Canon EOS 5D Mark III Reviews

$1,199.00 - $2,199.00 from 2 retailers
★★★★★ 4.5
Manufacturer: Canon
X
4.5 ★★★★★
Based on 106 reviews.
 

Canon EOS 5D Mark III Review

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: With a camera of such pedigree, there are naturally high expectations. Find out how good it is in the What Digital Camera Canon EOS 5D Mark III review
Pros: 
  • Excellent set of features
  • build-quality is much better than MkII
  • AF system and overall performance
Cons: 
  • Expensive compared to some rivals
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: The Canon EOS 5D Mark III is the successor to the enormously popular EOS 5D Mark II, and builds on the success of this full-frame DSLR. When the original EOS 5D was launched in October 2005, it represented the first 'affordable' full-frame DSLR.
Pros: 
  • Great photo and video quality with low noise at high sensitivities
  • Powerful 61-point AF system with easy presets
  • Large viewfinder with 100% coverage and detailed 3:2 screen
  • 6fps continuous shooting
  • Good ergonomics
  • build quality and twin card slots
Cons: 
  • No built-in flash or wireless controller, No built-in Wifi or GPS
  • Both are expensive accessories, No articulated screen, no interval timer, No movie crop mode, no clean HDMI, no continuous movie AF, 36 Megapixel Nikon D800 available for less
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★ 4.1
Verdict: The Canon EOS 5D Mark III is not only a very capable photographic tool in almost all areas, it's also fun and exciting to shoot with. Slight JPEG softness is disappointing in a camera at this level but it's only visible at pixel-level and we would expect most of the camera's target group to shoot...
Pros: 
  • Good resolution and detail in raw files
  • Good color and tonality across the ISO range
  • Reliable metering even in difficult contrast situations
  • Very responsive and snappy operation
  • thanks to new Digic 5+ processor
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting with good buffering
  • Excellent build-quality...
Cons: 
  • Destructive noise reduction results in mushy JPEGs
  • even at base ISO
  • Visible sharpening artifacts at default settings
  • Heavy-handed noise reduction leads to lack of low-contrast detail at higher ISOs
  • Distortion correction not available 'on the fly
  • Built-in microphone only monaural
  • Soft video...
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★
Verdict: Pros : Superb still and video image quality; Powerful, fast, and accurate AF system with loads of cross-type points, loads of configurability and great frame coverage; Rugged, weather-sealed body with great control layout and user-interface configurability.
Pros: 
  • Very high resolution
  • Great image quality
  • Excellent hue accuracy
  • Superb high ISO performance
  • Real-time chromatic aberration and corner shading compensation
  • Good 24 x 36-inch prints from ISO 100-1,600
  • ISO 102,400 shots produce a good 4 x 6-inch print
  • Wider range of bracketing options
  • Very
Cons: 
  • Dynamic range not as good as competitors (deep shadow noise is rather high in raw files
  • Auto and Incandescent white balance are quite warm in typical indoor lighting
  • Default noise reduction a bit high
  • loses detail even at low ISOs
  • flattens subtle detail quite a bit at higher ISOs
  • Default
10 years ago

Canon 5D Mark III

★★★★★
Verdict: ? As one of the true superstar digital SLRs retailing for a medium-high starting price, the Canon 5D Mark III deserves close scrutiny, and it's lived up to our expectations. Replete with new features, the Canon 5D Mark III's most important one is its full-frame sensor, whose resolution Canon kept to...
Pros: 
  • Superb still and video image quality
  • Powerful, fast, and accurate AF system with loads of cross-type points, loads of configurability and great frame coverage
  • Rugged, weather-sealed body with great control layout and user-interface configurability, Very high resolution, Great image quality,...
Cons: 
  • Dynamic range is limited by noise in deep shadows
  • Somewhat heavy-handed noise suppression and sharpening at default settings. (Shooting RAW avoids both.)
  • No AF illuminator, Dynamic range not as good as competitors (deep shadow noise is rather high in raw files, Auto and Incandescent white balance...
5 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★
Verdict: Plus, it saves all of the single shots used as well as the final HDR image. All in all, Canon's version of HDR "is much more useful for serious photographers." Unlike the Nikon D800, the Canon Mark III lacks a pop-up flash.
Pros: 
  • Strong 22.3-megapixel resolution
  • Extraordinary low-light capability
  • Healthy 6 fps burst rate
  • Outstanding autofocus
  • Very intuitive to use
  • Dual CF/SD card slots
Cons: 
  • Less sharpness and detail than Nikon D800
  • Autofocus must be triggered manually in movie mode
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mk III Digital Camera Review

