Nikon Monarch 5 8x42 Reviews

$537.00 - $829.00 from 9 retailers
★★★★★ 4.7
Manufacturer: Nikon
X
4.7 ★★★★★
Based on 21 reviews.
 

Multi Use Binoculars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Initial impression of these binoculars sure seem to indicate we made the right choice. Use for spotting, birding, and general travel. Taking them on a world cruise for 4 months. Couldn't be more excited to test these for hours on end. Super happy they can be used while wearing eye glasses.
Pros: 
  • Price
  • Size and Weight
  • low light
  • Light weight
  • rugged
  • low light gathering abilities
  • amazing customer service
  • Clarity
  • Size
  • Weight
  • Brightness
  • Versital
  • Weight
  • water/rain/fog proof
  • Optical Performance
  • Low light performance is excellent
  • Solidly constructed
  • Excellet material quality
Cons: 
  • Didn't come with harness
  • I haven't found any yet
  • Objective caps are a little loose compared to the older models
  • Not made in Japan or USA
  • None
3 years ago

Brings eagle nest into focus...

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: There is an eagle nest near our home with two adults and two young eagles. We bought these binoculars so that we, along with our granddaughters, could see activity in and around the nest. Excellent viewing with this Nikon...we look forward to many years of enjoyment with this purchase.
3 years ago

A binocular with seriously great features

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I have had this product for several years and it is impressive. Besides the warranty this item exceeds my expectation for it' construction and build. It is a very solid binoculars and the roof prism is different from the Monarch 3. It does not have a yellowish hue from the silver roof prism.
2 years ago

Great product for the price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: They are not obviously Swarovski my any means but for a under $500 pair of binoculars they are great
7 years ago

Totally Pleased

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: First quality pair I've owned. Wife game them to me for Christmas in 2013. Took the place of a 50-year old no name brand with was pretty good, but the Nikon kicks them in the knees. Typical targets are 200 - 300 yards away and they do everything I'd want.
Pros: 
  • Very bright and sharp optics
  • Easy to focus
  • A true joy to use
Cons: 
  • Lens caps don't stay on as well as I'd like
  • Center pivot barely makes the eye pieces wide enough for me
7 years ago

Nikon Monarch 5 8x42

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: These are great for watching the wildlife on the Marina. Superb clarity and easy to focus. Not sure what the fuss is with the eye covers are because if you have fitted the strap on properly through them they fit and stay in place when not in use. Overall a decent bit of kit !
2 years ago

Good all-round binoculars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Well constructed without being too heavy. Nicely fitting lens cups. Focusses across range with a single turn. Good diopter range on eyepiece (abt. -4D) and setting holds firmly. Excellent adjustable eye relief allows for wearing spectacles if required. Quick accurate bright focussing.
2 years ago

NIKON BINOCULARS MONARCH 5

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I just got these for my wife, to say she is happy with these is an understatement She broke them in with her first eagle sighting, right after opening the box..!
4 years ago

Awesome Binocs

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought one pair of the Nikon 8x42 Monarch 5 binoculars a month ago and my wife and I loved them so much we were fighting over them so I just ordered a second pair from B&H! I've never owned binoculars this large before but it only took a few minutes to get completely used to the weight and size,...
3 years ago

Monarch 5s are great!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Nikon Monarch 5 10x42 binoculars are a great product.I bought a pair last year and my wife and I liked them so much we got ourselves another pair recently. We also convinced three of our friends to get a pair.
Pros: 
  • Close Focus
  • Compact
  • Lightweight
  • Quality Lenses
  • Strong Construction
  • Waterproof
Cons: 
  • Not great with glasses
7 years ago

Nikon Monarch 5 8x42 Binocular

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Solid Value! As a beginner birder, upgrading from the Nikon Action Extreme 8x bins, I first noticed a great improvement in weight.
9 years ago

binocularreviews.org

I love them. Very comfortable and very easy to adjust

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I love them. Very comfortable and very easy to adjust. Very light in weight and compact. Would definitely buy again
3 years ago

Nikon Monarch 5 8x42

★★★★★
Verdict: Good but not great. The Nikon Monarch 5 binoculars are among the better models in this price range (Est. $300). However, they don't compete with top-of-the-line brands. One review on BirdWatching-Bliss.com states, "Only in a direct comparison with the top-priced binoculars could our reviewers...
Pros: 
  • Lightweight
  • Sturdy
  • Work well with glasses
Cons: 
  • Poorly fitting lens caps
8 years ago

Nikon Monarch 5 8x42

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I have been very pleased with my purchase. I used them last weekend at the inaugural Indianapolis Grand Prix Indy car race for the first time. Great clarity, can't wait for my annual fall fishing trip to Montana.
Pros: 
  • Close Focus
  • Lightweight
  • Multiple Uses
  • Quality Lenses
  • Works Well With Glasses
Cons: 
  • no cons
7 years ago

Great Binoculars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I made a study of binoculars at a price point of up to $500. I found these comparable in brightness, clarity, and ergonomic design to the Zeiss Terra, at a significantly lower price, particularly when purchased from Wal-Mart.
6 years ago

Five Stars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great one...perfect for bird watching....
5 years ago

NIKON MONARCH 5 10 x 42 mm Binoculars - Black

★★★★★ 4.5
Pros: 
  • Light in weight and good definition of objects
  • Value for money
  • A quality product
Cons: 
  • No
5 years ago

Excellent quality

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought these as a gift for my son, as he had been using mine for around a year and wanted the same quality. These feel great in the hand and optically crisp and clear for the price range both close up and distance.
3 years ago

Great quality

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: These binoculars are well made and perfect for long distance viewing
4 years ago

Stunning clarity

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Have a lot of binoculars for different purposes but for clarity and contrast these are in a class of their own. I now use these in preference to my bigger, heavier and theoretically superior binoculars.
Pros: 
  • Easy to use
  • Compact
  • Build quality
Cons: 
  • Battery life
5 years ago

Nikon Monarch 5 Binoculars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Simply stunning binoculars. Our most popular binoculars especially for bird watchers. The clarity and sharpness is amazing.
6 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X