Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in Reviews

$4,120.00 - $4,849.00 from 8 retailers
Manufacturer: Microsoft
Expert Reviews: 
 4.2
User Reviews: 
 4.8
Features
Performance
 4.8
 
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 13.5" Review: Much Needed Refinement

No reviews
Verdict: 2015 seems to have been a turning point for Microsoft's Surface hardware initiative. Despite the failure of Windows RT and the associated Surface RT, the Intel-powered Surface was beginning to gain some real traction and notoriety with the Surface Pro 3 in late 2014, but was still fairly niche.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2

No reviews
Verdict: After a somewhat shaky start (excuse the pun), Microsoft's Surface Book has found its stride. The new and improved Book 2 retains all that was good about the original - including beautiful design, a versatile Clipboard and an excellent keyboard and trackpad - while introducing a handful of...
Pros: Beautiful design, Clipboard works a treat, Excellent keyboard and trackpad, Gorgeous 3:2 PixelSense display, Chart-topping battery life, Fanless base specification, Good range of accessories
Cons: Doesn't support Thunderbolt 3, Surface Pen not included
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

No reviews
Verdict: The Surface Book was an odd fish in a sea of 2-in-1 Surface wannabes. It was Microsoft's first attempt at building a proper laptop and it was good if a tad expensive. Now that the Surface Laptop is here, you might have forgiven Microsoft for conveniently shelving its ambitious detachable and...
1 year ago
 

Review: Microsoft Surface Book 2

No reviews
Verdict: Typing at work on Microsoft's new 15-inch Surface Book 2 , I can't shake the feeling that this thing's not for me. Don't get me wrong, it's a powerful laptop, it's beautiful, and the workspace its giant screen affords made me completely forget I wasn't seated at my desk with my usual 32-inch...
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

No reviews
Verdict: Mashable Choice highlights the best of everything we cover, have experienced first-hand and would recommend to others. Using a 15-inch, 4.2-pound powerhouse like Microsoft's new Surface Book 2 takes some time getting used to. It nearly fits into my backpack, but weighs on my back.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2: 15in model out now in UK

4.0
Verdict: Ever fancied yourself a fan of Microsoft's fresh-faced Surface Book 2 but craved a couple extra inches of screen real estate? Well, you're in luck, as the 15in Surface Book 2 has finally arrived in the UK.
Pros: Incredibly versatile and powerful, Good battery life considering the power, Compact and portable
Cons: Pricey, Base model isn't worth considering
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

4.0
Verdict: Despite these slight niggles, there's no denying the Microsoft Surface Book 2 has unique appeal. It's a laptop that can be a tablet, a graphics pad and notepad, a workstation, portable workhorse and games console all in one compact package, and there's nothing else around that can match its power...
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 review: a powerful yet pricey laptop-tablet combo

4.0
Verdict: With prices starting at £1,500, this isn't a casual purchase – but with its detachable screen, this could be the best Windows 10 power-user laptop going
Pros: excellent keyboard, great trackpad, brilliant screen, great stylus, 9-hour battery, fancy hinge, great 2-in-1 compromise, USB A, full-sized SD and USB-C, Windows Hello, Surface Dial support, 8th generation Core i7 chips, discrete GPU
Cons: Windows still has tablet app gap, very expensive, relatively heavy, still a bit of play in the hinge, no Thunderbolt 3
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 vs. Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Yoga (2018): Unfolding the best convertible PC

No reviews
Verdict: When it comes to premium laptops that are also 2-in-1 convertibles the Microsoft Surface Book 2 and Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Yoga come from different starting points but end up being very similar. Which is better Well, it's not so clear as both have it set of pros and cons.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2

No reviews
Verdict: Microsoft have been striving to present a stark alternative to Apple's coffee-shop-ubiquitous Macbook line for a while now. In the past, their Surface range of (mostly) hybrid laptops/tablets have hardly been gaming machines, but that's now changed with current range-topper, the shockingly expensive...
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 review: the most powerful laptop-tablet hybrid in the world

5.0
Verdict: We liked the original Surface Book on review here at T3.com. We loved its flexibility and do-anything capabilities - it was just so powerful and premium that, despite a few minor issues, it was not hard to wholeheartedly recommend. And here, with the new Surface Book 2, nothing has changed.
Pros: Massively powerful for a 2-in-1, Battery life is excellent, Lightweight despite size and spec, Screen is superb, Can play modern AAA games at high settings
Cons: Surface Pen is not included, Drab grey finish, Speakers are so-so
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 review: Undone by its own ambition

