Samsung 850 Pro MZ-7KE128 128GB Reviews

$280.58 - $731.91 from Amazon
Manufacturer: Samsung
Expert Reviews: 
 4.6
User Reviews: 
 4.8
Features
Usability
 5.0
Value for money
 5.0
Product design
 4.8
Quality
 5.0
 
 

Samsung 850 Pro 512GB review

5.0
Verdict: The 850 Pro is Samsung's new flagship consumer SSD, and the follow-up to the wildly popular 840 Pro, which was one of the best performing SSDs money could buy when it launched in September 2012. We're reviewing the 512GB model here which is priced at £232 (US$399, around AUD$420).
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 PRO 1TB SSD Review (12)

No reviews
Verdict: Let's first step back a few years, to when SSDs first started to appear. They were very expensive, low capacity affairs. Sequential speeds were faster than HDDs, but not by much. Access times were much faster than HDDs, and of course small file random performance also was, in general, much better...
Pros: Silky smooth operation as a system drive, Outstanding sequential reading and writing performance, even at very low queue depths, Outstanding 4K random writing performance, at low queue depths, Outstanding 4k random reading performance at very low, and very high queue depths, Sustainable writing...
Cons: Nothing to mention
5 years ago
 

Samsung SSD 850 PRO Review

No reviews
Verdict: The Samsung SSD 850 PRO gives enthusiasts about everything they could want in a single SATA SSD. Like drives before it, Samsung has infused the SSD 850 PRO with new technology to make it a class leader in terms of performance, endurance and warranty.
Pros: Top-in-class performance, 10-year warranty, Low overall power consumption
Cons: Samsung SSD Evo, OCZ Vertex 460, Crucial/Micron M550, Crucial MX100, SanDisk Extreme Pro, SanDisk Extreme Pro (480GB, SanDisk 1Ynm, eX2 ABL MLC Flash, SATA, Samsung SSD 840 Pro, Intel SSD 730, Top-in-class performance, 10-year warranty, Low overall power consumption, Write power consumption higher...
5 years ago
 

Samsung SSD 850 Pro - 3D NAND Arrives

4.5
Verdict: In the past few weeks, we've seen a steady stream of new solid state drive releases, from the likes of Plextor, Crucial, and SanDisk. Our review of the Plextor M6M mSATA drive can be found here , and we covered Crucial's MX100 series here .
Pros: Strong Performance, High Endurance, Long Warranty
Cons: Somewhat Pricey, No Power Loss Protection
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro 256GB/512GB/1TB review: back at the top!

No reviews
Verdict: Samsung recently introduced their 850 Pro SSDs, which are the first consumer-oriented SSDs based on 3D V-NAND. Do they allow Samsung to reclaim the performance crown?
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro 128GB Review

No reviews
Verdict: Last year, Samsung were the first manufacturer to mass produce 24 layer V-NAND for use in enterprise solutions. Never wanting to rest on their laurels, Samsung have today unleashed an enhanced 32 layer 3D V-NAND equipped drive for the enthusiast market.
Pros: + Very fast write speeds, + Great IOPs performance, + 10 year warranty
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro SSD (512GB) Review

No reviews
Verdict: It would be fair to say that the Samsung 840 Pro was one of the best SSDs we have tested. It offered class leading performance, good build quality, a decent software suite and a good warranty.
5 years ago
 

Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256GB Review

No reviews
Verdict: Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256GB Review Manufacturer: Samsung UK price (as reviewed): Approx £145 (inc VAT) US price (as reviewed): MSRP $199.99 (ex Tax) Despite being introduced a couple of years ago now, Samsung's SSD 840 PRO continues to find itself at the top of performance benchmarks, with other...
5 years ago
 

Samsung's 850 Pro solid-state drive reviewed

No reviews
Verdict: Before we weigh in with our final verdict, we'll bust out a few of our famous value scatter plots. The best solutions will gravitate toward the upper left corner of the plot, which signifies high performance and low prices.
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro MZ-7KE128 128GB

No reviews
Verdict: When it comes to flash memory, Samsung is probably be the biggest innovator. While it's true that Crucial have repeatedly earned our praise (most recently for the featuring 16 nm MLC NAND with a memory density of 256 Gbits per Die), Samsung is known for more radical changes: last year, the Samsung...
Pros: Outstanding Performance, Support for Microsoft eDrive / TCG Opal, Very high write load specification, Ten-year warranty
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro 512GB Full Review - NAND Goes 3D!

