Bose Solo 5 Reviews

$398.00 - $479.99 from 9 retailers
Manufacturer: Bose
Expert Reviews: 
 3.3
User Reviews: 
 4.0
Features
Value for money
 4.6
Product design
 5.0
Sound
 4.6
Durability
 5.0
 
 

Bose Solo 5 review: The small soundbar

3.0
Verdict: The Bose Solo 5 is one of the smaller soundbars I've seen, looking more like a dedicated 5.1 centre channel speaker than a soundbar. Its diminutive size means it's the perfect soundbar for your bedroom or kitchen television.
Pros: Small size, Remote
Cons: Price, Sound quality, No included wall-mount kit
2 years ago
 

Bose Solo 5

3.8
Verdict: Bose has a wide array of soundbars that come in various setup configurations such as virtual surround sound or true surround configuration and so on. Depending on the model you will also get a diverse set of connectivity options with the soundbar, for example wireless network, Bluetooth or [...]
Pros: Solid build quality Loud and clear Dialogue mode that actually makes life better Compact form factor Simplistic design Easy to operate Wireless option available
Cons: No HDMI audio input option Does not work optimally at low bit rate audio stream Lacks bass Remote it too large Low value for money
3 years ago
 

Bose Solo 5 Quick Review

No reviews
Verdict: We've recently got our hands on another audio solution from Bose and this time, it's the Solo 5 sound bar. It's not like one of those full-blown home theater speakers and, in fact, has a compact form factor that should save some space in your set up.
Pros: Compact build saves space, Overall detailed sound quality, Bluetooth connectivity, Easy switching between different modes
Cons: Could go pretty loud but still a bit lacking at times, Slight distortion on maximum volume
3 years ago
 

It's okay.

3.0
Verdict: Overall the sound volume that comes out of the speaker is great which is why I bought it but as your listening to the tv for about 1 hour the sound sort of glitches out and breaks, then comes back on.
1 year ago
 

Bose Solo TV Sound System review

3.5
Verdict: The Bose Solo is more of a soundbox than a soundbar, having been designed by Bose to sit underneath your screen rather than in front of it. This cunning approach, where the TV stand is plonked on top of the unit, eliminates the problem of the soundbar encroaching on the screen (or the remote control...
6 years ago
 

Bose® Solo 5 Soundbar

3.0
Verdict: I live in an attached townhome and wanted to upgrade the sound for my bedroom TV. That meant I needed a soundbar that was compact, didn't come with a subwoofer, and had a one-button "speech enhancement" mode. This product fits the bill in all respects.
1 year ago
 

Great Sound in House

5.0
Verdict: Very happy with my Bose Solo 5 Sound Bar. It was very easy to install and delivers all the sound we would want from our TV/DVD combo.
1 year ago
 

Get ready to be surprised !

1.0
Verdict: Better sound through research indeed ! This sound bar is a powerhouse performer for enhancing your TV viewing experience. And the dialogue mode makes the clear enunciations clearer. Acoustics- check! Volume- check! Deep bass- check! Do not expect anything more than a sound bar.
2 years ago
 

1st ever Bose let down

5.0
Verdict: I purchased this having already got many Bose products which are fantastic. This was a huge let down as was very quiet (less sound than TV speakers). The quality is good but it just hasn't got any punch to it. It's very easy to talk over when on the loudest setting.
6 months ago
 

Sound bar slim

1.0
Verdict: The sound bar is small but delivers great sound and bass
2 months ago
 

Bose Solo 5

4.0
Verdict: The Bose Solo soundbar transformed my viewing experience. My living room is 6x5 metres and the sound out of my thin smart Tv was difficult to understand, very muffled. But since installing the Bose, I look forward to my tele evenings. Life is good again.
10 months ago
 

Terrible Product - Avoid

4.0
Verdict: I purchased this from John Lewis Horsham. It looked an ideal product as no separate woofer. If you just want to plug it in & listen, then control sound only from its own separate remote, its fine. But if you want to control volume or turn on sound from your TV or Sky Q box (basic need), forget it.
2 months ago
 

Its okay but I suspect there are others better out there

5.0
Verdict: "Its okay but I suspect there are others better out there. What I do find annoying is the remote control in the way that is is balanced in your hand - or not. I freguently find myself grabbing it to hit the button to turn down the sound before I realise that I am holding the thing upside down in my...
1 year ago
 

Awesome sound from a compact design

5.0
Verdict: Recently bought this. Its in the family room. Aesthetics were important as well as sound. It looks fantastic and the sound is amazing. Very clear and plenty of bass. It doesn't compete with bigger systems featuring subs etc but its not designed too.
5 months ago
 

Very disappointing

1.0
Verdict: Just completed the set-up last night. I was preparing myself for the awesome Bose sound experience watching my favorite TV shows. That didn't happen. The LG sound bars on all my other TVs outperform the Solo 5 hands down. Additionally I just couldn't get the level of bass that I like.
5 months ago
 

Excellent Upgrade

5.0
Verdict: Compared to the standard tv speakers this is so much better, clearer sound and much more bass. Yes not as good as a true 5.1 surround sound system, but then not as untidy.
1 year ago
 

