Bose Home 500 Reviews

$589.00 - $699.99 from 5 retailers
★★★★ 4.0
Manufacturer: Bose
X
4.0 ★★★★
Based on 32 reviews.
 

Bose Home Speaker 500 review: Rethinking-and reshaping-smart speakers

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Bose jumps into the smart speaker fray with a high-quality compact offering that promises to get better over time.
Pros: 
  • Expansive
  • honest sound from an agreeably compact package
  • Onboard display and user-friendly physical controls
  • Recognizes voice commands even in...
Cons: 
  • Companion app can't also control Bose's own SoundTouch speakers
  • Touch controls on top of the speaker aren't backlit
  • Some minor bugs remain to be...
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: The Bose Home Speaker 500 sounds great for its size, and the bass rattling can be forgiven because it only happened on one track and wasn't actually distortion. Regardless of how rich and crisp the drivers can sound, however, the wide stereo experience that Bose claims is not something we...
Pros: 
  • Powerful audio performance with rich bass and clear highs
  • Streams via Bluetooth or Wi-Fi
  • Works with Alexa, and will eventually work with more voice assistants
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Display looks a little dated
  • DSP thins bass out at top volumes
  • Some deep bass causes enclosure to rattle
3 years ago

Bose Home 500

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Sonos and Apple need to move over as Bose is entering the high-end smart speaker market. At $50 more than Apple's HomePod and $100 less than the Sonos Play:5 , the Home Speaker 500 from Bose might be hitting a sweet spot for high-end smart speakers.
Pros: 
  • Robust sound with strong bass
  • Sleek design gives it a premium feel
  • No distortion
  • even at high volumes
  • Alexa integration is good
Cons: 
  • Painfully pricey
  • Display doesn't do much
  • No way to share connected services across accounts
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 Review: Amazon Alexa Has Never Sounded Better, no Arguments

★★★★★
Verdict: "Alexa, play some new Trance music," a simple call that I make to the Amazon Echo Plus speaker at home every evening. At some point, my wife would chime in with a request for Alexa to play her Zumba playlist, and eventually, the parents would demand some order be restored with some Hindi pop or...
3 years ago

Bose's Fancy Home Speaker Might Be the Best Sounding Echo Alternative Yet

★★★★★
Verdict: An Alexa-enabled Bose speaker
Pros: 
  • Great sound quality
3 years ago

Alexa is not working in the Philippines.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I didn't' see a clear disclaimer that Alexa will not gonna work in the Philippines. SO I can't use the voice control. Totally useless because I also have OTHER BOSE device. What attracted me to buy this product is the ALEXA FEATURE. CAN ANYONE IN BOSE OR AMAZON HELP ME THANKS.
3 years ago

Bose Not Compatible With Amazon Echo

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Cant use this speaker in a multi group speaker. I have several echo dots attached to speakers via aux. They all recognize each other and play with no problem. I have two soundtouch series speakers with echo dots up upstairs and they dont recognize bose smart speaker.
3 years ago

Great sound/challenging Alexa setup

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I purchased the Bose Home Speaker 500 to replace a very old Bose Sound Dock that I was using with an old iPod touch. I selected the Silver unit, and it is beautiful. A very pleasing esthetic design. The sound is wonderful and more importantly is in stereo.
Pros: 
  • Beautifully designed unit Superior sound quality Stereo playback LCD screen w/clock Aux input
Cons: 
  • Problematic Alexa setup Control buttons flush with surface/no tactile feel for buttons Setup exclusively via smartphone or tablet/no manual setup Pricey
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Bose has a long history of producing high-quality wireless speakers - like, for example, the Bose SoundLink Revolve+ - and with the launch of its latest, the Bose Home Speaker 500, the company shows no signs of slowing down.
Pros: 
  • Fantastic audio quality
  • Sleek design
  • Alexa built-in
  • Sensitive microphones
Cons: 
  • Very expensive
  • WiFi setup doesn't always work
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 - first look Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Trusted Reviews went ears-on with the Home Speaker 500, the new smart Alexa-enabled speaker from Bose, at a cosy press launch at the AV manufacturer's recently refurbished flagship store on London's Regent Street. In lieu of our full review, here's how we got on.
Pros: 
  • Alexa and Spotify support
  • AirPlay support in the pipeline
  • Multiple mics mean Alexa will hear you loud and clear
  • Colour screen displays Spotify album art
Cons: 
  • Won't work with SoundTouch products
  • Expensive compared to rival products
3 years ago

Great

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I'm really happy with this small, but powerful speaker also has big display, my recommendations
3 years ago

Bose 500 speaker

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Looked at reviews which said this speaker was difficult to set up. I purchased from John Lewis as I went to listen to the speaker which I felt was the best on offer. To my surprise it was quite easy to set up just download the Bose music app and follow the step by step instructions which also guide...
2 years ago

Bose Home 500

★★★★★ 3.0
Pros: 
  • Sound quality amazing as it always is with Bose
Cons: 
  • The main problem is that the speaker has a very nice colour screen but it is impossible to get the album artwork on the display, so you never get to see the screen in action
  • Mine only shows volume or which device is connected, in black and white.
3 years ago

Bose Home 500

★★★★★
Verdict: The Bose Home Speaker 500 is a powerful chunky black anodised aluminium addition to the list of Alexa powered smart speakers at a premium price of $599 RRP. I listened to it for a week before it had to be returned to Bose but that was enough time to get a good impression of it's capabilities.
3 years ago