No reviews
Verdict: I wasn't kidding earlier. Samsung has so much confidence in the increased endurance of their V-NAND that they've upped the warranty to 10-years, rated at 40GB of writes per day, which equates to 150TB of total writes.
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 PRO 1TB review

4.5
Verdict: The Samsung 850 PRO arrived just too late for last year's round-up of the best SSDs, but even a year down the line it still has little serious competition in the stakes for the world's best SATA SSD.
4 years ago
 

Samsung 850 PRO 1 TB review

4.5
Verdict: If you have a SATA-based PC and want to fit it with the best storage, take a close look at the Samsung 850 PRO. Samsung 850 PRO 1 TB review. Samsung 850 PRO 1 TB benchmarks.
4 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro MZ-7KE128 128GB

No reviews
Verdict: October 20, 2014 by Lawrence Lee Product Crucial MX100 512GB 2.5 inch SSD Samsung 850 Pro 256GB 2.5 inch SSD Manufacturer Crucial Technology Samsung Street Price US$210 US$190 Crucial and Samsung are two of the biggest names in solid-state drives.
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 PRO 256GB Review

No reviews
Verdict: We've seen many solid state drives over the past few years, some memorable and some forgettable. But it's rather rare to see new technologies emerge that push the boundaries of performance, features, and even pricing.
Pros: Extensive software package; Data Migration; Great stock performance; Otherworldly performance with RAPID Mode enabled
Cons: Price premium
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro MZ-7KE128 128GB

4.7
Verdict: We didn't spend a lot of time talking about the 3D V-NAND in this article or RAPID Mode. We just published a very detailed V-NAND whitepaper and RAPID Mode was discussed in detail in our initial reviews . The 850 Pro is a complicated product made easy by its performance.
5 years ago
 

Samsung SSD 850 Pro (128GB, 256GB & 1TB) Review: Enter the 3D Era

No reviews
Verdict: Samsung does not cease to amaze me with their SSDs as the 850 Pro just kills it in every aspect. The performance is there. The endurance is the best of the class. Heck, even Samsung's feature and software suites beat the competition by a mile.
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro SSD Review – Showing Off With 3D V-NAND

4.7
Verdict: Ever since our first discovery of the 470 Series SATA 2 SSD way back in 2010, Samsung has been unstoppable, carving out a new standard with every SSD release. The release of the 850 Pro SSD with 3D V-NAND is a perfect example of just that.
5 years ago
 

Samsung SSD 850 Pro

No reviews
Verdict: Today Samsung is unveiling their latest SSD and successor to the mighty 840 Pro. Named the 850 Pro it is not only faster than the 840 Pro and possibly the fastest SATA SSD money can buy, but more importantly it is also one of the most reliable thanks to its use of V-NAND flash memory.
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro SSD review - 3D V-NAND is here

4.0
Verdict: The Samsung 850 Pro is the first Samsung SSD to use a new type of NAND flash: 3D V-NAND. Although it's a very complicated technology, 3D V-NAND is potentially very important for the future of SSDs.
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro SSD Review

4.2
Verdict: Considering the breakneck one-upsmanship we saw among early SSD makers, record-setting iterations have been slower to arrive over the last two years with 2012's Samsung SSD 840 Pro series maintaining relevance among a laundry list of competing options after price cuts brought it from $1.05 per...
Pros: Samsung says the 850 Pro is the fastest, most reliable SATA SSD available and we'll buy that line until we test the SanDisk Extreme Pro or experience a failure
Cons: It certainly isn't the best value considering its premium over the Extreme Pro and availability of drives like the Crucial MX100. RAPID isn't as useful as you may think
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro Review

