Sony MDR-V55 Reviews

$109.70 from Amazon
★★★★ 4.3
Manufacturer: Sony
X
4.3 ★★★★
Based on 35 reviews.
 

Sony MDR-V55 review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Sony has been in the audio technology business for a good while now, so when we get a pair of Sony headphones in, our hopes are understandably high. Their design is attractive, and the Sony MDR-V55 can be swivelled and folded to be easily carried around.
9 years ago

Sony MDR-V55

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: DJ headphones are a funny breed. What they are meant to be is headphones used by DJs to monitor tunes while performing. What that frequently translates to these days, however, is a street-style set with way too much bass and poor sonic balance.
Pros: 
  • Bags o' fun sound
  • Decent looks
  • Powerful bass
  • Decent clarity
Cons: 
  • Not very comfortable
  • Creaky plastic frame
9 years ago

Sony MDRV55

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: While you don't get a pouch, you do get generally very good sound (a touch of sibilance aside) at a very respectable price.
Pros: 
  • Generally very good sound
  • Excellent value for money
  • Excellent comfort
Cons: 
  • Some vocal sibilance
  • No in-line iPod remote control
  • No pouch
9 years ago

Sony MDR V55 Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Sony is no stranger to the audio business and helped start the personal audio craze with the extremely popular Walkman in the 1980's. With 40mm drivers and a wide frequency response of 5-25,000Hz, the MDR-55s give you quality sound straight out of the package and develop richer sound once they are...
Pros: 
  • These headphones fold for easy storage
  • and the swivel earcups make it easy to listen with just one ear
Cons: 
  • They do not come with a storage bag
  • and the cord is relatively short
8 years ago

Lasted long enough

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: What a great product, but after about 4years, the fabric on the headset started to break down and fall apart in my ears. Too bad, since the headphones still work, but it's the same price to replace the fabric as it is to get a new set.
Pros: 
  • Great quality
  • portability
  • build
Cons: 
  • Fabric on headset deteriorated
8 years ago

Great

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: this headphone is great it has one of the best sound qualities, it gives you the experience of a lifetime. If you are looking for good headphones this is it.
Pros: 
  • Has great sound quality
  • it is comfortable also it sounds great with all music
Cons: 
  • it has a short cord compared to others
9 years ago

Great sound. Bad comfort

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: These headphones are great for someone who isn't going to listen to music for longer than an hour. The sound quality is great. I listen to music for a few hours a day and the padded ear pieces apply too much pressure and become uncomfortable.
Pros: 
  • The sound quality is unmatched
  • Great lows and clear precise highs
Cons: 
  • They apply too much pressure to my ears.
9 years ago

Great Sony sound, but 100 dollar headphones and NO 1/4 adapter

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: So I've been a DJ for about 15 years and have gone through lot's of different headphones. I've always liked the sound of Sony and like many DJ's used their MDR-V700DJ headphones. Well, I picked these up after trying them out at the store display because they sounded great and also because they...
9 years ago

crisp clean sound

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: i use these headphones for everything.
Pros: 
  • Awsome
  • Clear Sound
  • Futuristic White
  • Good bass
  • Very Comfortable
8 years ago

Great Headphones

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: They're great headphones, I've used them for DJing for a while now, however the only downside is I've brought two pairs, because they keep snapping. They do get heavy use as I DJ quite a lot, but I would expect them to be a bit more sturdier/stronger as this is now the third pair that I am...
3 years ago

Sony MDR-V55

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This headphones are worth of this money.
9 years ago

Great

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: this headphone is great it has one of the best sound qualities, it gives you the experience of a lifetime. If you are looking for good headphones this is it.
Pros: 
  • Has great sound quality
  • it is comfortable also it sounds great with all music
Cons: 
  • it has a short cord compared to others
9 years ago

Sony MDR-V55/BR DJ style Headphones

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Better Than You Would Expect. Got these For 10 Dollars, Sounds Absolutely Amazing ,VERY LOUD When Connected To A Headphone Amp NX1 Or Better ,Or A Good Source Like A Sansa Mp3 Player Or Whatever Better Youve Got. As I Said BASS IS THERE, HIGHS TOO, MIDS Are ok.
Pros: 
  • Great BASS Response,Pumping And Thumping,Highs Are Great,Mids Are Okay, Portable, Sounds Great Better Than Mdr XB600 (Rubbish)
  • Can Get !! LOUD !
Cons: 
  • Creaky Build, Bit Fiddly ,But Thats Portability Design In Mind
  • Dont Hear Creaks When Listening 50% Vol
  • Cheap Materials Used For Earpads
8 years ago

Sony MDR-V55 headphones

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Thanks largely to a certain brand of celebrity endorsed headphones, wearing proper headphones in the street is now socially acceptable. The Sony MDR-V55 offer themselves up as "DJ style" so, as Sony puts it, you can take your tracks to the street.
Pros: 
  • Flexible
  • comfortable
  • sound great
Cons: 
  • Leak sound
  • cable a little short
8 years ago

Quite possibly the best headphones ever.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have used these headphones for almost a year now and they sound the exact same today as they did when I first used them. I use them every day plugged into my mobile phone listening to music. And plugged into my laptop to watch movies and listen to music.
Pros: 
  • Loud Clear Bass
  • Mp3s
  • Music Production
  • Flat Wire So No Tangles
  • Flexible
  • Ipod
  • Dj
  • Music
8 years ago

Sony MDR-V55

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have used these headphones for almost a year now and they sound the exact same today as they did when I first used them. I use them every day plugged into my mobile phone listening to music. And plugged into my laptop to watch movies and listen to music.
8 years ago

Awesome!!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I was debating on beats solo or monster headphones found the sony on sale and got them,I was amazed by how good the sound was when try them for the first time good bass but not overpower I try the beats solo at best buy and I'm not afraid to say that the sound on the sony is better than the beats...
7 years ago

Excellent product and service....

