The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild (Nintendo Switch) Reviews

$88.00 - $109.99 from 8 retailers
Manufacturer: Nintendo
Expert Reviews: 
 4.7
User Reviews: 
 4.8
 
 

Review: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo Switch)

No reviews
Verdict: While it may seem like a drop in the bucket compared to the wait I had to endure for Final Fantasy XV , it was still a good half a decade ago that The Legend of Zelda: Breath of Wild was revealed to the public.
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild (Nintendo Switch)

4.8
Verdict: "Not since Ocarina of Time, the last Zelda game to truly shake up the formula and influence the industry, has the series been so dramatically transformed." © 2017 Nintendo. All rights reserved.
Pros: Huge and interactive open world, incredibly fun, impressive attention to detail
Cons: Frame rate issues, motion controls are poorly implemented
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild (Nintendo Switch)

5.0
Verdict: We've been playing a lot of The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild , mostly on Nintendo Switch. Yet not everyone is buying into Nintendo's latest hardware yet, and there have been plenty of fair questions around how this game shapes up on its original home - the Wii U.
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

3.0
Verdict: By overwhelming players with tons of stuff to do, see, and collect in a "free" zone, open-world video games speciously condition us to believe that more is better. The audiovisual beauty alone of The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is liable to convince you that this is actually true.
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild (Nintendo Switch)

4.8
Verdict: History tells us of a time that Nintendo ruled the entire gaming world as far as the eye could see. You'd have to go back many moons, and some of you weren't even born, but many of us were fortunate enough to live in these times. We can confirm that these tales are true.
Pros: The shrines and dungeons | Good amiibo support for a change | Beautiful soundtrack | Creating your own food - who thought it could be fun | The Sheikah Slate
Cons: Twice experienced really bad frame rate issues | If you don't like open-world games this is not for you
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Review

5.0
Verdict: The simple fact is that The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is one of the best games ever made. It marks a turning point for the medium that will be learned from for some time.
1 year ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Switch)

5.0
Verdict: The Legend of Zelda is one of gaming's longest and most beloved franchises. It is one of Nintendo's flagship properties, and they seem to take more time and care with each entry than almost any other game they produce - and it shows.
Pros: Large, beautiful, fully explorable world; incredible physics sandbox; breathtaking visuals, despite the hardware limitations; fantastic ambient sound effects on a good surround sound system; tons and tons to do, with great attention to detail
Cons: Some may not like the breakable weapons and shields; story is somewhat optional and easy to forget about
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

5.0
Verdict: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is a beautiful return to the Zelda universe that succeeds on every level on the Nintendo Switch!
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild review - Link's best adventure yet

5.0
Verdict: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is easily a contender for the best game of all time. It's a mastercraft in both technical and game design, and one which we'll be talking about for many years to come
2 years ago
 

Link to the Future

5.0
Verdict: No game is perfect, but comes as close as it could get within its genre. The new game to beat in its sector; we're talking pure video game ecstasy.
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (for Nintendo Switch)

4.5
Verdict: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is massive, dense, and incredibly satisfying to explore. It suffers from a few frustrations, most notably the strange desaturation filter that pervades the graphics, but they're all easily forgivable when held against the sheer scope and variety of what you...
Pros: Massive, diverse open world. Tons of clever puzzles. Wide variety of things to see and do
Cons: Strange desaturation filter makes the game appear hazy. Combat is frustrating early on. Weapon durability is a nuisance
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Review

No reviews
Verdict: It's been some time since I've fallen so madly in love with a video game. In fact, I've not felt this way about a Zelda game since Ocarina (3D) or Link to the Past (2D), but Breath of the Wild is enor
Pros: Entertaining for every second, Stunning to look at, A completely modernised take on Zelda
Cons: Frame drops, Some texture fade in
2 years ago
 

Breath of the Wild: Best. Zelda. Ever.

5.0
Verdict: I was anticipating a classic adventure when I sat down with The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, readying myself to learn all the new mechanics the game would throw at me. I mentally prepared myself to fight through puzzle after puzzle in labyrinths of increasing complexity and confusion.
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – catchup review

5.0
Verdict: The world doesn't need another Breath of the Wild review, but it's getting one anyway. There's a reason – many reasons, in fact – that virtually everybody who plays this game hails it as one of the bestest ever made. The main one is, well… it is.
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

5.0
Verdict: Nintendo, in particular with the Zelda series, has already flirted with open-world design and adding little RPG touches here and there, and with varying degrees of success. If you look closely enough you can see that Breath of the Wild is something that they've been building up to over the course of...
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild review

5.0
Verdict: All that has been either swept aside or remade from first principles. It's hard to overstate the courage and conviction with which producer Eiji Aonuma, director Hidemaro Fujibayashi and their team have rewritten their own work, and the size of the risk Nintendo has taken with a beloved property.
2 years ago
 

Switch sparring - Fitness Boxing review

3.2
Verdict: If you're not into the idea of starting your video game with a good round of stretches, Fitness Boxing is not going to be for you. To be fair, it's not much of a game at all; it would be more accurate to call it a fitness program. Fitness Boxing is all business.
Pros: Tons of varied exercise routines with no extra accessories, Keeps track of lots of fitness data, Makes working out slightly less awful
Cons: Terrible music selection, Shoddy movement detection, Limited play modes and features
8 months ago
 

always powered up they said...