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: Fast forward to the 2nd March 2012 and Canon announce the 5D Mk III. With 7 years of history behind this single unit the announcement came on the back of a 25th anniversary for Canon's first camera in the EOS series, the film-based EOS 650.
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III field review

★★★★★
Verdict: If you're in the market for a full-frame DSLR, you can't go wrong with Canon's 5D Mark III.
Pros: 
  • Incredible image quality through ISO 25,600
  • Excellent focusing system
  • Comprehensive HD video options
  • Brilliant 3.2-inch LCD with wide viewing angle
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • No autofocus during video capture
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★
Verdict: When Canon released the original 5D full-frame digital SLR, most of the photography world was set back on its heels by the advancement of the state of the art. Though lower in resolution than most APS-C (smaller) sensor cameras today, the trusty 5D, with all its foibles, lousy rear LCD, highly...
Pros: 
  • There is nothing in photography and serious video that the Canon 5D Mark III can't handle
  • I have personally never liked the physical form factor of the full-size Canon camera bodies, but the 5D Mark III has slight shutter button angle, control button and control surface improvements, and a couple...
Cons: 
  • Early production units of the EOS 5D Mark III gave some early adopters with minor aggravations
  • On some units, there seemed to be noisier image stabilizer operation with certain IS lenses mounted.
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Canon's EOS 5D Mark III has a lot to live up to. For a start, the original Canon EOS 5D was the first DSLR to really bring full-frame digital photography within the reach of enthusiast photographers.
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Canon's EOS 5D Mark III has a lot to live up to. For a start, the original Canon EOS 5D was the first DSLR to really bring full-frame digital photography within the reach of enthusiast photographers.
5 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III review Review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: These results really do speak for themselves. The 5D Mark III consistently captured sharp, well-exposed shots throughout my tests. The auto-focus subsystem was sharp, and with 61 points, it was easy to get exactly the shot I was after.
Pros: 
  • Image quality
  • Build
  • Movie clarity
  • Improvements over predecessor
Cons: 
  • None
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Breathtaking image quality and a wide range of autofocus options are among the highlights of this superbly rounded package
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: The Canon EOS 5D Mark II is one of the most highly regarded DSLRs of all time, so the 22.3-million-pixel Mark III upgrade has a great deal to live up…
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: It's the little additions that make the Mark III a worthy target for photographers to upgrade from the previous camera. Feature tweaks, as well as a significant boost to the low-light capabilities in stills and video recording, will be invaluable for many photographers.
Pros: 
  • Improved AF performance
  • Excellent image quality
  • Headphone monitoring
  • Improved video quality with low moire and artefacts
  • Excellent high ISO performance
Cons: 
  • Repositioned buttons may annoy Mark II upgraders
  • No clean HDMI output
  • Video and images straight from camera can benefit from a small amount of sharpening
10 years ago

[REVIEW-CANON EOS 5DMkIII DSLR]

★★★★★
Verdict: This 22 megapixel full frame camera is the upgrade of the revered MkII. While there are not many extra pixels the processor, ISO range, burst rate, viewfinder coverage and LCD have all been improved. Auto focus is now by 61 points instead of 9.
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III Review: The Best DSLR For Shooting Video

★★★★★
Verdict: It's been nearly four years since Canon released the EOS 5D Mark II, the camera that turned digital still cameras into affordable workhorses for videographers and indie filmmakers. And this next evolution was definitely created with those filmmakers in mind.
10 years ago

