Splatoon (Wii U) Reviews

$79.99 - $94.69 from 2 retailers
★★★★ 4.4
Manufacturer: 20th Century Fox
X
Reviews: 
★★★★ 4.4
 

The ink is mightier than the bullet.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It's no longer strange to see the concept of genres challenged by unusual games, but Splatoon is a special case. It's a lighthearted, sugar-coated game that's landed on the back of today's dark and gritty shooters ( Battlefield , Call of Duty , Wolfenstein , and Titanfall come to mind).
Pros: 
  • Proves shooters don't have to be violent to be engaging
  • Employs one of the most unique movement mechanics around
  • It makes you look at your environment and opponents in new ways
  • The colorful atmosphere lifts you up rather than weighing you down
Cons: 
  • The single player campaign loses steam too quickly
  • A lack of control over multiplayer matches does more harm than good
  • Some content is locked behind amiibos
  • forcing eager Inklings to spend real world money
5 years ago

Splatoon v2 Review

★★★★ 4.3
Verdict: Nintendo's take on the third-person shooter is refreshingly original, with lots of impressive tools, skillful mobility, and creative maps to play with. Matches are consistently fun and tense, and the mechanics feel simple and fair enough that almost anyone can contribute positively.
Pros: 
  • Creative mechanics
  • Fast-paced matches
  • Customization
  • Unique modes
Cons: 
  • No voice chat
5 years ago

Splatoon Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: A new Nintendo IP doesn't come around all that often. The 100 year old company has produced some of the most memorable worlds and characters in gaming hist
Pros: 
  • Excellent and unique online multiplayer
  • Superb visuals and sound
  • Great new world full of fun characters
  • Fantastic use of amiibo
Cons: 
  • No voice chat
  • No online spitscreen
  • Limited map/mode selection at launch
5 years ago

Splatoon Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Splatoon's world is bright, colourful and full of charm; pretty much the norm for a Nintendo game. It's also a lot of fun, as anyone who has played it will attest to. Nintendo have put their spin on
Pros: 
  • Super fun
  • Looks great
  • Superb sound
Cons: 
  • Threadbare Multiplayer
  • Archaic online structure
  • Short story mode
5 years ago

Splatoon

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The one thing we shouldn't be baffled by, though, is the fact that Nintendo has delivered an excellent, unique game for everyone with a WiiU. It's a game that feels great from the moment you pick it up and just gets bigger, larger, and more involved as you continue on, full of charm and personality...
5 years ago

A splash hit for Nintendo

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Impressive effort with a few noticeable problems holding it back. Won't astound everyone, but is worth most people's time and cash. How we score: The Destructoid Reviews Guide
5 years ago

Splatoon

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: A shooter is a game where you run around shooting guys. Lots of games have played with the "guys" part, distinguishing themselves only by having you kill Nazis, aliens, or Nazi aliens.
5 years ago

Splatoon (Updated)

★★★★ 4.3
Verdict: Updated August 19th: Since James first reviewed Splatoon, the game has been updated constantly with new multiplayer modes, new maps, new weapons and of course finally a way to play with your friends easily.
5 years ago

Splatoon Review: Scattered Paint

★★★★ 3.9
Verdict: In 2002's Super Mario Sunshine, Nintendo gave players the mission of saving an island from a messy catastrophe. Now a new Nintendo game releases with a mission that will send shivers down Mario's spine: to make the biggest, inkiest mess you can possibly make.
5 years ago

Splatoon

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Games like Splatoon don't come around too often. It's fresh and exciting in ways that are rarely seen. Marching to the beat of its own drum, Splatoon is bursting with style. So much so, that in a different era it would have made an excellent addition to the Dreamcast library.
5 years ago

Excellent

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I'm happy about the quality of the item and the speed in which it was shipped to the store
4 years ago

good clean fun

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: appropriate for younger players - shooting balloons with paint, okay and each other and everything else. downside: only two local players in dojo mode. gave it four stars because we would love to have 4 player option.
2 years ago

Engaging

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Really well made, and it's nice how content is regularly updated (battle arenas, special events ('splatfests'), weapons, etc.).Two cons: Price ($[$]last I checked), and the fact you cannot use the old Wii controller + nunchuck for multiplayer.
5 years ago

Splatoon (Wii U)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: As a player of multiplayer shooters, I was wondering how good a shooter by Nintendo could be. I love Nintendo but I was a little bit skeptical of shooting paint all over the place. After my brother got the game and told me how great it was, I decided to take the plunge. The verdict?
5 years ago

Splatoon: review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: A certain corner of the internet criticises Nintendo relentlessly. This dark and smelly corner is full of people who for some reason believe that Nintendo keeps rehashing the same ideas, and shout about it while putting their pre-orders in for Black Ops 3 and FIFA 16.
5 years ago

Splatoon (Wii U)

