Apple TV 32GB (4th Generation) Reviews

$249.00 - $309.00 from 13 retailers
Manufacturer: Apple
Expert Reviews: 
 3.7
User Reviews: 
 4.6
Features
Value for money
 3.8
Features
 4.2
 
 

Apple TV Review (4th Gen)

No reviews
Verdict: The new 4th-generation Apple TV is a huge overhaul over the previous model, but is it worth spending nearly twice as much for one? Apple announced the new Ap
2 years ago
 

Apple TV 2015 Review

4.0
Verdict: The perfect addition to the household that loves its iPhones and iPads. Buy it.
3 years ago
 

Apple TV (Fourth-Generation)

4.0
Verdict: Apple TV represents a bold step forward for Apple's set-top box, but there are a number of reasons why some users might want to wait until Christmas to pick up the device, if not longer.
Cons: Limitations in Siri and search are disappointing. Current apps are underwhelming; App Store itself needs work. The most expensive set-top box available. Siri Remote is expensive to replace. No 4K video support. Cable subscription apps still must be authenticated one-by-one. No optical audio out.
3 years ago
 

Apple TV for 2015 reviewed

4.5
Verdict: The new 4th generation Apple TV went on sale last week in Australia. I've been using one in my living room a few days before launch to see what's new, and most importantly, if it should take pride of place over all of the other ‘streaming' video devices available.
Pros: Apps and Siri in your living room, fantastic remote and interface
Cons: Pricey compared to previous Apple TV
3 years ago
 

Apple TV 32GB (4th Generation)

3.4
Verdict: Let's get one thing out of the way right from start regarding Apple's latest Apple TV streaming media player. It does not support 4K video playback. For some inexplicable reason, while Roku and Amazon were embracing things like HEVC decoding, HDMI 2.0, and HDCP 2.2 in their newest boxes, Apple chose...
3 years ago
 

Apple TV (2015) Review

3.0
Verdict: Apple lovers will swoon over the Apple TV.
Pros: Easy and fun to use, Fantastic remote control, Zippy operation, tvOS versions of apps are great, AirPlay mirroring
Cons: Does not support 4K, No optical digital audio port, Lacks some key apps, No expandable storage
3 years ago
 

Apple TV (2015) review: TV reimagined but not reinvented

3.8
Verdict: The fourth generation Apple TV is undoubtedly the best. It features a richer integration with the internet, offers pleasing performance and a better value for money ratio. If you're a venerable couch potato, the Apple TV is the best companion you can have (apart from a bar fridge), but it does have...
3 years ago
 

Apple TV review: is this the future?

No reviews
Verdict: "The future of TV is here." It is not the world's most understated tagline for a new product, especially one from Apple. If you want to set sky-high expectations around a new TV product after years of rumors, well, that's how you do it.
Pros: Siri works well for TV and movies, Really fast, Games are a fun addition
Cons: Siri is extremely limited, Have to log in to every app individually, No 4K support
3 years ago
 

Review: Fourth-gen Apple TV with Siri Remote and tvOS App Store

4.0
Verdict: For now, before the tvOS App Store has time to grow and mature, and before Apple has a chance to work out some of the kinks and bugs on the fourth-generation Apple TV, the main question for prospective buyers should be: How invested are you in the Apple ecosystem
Pros: The Siri Remote with touchpad works great, Universal search finally makes it easier to locate content, The App Store and iCloud integration are off to a promising start, Game controller support is already better than on iOS
Cons: Siri doesn't support the App Store or Apple Music -yet, Why no iOS Remote app support, At $149, some may want to wait for more cord cutting incentives
3 years ago
 

Apple TV 2015

4.0
Verdict: Considering it has been out for over a year now, the latest Apple TV hasn't been quite the do-all addition to my television setup I had hoped. In-fact, little has really changed with Apple's streamer and the competition has not only got cheaper, but significantly more appealing with 4K content.
Pros: Interface is easy to pick up, Siri Remote works well, Voice search and control brilliant
Cons: No 4K support, Sparse app store, Parental controls need tightening
2 years ago
 

