Persona 5 (PS4) Reviews

$45.69 from GgStore
★★★★ 4.4
Manufacturer: Persona
X
4.4 ★★★★
Based on 42 reviews.
 

Persona 5: "An experience that's perfectly realized from the moment it begins"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: You've been waiting for this one a very long time, and you'll find your patience has more than paid off. The Phantom Thieves are coming to steal your heart, but you'll give it to them gladly.
Pros: 
  • Exceptional story that addresses real-life issues without being preachy
  • Highly customizable combat
  • Unforgettable soundtrack
  • Style for miles
Cons: 
  • Sluggish pacing in the final act
  • Hetero romance choices only
5 years ago

Persona 5

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: Persona, a modern spinoff of the Shin Megami Tensei series, has always been something of an odd duck, especially since its third iteration. Since Persona 3, the series has had a strong focus on the non-combatant part of your characters life, giving you social links, schoolwork to pay attention to,...
Pros: 
  • Improved combat interface
  • faster combat
  • dungeons are no longer randomly generated
  • lots and lots of things to do
  • whole lot of style
Cons: 
  • Negotation makes a return
  • some unpleasant hiccups in how certain characters are potrayed or reacted to
  • the game as a whole takes a little while to get rolling
5 years ago

Persona 5 (PS4)

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: Persona 5 is not nearly as subversive nor as smart as it wishes it was, but it's stylish as hell and a gripping ride. Worth the wait, and worth your time.
Pros: 
  • Gorgeous style
  • kickin' soundtrack
  • sharp dungeon design
  • great battle system
  • the return of demon negotiation
  • cute kitty
Cons: 
  • Harsh penalties for death
  • gargantuan length slows down an otherwise compelling narrative
  • delicate subjects not handled with care
  • regressive social ideas clash with message of rebellion
5 years ago

Persona 5 Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Having skipped the last home console generation aside from the lovely Catherine, Atlus is back with Persona 5 on both PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 3. Being the sixth main numbered entry in the Person
Pros: 
  • Excellent enhanced turn based combat
  • Brilliantly designed dungeons
  • Superlative soundtrack
  • Great characters and a memorable story
  • Super stylish interface
Cons: 
  • Some low resolution art
5 years ago

PS4 Review: Dreamfall Chapters

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: It's a shame that Dreamfall Chapters is probably the only game in the series that will be on consoles, since the characters were already established before in the past games along a 20 year period! But playing the old games is not a pre-requisite to understanding Chapters.
5 years ago

Persona 5

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Though the Megami Tensei and Persona series have been telling stories about teenagers' dealings with the supernatural for more than 20 years, Persona 5 is the first game in this franchise to truly be about being a teenager.
5 years ago

Dreamfall Chapters

★★★★★ 4.7
Verdict: Worth a look for fans of adventure games, with the caveat that the first few hours are a tad slow but, if you persevere, there's a more than rewarding payoff waiting for you at the end.
4 years ago

PS4 Review - 'Persona 5'

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Persona 5 is a RPG about the internal and external conflicts of a group of troubled high school students - the protagonist and a collection of compatriots he meets in the game's story - who live dual lives as Phantom Thieves.
5 years ago

(PlayStation 4 Review) Persona 5

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Persona 5 delivers on every level with a rebellious, quirky cast; an engaging and unusual storyline; and a fast-paced, finely tuned combat system. The writing is excellent, save for a few overly literal lines, and delivers an expansive story that finds an increasingly adventurous group of friends...
5 years ago

Persona 5 Review

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: is a massive, gorgeous JRPG with well over 100 hours of gameplay for completionists. With more to do than ever and the series' strongest story to date, it stands out as an extraordinary, memorable experience and easily one of the deepest JRPGs of the last decade.
5 years ago

Amazing Game. Fast Shipping.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I would definitely tell other Persona lovers to buy this game. All the extra stuff is a bonus but the game itself is a real treasure. There have been a lot of improvements to the game itself as well as new difficulty levels (that you get for free from PSN since ATLUS is compensating for the...
Pros: 
  • I've been a huge fan of the Persona series for years now and so obviously, I had to buy the biggest package available to Persona fans
  • The game itself has made a lot of improvements with very few draw backs to social stats, leveling, modes of combat and Persona "catching.
Cons: 
  • No cons to the purchase itself
5 years ago

Swearing, sexualization, and sacrilege

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This game is not suitable for children. Firstly, there is too much swearing. Teenagers should not be swearing that much. Secondly, there is too much violence. One of the so-called "heroes" attempts to attack a teacher. That teacher was a villain, but you must never resort to violence!
2 years ago