4.0
Verdict: The Surface Book 2 is an excellent laptop than tries to do a bit too much for its own good. While it excels in a number of areas, it's forced to make a couple of disappointing compromises that stop it from achieving its full potential.
Pros: Excellent performance, Superb screen, Great keyboard
Cons: Expensive, Surprisingly bulky, Poor battery life
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2

4.2
Verdict: There's a lot going on with the new Surface Book 2. It's not just a laptop, it's a laptop with the latest 8th-gen Intel Core-series CPUs . You can detach the screen and cart it around as a standalone tablet, or connect it to the keyboard base for extra battery life and graphics power.
Pros: The new Surface Book 2 adds a long list of worthy upgrades, from new CPUs and gamer-ready graphics cards to a bigger 15-inch version. Battery life and performance are both excellent
Cons: The two-in-one design still feels awkward at times, and for some users, the detachable screen may be superfluous. The most interesting new components are only available in very expensive configurations
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

No reviews
Verdict: Typing at work on Microsoft's new 15-inch Surface Book 2 , I can't shake the feeling that this thing's not for me. Don't get me wrong, it's a powerful laptop, it's beautiful, and the workspace its giant screen affords made me completely forget I wasn't seated at my desk with my usual 34-inch...
Pros: Great performance, beautiful display
Cons: Big ideas that are more ambitious than useful
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

4.5
Verdict: Microsoft just announced a few brand new products: a pair of powerful new Surface Book 2 devices featuring and graphics, and a Surface Precision Mouse designed to be the perfect companion to the devices.
2 years ago
 

Review: Microsoft Surface Book 2

4.0
Verdict: "... the Microsoft Surface Book 2 is a truly brilliant machine."
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 13-inch Review

4.0
Verdict: The Surface Book 2 13 manages to go really fast and yet last forever on a charge.
Pros: Excellent design and build quality, Awesome display, Incredible battery life, Decent entry-level gaming performance, Great keyboard and touchpad
Cons: Coil whine is excessive and obtrusive, Expensive compared to traditional convertibles, No Thunderbolt 3 support
1 year ago
 

Surface Book 2 (15-inch): Microsoft supersizes its most powerful portable PC

No reviews
Verdict: For the past five days, I've been using a Surface Book 2 in place of my everyday PC, a first-generation Surface Book.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 (13.5", i7, GTX 1050) Convertible Review

4.1
Verdict: Microsoft promises a lot with the new Surface Book 2. The 13.5-inch convertible is a really good device in some respects, but we are sometimes wondering why the manufacturer ignores known issues or waives modern standards. Let us begin with the good things.
Pros: high-quality case, very good screen without PWM, high performance, despite passive cooling, very long battery runtime, comfortable input devices, decent camera, often silent
Cons: very loud GPU fan (depending on the power setting, power adapter not always sufficient, no Thunderbolt 3, Surface Pen not included anymore, considerable throttling (especially CPU) on battery, display bounces during touch inputs, no LTE connectivity, basically impossible to maintain, long charging...
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 review: The ultimate laptop improves in every way but one

4.0
Verdict: Microsoft adds to its "ultimate laptop," the Surface Book 2, by increasing the performance, battery life, and display size.
Pros: Top-notch, all-day battery life, Excellent performance, particularly in graphics, Stellar display, complete with additional visual modes
Cons: Premium notebook, premium price, Underpowered Dock makes multi-monitor support problematic, USB-C without Thunderbolt is a mistake
1 year ago
 

Microsoft's Giant Surface Book 2 Is Very Powerful, Very Fast, Very Pretentious

No reviews
Verdict: An updated version of Microsoft's cool, if overengineered laptop.
Pros: Great performance, beautiful display
Cons: Big ideas that are more ambitious than useful
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

No reviews
Verdict: It's probably one of the most powerful Windows devices on the market right now, too, thanks to its dedicated Nvidia graphics, Intel Core i7 processor and its full-sized keyboard, trackpad and stylus, making it possibly the first laptop that could act as a true desktop replacement, despite the claims...
Pros: Sturdy build quality, stylish minimalist design, amazing display, beefy performance, a true desktop replacement
Cons: Not very portable, heavy , super expensive
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 (15-inch) review

