the BT Router. It also works with BT TV Box without the need to use the BT router which is amazing.
3 years ago

ASUS RT-AC88U MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Gaming Router, Dual-Band & Quad-Stream AC3100, 8 x Gigabit LAN Ports, 2 x USB, 4 x HighPerformance Antennas, Link Aggregation, Beamforming, Smart Connect, QoS, VPN, Game Accelerator,

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Got this to replace the standard Vodafone netcomm router as it was disconnecting from the modem quite frequently for no apparent reason. It reviewed well enough in my google search so thought I would give it a try.
4 years ago

At last a Wifi router for India. Great range, Great speed.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Was only buying Dlink, Netgear and linksys routers. Though I have and used ASUS products earlier. Never thought of them for routers. Read many good reviews in the media and decided to give it a try. Really great router for thick walled Indian houses, great range and ease of use.
4 years ago

"Amazing"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: As always, Asus has provided yet another amazing product that exceeds expectations (my last router was the Asus RT-AC66U). Definitely worth the asking price, especially if you have UFB!
5 years ago

Screaming fast and reliable.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Hard not to like this wireless router. Fast, easy to use and loaded with features.
5 years ago

Fast, Pretty, Only a Few Flaws

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The ASUS RT-AC88U in everyday use, well you don't actually notice it. Previously I was shouting at my WiFi devices because the signal was terrible, distancing my device beyond arm's length putting my shoulder out.
5 years ago

ASUS RT-AC88U WiFi Cable & Fibre Router - AC 3100, Dual-band

★★★★★ 1.5
Pros: 
  • Great speeds, never seems to miss a beat
  • Great addition of usb3 for use as nas drive Enough LAN ports to satisfy anyone Only reason I gave it an 8 is due to cost
Cons: 
  • Cost Usb3 port on front not rear
4 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U Dual-Band Router

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: The Asus RT-AC88U ($299.99) is a dual-band 802.11ac router with a massive feature set and an equally large price tag. It uses Multi-User Multiple Input, Multiple Output (MU-MIMO) technology to serve multiple Wi-Fi clients simultaneously without sacrificing bandwidth.
Pros: 
  • Loaded with ports and management features
  • Multi-User Multiple Input, Multiple Output (MU-MIMO) enabled
  • Speedy throughput performance in testing
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Middling file-transfer speeds on our tests
5 years ago

ASUS RT-AC88U

★★★★★
Verdict: About half-year ago review of ASUS RT-AC3200 wireless router was published on our pages. About a model that came to our laboratory today it is known that it has a wireless formula AC3100 that means maximum theoretical wireless data transmission speed equal to 3.1 Gbps. What is it, a setback?
Pros: 
  • High data transmission speeds in both wireless ranges
  • Ability of port aggregation
  • High speeds of IPv6 traffic handling
  • Availability of QoS and AiProtection mechanisms
  • Support of MU-MIMO
  • High access speeds to data on external USB storage
  • Availability of high-performance VPN-server and client,...
Cons: 
  • Capabilities of port aggregation are strongly restricted
  • The web-interface is not completely translated
4 years ago

ASUS PCE-AC88 Dual-Band AC3100 Wireless PCIe Adapter Review

★★★★★
Verdict: At the time of writing, the ASUS PCE-AC88 4×4 Wireless AC3100 PCIe Adapter can be yours for just $119.34 at NewEgg , £89.99 at Scan Computers , and €96.99 through Geizhals . A more than fair price for one of the most advanced WiFi cards available.
Pros: 
  • Great performance
  • Great looks with the large red heatsink
  • Remote antenna mounting with base
  • SFF compatible
  • Fair price
Cons: 
  • Antenna base cable is fixed
  • so you're limited to the included 1-meter distance
5 years ago

ASUS RT-AC88U Wireless-AC3100 Dual-band Gigabit Router

★★★★★
Verdict: There's nothing much we can complain on the RT-AC88U except for the price itself and in fact, the RT-AC88U did a pretty good job in overall. No compromise in terms of the internet connection speed, excellent wireless signal strength as well as coverage, Significant improvement in latency during ping...
Pros: 
  • Easy to setup
  • Dual band support
  • Excellent wireless signal strength
  • Excellent features
  • Looks great
  • Able to support more devices connected via wireless connection
  • USB storage sharing that act like a NAS for quick and easy file sharing
Cons: 
  • Hefty price tag
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100

★★★★★
Verdict: For larger houses, sometimes the distance of a desktop PC to the router is too far for an Ethernet cable, or sometimes you just don't want to have unsightly cables around. That's when you use a Wi-Fi adapter like ASUS' latest PCE-AC88. There's a lot to like about the PCE-AC88, like the packaging.
Pros: 
  • Flexible placement
  • Great reception
  • Faster speeds
Cons: 
  • Needs an AC router to perform well
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: A second wave of 802.11ac wireless routers have begun to appear, and the new must-have feature is MU-MIMO, short for Multiple User, Multiple Input, Multiple Output. We already reviewed the first two MU-MIMO routers we could get our hands on from , and now Asus has entered the fray with a dual-band...
5 years ago

Asus' RT-AC88U router & RP-AC68U repeater reviewed

★★★★★
Verdict: After running hundreds of speed tests and measuring Wi-Fi coverage over more than 20,000 square feet of yard, I'm confident we've put the RT-AC88U and RP-AC68U through their paces. We may have even pushed them to their limits in some areas.
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100