Canon 5D Mark III – 48

★★★★★
Verdict: Canon's newest camera, the EOS 5D Mark III, has been highly anticipated for about a year now and though it is not the game changing camera the 5D Mark II was - I doubt that any camera will ever match what the MK II did to the photography/video industry - this latest model has quite a few excellent...
Pros: 
  • Better performance at high ISOs
  • Weather seals
  • High frame rate
  • Ergonomics
Cons: 
  • A few gimmicky buttons/features
  • Confusing menu system (too many options
10 years ago

Canon 5D Mark III DSLR Camera Review

★★★★★
Verdict: What follows is a quick overview of the video capabilities of the Canon EOS 5D Mark III . Read our comprehensive analysis and testing results in greater detail at DigitalCameraInfo.com .
10 years ago

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!!

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: There is 5D Mark 4 and 6D Mark 2, but 5D Mark 3 is the best one. 5D Mark 4 is just minor update from 5Dmk3. 6Dmk2 has many features, but it can't bit 5Dmk3's outcome. I love 5Dmk3 :)
4 years ago

Dream come true with one exception...

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This camera is a dream come true. I've had it for 2 weeks and I've filmed a TV commercial, filmed a wedding video, shot engagement pics, portraits, graduation pics, corporate promo, North Shore surf photos and it's been amazing in all situations.
Pros: 
  • Silent shooting
  • Auto focus
  • Menu
  • Button Layout
  • Low light
  • New video codec
Cons: 
  • 6 fps too slow for sports
  • The zoom button location
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: I cannot speak high enough of this camera. The AF system is amazing. The features are daunting to say the least but worth every penny. I cannot think of a shooting situation that cannot be covered with this camera. The build of the camera feels great so I don't feel like I am holding an egg.
5 years ago

Canon really hit the Mark with the M III.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Where to begin? The body is gripped and set-up for user friendly shooting. Non-slip grip and really accessible for right hand control of almost all necessary shooting features. Quick shift of focus points is at your index and thumb and don't require several up and downs away from your subject.
Pros: 
  • Totally different camera from the Mark II
  • Just AMAZING!!! I loved my Mark II before I shot this camera.
Cons: 
  • There is no down side
  • I have been shooting high ISO for fun to find fault and can't
9 years ago

Very Happy with this Product

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very nice camera body in every respect. Terrific image quality especially when coupled with an L series lens.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Use
  • Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus
  • Fast Shutter Speed
  • Good Image Quality
  • Good Image Stabilization
  • High ISO Performance
  • Large Clear LCD
  • Quiet
6 years ago

Abe's is Great!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Abe's was great. They shipped my Canon 5D Mark III right away and it was all I had wished for. I was originally interested in the Mark IV but for $1,000 less, the Mark III is perfect. I am not a Pro photographer and don't need all the IV offers. Thanks Abe's!
4 years ago

Very useful and portable camera every should have

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have purchased this camera just one week back, and trust me it can create wonders.I went to hill statation with my friends and Canon EOS was with me.I mean Vow what pictures this camera take ,today when I look at this picture I feel I am at the Hill station,its high resolution quality gives me the...
Pros: 
  • It has got 3.2"clear view,Dual CF and SD memory slots,61-point high density AF
Cons: 
  • no cons as such
8 years ago

Awesome new Canon!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have been waiting for this camera to replace my old 1ds Mark 2 bodies for my professional photo business. It was well worth the wait! The technology has come so far since my last cameras. It is an amazing state of the art tool. I can't wait to get a second body!
Pros: 
  • Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus
  • Fast Shutter Speed
  • Good Image Quality
  • Good Image Stabilization
  • High ISO Performance
10 years ago

Excellent picture quality

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Only con is that u need an external flash. Takes amazing pictures. It is so fast that there are multiple images that are taken with each shot to increase likelihood that you are getting a good one.
Pros: 
  • Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus
  • Fast Shutter Speed
  • Good Image Quality
  • Good Image Stabilization
  • Large Clear LCD
6 years ago

Hard to say in just one sentence...

