Asus GT-AC5300 Reviews

$648.99 - $786.00 from 2 retailers
★★★★★ 4.6
Manufacturer: Asus
X
4.6 ★★★★★
Based on 34 reviews.
 

GT-AC5300 Insights

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I was initially very impressed with the packaging for this product. No space is wasted in the packaging. However, I believe there is an issue with the way the 8 antennas are packaged. In my first delivery one of the antennas had a broken collar around the base of the antenna.
3 years ago

My last router for awhile

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: You can't go wrong with this router
Pros: 
  • Fast
  • easy set up
  • no problems going on 7 months
5 years ago

Asus GT-AC5300

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This could easily be 5/5 stars but it's getting a crappy 1/5 stars for: The advance features of this model doesn't specify that all my web traffic is enforced to be sent to Trend Micro. No privacy rights. Can't enable the features w/o having all your web traffic logged. No thank you.
2 years ago

Regrets

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Here is my list of regrets to far: 1: Not getting one sooner 2: ...
Pros: 
  • RT-AC5300 Yes
  • the router is a strength
Cons: 
  • We call it "The Mothership" it looks like one
  • which is a plus
  • but it's also the size of one
5 years ago

If you can afford it. Get it!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have used many routers over the years.. all have been disappointments! Not coz they are bad routers.. but coz in India walls are made of bricks and they do a dam good job blocking WiFi signals. Good range is not indicated by only the number of bars. The quality of signal also matters.
4 years ago

Superb

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Definitely the best router I've ever owned. It's probably overkill for most people, but perfect if you're a power user or serious gamer.
4 years ago

Awesome piece of kit

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: You can buy cheaper that will do the job but you won't get anything as easy to use or aesthetically pleasing as this router.
4 years ago

Asus GT-AC5300

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Easy setup.... I had made a firmware update and secured whit a password for my account and connection after this I had made my account to VPN fusion. The router work fine with my 2 pc and my cell phone also Xbox one VPN Fusion work fine, my pig in battlefield 1 get more stability.......
Pros: 
  • Tri-band (dual 5 GHz
  • single 2.4 GHz) AC5300 wireless router with the latest 802.11ac 4x4 MU-MIMO technology for maximum throughput (5334 Mbps) and coverage
  • 2.1.8GHz 64bit Quad-Core processor maximizes data throughput from 8-ports and dual USB 3.0 for optimizing network traffic and connectivity...
Cons: 
  • None to date
4 years ago

ASUS GT-AC5300 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Extreme Gaming Router, Tri-Band & Quad-Stream AC5300, 8 x Gigabit LAN Ports, 2 x USB, Hardware & Software Gaming Accelerator, Game IPS, ROG Gaming Center

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very simple to setup a highly secure and intelligent wifi network with smart connect handling between the 2.4 and both 5 frequencies. My network now covers twice as large an area as my former flatmate's airport extreme did, in other words I no longer drop off in the lounge, but at the shed or...
4 years ago

Great router

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Had this from November. Most should know not to put up with the basic isp routers they are provided with.This router will get the maximum and more over your connection speeds with stability. I'm on a 200Mbps but this gets me 214Mbps.Never settle for Virgins Superduds routers.
4 years ago

Big Arachnid Router

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: So far, a great router with a great web control panel. Been running for weeks, no problems. No hint of corners cut in the design of this beast. Given the price, that's a relief.
5 years ago

ASUS RT-AC5300 Wireless Cable & Fibre Router - AC 5300, Tri-band

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • It is a fast router
Cons: 
  • Need to update firmware straight away Had problems with slow speeds and drop outs especially from amazon devices, had to change the wifi channel numbers to a lower, seems to have cured the problem
  • Sometimes can be a bit hard work to connect to..
4 years ago

Easy to set up

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Arrived ahead of schedule. Easy to set up, internet works like a dream.
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC5300 Wireless AC5300 Tri-Band Gigabit Router

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Designed for large homes that require maximum bandwidth for online gaming and 4K video streaming, the Asus RT-AC5300 Wireless AC5300 Tri-Band Gigabit Router ($399.99) uses the latest 802.11ac technology and three individual radio bands to deliver game-worthy throughput to multiple clients.
Pros: 
  • Very fast 2.4GHz and 5GHz throughput in testing
  • Numerous management settings
  • MU-MIMO enabled
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Large footprint
  • Middling file-transfer speeds
5 years ago