★★★★★
Verdict: The ASUS RT-AC88U is an AC3100 class router featuring a mouth-watering eight gigabit ports supporting link aggregation. One of the LAN ports can also be converted into a WAN port providing support for a dual-WAN configuration.
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: The ASUS RT-AC88U is a unique and great looking solution that fits between the AC2600 and AC5300 markets. While this router may be a bit early in terms of client support, it does offer eight Gbe ports along with future-proof wireless technology.
5 years ago

Review: Asus PCE-AC88 AC3100

★★★★★ 3.4
Verdict: The Asus PCE-AC88 Dual-Band AC3100 Wireless PCI-E Adapter is the company's take on a premium wireless NIC for those who can't connect their desktops directly to their routers but still demand fast network speeds.
5 years ago

Hands-On with the Asus RT-AC88U Router

★★★★★
Verdict: ASUS has a number of routers doing the rounds currently that are aimed at the gamer, with the ‘dead spider' (or AC5300) being the iconic one in terms of design. While the RT-AC88U that we got our hands on does not have the looks of the aforementioned router, it is itself no ugly duckling, and does...
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100

★★★★★
Verdict: ASUS fanbois have been all worked up about the RT-AC88U, judging from SNBForums discussions. But neither our chamber nor real life tests provide reason for such excitement, at least on the basis of wireless performance. What Forum posters seem most excited about is that the router just works .
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U

★★★★★
Verdict: On balance, the Asus RT-AC88U is near impossible to beat. It's blazingly fast, relatively easy to set up and use, and about as feature-laden a router as you are likely to find. In addition to terrific wireless performance, its support for wired networking is superb.
Pros: 
  • Fast data transfer rates
  • Good range
  • Feature packed
  • Easy to set up and use
Cons: 
  • Relatively pricey
  • Could be overkill if you have a slower Internet connection
4 years ago

QUALITY PRODUCT

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Australian firmware loaded.
2 years ago

ASUS RT-AC88U Dual-Band Wireless AC3100 Gigabit Router Review

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: ASUS is one of the leading networking products manufacturer in the world, but its span does not stop there, as it also had great success with its smartphones, tablets, laptops and computer hardware (especially the motherboards). This shows how much the Taiwanese Company has grown over the years.
Pros: 
  • Great WiFi Performance
  • Great Coverage
  • Attractive Design
  • Great Interface
  • Dual-WAN
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Lack Of Clients To Fully Use the Router's Capabilities
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100 Dual-Band Router Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: The RT-AC88U is an impressive router, but it is a bit expensive for what is essentially a dual-band AC1900 router. It's very fast overall though, and has great admin software both on the desktop and for mobile devices, and I like that it has gaming-specific Quality of Service too.
4 years ago

Was a 5 dropping to 3 - how far will it go

★★★★★ 3.0
Pros: 
  • Purchased 2/15/17
  • Worked great out of the box
Cons: 
  • As of 6/14/17
4 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U AC3100

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: No doubt the Asus RT-AC88U is a pricey router but it also offers great features with MU-MIMO technology support. This could be a preferred choice for people looking for a secure router with good wireless speed.
Pros: 
  • Eight superfast Gigabit LAN ports
  • speedy Wi-Fi performance and lots of useful features
  • Smart Web interface
  • 5GHz throughput support
  • MU-MIMO-enabled
Cons: 
  • Expensive
3 years ago

recieved used item

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: when open bag notice that box damage all way round, no seal, parts 'flying loose' inside, no plastick wrap on anything, cable bags open, dust - clearly used item or long laying displayed, some manuals missing (checked on internet for unboxing same router). Returned as damage and faulty
2 years ago

Disappointed

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Worked well for about 3 hours, then lost all WiFi. Updated the firmware, lost 1 WiFi channel but the WiFi was fast for about 4 days and then slowed to a crawl. Unplugged it for a couple of days, got both WiFi channels back but WiFi was still slow.
4 years ago

Asus DSL-AC88U review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: While not cheap, the Asus DSL-AC88U manages to deliver the key wireless, LAN and broadband connectivity in a highly effective one-size-fits-all package. It's far superior to the typical router that Broadband suppliers provide, and ideal for any household that uses Wi-Fi extensively.
4 years ago

Asus RT-AC88U Dual-Band Router Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: The Asus RT-AC88U is a pricey dual-band router that is packed with features. It supports MU-MIMO technology and delivered solid 5GHz throughput in our tests.
The Asus RT-AC88U ($299.99) is a dual-band 802.11ac router with a massive feature set and an equally large price tag. It uses Multi-User Multiple Input, Multiple Output (MU-MIMO) technology to serve multiple Wi-Fi clients simultaneously without sacrificing bandwidth. However, each client must contain a MU-MIMO-compatible network adapter in order to take advantage of the technology. The router is equipped with numerous Gigabit LAN ports and multiple USB ports. The RT-AC88U($209.78 at Amazon) offers a wealth of management options in a thoughtfully designed user interface and delivers blazing throughput on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands. It's our top pick for high-end routers. Design and Features The RT-AC88U is a nice-looking router. It measures 3.3 by 11.8 by 7.4 inches (HWD) and uses a matte-black housing, with a beveled top and angular sides. The front of the router is home to LED indicators for power, wireless activity for both bands, Internet (WAN) connectivity, Wi-Fi Protecte...
Pros: 
  • Loaded with ports and management features
  • Multi-User Multiple Input, Multiple Output (MU-MIMO) enabled
  • Speedy throughput performance in testing
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Middling file-transfer speeds on our tests
5 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X