Bose Home 500

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Best house warming present from my in laws. It is sure a great little system and the sound it pumps out is amazing
2 years ago

Bose Home 500

★★★★★
Verdict: The idea seemed silly at first. Bose made an Alexa-powered wireless speaker with a little screen, a big $400 price tag and a promise "to fill any room with an astonishing stereo performance.
Pros: 
  • Great sound quality
Cons: 
  • Too expensive
  • limited
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 review: Good audio with the smarts to go with it

★★★★★
Verdict: Amazon has always maintained that it wants other companies to use its Alexa voice assistant in their devices. That's probably why it's left the speakers somewhat weak in terms of audio quality.
3 years ago

Sounds good, but terrible interface

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This thing sounds great and is solidly built, but it's user interface is terrible. I got it for our kitchen to connect with the TV. I have it connected to the AUX port and if I shut down the TV, after about 15 minutes, it shuts itself off too.
2 years ago

Sleek, stylish and sounds superb!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Was given as a gift to my boyf who is a bit of an ‘audiophile'! :p He says the sound quality is great so he's happy - and it looks great in our front room, not too big and very stylish so I'm happy too!
3 years ago

Endless possibilities

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought this for the speaker function and as you would suspect from Bose it is top notch. Having Alexa included has opened up more options and functions. It is great and highly recommended
3 years ago

Bose Home 500

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This was a mothers day gift. She loves the sound that memics a full and expensive home theater, and the ease of use. I set it up so she can play music and books from audiobooks, Pandora, Deezer, Spotify, Apple and Amazon prime
3 years ago

I like very much this Speaker, but difficulty with Alexa app

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It is a very good Speaker but it is not easy to complete all the functions of it specially Alexa, because we are not able to put French Canadian language!
3 years ago

Beautiful Bose

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Bought this lovely speaker a few weeks ago and very glad that I did. Compact size and fantastic sound that you come to expect from Bose. I also used Myer's Click & Collect service which was extremely easy and convenient to use. Thanks again Myer :)
3 years ago

Bose Home 500

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Unbelievable that this is not backwards compatible with the sound touch series! If you sit like me with such and want to expand the system, you are smoked! If at least one had been able to add old speakers just to be able to play songs.
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 review: Smart and sound

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Bose Home Speaker 500 is one of the best sounding smart speakers in the market at the moment....
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I am a long time Bose consumer (at least for my lifetime)...the Bose sound/speakers is always impressive, but moving into the digital realm, from experience, they can't seem to get the software portion hammered out.
2 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 - Triple Black 795345-5110 review

★★★★ 4.0
The Bose Home Speaker 500 is one of the best sounding smart speakers in the market at the moment, and there are not a lot of choices in this segment for now. But this if you want to stream high-quality music just the way you like to hear it. The Indian Express is now on Telegram.
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 - Triple Black 795345-5110 review

★★★★★
Pros: 
  • Great sound quality
Cons: 
  • Too expensive
  • limited
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 - Triple Black 795345-5110 review

★★★★ 4.0
“Rich, expansive sound helps this smart speaker deliver a virtuoso performance.”
Pros: 
  • Expansive stereo sound
  • Sleek
  • attractive design
  • Choice of Alexa or Google Assistant
  • Easy-to-use controls
  • Bluetooth
  • Wi-Fi
  • and line-in options
  • AirPlay 2
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Some music services not supported
  • Slightly awkward multiroom control
  • No Chromecast option for Android
2 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 - Triple Black 795345-5110 review

★★★★ 4.0
Does this smart speaker debut justify the wallet-melting price tag? Bose Home Speaker 500 rivals Bose Home Speaker 500 rivals
Pros: 
  • Top-tier audio quality, Sturdy, classy design, Bose Music app is neat
Cons: 
  • Grossly expensive, Limited mini-screen, Mild Alexa hiccups
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 - Triple Black 795345-5110 review

★★★★ 4.3
The best sounding speaker we've tested, but asks a high price
Pros: 
  • Excellent Sound, Great volume, relatively compact, many connection options
Cons: 
  • Expensive, multi-speaker management leaves a bit to be desired, Expensive, multi-speaker management leaves a bit to be desired
3 years ago

Bose Home Speaker 500 review: Stylish, super sound

★★★★ 4.0
In the early days of the smart speaker revolution, finding a speaker that was both smart and had great sound was a challenge. Thankfully, those days are long gone. With products from Sonos, Marshall, Apple, and Amazon, you can now have your cake and eat it too. But before you settle on a new wireless smart speaker from one of those companies, you should consider the $300 Bose Home Speaker 500. With an intriguing mix of sleek design, expansive sound, and a choice of digital assistants, it could be just the smart audio device your home has been missing. But is it right for you? Let’s take a look. Available in your choice of triple black or a sophisticated two-tone of silver and white, the Bose Home Speaker 500 is deceptively sized. With an elliptical shape that is much wider than it is deep, its base is small enough that it should easily find a perch on a counter-top, bookshelf, or mantle. At just 4.75 pounds It’s also surprisingly light for its size. Nothing breaks up the speaker’s smoo...
Pros: 
  • Expansive stereo sound
  • Sleek, attractive design
  • Choice of Alexa or Google Assistant
  • Easy-to-use controls
  • Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and line-in options
  • AirPlay 2
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Some music services not supported
  • Slightly awkward multiroom control
  • No Chromecast option for Android
2 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X