4.1
Verdict: mastersword still needs to recharge
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild (Nintendo Switch)

5.0
Verdict: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild draws from many sources of inspiration, including older Zelda games and titles like Skyrim and The Witcher 3, to create something wholly unique. Nintendo has crafted a wide, beautiful world to explore, underpinned with some interesting emergent mechanics.
1 year ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – The Champion's Ballad Review – Truly Superb Continuation

4.5
Verdict: After months of anticipation following the release of the Master Trials DLC in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild , The Champion's Ballad expansion was finally premiered and simultaneously released at The Game Awards 2017.
Pros: New shrines are a blast, The Master Cycle Zero is rad, New items and gear are great
Cons: Fighting the same bosses is a minor dissapointment
1 year ago
 

Nintendo Switch Review: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild DLC 1: The Master Trials

4.5
Verdict: Has Nintendo mastered DLC It's been a few months since the Switch and Breath of the Wild came out, I personally rank BOTW as one of my favourite Zelda games, so the DLC was always going to be a no-brainer situation.
2 years ago
 

Review: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

5.0
Verdict: Though it may be the final game for the Wii U, this monumental title ushers in a new dawn of gaming on the Switch which will surely be remembered as one of the greatest launch titles in history.
Pros: Masterful open-world design, Aesthetically perfect, Unparalleled exploration, Reinvention done right
Cons: Minor technical blemishes, Voicework is a mixed blessing, It has to end at some point
2 years ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo Switch) Review

5.0
Verdict: It has been a long time coming, but after extensive looks at both the Wii U version , as well as early builds of the Nintendo Switch edition , Nintendo is about to unleash The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild upon the world.
2 years ago
 

Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Review – A Whole New World

No reviews
Verdict: I'm just going to jump straight into it. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is bloody hard. It's honestly one of the hardest games I've ever played. Now usually, I wouldn't be into games which you can die over and over again, but I was actually quite fond of it in Breath of the Wild.
2 years ago
 

Big, beautiful world with so much to discover!

5.0
Verdict: I love this game. There's so much packed into this open world from the puzzle challenges of the shrines to little surprises hiding on mountain ledges and in treetops. Plenty of colorful characters and places to interact with and fun quests to do.
9 months ago
 

Return to Hyrule

5.0
Verdict: Ive played this game for about 40 hours so far and all I can say is wow. It returns to the original Zelda format of no set structure to how you play. I was about 20 hours in before I even went to the first story line dungeon. There is just so much to explore and get side tracked by.
2 years ago
 

Great Game For Most Kids

3.0
Verdict: Breath of the Wild is a great game. There is no denying it. But there certainly some problems as well. I played the game for over 100 hours, and lots of parts of the game were repetitive. As for the age rating, there are some parts of the game with something of concern.
5 months ago
 

Outstanding Open-World Adventure

5.0
Verdict: Never been a fan of open world games, even of Zelda to be honest. Picked up this game and have been amazed by the detail and physics of the game. Every corner of the gigantic map has a new mystery and is never wasted.
5 months ago
 

Nintendo at its best

5.0
Verdict: After buying this game, this is all I've been playing for the last month! It's fun, exciting and just provides a magical experience to the player, and this is coming from someone who had never played a Zelda game before!
1 year ago
 

Masterpiece.

5.0
Verdict: I start playing this game and I am not dissapointed.This game is not about link's adventure it's about your adventure you build your path your choose your destiny this sandbox type open world is filled with pure perfection.The Price 100% Worth it,and any true Zelda fan must have it.This Game is A...
1 year ago
 

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild (Nintendo Switch)

4.5
Verdict: A very unique Zelda that works really well. However, boring voice acting and too repetitive environments in both "Temple" and Shrines. Can take a while to learn the controls. Music is not good at all. It is repetitive and sounds uninspired, in comparison to all other Zelda games.
1 year ago
 

Breathtaking!

5.0
Verdict: To be honest, I'm a bit of a skeptic, and tend to never believe the hype of any game. Too many times have I gotten hype for a game and found myself disappointed by the end of it. Too many Nintendo games within the past decade, in my opinion, have been rated higher than they deserve by game critics...
1 year ago
 

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild - Nintendo Switch

4.0
Verdict: This is the type of game that no amount of words can describe how GOOD it is. You have to play it to understand its magic. As a Zelda fan, I had expectations of this being a great game right off the bat.
4 months ago
 

Great product with excellent graphics

5.0
Verdict: Great game, I highly recommend this product it is great
2 years ago
 

Such an incredible game!

5.0
Verdict: Zelda breath of the wild is by far the best game on the switch and such a great open world adventure. So many different puzzles and it changes everytimw you play
Pros: Portable, Kid Friendly
1 year ago
 

Amazing!!

5.0
Verdict: This game is soooo good. I've been playing for a couple weeks and I feel like I've only scratched the surface. There is so much to explore and so many different things to do. I love the open format of the game where you can about go anywhere and do anything you want.
1 year ago
 

Fantastic game

5.0
Verdict: One of the best games I've played. This is the first Zelda game I've played and it's fantastic. From the story, to the puzzles, to the difficulty, it strikes a great balance. This game alone makes it worthwhile to buy a Switch.
1 year ago
 

Very good game

5.0
Verdict: Bought this for my Nintendo switch and was not dissapointed with it at all. The graphics were top quality, the art style is beautiful and unique, story line grasped my attention throughout the game and it being open world adds a fun element to the game that isnt just story
8 months ago
 

Excellent

5.0
Verdict: It's incredibly fun, tricky and intuitive. I like games that don't always lead you by the hand and expect you to use your initiative to solve problems. The Shrines in BoTW are exactly this, some harder than other but always very satisfying when you finally discover how to solve the puzzle.
1 year ago
 

My grandson loves this

5.0
Verdict: I wish I could review it personally as I love Zelda, but he's the one with the Switch and, from what he's told me, it's the only game he's played on it so far as it's so absorbing. Strong recommendation from a 12 year old.
2 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X