Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM Reviews

$199.00 - $513.18 from 37 retailers
★★★★★ 4.6
Manufacturer: Canon
X
4.6 ★★★★★
Based on 56 reviews.
 

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Canon celebrated the 25th year anniversary of the EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens with ... the announcement of its replacement, the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens. The 50mm f/1.8 II was an extremely popular lens, primarily because of its introduction-to-prime-wide aperture and good stopped-down image quality at...
6 years ago

REVIEW: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens Review

★★★★★
Verdict: This lens is an update to the popular and inexpensive standard 50mm f/1.8 EF lens , replacing the standard focusing motor with Canon's new stepping motor technology, which promises smoother, quieter autofocus performance, which is especially suited to recording video.
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens Hands-On Review

★★★★★
Verdict: This lens is situated as the next Nifty Fifty in Canon's line-up, offering the popular 50mm focal length at an affordable $125 price point. Of course, on APS-C cameras like the Canon EOS Rebel series will provide a field of view equivalent to an 80mm lens on a full frame camera.
6 years ago

great design for macro lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: the perfect macro lens. the LED's work just great. it's so easy to get good macro shots of coins, stamps etc. auto focus, image stabilization, 35mm (56mm 35mm equivalent) and ability to get to 1:1! Saw one review that implied the LED's weren't strong enough - I disagree, they're fine.
3 years ago

Perfect!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Canon glass: sharp focus; shallow depth of field great for florals and portraits but the lens is also tack sharp on landscapes; lightweight; outstanding price/value.
Pros: 
  • Canon glass: sharp focus
  • shallow depth of field great for florals and portraits but the lens is also tack sharp on landscapes
  • lightweight
  • outstanding price/value
Cons: 
  • None
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This is lens is super sharp. I have it on a crop sensor camera and it works great. I love the 1.8, it works really well in low light. Highly recommend this lens as a nice addition to only having a 18-55 kit lens.
Pros: 
  • Super sharp Great in low light Price
Cons: 
  • None
4 years ago

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Ah, the "nifty fifty"! This is without question the best-selling lens from Canon, maybe even of all lenses. Its high price to performance ratio is the reason for this. It can be useful on both crop and full frame, and should probably be every beginners first upgrade lens, which I will discuss more...
2 years ago

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Purchased this and it has been the best lens I own, came packaged well and even though I purchased used it was in A+++++ condition and unopened. Shipping was very quick and Adorama had always been a pleasure to deal with . Thank you
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This lens is an update to the popular and inexpensive standard 50mm f/1.8 EF lens , replacing the standard focusing motor with Canon's new stepping motor technology, which promises smoother, quieter autofocus performance, which is especially suited to recording video.
Pros: 
  • Very good sharpness in the centre at maximum aperture
  • Excellent sharpness when stopped down
  • Lightweight
  • Silent focusing
  • Good build quality
Cons: 
  • Sluggish focus speeds
  • Sharpness could be better towards the edges at fast apertures
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM - Review / Test Report

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Honestly I can't remember how many 50mm lenses I reviewed during the last few years but there were many. Seems as if all the manufacturers are or have been in an update frenzy. All of then ? Well, Canon has been a little late in this game.
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM

★★★★★
Verdict: Must have lens for every amateur
Pros: 
  • Sharpness is acceptable wide open, very good from 2.5 onwards
  • Lightweight Useful focal length on both crop as well as full frame
Cons: 
  • There none
3 years ago

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Haven't really used it enough yet to comment on the portrait aspect, but with the little testing I have done, it seems to work as I expected. Amazing Prime delivery. I purchased it at about 10pm on Friday evening and it was delivered Saturday lunchtime. Great service.
3 years ago

A perfect portrait lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: "This is simple, lightweight and very sharp lens will bring your pictures on the next level. The same shots I was doing with standard zoom lens look amazing now. This new STM mode is also very fast in focusing. This would be extremely useful if you are making videos."
6 years ago

Sharpness Brokeh Focus Superb

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Excellent Sharpness . Brokeh Are Damn Good . Best Lens Ever in This Budget . Good built quality . After the Kit Lens I Seriously Recommend You this .
4 years ago

It will take you to the next level ;-)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: If this is your first upgrade you will gonna fall in love with this. Pros- 1.Smooth and fast auto focus. 2.Better build quality from the previous 50 mm. Cons- Noise reduced to much extend still Whirling sound in both auto and manual focus is clearly audible.
6 years ago

plastic-fantastic..........Crisp images, great for street photography

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: What an awesome lens! Really lives up to its "nifty-fifty" and "plastic-fantastic" sobriquets. The lens contruction is definitely plasticy but makes up in the image quality it produces. SIMPLY FANTASTIC. Images are pin sharp from f2.0 up. A little soft at 1.8 but really nothing to complain about.
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Prime Lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Love it. Makes all of my photos look super professional. Great for food photography!
5 years ago

