Audioengine A5+ Reviews

$685.19 - $999.95 from 7 retailers
Manufacturer: Audioengine
Expert Reviews: 
 4.5
User Reviews: 
 4.7
Features
Product design
 3.8
 
 

Audioengine A5+

No reviews
Verdict: Product Audioengine A5+ speaker system & Wireless Audio Adapter W1 set Manufacturer Audioengine MSP $399 /pair; $99 set The first Audioengine product was the A5, released in 2005. This well-engineered, compact, powered speaker pair quickly earned many accolades from reviewers, and firmly established...
7 years ago
 

Audioengine A5+

4.0
Verdict: Yes, we could quibble about there not being an integrated AC power outlet anymore, but the combination of the design improvements (USB port on back), feature tweaks (included remote), and the speakers' exceptional sound makes the Audioengine 5+ speakers worthy of an Editors' Choice Award.
Pros: The Audioengine 5+ powered speakers deliver phenomenal sound and offer simple, attractive styling. They feature two audio inputs and an integrated USB port for charging source devices (phones, iPods). The two speakers can be placed as far apart as needed to optimize stereo separation.
Cons: The speakers aren't cheap, and many will find them to be too large and bulky compared with standard PC speakers. The AC power port found in the earlier model is no longer present, and you can't switch between the two inputs--both are always active
7 years ago
 

Audioengine A5 review

5.0
Verdict: Most of the MP3 speakers that flood the Stuff office on a daily basis don't live and breathe hi-fi – they exist for convenience and music snacking. This is, of course, fine for many people, but now a few systems are appearing that could yet convince audiophiles to scope out the digital scene.
11 years ago
 

Audioengine's A5+ is a fun, affordable speaker system

4.0
Verdict: (1 items) I've been a fan of Audioengine's A5 powered bookshelf speakers ( ) since I first laid ears on them in 2006. They provided plenty of enjoyable sound for their size and, at $350, they were a solid bargain.
Pros: Punchy sound, Dual inputs, Plenty of volume
Cons: Lacks predecessor's built-in AC port, Sound favors bass and lower-mids
7 years ago
 

Audioengine 5+

4.5
Verdict: A while back, Audioengine introduced the Audioengine 2 ($199, 4 stars), powered desktop monitors that are the closest thing to flat response, audiophile-level speakers you'll find under $200.
Pros: Audiophile-quality performance. Flat response speakers that provide refined bass performance. Attractive design
Cons: Remote has very few controls on it. No ability to adjust treble or bass. Not for bass lovers
7 years ago
 

Audioengine 5+ Powered Loudspeaker (Playback 55)

No reviews
Verdict: How many powered loudspeakers are available for $399 a pair? Probably more than I can count on my fingers and toes. And if I were forced to listen to them all, back-to-back, I'd be ready for counseling or medication. Thank God for exceptions.
7 years ago
 

Audioengine A5+

5.0
Verdict: We first saw the original Audioengine A5 speakers back in 2007. Riding the wave of interest in digital music, those large powered speakers delivered impressive sound on a budget to play any music source via their 3.5mm inputs. A few years in the making, we now have an upgraded model.
Pros: Stereo and 3.5mm input, remote control, tight, well-marshalled bass, good sonic detail
Cons: No iPod dock
9 years ago
 

Perfect

3.0
Verdict: These things are insane for their size. I have a decent sized living room and I can't come close to turning these up all the way. Clarity is absolutely perfect at any level. Bass is impressive. Can't see any need for an external sub. So far I'm thrilled with my purchase.
1 year ago
 

Audioengine A5+

5.0
Verdict: I have had the A5 + for two days now ... and it appears that the Audioengine has listened to customer requests. The updates are as remote control, volume control, contacts ... these are a couple of inches higher than the A5's.
5 years ago
 

Games and TV: Yes - Music: No

5.0
Verdict: I couldn't get these speakers to play music that sounded enjoyable (for me). I tried with My Chemical Romance's "The Black Parade" song, and the music was overpowering Gerard Way's vocals to the point where I was struggling to hear him.
12 months ago
 

This is how much Awesome you can put in a small box-Audioengine A5+

5.0
Verdict: What can I say that will sum up how amazing these speakers are.From the moment you unpackage them to see them wrapped in the microfiber drawstring bag to the outstanding build quality of the speakers and all included components,Outstanding just scratches the surface.Hook up was easy and from the...
6 years ago
 

All around great package!!

4.0
Verdict: Having been in the pro audio world for a long time (touring, recording, playing) I have been in many studios. I was looking for a pair of speakers to listen to a wide range of things... video production, music, recording, etc. I have used many brands of monitors but for this office I wanted simple.
3 years ago
 

Good Medium Priced self powered speakers

5.0
Verdict: Very good speakers to use with Wi Fi applications
Pros: Attractive Design, Easy to Mount, Easy To Set Up, Good Power Output, Great Sound Quality
7 years ago
 

Liked them so much, I bought two pair.

5.0
Verdict: I have a set of Audioengine A5+ speakers in my office at home. They are hooked up to my computer and run through an Audioengine D1 DAC. They have been performing flawlessly for 5 years. They bring out details in music you have listened to before, but not heard.
Pros: Several options for inputs. Plenty of bass. Sound great at low levels or turned up loud. With DAC, audiophile quality
Cons: 5 years running and none
3 months ago
 

Greatest speakers ever!

5.0
Verdict: Been using these speakers for 4 years now and have no issues with them whatsoever. Just wished the volume knob wasn't a bit faulty so my ears wont have to die.
Pros: Great sound separation, Bass isn't too strong but very much present and accurate, Pushes loud volumes, Kevlar woofers
Cons: volume knob has issues. turning counterclockwise is suppose to lower volume, but for the first 30 degrees in rotation, it increases the volume immensely before proceeding to decrease volume
3 years ago
 

Audioengine A5+ Active Speaker System (Pair)

5.0
Verdict: Amazing pair of speakers! Has to be heard to be believed!! Brought the white pair, looks so stylish and sexy! Numerous compliments and complaints, can't help but raise the roof, neighbours can't get enough! Bassy, clean and performs well from dance t o soul.
7 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X