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is my best headphone purchase so far. This product is reasonably priced and shipped fast to me. Excellent service from Adorama. I love the design, its comfortable, affordable, stylish, nice bass and well built. Thanks to Adorama and Sony... Excellent product and I recommend this...
Pros: 
  • Adjustable
  • Comfortable
  • Compact Design
  • Easy To Use
  • Great Sound Quality
  • Reasonable Price
  • Stylish Design
Cons: 
  • Short Cable 5 Ft
8 years ago

Sony MDR-V55

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: I have used this series of monitor headphones for about 10 years. Great sound, great comfort. this is my 4th pair in that time. Each pair has broken at the pivot joint. I would like to get more than 2/3 years out of them. THe sound& comfort is good enough to keep buying.
8 years ago

Best experience

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The headphone could be alil tight around the head but that can be fix by bending it a little for a more comfy wear, it sounds grate, looks great, this is my second month using wearing it and it's my only headphones so i wear it everyday and not a thing has changed !
5 years ago

Good..

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Sound quality clear and crispy. Comfortable ear covers. Head band tensile strength is low.because of it ear band grip is low, easily slips down.I think it should be bit stronger.
8 years ago

"SONY MDR-V55 wired DJ Style headphones"

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Are you fond of Music?? Do you love to listen music while walking, reading and doing different things?? Do you love to listen DJ style music with your headphones actually with mobile headphones??
Pros: 
  • Userfriendly
  • good sound quality
  • portable
Cons: 
  • degree of sound leakage
7 years ago

Not noise reducing earphones.

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I bought these to replace my broken noise reducing earphones and because they were over ear design. Argos state that these are noise reducing earphones but they're not. I could still hear the TV even with the TV set turned low and my MP3 player high.
7 years ago

Great product

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The sound quality is very good for a product that is not so expensive. The look and colour also is very good. It is on trend. I would only prefer to have the cups bigger and make it around ear cups.
Pros: 
  • Quality sound
  • reasonably price
  • Trendy look
Cons: 
  • Smaller Ear Cups
7 years ago

Good but the best

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: The sony headpones givs ultimate hearing experience and the bass works awesome. However the main issue with the headphones , when you connect the headphones with mobile, the sound effect doesnot works the best. The cushions are not upto the mark, and also there is a confusion in warranty.
Pros: 
  • Comfortable
  • Good Bass
  • Great Sound
  • Stylish
Cons: 
  • Cord Too Short
7 years ago

Superb quality head phones.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Wow, These headphones are fantastic. Sound is very clean and crisp. I use them for my laptop mostly, I listen to music, YouTube videos, etc.... They are not technically "Noise cancelling" but they do cancel out a good bit of background noise.
7 years ago

Five Stars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Clean sound and well worth the money.
6 years ago

Sony MDR-V55

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Given that this is a rather entry-level set of headphones, I'm willing to give some of their idiosyncrasies a pass. It's easy to nitpick a set of inexpensive cans, and even easier when some of Sony's own headphones outcompete the V55 handily.
6 years ago

Lucious sound, great style

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Wanted something to use chilling in the cafes which would do my music justice and also shut out noise as it gets pretty loud when crowded. I find these very snug, the sound quality is fantastically rich and I've been told they look really cool.
5 years ago

Great Headphones

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Great Headphones, great reproduction just a shame the cord is so short, ok for anyone who only wants to use them with mobile devices but you need to buy an extension cord if you want to use them with a fixed stereo system. Would have been five stars otherwise.
6 years ago

Break within the month!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I've only had these headphones for less than a month. I thought stuff it, it's Christmas, and I never treat myself to anything really so thought I'd pay over what I normally would on these.
4 years ago

Like NEW Refurbished

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Great pair of quality DJ styled headphones. A true DJ style headphone like this pair has rotating ear cups, Strong solid build, and a sound stage tuned for the type of music. Headband has a metal core and a nice Sony logo on the headband.
Pros: 
  • Quality Built Good Design Looks Nice Good Sound Price
Cons: 
  • Slightly creaky plastic Discomfort over time
7 years ago

Very worth the $70 asking price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: These are good for the $70 i paid for them, I had originally set out to find a pair of AudiotTechnica's but none of the stores in my area had them. Sony, in my opinion, makes some of the best head phones for the entry level.
Pros: 
  • Flat cord helps cut down on tangling
  • The sound is fairly nice
  • lows
  • mids
  • and highs all sound fairly good
  • The feel fairly sturdy
  • Comfortable to wear and easy to adjust
  • They also look somewhat nice in a world populated with those ugly "beats
Cons: 
  • the cord could be a bit longer, and the while not uncomfortable the padding could be a bit thicker
  • Like most closedback head phones, your ears can get pretty sweaty wearing them
  • Even folded up they are still fairly bulky
8 years ago

Sony MDRV55

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Look up Sony's website, and all its portable or iPod-related earphones seem to be in-ear types. Nonetheless, its MDRV55 headphones do a decent job of being get-about on-ear models. At 225 grams, these are fairly heavy headphones . Yet, they didn't feel it.
Pros: 
  • Generally very good sound
  • Excellent value for money
  • Excellent comfort
Cons: 
  • Some vocal sibilance
  • No in-line iPod remote control
  • No pouch
9 years ago

Love these!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I love these cans, very nice indeed. Quality (build and sound) is really good - and on a par with many others I have tried over the years; including some that are over double the cost of these Only (small) issue is the fact that the cable is integrated and I would have preferred to be able to change...
6 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X