This is the "Nifty Fifty" with a twist.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a must have lens to have in your gear bag. It's a great lens to throw on your body (either crop or not) and get right out there and do some incredible portrait and street photography. You will not be disappointed.
Pros: 
  • Excellent portrait lens for both Full Frame and Crop Sensor bodies
  • Equates to approx
  • 85mm focal length on Canon 1.6 crop sensor cameras
  • New STM (Stepping motor) for silent and fast (although not blazing fast) focusing Very sharp lens
  • Do not let the price fool you.
Cons: 
  • Not really a con, but Smaller filter size (smaller than the standard f1.8 50mm Canon without STM
  • I recommend bying a step up or step down ring for filters anyways to keep your filter arsenal ready for most any lens in your gear bag.
6 years ago

The "Nifty Fifty" that's right for video

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: Featuring full time manual control and a Stepping Motor, this Canon Prime Lens should be one on the list for the video shooter. The Stepping Motor allows silent and smooth auto focusing, which is perfect for video recording and the Full Time Manual control lets you adjust your focus manually even...
7 years ago

50mm lens, uh...yeah

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: A review huh? Well... I will say, I love this lens. It takes very sharp pictures, focuses fast and has amazing low light capabilities. It really is amazing seeing the difference between this and the kit lenses. For a price of about $100 you can't go wrong with this one.
6 years ago

Nice Lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This 50mm lens produces some quality photos. While not as fast as the f/1.4 it is less than half he price. And the f/1.2L is 10 times the cost. It seems at times it has to hunt for focus a bit (but that could just be a contrast thing with my subject and background too) When everything is right focus...
2 years ago

Great Value, good performance

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this to complement my F4 L zooms for better portability & wider apertures on various full-frame & crop frame EOS bodies. First impressions are very positive. It is well made for the money and handles well.
Pros: 
  • Consistent Output
  • Durable
  • Easily Interchangeable
  • Lightweight
  • Quick Focus
  • Sharp Focus
5 years ago

Great little lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I've had this lens for a few days now. It does exactly what I need it to do! It's an essential part of my kit. If you want amazing portrait shots with beautiful blurred background this is all you need. I take mainly dog portraits and as you can see, they're stunning!
3 years ago

You have to see it to believe it. Beautiful!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I love taking pictures but its only a hobby. I don't think I would be as good if I didn't have my Canon Rebel T3i. My original plan was to return the lens because I didn't think it worked at first. Then I down loaded the pictures onto my computer. I was blown away at what I saw.
5 years ago

Solid lens, great value

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: As one of the fastest standard primes in Canon's line up, the 50mm f/1.8 STM produces excellent photos. With much higher build quality than the 50mm f/1.8 mkII, as well as quieter and faster focusing.
6 years ago

Great for portraits. Nice bokeh!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: A go to for portraits. The 1.8 is fantastic for astrophotography such as tight star clusters or the Orion Nebula. Not so great for milky way shots due to narrow field of view. The 50mm becomes around 80mm on crop sensor cameras. I'm happy with it for the price.
5 years ago

"Great Picture Quality But Not So Great Build Quality."

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: The Price I purchased this Lens for approx £100 a few years ago. It is available from Amazon for the lower price of £77, which is a great price in my opinion. Jessops.com has it for sale at £85, and there are few available to buy from eBay from prices starting from £50.
Pros: 
  • Lightweight
  • easy to use
  • great quality pictures
  • price
Cons: 
  • Design
  • fragile
  • noisy
8 years ago

It's a must have

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: As most reviews say, it's a fantastic lens. Great for portraits I find. Not the best for low light but what's good for low light For the price there's not much to say that's negative. Just get it and shoot! You will love it.
3 years ago