Persona 5 (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This game couldn't keep my attention long enough to write a thorough review. As such, if you enjoy scratching your head or simply wondering around in bewilderment, this game is for you. No, but seriously, If JRPGs aren't your thing, look elsewhere because you won't find what you're looking for here.
3 years ago

I have only given two games a score of 10

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Persona 5 (and the series as a whole) is one of those rare games that really cant be fairly summed up by a paper review or watching a few clips of the game. This is a game that has to be experienced to understand it. Do yourself a favor, buy the game (or rent) Play the game for about 10 hours.
5 years ago

Persona 5

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Do you know when people started to dream in colour? When colour started to appear on our televisions. Before that, people dreamt in black and white . How do we know this? We've been paying attention in class, and taking notes, of course.
5 years ago

Dreamfall Chapters: review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: There's a depth and breadth of imagination here – in terms of story, at least – that's rarely seen. It's a multi-dimensional tale that takes place across a dystopian sci-fi future, a world of sword-wielding soldiers and magical creatures, and the land of dreams that connects the two.
5 years ago

Dreamfall Chapters review – Book One:?Reborn

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: An impenetrable start for non-fans, but there's enough potential here to hope that subsequent episodes make this a dream everyone can share in.
Pros: 
  • The game and dialogue explores some very adult subjects, and the dialogue choices are always explained in detail
  • Impressive visuals and great attention to detail
Cons: 
  • Not nearly enough explanation to understand, or more importantly care, what is going on or who everyone is
  • Beyond the moral choices the illogical puzzles are the only real interaction
7 years ago

Amazing game

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Packaging was perfect, game is fantastic and good place to start for those who are new to the Persona series and JRPGs in general. The price is good too! Story is amazing and touches on events that actually happen in Japan.
4 years ago

The game looks decent considering it was a cross gen PS3/4 game and the animated cut scenes are great. Sound is excellent and i often find myself ...

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I very rarely play JRPG's and actually bought this one for my son to play when he gets back from Uni.. I decided, however, to take a look and see if it would appeal.. i found myself getting drawn in to it's unique mix of social sim and JRPG and 30 hours later am loving it.
4 years ago

Out of nowhere to steal my heart away

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: JRPG's weren't and turn-based games was never really my thing, was never really able to get into it and even hated some games of this genre. But come to my surprise that this would easily become my favorite game of all time.
4 years ago

Persona 5 Review – Effortlessly Stylish

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: I preface this review with chance confession – this is my first Persona game, and I've never particularly been a fan of the style of games (heck, even anime) that Persona seems to borrow so liberally from.
5 years ago

Game of the year

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: 10/10. Perfect game. Absolutely amazing game oozing with style. After waiting for 8 years since Persona 4, we finally get to play this masterpiece. Once again ATLUS has nailed it.
5 years ago

Persona 5 (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The Persona series is over twenty years old now, and is part of the larger Megami Tensei series that dates even farther back, to the Famicom in Japan. These games, by both design and setting, are incredibly Japanese.
Pros: 
  • Incredible art direction
  • great music and sound
  • fantastic voice acting
  • very engaging storyline
  • very lovable characters
  • deep and enjoyable game play mechanics
  • incredibly long adventure that never gets boring
Cons: 
  • Might be too long for some
4 years ago

Dreamfall Chapters Review – PlayStation 4

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Dreamfall Chapters is the third release in a series that began in 1999 with the critically acclaimed PC-based point-and-click adventure The Longest Journey developed by Norway's Funcom.
Pros: 
  • Positives + Fans of the series will appreciate the update
  • + Unique multiverse gameplay
Cons: 
  • Negatives - Controls are stiff and wonky
  • - Script needs better localization
4 years ago

Game Review: Dreamfall Chapters

★★★★ 3.7
Verdict: Dreamfall Chapters is the third instalment in the Longest Journey franchise. A series with a deep lore that began life as a point and click adventure back in 1999 with The Longest Journey.
Pros: 
  • Great story
  • Interesting characters
  • Choices add replayability
Cons: 
  • Poor opening sections
  • Some weak voice acting
  • No waypointing
  • Animations can be a bit bland
4 years ago

Persona 5 (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Good graphics game with style is unique.
5 years ago

Everything I Wished for

★★★★★ 2.5
Verdict: I had high expectations I won't lie, it was the first game I have played that actually surpassed my expectations. Recommended!
4 years ago

Style and substance.