4.5
Verdict: Samsung has built a good reputation for fast and high-quality SSDs. It introduced the 470 to desktops four years ago, and its SSDs were in high-end laptops before that. The company also distinguished itself by designing its own controller chips and manufacturing its own NAND flash memory.
Pros: Super fast; 10-year warranty; slick software that could be a stand-alone product
Cons: Quite expensive for what you're getting; warranty is overkill
4 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD Review

No reviews
Verdict: It may have taken just a tad longer for SATA solid state drives (SSDs) to finally hit the performance wall specified by the SATA III standard but the fact that we are here means that PCIex solutions will soon cease to be the only ones capable for read/write speeds exceeding 1000MB/s and although for...
Pros: - Build Quality, - Excellent Overall Performance, - Features (TurboWrite/RAPID Mode/eDrive Support, - Samsung Magician Software, - 10 Year Warranty, - Available In 1TB
Cons: - Price (For Some
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro SSD review

4.9
Verdict: Samsung created a lovely product with the 850 Pro series of SSDs, they are remarkably fast in pretty much any and all tests from our benchmark suite. The drive is continuously in the top 5 of tested SSDs performance wise and to see performance that high with such consistency shows that the SSD is...
5 years ago
 

Although I hate Samsung, this is about the best SSD available on the market today.

5.0
Verdict: This is about the highest rated SSD on the market. Unfortunately, I don't like buying Samsung products, and my family has had very bad luck with Samsung appliances. We won't EVER buy another Samsung washer, dryer, refrigerator, etc. However, Samsung is a leader in SSD research and development.
2 years ago
 

A Good Decision for Bulk Fast Storage

4.5
Verdict: I bought this SSD for both its quality and storage size. Went in without a hitch and the Samsung software easily copied my two 400GB RAID 0 drives to it flawlessly. Three partitions were copied. Not one hitch. If you want more speed, buy several smaller size 850 EVO Pros and RAID 0 them.
3 years ago
 

Awesome

5.0
Verdict: Makes any PC come to life and boot up 'instantly'. This is very suitable for top range i7 Laptops (or PCs) and works well with fast Vengeange DDR ram. Like turning your PC into a top end Mac Book Pro. Result is top score on Windows performance ranking.
4 years ago
 

Amazing

5.0
Verdict: Easy to install, and the results are immediate. My laptop is lightning fast now, and the only downside is that I can't go to the restroom on loading times anymore. Definitely a must-buy!
3 years ago
 

Poor support

5.0
Verdict: When it works it's good. Next time a different brand.
Pros: Fast, lots of storage
Cons: Stops responding every once in a while requiring a reboot Very bad firmware support search samsung 850 pro firmware if you want to see for yourself..
4 years ago
 

great product

5.0
Verdict: I have purchased quite a few hard ssds and always come back to Samsung. magician and transfer software works first time and no bugs left behind after the swap. Cant see how you could improve on this one. Off the scale performance on a i7 processor
Pros: simple and effective
Cons: nothing to dislike
4 years ago
 

Good One

3.8
Verdict: Late deliver
4 years ago
 

A great upgrade path.

5.0
Verdict: Bought this to refresh my ageing MacBook pro 2011. Decided to reinstall OS from scratch. Plopped it in. Now it is running like new with loads more headroom. No need to go out and buy a new, and expensive, MacBook replacement - hence this drive was a really bargain.
4 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro MZ-7KE128 128GB

5.0
Verdict: Coming from the old hard disk, I'm very impressed with the performance of this Samsung 850 Pro SSD. If there is no Windows update, I think my computer is shutting down in 3 seconds. I replaced my WD Black Edition with this SSD and very impressed with the performance. Absolutely recommended.
3 years ago
 

Speed and reliable

5.0
Verdict: Replacing a hard drive, use an SSD. Increases your system performance by at least 3 times. The PRO model has a 10 year warranty, nothing else like that. If they are offering that type of warranty, you know they used the good stuff to build it.
1 year ago
 

Installed it in a mid-2012 MBP unibody A1278 with macOS ...