So-so

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: The good points are that the images that come out are nice, it's compact, and it's cheap. But the build quality is terrible. You can't use it for video (the AF motor noise is extremely loud), and the manual focus makes a terrible grinding spring noise.
Pros: 
  • Compact
Cons: 
  • Build quality
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens for Canon Digital SLR Cameras (Filter Thread Front:49 mm)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great price-value relation. Really good lens! Compact, light but sturdy. In my opinion better than his 50mm f/1.4 twin. Quicker to focus and more silent.
4 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It's a great little lens for stills and video. In a shoot out at 2.0 with a 50L, this lens is just a tad softer (hard to see in some scenes) but has dramatically less CA. The bokeh's very busy, but you can't have everything for this price.
Pros: 
  • Pleasing image quality from 2.0 on up
  • ok auto focus
Cons: 
  • Bokeh is a busy
  • but to be expected at this price
5 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens - Black(0570C002)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I've been wanting a 50mm lens and was trying to hold out for the more expensive versions. However I needed one quickly and Target had this in stock at many stores near me, so I went ahead and purchased it. It did a really great job, very happy with it! Perfect lens at perfect price point.
2 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: Many a photographer has looked to Canon's "nifty fifty"-the EF 50mm f/1.8 II USM ($125.99)-as a first lens due to its attractive price and wide aperture. The first update to the lens in nearly two decades, the EF 50mm f/1.8 STM ($125.99), keeps the optics and the price the same, but uses a stepping...
Pros: 
  • Sharp at f/1.8
  • Lightweight
  • Silent, smooth video focus
  • Very affordable
Cons: 
  • Modest barrel distortion
  • Slower focus
  • Can flare
  • Some fall-off at wide aperture
  • Omits stabilization
  • Narrower field of view on APS-C cameras
  • Hood not included
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f1.8 STM review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Canon EF 50mm f1.8 STM is as close to a no-brainer as you can get in the EF lens catalogue. It represents one of the most affordable entries to the joys of fixed-focal length ‘prime' lens photography, delivering better quality, superior low-light performance and much greater potential for...
5 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: The Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM is an appealingly simple, compact and capable lens that's equally at home on an APS-C or full-frame DSLR camera. It's also very cheap, making it a worthy addition to any EOS user's camera bag.
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Ask any Canon user what they think Canon's most popular lenses are, and I can guarantee that most will mention the classic EF 50mm f/1.8. Not only is it the most affordable lens in the EF line-up, it's also well matched to a wide variety of photographic genres.
6 years ago

A must have

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: A must have standard for all kits. Cheap to buy, the best photos produced. Good blur and great in low light.
Pros: 
  • Good Blur Great in low light
Cons: 
  • none
4 years ago

Great quality on a budget

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This may sound stingy, but this is the cheapest lens you can buy for a Canon DLSR. So it makes it an affordable gift for any photographer. I bought this lens nearly 6 months ago because my partner kept stealing my 50mm prime for her professional product photography.
3 years ago

Very noisy focusing - fine for stills not video

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I just bought this lens to replace an old 50mm 1.8 motor lens, expecting the STM focusing to be fast and quiet (as my other STM lenses are). This lens however is very noisy focusing, making a 'dud-dud-dud' noise which is really noticable, its fine for stills and the images look great, but for video...
2 years ago

Awesome lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: An awesome fast lens, a must for any photographers kit, light weight and simple to use, wide apeture and good in low light
3 years ago

Canon EF-S 35mm f/2.8 Macro IS STM lens

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: Canon's EF-S 35mm f/2.8 Macro IS STM lens is the first of its type with built-in LED lights on each side of the lens to provide full control over subject illumination. These Macro Lites can be adjusted individually to give images a sense of dimension.
4 years ago

Well Done Canon

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Just received my EFS 35mm Macro Lens I am so impressed. I currently use a 5:1 lens which I love however it's heavy. This is a breeze the built in light is the bomb. Thank you Canon I'll be using this when I go to Tassie in Sept. you've just made that trip even more exciting two thumbs up!
2 years ago

Absolutely Fantastic Lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is an upgrade to the old 'Nifty 50' or 'Plastic Fantastic' 50mm prime lens, an old time classic because of the great quality photos it could take for the very low price. This upgraded STM model improves on the original in various ways, including: - Much more quiet motor thanks to the STM (Canon...
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • The photographs produced by this prime lens are extremely high in quality
  • and suggest any enthusiast to invest in a lens like this- you will not be disappointed
Cons: 
  • For the price of this lens and the high quality photographs it produces
  • I don't think anyone is entitled to say a bad thing about it
4 years ago

Best lens for the money!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Amateur or professional, you will be hard pressed finding a better lens for the money. The fact that your considering this lens I'm guessing is that you wan't to take beautiful portraits or anything with nice bokeh Let me be the first to say, yes. Yes it does, and boy does it do it well.
3 years ago

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM

★★★★★
Verdict: Compact and lightweight-an outstanding walk-around lens-Canon's EF 50mm f/1.8 STM is a great entry into the world of EOS prime lenses. With an 80mm effective focal-length on APS-C cameras, 50mm on full-frame cameras, it's an excellent prime lens for portraits, action, even nighttime photography.
4 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Ask any Canon user what they think Canon's most popular lenses are, and I can guarantee that most will mention the classic EF 50mm f/1.8. Not only is it the most affordable lens in the EF line-up, it's also well matched to a wide variety of photographic genres.
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Delivered on time with good packaging. I'm super happy with the lens. Must have lens for portrait photography.
2 years ago

Canon EF 50mm F1.8 STM

★★★★★
Verdict: : The company's most affordable Rebel camera and also their smallest is a great offering for those that are just getting into photography.
6 years ago

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM review

★★★★★
Verdict: It's a small lens that goes large in value for money and still manages to deliver some great quality...
Pros: 
  • Extremely light
  • Fantastic quality for the price
  • Much-improved handling
2 years ago
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X