Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G Core i5-8265U 1TB 15.6in Reviews

$969.75 - $986.90 from 4 retailers
★★★★ 3.9
Manufacturer: Acer
X
 

Great Laptop for School; Screen lacks viewing angles

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: If you're looking for a mid-price laptop for school or basic use, this is a great pick. If you are wanting a laptop for editing photos/videos or great viewing angles, this is not the laptop for you.
Pros: Strong GPU and CPU, fast startup and updates, backlit keyboard, and great battery life. I haven't been able to measure the amount of hours yet, but at half brightness it has consistently lasted an entire day of typing papers, downloading files, and editing spreadsheets
Cons: Relatively small storage. 256GB is a lot for someone for school, but if you're editing videos or photos or installing a lot of games, you may need a bigger hard drive. On top of that, the screen is a nice size, but you can only look at it from exactly straight on for the screen to look correct; tilt...
1 year ago

shoddy Acer workmanship

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Not impressed with the build quality. This is my second Acer in recent times and both have been disappointing. Both were purchased via Amazon so can be verified. The first one seemed to have a short circuit in the monitor hinge and I have to rock it back and forth to get to a position where the...
11 months ago

So far so good

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: After a week's worth of use, no problems to report - I removed all the bloatware right away to help. I'm not a techie, so these comments are based on "regular folk" usage. I prefer big screens in laptops even though this makes them less portable aka not exactly lightweight.
1 year ago

Good specs but not great in reality

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Works well for office or general use but there are a couple of issues: -It doesn't sleep properly. Often it was on after sleep was selected -There isn't really any way to fix screen bleed -It doesn't explain when the graphics card kicks in (or if it is on all the time it is a battery waste)
1 year ago

A Very Good gaming laptop

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Beautiful bright antiglare matte screen, awesome keyboard backlight & feel. Super powerful and boots fast(15-20 secs). In CinemaBench, I got a 75.08 on openGL and on Cpu stress test I got a score of 526. The build quality is very sturdy. a bit of a fingerprint magnet inside but feels super premium.
1 year ago

Not much battery life

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I was to give 5 stars if the battery life was more longer....it keeps only .... 4 hours In (web browsing video or gaming)....In the rest it's alright.
1 year ago

Great product and great price!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great product and great price! Fast, quiet, and American keyboard.
1 year ago

Good Value

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Good value for the money. Boot time is great compared to my old Dell. Screen is a bit cheap and nasty but I sue mine with an external monitor so doesn't really matter to me.
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G Core i5-8265U 1TB 15.6in

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I've been using this for about a week now and so far it's great. While it's technically not a gaming laptop it will handle most newer games at medium to high settings with decent frame rates. The screen has great color and brightness, sound despite bottom facing speakers was louder than expected.
1 year ago

Great Laptop

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought this few months, great laptop for everyday use and has plenty of grunt, i think Intel optane memory make the difference for sure.
1 year ago

Acer Aspire A515-51G-51Z7 Entertainment Laptop 15.6" Intel i5-8250U 8GB 256GB SSD NO-DVD GT940M 2GB Graphics Win10Home 64bit 1yr warranty - 2.2kg, long life battery

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: One of the best SSD Laptops i have ever had. Incredibly fast load and boot times paired with good graphics card, decent screen size, great sound & mic quality, long battery life with half the time to charge to full.
1 year ago

Year and half

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Well it was great for the year and a half it worked. Was watching a video on it and it made a crazy sound and shut down. Will boot to bios sometimes and some times not. Had it checked and was determined the motherboard was bad. Can't say I'll be buying an acer again.
10 months ago

best deal

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought it on sale from GB at almost half the price. It is a very decent laptop with a nice and very bright ips screen. The hardware is mostly made out of good plastic materials and aluminum details. The touchpad is accurate and has upgradable ram. Very happy with this deal i made.
Cons: none
1 year ago

Gearbest

Great piece of kit for the price

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I chose an Acer model as I'd had one previously that served me extremely well for 10 years before purchasing this one. Setting up was easy, no issues at all. It's light, very fast and the battery lasts a good few days on medium use. Definitely would recommend
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5 Review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Intel's tech helps the Aspire 5 keep up, but a poor display and battery life hold it back in the end.
Pros: Low price, Intel Optane speeds up the large-capacity hard drive, Good performance for a budget machine, Sturdy build quality
Cons: The screen is really bad, even for the price, Battery life is underwhelming, The keyboard isn't backlit
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G-509A (8250U, MX130, FHD) Laptop Review