Bose Solo 5

1.0
Verdict: The remote control is very comprehensive, easily programmed. I just wish the ergonomics were better. Most commonly used buttons should be LARGER & placed for easy access (i.e., number buttons not under your palm when holding the remote, a very big (uncomfortable) reach for menu, guide, navigate &...
9 months ago
 

Bose Solo 5

5.0
Verdict: When I turned on my Bose, it literally blew me away! Absolutely no comparison in the sound I have been listening to. You actually hear background noise and sounds that you never even noticed before, not to mention the bass tones. I guess if you understand bows you would not expect anything less.
2 months ago
 

Not worth the price

5.0
Verdict: Firstly I received this item in its own box - no outer packaging so my gift was no longer a surprise! I also was not happy to receive an item of this value and type with no additional packaging! After reading some review I held off setting this up and went to search for one in a local store.
6 months ago
 

Great sound, universal remote is a pain

3.0
Verdict: I've had this speaker for over 6 mos. Like all Bose products, sound is great and much better than the tv speakers. Unlike the full system I have in my home theater, this sound bar is only controlled by the universal remote. So I had to program the remote to control the tv and the DISH receiver.
1 year ago
 

Total disappointment.

5.0
Verdict: I bought this because it is a Bose product. I wish I had not trusted the Bose name because the quality is NOT there. I have Bose speakers in my car and they are awesome, even at 13 years old. My best suggestion is to keep the box it came in so you can return it if it doesn't work well for you.
1 year ago
 

"Bose Solo 5 is the best Bose"

4.0
Verdict: We bought the Bose solo 5 last week and already I know it is one the greatest sound systems we have ever owned. After purchasing it from the store, we brought it home and set it up (quite easily) and we are now able to listen to our favourite songs at a loud clear volume.
Pros: Loud, clear, wireless, Bluetooth
Cons: Keeps children awake
2 years ago
 

Not much sound in sound bar

4.0
Verdict: We purchased this to accent our flat screen TV however we have to turn soundbar more than half way just to begin hearing sound and have to use full on to hear any quality sound. Bought top name thinking it would be better than the others. Will be returning as soon as we have time.
3 months ago
 

Not easy to use, difficult universal remote control.

3.0
Verdict: I contacted Newegg to try to return for a nicer speaker with a sub woofer and they will not exchange this product, Newegg just are not the great store they used to be, I have been a customer for 15 years. not impressed with this order or customer service at all.
Pros: Works with digital cable fine, sound is ok, not great
Cons: Can't figure out how to make it use the audio out (computer) when the digital (TV) is plugged in, I have to unplug the TV to get the computer sound to work
3 years ago
 

High Death Rate

5.0
Verdict: Purchased a reconditioned Solo 5 Soundbar at a Bose outlet store and it worked fine for about one year and then died. I attributed it to my buying a reconditioned unit and ordered a new one. Dead on arrival. Reading other B&H customer reviews I found about 10 where the unit had died.
5 months ago
 

OK............ but weak overall.

5.0
Verdict: "all highs and no lows, it must be Bose". That sums up my overall impression of the item. The "pros": easy to hook up, sized right. Cons: weak output and ZERO low end. Spend a little bit more and get something with a sub-woofer of better low end presentation.
4 months ago
 

Remote too big

5.0
Verdict: Been a Bose purchaser for over 15 years but this speaker disappointed me first is the remote to big not lighted if watching TV in the dark sound was a not what I expected, so I'm returning it for a 5.1 Sony .
Pros: Size of soundbar, and a sleek designed look
Cons: Remote too big, complicated andnot lighted
7 months ago
 

Bose Solo 5

5.0
Pros: Packs a punch considering it's a compact soundbar. The speech button does a pretty good job of lifting the dialog out of the background. Ideal for improving smaller tv sound. Bought at around 20% discount on rrp which made the price much more realistic
Cons: Large remote, which although supposed to be a universal, didn't work on any of my other AV products, so essentially a huge chunk of plastic to control volume, speech mode, and bass adjustment, and with no HDMI connection, not possible to use tv remote to control volume
5 months ago
 

Excellent, compact, just ordered my second

3.0
Verdict: The sound is excellent. It is more compact than my last soundbar, giving me more mantle space. The universal remote works with all my devices. Okay, one note: I purchased it for a family member, and the universal code for a TCL Roku did not work (these are odd ducks), but a quick Google found the...
6 months ago
 

BOSE Solo 5 Sound Bar

5.0
Pros: Easily connected
Cons: No
1 year ago
 

Easy to install

5.0
Verdict: I bought a Bose sound bar because I new from previous experience how good ther products are the Bose 500 is no exception great product that has fully met my needs better still it is so easy to install and use
11 months ago
 

Bose is the best in sound!

5.0
Verdict: Got the Bose sound bar for a bedroom wall mount tv. Great sound from such a small unit. Simple to mount wall bracket that is hidden behind speaker.
Pros: Attractive Design, Comes with a universal TV remote, Easy to Mount, Easy To Set Up, Good Power Output, Great Sound Quality
Cons: NONE
3 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X