Google Chromecast Audio Reviews

$34.95 from Tech Crazy
Manufacturer: Google
Expert Reviews: 
 4.5
User Reviews: 
 4.3
Features
Usability
 5.0
Features
 4.1
Product design
 4.6
Performance
 4.8
 
 

Google Chromecast Audio Review: Easy and Affordable Audio Streaming

4.5
Verdict: Streaming audio to speakers seems like it should be easy: press Play on a mobile device here, and sounds come out over there. It can work that way if you buy a Bluetooth speaker or an audio/video receiver with Bluetooth or Apple's AirPlay wireless streaming audio technology built in.
Pros: Inexpensive, Simple to set up, Easy to use, Plays high-resolution audio files
Cons: No support for iTunes, Apple Music or Amazon Prime Music
3 years ago
 

Chromecast Audio review

4.5
Verdict: The Google Chromecast was (and still is) the simple savior the rickety Smart TV revolution needed. Instead of buying an all-new television to access the latest entertainment apps, all you need is something that a large percentage of us have already: an HDMI port, an internet connection and 40 bucks.
4 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio

4.5
Verdict: Google's Chromecast is an affordable, compelling media streamer that lets you watch video from your mobile devices on your television. But it only works with an HDMI connection, and that leaves anything without a big screen out of the game.
Pros: Inexpensive. Easy to set up. Can make any speaker or sound system Wi-Fi enabled and part of a multi-room setup. Multiple speaker configurations supported. High-resolution (96KHz/24bit) audio now supported
Cons: Only works with 3.5mm connections out of the box. No support for stereo pairs
3 years ago
 

Chromecast Audio : Google Chromecast Audio

4.5
Verdict: Streaming audio to speakers that do not support Bluetooth can be carried out using this next product.
3 years ago
 

Grace Digital CastDock X2 review: A clever Chromecast Audio companion

No reviews
Verdict: You can connect a Chromecast Audio Wi-Fi audio device to virtually any powered speaker. The disc-shaped dongle has both analog and digital outputs. But when you plug one into Grace Digital's CastDock X2 ( $100 at Amazon ), Google's product virtually disappears to become one with the speaker, which...
3 years ago
 

Chromecast Audio review

No reviews
Verdict: A little over two years ago Google launched the original Chromecast: a $35 dongle that you plug into the HDMI port of your TV to stream media from online video and music sites. It was the most affordable media streaming device released, and also one of the simplest to use… kind of.
3 years ago
 

Living with Chromecast Audio: A brilliantly simple audio streaming solution

No reviews
Verdict: I've always wanted to have my whole home connected to a smart streaming-audio system -- one that'd let me take my music from room to room and play anything I want anywhere in the house, using any phone or tablet to control it.
4 years ago
 

Chromecast Audio - Multiroom for the masses

3.5
Verdict: The rise of smartphones has paved the way for a number of new product categories. Connected appliances, wearables, and Bluetooth headphones are all well and good, but wireless multiroom speakers are easily my favourite.
Pros: Easy to setup and use, Clever, Affordable
Cons: Limited app compatibility, Even more limited for iPhone users, Multiroom features a little too basic
3 years ago
 

Chromecast Audio

4.0
Verdict: The Chromecast Audio is a small music streaming device that you can plug into a speaker system or hi-fi so you can access music over Wi-Fi. It's Google's attempt to try and do for music what it did for video with the first-generation Chromecast .
Pros: Really easy to set up, Works with a large variety of speakers, Chromecast app is simple to use, Strong third-party app support
Cons: Sound delay when casting from website, Multiroom support not available (yet, Has to stay plugged in
3 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio Review

4.0
Verdict: Google's Chromecast Audio is the cheapest, easiest way to stream wireless sound to every room in the house.
Pros: Highly stable streaming, Sounds better than Bluetooth, Brilliantly simple setup, Extremely affordable, Multiroom audio support
Cons: Won't stream iTunes or Apple Music from iOS devices, Third-party app required to stream audio from a computer, Included audio cable is relatively useless
2 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio

4.4
Verdict: Depending on your needs, the Chromecast Audio can be a very useful device in your home, unlocking many different ways to stream audio across devices in your home. It is not just a regular wireless audio device, it works on WiFi and has the ability to connect to the internet.
Pros: WiFi based streaming Easy to setup Compact device Balanced audio output Can drive wide variety of speakers Wide support for apps Audio sync between multiple CCs on the network Guest mode
Cons: No surround sound Sync issues with some apps
4 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio

4.2
Verdict: If you have a good set of speakers and want to stream music to them, the Chromecast Audio is a simple and inexpensive way to make them work with almost all of the the top music services. The combinationof a great price point, wide compatibility and dead-simple setup makes it easyto recommend.
3 years ago
 

Chromecast Audio review

No reviews
Verdict: The Chromecast Audio is the perfect device for those wanting to stream audio to their speakers or other audio equipment. Google only upgrades its Chromecast lineup every so often and the Chromecast (2015) was one of our favorite accessories of 2015.
3 years ago
 

Chromecast Audio turns your old speaker wireless, but who needs it?