5.0
Verdict: Installed it in a mid-2012 MBP unibody A1278 with macOS sierra update, 16GB RAM, after the factory HDD crashed. Reinstalled Yosemite on the SSD. EtreCheck went from "very poor" to "excellent". MBP boots up very fast.
2 years ago
 

Amazing performance

5.0
Verdict: Got two of these a few weeks ago. I have raided them together on my iMac 27" in a thunderbolt enclosure. (StarTech.com S252SMTB3 - Thunderbolt Hard Drive Enclosure with Thunderbolt Cable). I get read speeds over 880mb/s and write speeds averaging around the 850mb/s mark. Amazing drives.
4 years ago
 

Sansung SSD and Awesome Mingration Software

5.0
Verdict: Samsung's Migration software is excellent, simple, and fast to clone an existing SSD/HDD to a Samsung SSD. A real pleasure. The Samsung SSD performs as advertised immediately.Puget Systems built up my system five years ago and offer a more detail instruction guide for the use of Sansung's Migration...
3 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro MZ-7KE128 128GB

5.0
Verdict: I bought this drive to replace my "old" Samsung SSD 830 with 256 GB. I did not notice huge improvement in speed. That said I am not doing huge data transfers. Both drives are really fast, but needed a bigger main drive, as I use computer for work as well as entertainment, and when working do not...
Pros: speed, capacity, easy of installation and data transfer
Cons: price
3 years ago
 

Fast and Nimble

5.0
Verdict: Degrading performance had me take the step to upgrade the hard drive. Glad I did, faster loading, quicker responses have enabled me to do more work in less time.
4 years ago
 

Good and Fast SSD

5.0
Verdict: Time will tell, however from past purchases the Samsung's have proven very reliable. This drive comes with system copy software as well as health analysis software.
1 year ago
 

Revived tired old laptop very nicely

5.0
Verdict: So far so good with my scheme for updating a very indifferent and slow laptop. 2 mins to install, just goes exactly where your HD went, in my case attaches to small caddy using same screws that HD used.
1 year ago
 

A Year later.......Perfect!

5.0
Verdict: If one cannot afford nor wants to play in the new & growing world of NVMe SSD's, this is top of the line. Only one or two other brands offers a 10 year warranty on the same drive, or 150 TBW written.
Pros: Nice Retail packaging, no way this SSD is going to move around in the tightly packed box. Fast as one is going to get in the SATA-3 SSD line 10 year warranty, double that of the 840 Pro. Going strong for a year, having been in three different PC's
Cons: That is's not a NVMe SSD.;-
2 years ago
 

quick

5.0
Verdict: samsung pro is the way to go. excellent performance and totally reliable. the evo is also good if the pro is out of your price range
3 years ago
 

I want TWO!

5.0
Verdict: I think I'll grab two of the 1-TB versions for my gaming laptop and stripe them so they're twice as fast. :D
Pros: Speed
Cons: Cost
4 years ago
 

Installed in Intel NUC

5.0
Verdict: Installed this in a new Intel i7 NUC, which only accepts M.2 SSD's. Installed flawlessly, and works perfectly in this unit.
2 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro MZ-7KE256BW 256GB 2.5" SSD , 3D V-NAND , SATA III 6Gb/s, R/W(Max) 540MB/520MB, 100K/90K IOPS,...

5.0
Verdict: Top quality SSD. Perfect for a PC build to run your OS. Fantastic boot time with Windows 10
5 years ago
 

Samsung 850 Pro 512GB SSD Review

1.0
Verdict: Samsung's new 850 Pro line of SSDs are easily the fastest on the market at the time of publishing. They offer all the newest features in one single package. Samsung's 3D V-NANA, RAPID Mode, and the huge 150TBW make this drive stand out from the crown.
5 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X