★★★★★
Verdict: In a sea of rock-solid single-player Nintendo experiences Splatoon is a standout as being an utterly sublime multiplayer endeavour. Everything is knitted beautifully and seamlessly together to create what is quite simply some of the most fun you can have online.
5 years ago

Splatoon

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I enjoyed this game a lot, it combines an original take on MP shooter action with super slick mobility which reminds me of Jet Set Radio, one of my favourite discontinued series. It also has that game's bright and fresh Shibuya-style design aesthetic.
5 years ago

great new idea

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: if you played this on the day it came out like me you would have thought it was disappointing but every week they add to it, new map, weapons, modes and now its a great game. would %100 recommended to all wii u owners
5 years ago

Splatoon - Not Like Watching Ink Dry

★★★★ 4.3
Verdict: Splatoon is a refreshing take on the incredibly over-saturated team battle shooter genre. Though not void from issues and inconveniences, the game is still a joyous success for Nintendo and all that play it.
Pros: 
  • Memorable art style
  • Action never ceases
  • Fresh take on old concept
  • Diverse maps
Cons: 
  • Can't change weapon without exciting party
  • Lack of available maps at current moment
  • Barely any sort of narrative
5 years ago

Splatoon review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: While Splatoon is lacking in a few features gamers have come to expect from the modern online shooter, there's no denying what it brings to the table is fresh, new, and exciting. The unique ink-squid mechanic opens new ways to move around and interact with the game environment, while the splash of...
Pros: 
  • + Fun and unique gameplay ideas
  • + Quirky
  • bright and engaging world hub
  • + Simple progression system makes online addictive
Cons: 
  • - Not a lot of game modes
  • maps at launch
  • - Lack of voice chat will turn people off
6 years ago

Splatooners Unite

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Easy to open and set up. Great items to purchase and easy game play on WII U. The game is so much fun. I love the different splatt guns and I love my girls who keep me updated on the latest outfits! Must try GAME for 2016.
Pros: 
  • Challenging
  • Easy to learn
  • Fun To Play
  • Good Audio
  • Graphics
  • Kid Appropriate
Cons: 
  • Poor/No Multiplayer Mode
4 years ago

One of the best shooters I've ever played.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Splatoon is a must have for Wii U owners. An amazing new twist on the shooter genre where winning is based on how much of a mess you can make and how well you can use your ink based arsenal. While the single player is fun and interesting, the online is where it's at.
Pros: 
  • Gameplay is highly addictive and a fresh new twist to the Shooter genre
  • Cultivates everyone of all skill levels
  • An amazing array of weapons since the August update ranging from guns(blasters) such as sub machine guns to more unique weapons like buckets and paintbrushes.
Cons: 
  • You can only play one mode in ranked matches until the game switches the modes
  • You can only play on two maps on turf war or ranked matches
  • No proper way of communicating with your team
  • Single Player mode is pretty short.
5 years ago

Great for the kids

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this game for my kids and they love it. Would recommend to any parent who doesn't want to buy a shooting game for their kids but their kids want to play online not really a game for older kids, mine are between 10 and 5 years. Lots of fun.
5 years ago

Wonderfully imaginative, wonderfully inventive and wonderfully playable

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Wonderfully imaginative, wonderfully inventive and wonderfully playable. Shoot Em up action with no senseless violence... you've got to love Nintendo.
4 years ago

best game

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: this game is very fun i love this game hahahahahaha
5 years ago

Great experience

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Excellent product, delivered quickly and packaged securely
6 years ago

"AWESOME"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Just got this the other day and I've spent my whole weekend on it. I haven't been this addicted to a game in a while.
5 years ago

Grandson gift

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Checked other places either didn't have or was more expensive. Good value.
4 years ago

"Splatoon- An Interesting "Shooter" With a Lack of Content"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I was excited for Splatoon from the first time I saw it. I had never seen anything like it, and I am a big fan of Nintendo's franchises. So when I bought Splatoon and started playing is, I was glad to see that I enjoyed it. I just think there is not enough content.
Pros: 
  • Fun gameplay
  • colorful graphics
  • and a great soundtrack
Cons: 
  • A lack of content (although this is subject to change
6 years ago

Insane FUN

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I know some of the gaming sites are giving this game average scores, but its mostly because of the few features the game contained at launch. Splatoon is releasing new content every week to build to its already addicting multi-player.
5 years ago

Great!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great game!
5 years ago

Fantastic!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: My 7 year old was asking for this game in the summer holidays, I got it for him on a pocket money basis, I hoped it would help us get through the holidays, I never realised that I would be so addicted to it, every time he plays I have to have a turn or 10!
5 years ago

Fantastic!