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Persona 5 is a game overflowing with style. From bold black and red menus that leap off the screen to the pop-and-lock of scene transitions that carry the player from one colorful corner of Tokyo to the next, it's a game about youthful exuberance and the power that lies within it.
Pros: 
  • Streamlined turn-based combat that encompasses the best aspects of previous Persona games
  • Rewarding interplay between the game's real world and Metaverse
  • A soundtrack full of earworms
  • Best-in-series dungeons
  • An engaging
  • complex cast of characters
  • Excellent localization
Cons: 
  • Boss fights can be unfair towards the end
5 years ago

Looks stunning.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The graphics and the story telling of this game are top notch.
4 years ago

Persona 5 PlayStation 4

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Best Persona game yet! Five stars!!
5 years ago

"My game of the year for 2017"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This game absolutely floored me, everything from the music to the aesthetics is perfect down to the last detail. This game absolutely oozes style, evidenced by the killer animated opening.
4 years ago

Heart, stolen

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Impressive effort with a few noticeable problems holding it back. Won't astound everyone, but is worth your time and cash.
3 years ago

Persona 5 Review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: ↵ As Persona 5 is nearing its release date, I've been reflecting on my personal journey with the series. It's not common for me to spend forty hours playing a single video game in the span of a week, but that's exactly what happened when Persona 4 first came out eight years ago.
Pros: 
  • Biggest Persona game in history with a substantial amount of content
  • Sleek user interface design
  • Addictive dungeon combat with a variety of exploration
  • One of the best RPG soundtracks in video game history
  • Interactive puzzles designed to capture the player's attention
  • Contains dual audio for...
Cons: 
  • Tags
5 years ago

Persona 5 (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: With the most bewitching tale the series has ever told and an incredibly likable cast that rises above their typical archetypes, Persona 5 sings a song of rebellion. Not just against the norm of JRPGs, but of society's oppressive grasp, inspiring its players to rise up as the Phantom Thieves would.
5 years ago

Persona 5

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The Japanese role-playing game had a rough time with the seventh generation of video game consoles. It had a couple of shining moments; Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch and Lost Odyssey certainly come to mind. But certain standard bearers failed to keep the ball rolling.
2 years ago

Persona 5 PS4 Review

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Matt brings us his impressions on Persona 5.
5 years ago

Persona 5 Review – PS4

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The Persona 5 release date has been a long time coming, but boy was it worth the wait. After many hours embroiled in this twisted Tokyo tale, I can confidently say that this is another big feather in the PlayStation cap, and one of the finest RPG's for quite some time.
5 years ago

Life will change: Persona 5 review

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: I'm amazed to say that after nearly 100 hours in Persona 5's twisted depiction of Tokyo, I never once felt like it was wasting my time. In this time frame, I spent as little time as I possibly could exploring the game's distorted dungeons and fighting monsters because I knew my friend and unrequited...
Pros: 
  • Strong themes and clever symbolism
  • Endearing cast
  • Fun
  • stylish battle system
  • Incredible soundtrack
  • Confidants
Cons: 
  • Gross
  • disrespectful portrayal of gay men and male intimacy
5 years ago

Best game this generation

★★★★★ 5.0
Good story with a balance of a setting of Persona 3 and 4 comes Persona 5 set in Tokyo. Put 120 hours plus into this game is the best the generation and by that there is no DLC content in those hours I put into this. OST and the dungeon design were amazingly well done made you feel like you were infiltrating a base. The cell shading that supports the theme of the game and battle system is top notch if it ain't broke don't fix it. Persona series has been amazing since the PS2 era and has been upping its game with every entry. Took the crown from Final Fantasy series a long time ago which has lost it's touch quite sometime ago. Persona 5 is a game that I highly recommend.
122 years ago

My game of the year for 2017

★★★★★ 5.0
This game absolutely floored me, everything from the music to the aesthetics is perfect down to the last detail. This game absolutely oozes style, evidenced by the killer animated opening. This is a very long JRPG, and I wouldn't recommend it for newcomers to the genre because it can be pretty overwhelming, but fans of the genre are guaranteed to find an incredible experience in Persona 5. I loved the story and characters, the premise is extremely relatable, and the catharsis of taking on seemingly untouchable and powerful villains to reveal their misdeeds to the world is unlike any other game I've played. This game will keep you motivated for the entirety of its 90 hour story, and you will love every second of it.
4 years ago

Absolutely incredible

★★★★★ 5.0
Everything in this game has been produced to such a high standard. The graphics are stunning and clean to the point where even the menu screens are so interesting to look at. The music is so amazing and it compliments the fight sequences and story beats perfectly. The story of the game is gut-wrenching and engaging. Overall, absolutely incredible.
122 years ago

Excellent

★★★★★ 5.0
Great game, great story. Great replay value. 10/10.
4 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X