Apple TV 2015 review

No reviews
Verdict: Ultimately, the Apple TV succeeds in improving the speed and efficiency of the media user interface thanks to its faster, smoother smarter UI, the effectiveness of which is boosted still further with an improved remote.
3 years ago
 

Apple TV 2015 review: Siri-ously good

No reviews
Verdict: As underwhelming as some of the Apple TV improvements might be, the remote really pushes things on. You can now swipe gracefully to whizz through the alphabet. It's an effortless and intuitive bit of kit with a near instantaneous learning curve.
3 years ago
 

Apple TV

3.5
Verdict: It's been more than three years, but we finally have a new Apple TV ($149; 32GB). The last time Apple updated popular media streamer was back in 2012, and it has really started to show its age.
Pros: Simple, attractive tvOS interface. New app store greatly expands functionality. Excellent iOS device integration. Handy new remote with microphone for voice control
Cons: Pricey. No 4K support. Disappointing non-Apple music options
3 years ago
 

Apple TV (4th gen) 2015 review

3.5
Verdict: For years, rumour had it that Apple would launch a TV. Realistically that was never going to happen. Apple doesn't make TVs and, logically, it doesn't need to. It just needs a media streamer that's better than the competition. Here's our 4th-gen Apple TV review.
3 years ago
 

Apple TV (4th gen) 2015 review

3.0
Verdict: The new Apple TV catches up to, and overtakes, the competition. But the lack of 4K support and the limited selection of apps could put some off. Here's our 4th-gen Apple TV review.
3 years ago
 

Apple TV review

3.5
Verdict: Update: Amazon Video on an Apple TV? At one time this was an impossible dream, but it seems as though there's a good chance of it actually happening this summer now that the two companies have called a truce. Will we see Amazon on stage with Apple at WWDC 2017? We're crossing our fingers.
2 years ago
 

Apple TV Review: Easy Interface, Limited Content

2.5
Verdict: This set-top box may be the best choice for heavy iTunes and Apple product users, but it has less content than competitors and a dated design.
Pros: Simple interface, Only player that works with iTunes, AirPlay beams media from Apple devices
Cons: Fewer content choices than competitors, No universal search capability, Not much free content
5 years ago
 

Apple TV 4 review

4.0
Verdict: The fourth-generation Apple TV, launched in 2015, includes an A8 processor (a significant upgrade from the A5 in the
2 years ago
 

Apple TV review: fourth-generation streaming box is not fully baked

3.0
Verdict: The Apple TV is not fully baked. The video parts are excellent, but the available content is constrained in the UK. The music app is poor, the remote app doesn't work and other bits are just not ready. Having waited for the best part of three years to release a new Apple TV, why is it not complete
Pros: power of the App Store, access to iTunes and Apple Music, good voice control, IR control for volume, motion gaming
Cons: half-baked, music app poor, Siri can't search music and only iTunes and Netflix, most UK streaming services missing, no HDMI cable, no remote charger
3 years ago
 

Apple TV (2015) review

4.0
Verdict: Finally wrenched into the present, this Apple TV is a solid update that's brimming with potential.
Pros: Third-party games and apps, Stable and responsive, Siri could be a game-changer, Very fast, easy set-up
Cons: Lacking some key apps, Siri Remote can irk, No 4K support
3 years ago
 

Apple TV (2015) - Destined for HDMI1

4.0
Verdict: Apps tailor-made for TVs make a lot of sense. In a way, the TV is technically the biggest computer most of us would have in our homes. But while the idea is sound, there's very little consistency in TV operating systems.
Pros: Siri Remote is great, Slick user interface, Universal search is promising
Cons: Pricing approaches console territory, Few compelling apps outside video and games, Optical audio port is gone
3 years ago
 

Media streamer review: Apple TV (4th generation)