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: My 7 year old was asking for this game in the summer holidays, I got it for him on a pocket money basis, I hoped it would help us get through the holidays, I never realised that I would be so addicted to it, every time he plays I have to have a turn or 10!
5 years ago

Kraken good

★★★★★
Verdict: Splatoon is a game about color. Color as a noun, color as a verb. If ever a game were alive with the joy of color itself, it's this one. Splatoon has been described, incorrectly, as Nintendo's first shooter.
Pros: 
  • Holistically rethinks the shooter..
Cons: 
  • ...but locks some content behind hard-to-find amiibo
5 years ago

Splatoon (Wii U)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Minor matchmaking issues aside, Splatoon more than delivers on Nintendo's unique vision of how online shooters can play. Randomizing teams and maps between each three-minute match keeps the mix fresh whether you only want to play a handful of games or have a marathon session.
Pros: 
  • Fun
  • quick-playing online battles
  • focused not on kills but on turf-claiming
Cons: 
  • Limited offline options
  • not a "family game" in the local multiplayer sense
5 years ago

Splatoon Wii U Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: As a 4-vs-4 team based shooter, when you come face to face with opponents, it's possible to take them out with weaponry, but Splatoon's Turf War mode, the game's only unranked mode, is largely about making a mess, and making more mess than your opponent does.
4 years ago

Splatoon (Wii U) Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Over the years, there are certain genres that have found an affinity on Nintendo consoles, a comfort zone of fun and familiarity - racing games, platformers, puzzlers and the odd fighting game or two. One of the more popular arenas that Nintendo haven't explored as much are shooting games.
5 years ago

Review: Splatoon

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Splatoon is a pretty big deal. When it was revealed at E3 2014, it excited fans for being Nintendo's first foray into the online shooter genre. It's also the first new character based franchise from Nintendo's main EAD development teams since Pikmin was released on the Gamecube back in 2001.
Pros: 
  • Fun
  • flowing gameplay
  • Tons of customisation
  • There's nothing else like it
Cons: 
  • Lack of online options
  • Limited local multiplayer
  • Too much locked behind amiibo
5 years ago

Splatoon Review Impressions

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: We had little doubt Splatoon would deliver a great first impression. Chaotic, original and colourful, Nintendo's take on the shooter genre is fresh and innovative, and in spite of those who thought that Mario's company wasn't able to compete with other genre giants.
5 years ago

Splatoon review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It's those three minutes that really count, though, and it's there you'll find the genius and the joy of Splatoon. It's where you'll find a genre distilled, broken down and reassembled, with each piece snapping perfectly in place.
5 years ago

Splatoon review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Nor is it a game that actively encourages you to take out the opposition. Sure, giving yourself a numerical advantage is never a bad thing, but the smarter players will focus on covering ground ahead of removing rivals from the equation.
5 years ago

Splatoon Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: A game that could only be made by Nintendo.
5 years ago

Splatoon Review – Painting the Competitive Shooting Genre a Whole New Color (or Two)

★★★★ 3.9
Verdict: Splatoon is elegant. We're talking ballroom elegant. I suggest you take her by the hand and spin her around a couple times. Splatoon also marks the first time Nintendo has dared enter the competitive online shooter genre.
5 years ago

Splatoon (Wii U)

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Nintendo knows fun. This is evident in their latest venture into the online multiplayer-focused, Splatoon. For a long time many have criticised Nintendo for not bringing new IP's to the table. Luckily the wait has turned out to be not only worthwhile but an entirely unique experience as well.
Pros: 
  • Unique | Solid and addictive gameplay
Cons: 
  • NO VOICE CHAT | Atrocious lobby system
5 years ago

Review: Splatoon 2 is the sequel we deserve

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Platform: Nintendo Switch Developer & Publisher: Nintendo MSRP: $59.99 Introduction Late in the Wii U's life cycle, Nintendo released a game that shocked players with its ingenuity and levity.
3 years ago

Awesome

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This game is awesome! Packaging a small scratch but I don't care.
4 years ago

Splatoon (Wii U)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Nintendo takes a chance with this odd, risky rethink of the arena shooter. Splatoon moves away from guns and grit, offering a shooter anyone of any age can enjoy. The game's single-player is an absolutely amazing puzzle platformer that deserves some expansion.
5 years ago

Splatoon Wii U Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Splatoon , Nintendo's first foray into online competitive shooters, is one of the most joyful and imaginative takes on the genre. While pre-release there has been some hesitation due to Nintendo's inexperience with shooters, and it does show in certain aspects.
5 years ago

Splatoon

★★★★ 3.6
Verdict: A whole new way to play online shooters- instead of shooting people, shoot the ground! You can't miss!
5 years ago

Splatoon (Wii U)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Splatoon is simultaneously proof that Nintendo can still deliver tremendously entertaining experiences outside of its usual wheelhouse, and an example of how even the most leaden genres can be twisted to new and delightfully creative ends.
5 years ago
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X