★★★★ 3.7
Verdict: Looking at the whole package, the Acer Aspire 5 could have been a solid multimedia laptop if the display had not spoiled the evaluation. We would have gotten over the small weaknesses such as having only a single USB Type-A 3.0 connection or the mediocre WLAN data transfer rates.
Pros: metal base top, low throttling, dedicated GeForce MX130, case handles cooling well, two maintenance hatches, Ethernet port
Cons: poor display in almost all respects (brightness, colors, contrast, mediocre keyboard, relatively thick and large case, weight, WLAN performance
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G-53V6 Review

★★★★ 3.9
Verdict: With high-end laptops, you're getting an ever slimmer and lighter footprint, backed by a heavy pocket, while budget laptops are wired for performance over looks at rock-bottom prices. Then you…
Pros: Decent performance. Good build quality. Very reasonable price
Cons: Not as light as it competitors. Not the most vibrant screen
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51 review – an excellent and affordable mid-range 15-inch laptop

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: While this has somewhat changed recently, Acer laptops have been historically known for their affordable price tags and overall solid value for the money, albeit with a few cut corners here and there, perfectly normal for budget devices.
1 year ago

Acer Aspire A515-51033BQ

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This is one of a range recently launched at Thorpe Park on what in some parts of the country was the hottest day of the year. While it was an event I was unable to make I have been kept up to date by the excellent Acer PR Company, here the first offering sent to me.
2 years ago

Acer Aspire 5

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: With high-end laptops getting ever slimmer, lighter and more expensive, while budget laptops continue to show that they can still be perfectly capable options despite their rock-bottom prices, it can be easy to overlook mid-range machines such as the Acer Aspire 5.
Pros: Good battery life, Up-to-date components, Good build quality, Decent performance, Well priced
Cons: Cheap-feeling touchpad, Screen isn't the most vibrant, Not as light and thin as other laptops
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5: An affordable laptop with some key flaws

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Acer Aspire 5 is a mixed bag of positives and negatives. On the one hand, it's plain and its display sub-par; on the other, this £600 laptop delivers fast performance and excellent battery life.
Pros: Good value, Great performance at this price point, Nice keyboard
Cons: Awful display, Chunky design
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Aspire lineup is Acer's everyday, middle-of-the-road range of laptops. Available in 15.6-inch or 17-inch variants, these models aren't as thin and light as the company's Swift laptops. Nevertheless, they offer good all-round performance, at prices ranging from £470 to £850.
Pros: Smart design, Good all-round performance, Keeps cool and quiet
Cons: A515 version has poor screen, Cramped cursor keys, No keyboard backlight
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G Core i5-8265U 1TB 15.6in

★★★★★
Verdict: Intel recently announced its 8th gen Core CPUs for laptops and desktops , which were highlighted in new launches at IFA 2017 . Laptops based on these new CPUs have already started trickling into the market, and Acer is one of the first companies to start selling them in India.
Pros: Good multimedia performance, ​Good value for money, User accessible RAM and storage, Comfortable keyboard
Cons: 4GB of RAM hampers usage, ​Display has weak viewing angles, Lid flexes, Heavy
2 years ago

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G-53V6 Review

★★★★ 3.9
Verdict: With high-end laptops, you're getting an ever slimmer and lighter footprint, backed by a heavy pocket, while budget laptops are wired for performance over looks at rock-bottom prices. Then you have midrange laptops like the Acer Aspire 5 A515-51G-53V6 that offer the best of both worlds.
9 months ago

PC Verge

Acer Aspire 5 A515-51-58HD review: Optane memory gives this budget laptop a boost

★★★★★
Verdict: While it's thicker and heavier than we'd like and it suffers from an iffy display, the Optane memory-equipped Acer Aspire 5 delivers impressive quad-core performance for hundreds less than its ultraportable competitors.
1 year ago

Acer Aspire 5

★★★★★ 2.5
Verdict: The Acer Aspire 5 is a 15.6-inch desktop-replacement laptop that gives you a lot for your $629, but tops it with something you should never settle for at this price: a 1,366-by-768 non-IPS screen.
Pros: Ample memory and storage including SSD. USB-C port. Great battery life
Cons: Dismal display
2 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X