4.2
Verdict: Now into its fourth generation, the new Apple TV has its own operating system with the tvOS. It comes with its own App Store, so native apps can be installed in the device. The user interface is also as user-friendly as it is with iOS.There is also a new remote control, which comes with a built-in...
3 years ago
 

Very user friendly

5.0
Verdict: This is super easy to connect and super easy to use. I do wish that I had bought one with more memory. This isn't going to hold much. But we do like it!
2 years ago
 

Well worth the upgrade to Gen 4

4.6
Verdict: I've had an AppleTV for some time, but found it of limited use for my interests. I'd like to eventually cut the strings with Comcast for TV. This newer version is so much more powerful and useful as to almost be another type of product. I can download APPS, store movies, etc.
2 years ago
 

Good alternative to Direct TV

4.5
Verdict: My direct tv bills were getting way out of hand. My son turned me on to Apple tv....seems to work well, my only complaint is I can't get FOX News live.
2 years ago
 

Almost perfect

5.0
Verdict: This unit is much better than Apple's first generation TV unit. You can actually load apps that you choose rather than the ones that Apple selected to be on their menu. My one gripe is that every 60 days or so, it makes you log back in to ITunes.
9 months ago
 

Apple TV 32GB (4th Generation)

5.0
Verdict: I primarily upgraded to be able to pick up the plex app while enjoying my own private photo screensaver, but it's not really worth the down side. The netflix app is a train wreck - even though I have autoplay turned off it still presents options to skip the intro and minimizes the content when it...
3 months ago
 

Great for CDN Streaming

5.0
Verdict: First, I am not an apple guy, I like android; but I have a Roku, WD and all sorts of other ways to get netflix. This product lets you get Crave TV and Shomi_ unlike the other products out there. The Gen 4 Remote is great and it works like a dream.
3 years ago
 

Very Easy to Use

4.0
Verdict: I really like this - it was very easy to set up and use. Not having a web browser is the only reason I didn't give it all 5 stars as that is just crazy to not offer that feature. For those who complain about the remote - just download the free app to your iPhone and use that.
3 years ago
 

"Oh look, another dark box of demonic seduction"

4.0
Verdict: I had been waiting a long time for this to be made available to the public; this black box of epic internet streaming gloriousness that I really, really wanted to get my hands on. I already owned the predecessor to it and I felt that it was getting a bit long in the tooth, so Apple taking around 2-3...
Pros: Can install apps, remote great for scrubbing video, very fast
Cons: Doesn't come with HDMI cable, Siri remote rubbish for gaming
3 years ago
 

Delicious apple

5.0
Verdict: We upgraded our first generation Apple TV and we are very happy with this unit , the voice control is sweet the ability to receive Hulu live and having the ability to sync all my iTunes songs is so nice , very nice remote I like that apple included a lightning cable to recharge remote .
Pros: easy installation, excellent signal output, voice control
1 year ago
 

Easy setup

4.0
Verdict: Love this, I get a lot of use out of it, I use it for Now TV, Amazon prime and Netflix, there also lots of films on apple store from 99p. I also use it for Eurosport app. I actually get so much on it that I'm thinking of cancelling my BT TV package. My main reason for buying it was for Zwift app.
1 year ago
 

still learning, but so far so good!

5.0
Verdict: I'm still getting apps and figuring out everything there is to do with the Apple TV, but so far it is pretty good. I have cable so I don't really want to pay for more stuff, but I have been able to watch past episodes of shows for free on my TV that would not stream properly on my laptop.
2 years ago
 

Great features, stylish design

5.0
Verdict: I bought this few weeks ago and I am enjoying streaming from iPhone and also apps from Apple store which you can install on this device including games. Remote has got gyro sensors therefore can be used as a wireless game pad.
2 years ago
 

Apple TV 32gb

5.0
Verdict: Great product, can't talk enough about how good it is for us.Not great value but like all Apple products you pay through the nose for it but love its design & useage.
2 years ago
 

Love this thing!!