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I know that the camera is fantastic because I've use one before but I never got the chance to use this one because I never received the equipment. Be very careful with the people where you by it from. US$2.750,00 that I'll never see again.
9 years ago

Superb Camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I use this camera for all types of photography but particularly, Studio, Landscape, Sport and Product Shots.
It is the most versatile camera I have ever used with a wealth of features. Some may question the cost but I consider it to be good value for money.
Pros: 
  • Bright LCD
  • Comfortable Controls
  • Great Image Quality
  • Incredible Versatility
  • Strong Construction
6 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III: a serious upgrade over the 5d2

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Nearly the perfect camera
Pros: 
  • improves on the 5d2 in every way
Cons: 
  • Quite expensive for a camera for amateurs
9 years ago

Awesome camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Awesome camera but I'm seriously thinking of upgrading to the Mark IV. I've had every camera in the 5 series both film and digital and none have failed to impress. I just wish reviewers would review the camera and not the price.
5 years ago

Excellent camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Overall, there was really more useful improvements on this camera. Whether you are a new canon user or current fan and want to upgrade, this is it - you will not regret if you choose this unit. Hope this review helps a bit in your buying decision.
Pros: 
  • This camera works better in higher ISOs and you really notice the difference from the previous model
  • specially if you are a current user like me of the 5D MKII I notice an improved focus performance when im shooting in video Some improvements came from the Canon 1DX model I love the rate button...
Cons: 
  • There should be a swivel screen which is helpful if your shooting at lower angles
10 years ago

Nearly perfect!!!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: "After being a casual Canon shooter for years, I decided to up my game with the 40D, 7D 5D MK II and now the 5D MK III. I couldn't be happier! You get the advantages of utilizing the sensor to it's full potential when paired with an ultra-wide lens (such as the Sigma 12-24) or an extremely fast...
8 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Like many, my positive experience with the mark 3 so far is in part due to some of the shortfalls felt by cameras like the 5D mark 2 or the 7D. Both the 5D2 and the 7D had their shortfalls. I feel the 5D3 is much like a merger of the positive sides of both of these cameras.
9 years ago

Ryder Evans Photography Review

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: This camera in one word...WOW. Upgraded form the mark 2 as they were getting very old for shooting weddings and the first time i picked up the mark 3 it was great. Focus was the biggest difference it is far better than the Mark 2.
Pros: 
  • Reliable
  • Superior build quality
  • Easy to use
8 years ago

This is a wonderful camera!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This camera has great improvements on the already fantastic 5D Mk2. The most striking being its performance in low light and the quiet shutter. One can still get decent photos at ISO6400. The in-camera lens chromatic corrections are also very useful (especially with the 16-35mm f2.8L II).
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★
Verdict: After few years of introducing its predecessor, now the company has come up with the long-awaited and much rumored Canon EOS 5D Mark III digital SLR camera. The EOS 5D Mark II was something of a break-through camera for Canon, bringing 35 mm full frame, 1080p HD video recording to a wider audience.
10 years ago

Very very good, but bit over-priced

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: My friend got this camera. I can tell you this is really a legendary camera, a worthy successor of the 5D Mk2. Image quality is very good and about the video capabilities, I need not say anything. Many commercial short movies were shot using its predecessor and this one continues the legacy.
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The long-awaited successor to Canon's extremely popular EOS 5D Mark II camera is finally here. As its name implies, the company's 22-megapixel EOS 5D Mark III ($3,499 list, body only) is an evolutionary upgrade rather than a revolutionary one.
Pros: 
  • Compact for a full-frame SLR
  • 22-megapixel resolution
  • Large optical viewfinder
  • Bright, high-res rear LCD
  • Fast autofocus
  • 6fps continuous shooting
  • Excellent high ISO performance
  • 1080p video recording
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Slow focus in Live View and Video modes
  • No built-in flash
  • Not compatible with EF-S lenses
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Canon EOS 5D Mark III is the continuation of the 5D line which introduced the first full-frame DSLR without an integrated grip, bringing quality images to a smaller form-factor than previously possible.
Pros: 
  • Very low image noise
  • Excellent image sharpness
  • Very accurate colors
  • Good automatic white-balance
  • Spectacular subject tracking autofocus
  • Lightning fast autofocus
  • Full choice of exposure modes for movies
  • Class-leading continuous buffer
  • Large viewfinder with 100% coverage
  • Highly customizable...
Cons: 
  • Underexposes often
  • Expanded ISO of limited use
  • Low rear control dial
  • Rear dial prone to accidental changes
  • Complex interaction between AF and lenses
  • Slow instant review
  • Slow to power-off due to sensor cleaning
10 years ago