ASUS RT-AC5300

★★★★★
Verdict: Today ASUS RT-AC5300 wireless router appeared in our test lab. At first we were slightly afraid to approach such a monster. RT-AC5300 model looks like the inverted crab, the strong similarity is caused by the shape and layout of antennae.
Pros: 
  • high traffic transmission speeds in both wireless frequency ranges
  • three radios
  • port bundling ability
  • high IPv6 routing speeds
  • QoS feature presence
  • MU-MIMO support
  • high access speeds to the data which are stored on an external USB-drive
  • high efficiency client and VPN server
  • NitroQAM support,...
Cons: 
  • port bundling capabilities are very limited
  • the web-interface is not completely translated
  • relatively high price
5 years ago

Asus GT-AC5300

★★★★★
Verdict: A powerhouse in home and office networking, if you have multiple users or own a gaming house as a professional gamer, this router is perfect albeit the high cost. Again, the high cost might be a little off putting but at the end of the day, the ASUS RT-AC5300 is one hell of a router and with a lower...
Pros: 
  • Performance
  • Tri-band
  • Easy setup
Cons: 
  • Price
5 years ago

Asus GT-AC5300

★★★★★
Verdict: Another flagship router with a price tag to match, the Asus RT-AC5300 joins D-Link's Taipan as another cutting edge router which ignored the years of traditional router designs we've become accustomed to.
5 years ago

Asus GT-AC5300

★★★★★
Verdict: ASUS' RT-AC5300 Wireless-AC5300 Tri-Band Gigabit Router is the second AC5300 router I've tested and ASUS' second based on Broadcom's new 4x4 radio (the RT-AC88U / RT-AC3100 was the first). The AC5300 has two 5 GHz radios vs. the AC88U's two and uses Broadcom's XStream technology .
6 years ago

Asus RT-AC5300

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: If you've ever wondered whether AC1900 routers are worth it, prepare to have your horizons broadened. The RT-AC5300 is Asus' flagship router and it costs nearly £400. For that you get the absolute latest in Wi-Fi technology, with NitroQAM for incredibly fast single-user throughput, alongside MU-MIMO...
Pros: 
  • Incredible top speeds
  • Masses of features
  • 2Gbps Ethernet link aggregation
  • Plenty of media server features and setup options
Cons: 
  • Incredibly expensive
  • Only one USB 3.0
  • Only four Gigabit Ethernet ports
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC5300 Tri-Band Gigabit Router Review

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Kitguru Says: Although it's a niche product, the Asus RT-AC5300 is an all-round great router. If you think you can make use of multiple 5GHz networks, then its absolutely worth the investment. However, given you will need to fork out for 4×4 bridges as well, the whole setup will cost quite a bit.
Pros: 
  • The Asus WRT software is full of useful features
  • Fast performance
  • capable of great speed all round
  • Twice the potential wireless bandwidth of other 4×4 routers
Cons: 
  • No single client transfer can go particularly faster than any other 4×4 router
  • Expensive
5 years ago

Review: Asus' RT-AC5300 is as powerful as it is visually impressive

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: W elcome to the fastest router that has passed through the PC and Tech Authority test labs. Asus' new router combines three different wireless networks into one device to provide oodles of bandwidth for users that need to connect a large number of devices.
5 years ago

Asus RT-AC5300 alien spider router review

★★★★★
Verdict: The Asus RT-AC family of high end routers pushes that boundary with every release, and the RT-AC5300 "Alien Spider" is a shining example of what can be done when "overkill" is not a criticism, but a design goal.
5 years ago

3 stars

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: When people say quality control has gone down with reputable companies I used to think that may be it is some other reason. But I bought one of these ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 from MicroCenter and just before 30 days were over one of the LAN ports died.
2 years ago

Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: With a street price ranging from $320 to more than $400, Asus' ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 is expensive for a reason. It's the only router on the market that combines powerful hardware specs, eight Gigabit LAN ports and a ton of features geared toward gaming .
Pros: 
  • The GT-AC5300 has fast performance, excellent Wi-Fi range and includes loads of unique gaming-centric features
  • The router has free built-in lifetime protection against online threats, has eight Gigabit LAN ports, and can combine two of them into a superfast connection
Cons: 
  • The router is bulky, expensive and generally overkill for most homes' needs
  • Its interface can be daunting, and its mobile app only works locally
4 years ago

Asus GT-AC5300

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: The battle of the $399 router is quite interesting. This price point gives consumers the option of broad range mesh platforms from Linksys, ASUS, Ubiquiti, and others, or extreme performance single node solutions like a Nighthawk X8, Archer 5400v2, and now the ASUS ROG Rapture.
4 years ago

ASUS ROG Rapture (GT-AC5300) Enthusiast Router Review

★★★★★
Verdict: The ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 surely isn't the cheapest device on the market, but you also get a list of awesome features. At the time of writing, it can be yours for $388.99 or £465.61 , but can be found online from other retails for around £399.99.
4 years ago

Asus GT-AC5300

★★★★★
Verdict: In the world of routers, it is not unusual that devices had the most diverse and extreme shapes. In general, you have to expect at least three - preferably more – antennae, protruding in all directions.
3 years ago

awesome wifi!!!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Replaced a 5 year old ASUS router because of some interference issues I started having and none of the same issues have occurred since installing the new one. My pings are down and my internet speeds (wifi)are almost doubled.
Pros: 
  • Super fast wifi
Cons: 
  • Kind of ugly
  • hate the orange accents..
4 years ago

Great router

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Useful features such as the ability to have the auto-allocation for online gaming, which is accessible through the router website.
3 years ago

ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 Gaming Router Review

★★★★★
Verdict: ASUS' ROG GT-AC5300 Rapture is a router packed with features tailor fit for gamers. It's not its only highlight though as the router also has excellent signal strength thanks to the included eight external antennas and faster than average Wi-Fi speeds due to support for 20/40/80 Mhz bandwidth.
Pros: 
  • Abundant Features
  • Solid I/O
  • Tri-Band Frequencies
  • Mimo Technology
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Bulky
4 years ago

ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 router +AIMesh review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 is a name to remember, it left an impression here in my office. The performance, the cool options, the sheer hardware and of course a very wide range of WIFI functionality as well as the eight Gigabit ports, it's all a little daunting.
3 years ago

Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 Review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It's true that a lot of users, especially gamers and streamers, prefer using high-end routers. Talking about this, a lot of gamers already make use of devices from the ROG ecosystem; these include laptops, monitors, as well as a variety of accessories.
2 years ago

Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: One of the fastest routers we've tested, the Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 offers lots of gamer-friendly features, copious I/O ports, and a slick management console that lets you optimize your network for lag-free gaming.
Hardcore gamers rely on fast systems with blazing graphics cards to gain an edge while competing online, but all of that speedy hardware means nothing if your router can't deliver the throughput needed to overcome network lag. Enter the Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 ($399.99), a high-end tri-band router designed for gamers. This beast of a router looks the part and offers hardware- and software-based gaming acceleration and prioritization, a whole heap of LAN ports, robust protection against malware and viruses, and a powerful quad-core processor. It's expensive and it's big, but its speedy performance and robust features make it a must-have whether you're a serious online gamer or manage a high-traffic home network. Large and in Charge At 2.5 by 9.6 by 9.6 inches (HWD), the ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 is one router. The black enclosure with copper trim sports the familiar black and red Asus Republic of Gamers (ROG) logo and boasts a whopping removable, adjustable antenna stalks. (That'...
Pros: 
  • Speedy throughput performance
  • Lots of gamer-friendly features
  • Eight LAN ports
  • Works with Alexa voice commands and IFTTT applets
  • Slick user interface
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Huge footprint
  • Middling file-transfer speeds
3 years ago

Asus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300 Review

★★★★ 4.0
Pros: 
  • Class-leading Wi-Fi speeds
  • Hugely versatile
  • Masses of features
  • Great for gaming
Cons: 
  • Very expensive
  • Not for novice users
  • Overkill for most homes
4 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X