5.0
Verdict: Great product and best of all all your movies are in one spot! No forgotten returns! You can rent Movies also(some 99cents) - wait to watch up to 30 days!! No scratched, finger printed, broken, missing, DVDs!
9 months ago
 

Apple TV 32GB (4th Generation)

5.0
Verdict: The interface works well and the remote is now Bluetooth so it can be in a cabinet. Recomend getting a remote slip on cover as the remote is a bit slippery.
3 years ago
 

Amazing

5.0
Verdict: Siri, customizable apps that integrate, rechargeable remote control (through your lightning cord - no more tiny disc batteries!), faster processor, Apple Music and video...just buy it! The remote control takes a little getting used to but you'll be flying in no time.
2 years ago
 

Amazing

4.4
Verdict: Easy to use & so much entertainment packed into such a compact package !
3 months ago
 

All in one box

5.0
Verdict: Have replaced now tv and Amazon boxes with this device. It's got all the main apps (Prime, Now tv, Netflix, iPlayer, btsport etc). It connects to your iTunes and photos. You can also screen mirror from iPhone, iPad, Mac. Love it. If you're Apple it is worth the price.
3 months ago
 

Great upgrade

5.0
Verdict: I got this as an upgrade for my older Apple TV and it is a vast improvement. Faster clearer and just better all round.
1 year ago
 

Great improvement over earlier models

5.0
Verdict: This version of AppleTV is programmable with apps that the user wants, and isn't clogged up by unnecessary or unavailable viewing options.
11 months ago
 

Can't fault the Apple TV

5.0
Verdict: After reading the reviews we decided to go ahead and buy the Apple TV and can honestly say we made the right decision. Looks neat, easy to install and easy to use, would highly recommend. Not cheap but you get what you pay for and can't fault any Apple product. The family love it!
1 month ago
 

Disappointed

2.0
Verdict: I purchased this to replace my Gen 3 Apple TV. Turns out that I am quite disappointed. For me, it was a lot of money that did not provide a benefit over my previous Apple TV. I don't care for the remote either. I find it a lot harder to navigate than the previous version.
2 years ago
 

Apple TV 32GB (4th Generation)

3.5
Verdict: Very happy with this machine, it does exactly what is promised. That there is support for 4K or blu-ray audio is trivial for the average user. The player has with the help of Infuse app support for DTS-HD passthru and play in strort seen all common file formats.
3 years ago
 

Awful,dont waste money,stick to 3rd gen

5.0
Verdict: I own 2 other 3 gen apple boxes,less than 100$ and great. Bought this one and should have taken back while still able to get my money back. Lousy controller, stupid design ,looks and feels the same upside down as right side up so you will always be looking at it to get the controls right.
3 years ago
 

Add on box

5.0
Verdict: Apple products are very good, in general they are good devices. Apple programming is responsible for how well they continue to run in time. This product has become more expensive in time but has remained about the same. The technical design changes have been many in time.
Pros: Good for I tune account holders as one can listen to music and see purchased movies. The product works for me as I own apple products
Cons: Design changes! Buyer beware this device will not work as older models did with most televisions. Must have a high definition cable sold separately. No optical set up or Video,audio cable options. Lately with Apple-products you are paying more to have less options. It is a bad business practice.
2 years ago
 

Apple TV 32GB (4th Generation)

5.0
Verdict: I've been an Apple TV user (3rd generation) for the last couple of years and found the installation and usage fairly straight-forward and simple. The remote and the interface were easy as well. However, this new (Gen 4) version moves you to a whole new level.
2 years ago
 

Apple® TV 4th Generation 32GB

5.0
Verdict: I cut the cable cord a couple of weeks ago and have been totally fulfilled by Apple TV. I stream Hulu, AT&T Watch TV, Amazon Prime, YouTube, HBO Go, and Showtime thru apps. The interface is clean and customizable, as with all Apple products. The setup was super easy.
11 months ago
Powered by
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X