Taking the 5D to Mark III

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It may not look like it from the base specifications alone, but the EOS 5D Mark III is a great improvement over its predecessor in every way that counts - autofocus, exposure and ISO have all had the benefit of the technological improvements Canon has gained since the 5D Mark II was released.
Pros: 
  • Greatly improved autofocus
  • excellent high ISO performance
Cons: 
  • Redesigned controls may take some getting used to
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III - Third Time's a Charm

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: Canon's Mark II users have been waiting three years for the third 5D in the series, and it's been well worth the wait - the camera has been vastly improved in nearly every aspect. Read on to discover how and why it's our Editor's Choice winner.
Pros: 
  • Excellent image quality
  • Improved handling
  • More responsive 61-point AF system
  • Fast six-frames per second shooting speed
Cons: 
  • Video not much improved out of camera
  • No non-compressed video thru HDMI
  • Video rolling shutter effect still visible
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III review: Serious piece of kit, but comes at a serious price

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Not everyone will be able to afford a 5D Mark III, but if you're serious about movie making on a budget then this is a serious piece of kit via which to do it Not a camcorder, but included because Digital SLRs have really taken off the past couple of years as primary tools for ‘videographers'.
Pros: 
  • Setting a new benchmark for amateur and independent film makers
  • affordable alternative to pro broadcast cameras
  • rock solid workhorse-like build
Cons: 
  • Pricey if you don't require broadcast quality video
  • slight delay whilst mirror mechanism flips out of the way before video recording can commence
  • clip duration limited to just under 30 minutes as it's a camera not a camcorder
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D MK III

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: After Nikon's D90, it felt like the crown of video would go to that firm. But, surprisingly, it was Canon that swooped in, and hoovered up the newly established video-from-SLR market.
Pros: 
  • Stills are beautiful
  • capable of producing superb video
  • lightning-fast auto-focus
  • rapid shooting
  • solidly built
Cons: 
  • No "clean" HDMI output
  • buttons to control camera settings take some getting used to
  • we'd love to see some more high frame-rate modes
9 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III Digital SLR Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: The Canon EOS 5D Mark III is an excellent camera, capable of taking stunning photos in a wide variety of situations and has a wealth of lenses available to go with it. The 5D Mark III may not be as ground-breaking as the 5D Mark II , but this is simply because the Mark II was so good, and where the...
Pros: 
  • 6fps continuous shooting
  • Full HD video at 25/24 fps
  • Built in HDR creation
  • Great 3.2inch screen
  • Weather sealed magnesium body
  • Excellent noise performance
  • Excellent image quality
  • Full printed manual
  • Built in help
  • Built in electronic level
  • Ability to rate images in playback
Cons: 
  • RRP compared to Mark II
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★
Verdict: Announced just over 3 years since its popular predecessor, the long-awaited and much-rumoured Canon EOS 5D Mark III digital SLR camera has finally arrived. The EOS 5D Mk II was something of a break-through camera for Canon, bringing 35mm full-frame, 1080p HD video recording to a wider audience.
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Canon has a long tradition of producing innovative and groundbreaking DSLRs. In 2003, for example, the 6.3MP Canon 300D became the first consumer-grade DSLR to sell for under £1,000.
Pros: 
  • Vastly improved AF module
  • Addition of 'headphones in' socket
  • Enhanced ISO range/performance
  • Faster DIGIC 5+ processor
  • Built like a tank
  • Exceptional image quality
  • Fantastic video performance
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: 5D owners may well have felt that the MkII didn't really do enough to grab their attention because it didn't address enough of its older sibling's deficiencies. The increased resolution was attractive, but again not enough on its own.
10 years ago

Canon EOS 5D Mark III review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: A photographic tour-de-force – if you can justify the cost it'll be hard to resist
9 years ago
Next >
Page 1 / 3

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X