No reviews
Verdict: Reviewing the Chromecast Audio , a small round dongle that plugs into your speakers and essentially turns them into wireless ones capable of streaming music over Wi-Fi, didn't start with a bang. My problem was finding a non-wireless speaker to connect Google's new dongle to.
4 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio review

5.0
Verdict: While the TV-based Chromecast seems happy to run off any old USB port, I've run into problems with the Chromecast Audio when trying to run it from a 5V USB port on the back of a hi-fi amp (one that has successfuly powered other Wi-Fi DACs), with regular failures in the connection.
Pros: Cheap, Easy to use, Works with almost anything, Good sound quality
Cons: Some USB ports might not be powerful enough for it, No Apple Music support, No multiroom (yet
4 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio Review: Here is how to turn your old speaker?smart

No reviews
Verdict: Google Chromecast Audio basically wants to be the Kindle of audio streaming hardware. It does one thing really well - streaming music.
3 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio

5.0
Verdict: If all you care about is streaming audio to your hi-fi system, there are many products offering what the Chromecast 2 does, not least the excellent Gramofon , which I reviewed earlier this year.
3 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio

No reviews
Verdict: Google's Chromecast Audio isn't exactly a new product anymore; it's been on shelves in the US for a few months, following its announcement last September at Google's Nexus event in San Francisco.
3 years ago
 

A bargain streamer

5.0
Verdict: I have been using a Sonos Connect to stream my iTunes library from a NAS drive for the past few years, however I was finding it a bit temperamental and not the most reliable of systems so I took the decisions to join the streaming revolution and subscribed to Spotify this year.
3 years ago
 

Chromecast Audio review: audiophile streaming for your dimwitted HiFi

5.0
Verdict: I'm a massive fan of the Chromecast Audio. It's managed to pick out a niche and offer an incredibly convenient, good-value and great-sounding way to fill it out. The rise of networked audio players has generally filled out the high-cost area of the market.
Pros: Simple setup, Easy to use, Bargain price
Cons: Tailored for Android, Needs more dedicated apps
4 years ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio

5.0
Pros: Very easy setup and seamlessly integrated with the rest of my Google Smart Home devices
Cons: Shares Google Play license with other devices so sometimes when switching from phone to Chromecast I get license errors
2 months ago
 

Wow!!!!!

1.0
Verdict: Complete sound in every room even with speakers that didn't match!!!!! Easy setup!!!!!Staples excellent on delivery!!!!!Very fast!!!!!
9 months ago
 

Google Chromecast Audio

3.5
Verdict: Superb that Google supports clean audio products when you do not have HDMI inputs on the boot device. I need digital to external DAC, which on Chromecast Audio goes via twoslink. Additionally, Android Wear watches as the remote control of streaming from the phone.
2 years ago
 

Does what it says on the tin!

5.0
Verdict: These are really small and work well. They setup the same as a standard Chromecast in just a few steps. You can group them together in any arrangement you want or use them individually. Works with music apps directly or you can cast all your phones sound to them.
3 years ago
 

Great device

5.0
Verdict: I have owned a Chromecast for a few years now and I am a huge fan. They can stream content flawlessly, even when the wireless network is fairly busy. That's all they do, they stream content, but they seem to be extremely well optimized for the task.
3 years ago
 

Doesn't work with Chromecast

5.0
Verdict: Was hoping it would enable my Chromecast work with my speakers and not my TVs speakers. It does not do that. Technically there should be no reason why the Chromecast Audio can't work with the Chromecast. But as of now it doesn't.
3 years ago
 

Love this product

5.0
Verdict: "Took about 5 minutes to setup and now I can stream music from all my devices to my old Hi-Fi. Love it!"
8 months ago
 

Pretty rubbish

5.0
Verdict: Struggled to set up the thing, and it worked, or it didnt very inconsistently. Reached out to manufacturers and they reckon (they arent sure) that it's incompatible with my (perfecly normal) wifi network. Not going to rip that out to replace it just for this.
3 years ago
 

Love it, set up was a little weird.

4.0
Verdict: I love this thing. I have it connected to my google home. I love that I can control my stereo from across the room. For some reason, I had a lot of trouble setting it up though. Took a few attempts, but it finally worked.
1 year ago
 

GOOGLE Chromecast Audio

1.0
Pros: Simple! I can choose music using a Plex app. and play on my HiFi
Cons: Not all apps. find the Chromecast Audio device
1 year ago
 

Highly Recommended.

5.0
Verdict: Very easy to set up and I've used it quite often to listen to internet radio on my hi-fi system using a PC, which I find more 'user friendly'. You will probably need the 'Google Home' app to set it up if you are using an android smartphone.
1 year ago
 

I bought a second!

5.0
Verdict: I'm using these to work some lights in my room. The two chrome casts work great together and also work great with Spotify.
11 months ago
 

Easy to set up, easy to use

5.0
Verdict: Very easy to set up, good support by major streaming services. No brainer for the price.
3 years ago
 

Works Great for Multi room setup

5.0
Verdict: Perfect
Pros: I have 4 of these on 4 different home systems (multi zone). I use google Play to stream the same song to my whole house at the same time so i do what SONOS does for way cheaper. I use a digital connector to my external DACS to get better sound on my bigger stereos.
Cons: When your tablet/phone goes to sleep for an extended period of time the playlist continues to play but i sometimes have issues stopping it when shutting it down. A little finicky for this but way better than buying multiple SONOS Would be nice to be able to stream my own music library
2 years ago
 

Great Device

5.0
Verdict: Easy to setup and with HDR set to ON (i'm using reasonable quality standalone active stereo speakers) the sound quality is great. Running with Google Music app i've got an infinite music collection at my fingertips.
3 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X