4.5
Verdict: If someone told us back in 1992, when Windows 3.1 was first released, that Microsoft would become known for its hardware, we would have done a double-take. Yet, with more cash flow than it knows what to do with, the Redmond-based mega-corporation has arguably introduced an entirely new category of...
Pros: Crazy long battery life, Massively powerful, Lightweight yet large tablet, Excellent cooling
Cons: No up-firing base speakers, Small trackpad, Very pricey, No Surface Pen included
1 year ago
 

The Microsoft Surface Book 2 (15-Inch) Review: Second Time's The Charm

No reviews
Verdict: The Surface Book 2 is still one of the most unique device designs out there. The detachable display docks to a solid keyboard base, which offers a powerful GPU and plenty of battery. The extra capabilities add to a laptop that can be used in a lot of scenarios.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 – nearly perfect (review)

4.0
Verdict: It is hard to improve on perfection. Microsoft's Book design is unique, and given that others have not copied it will probably remain so.
Pros: It is unique - for what it is it is nealy perfect
Cons: Wish it had Thunderbolt 3
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

No reviews
Verdict: There's a view among some in tech that Microsoft is a bit of a dinosaur, still dependent on 30-year-old business software for its income. Although I have had my problems with Microsoft Office and migrated to Macs years ago, my view is that Microsoft's hardware has quietly been raising its game.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 15in review

4.5
Verdict: What a surprise: the most expensive Microsoft Surface is the best one. But do you need to spend over £2,000 on the 15in Surface Book 2 Find out in our full review
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 review: The ultimate laptop improves in every way but one

No reviews
Verdict: Microsoft's Surface Book 2 solves a big problem for Microsoft: How do you market the Surface Book as a performance notebook when it's two years out of date? As our review shows, by making it bigger and faster, with longer battery life.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 review

4.0
Verdict: Microsoft continues to show off what it can do in the hardware game with the impressive Surface Book 2 which has 8th-gen Intel processors and Nvidia graphics. Here's our review.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 review: beauty and brawn, but with limits

4.0
Verdict: I always wanted Microsoft to build a laptop, and it finally went ahead and built one without any tricks earlier this year. The Surface Laptop has no gimmicks, no kickstand, and no detachable screen. It's simply the best laptop you can buy right now.
Pros: Great keyboard and trackpad, Powerful machine with Nvidia graphics, Xbox Wireless support
Cons: Display still wobbles when you touch it, Battery can drain under heavy GPU load, No Thunderbolt 3 support
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2

4.0
Verdict: Given that, unless you're an Apple loyalist or simply need macOS software for work, it's hard to argue against a touch-enabled, gaming-ready system with fantastic battery life that can also become a tablet at the press of a button.
Pros: Premium alloy construction. Elegant convertible design. Sharp high-resolution touch display in new larger size. Discrete Nvidia GTX 1060 graphics. Very long battery life. Multiple configuration options. Xbox wireless controller receiver is integrated
Cons: 16GB RAM maximum. Surface Pen is an additional purchase. Adding SSD storage is pricey. Some finicky issues required troubleshooting in our tests
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

5.0
Verdict: I ordered (and paid) for a Microsoft Surface Book 2 i7, 16MB RAM, 512GB SSD. After nearly two weeks in the mail, it arrived. I opened the package and checked the Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) package from Microsoft - it clearly stated that inside the box was what I ordered, an i7, 16MB RAM,...
7 months ago
 

Selling refurbished or previously registered machines as new

5.0
Verdict: Just found out from Microsoft that the Surface Book 2 that was delivered on April 16 was registered more than a month earlier, on March 11. This means the machine is either refurbished or was registered in bulk a month before purchase. So I can't buy a Microsoft extended warranty. Beware!
1 year ago
 

Microsoft?Surface Book 2 - i7 512GB 16GB

4.5
Pros: Amazingly built laptop with an great feature set of specs and options
Cons: Quite pricey but worth it if on sale
1 year ago
 

ALMOST the perfect convertible laptop.

5.0
Verdict: If I could I would give this laptop 4 1/2 stars. It is as close as I have ever come to finding the perfect laptop. First let me get it's problems out of the way.
1 year ago
 

Awesome laptop

5.0
Verdict: I love the speed of this laptop! It is a nice size - small enough to take with me yet large enough that you can type easily on it. The touch screen is very convenient. The surface precision mouse is so comfortable and has great features! I can't believe how long the battery lasts.
1 year ago
 

Love the Surface Book 2

5.0
Verdict: `Very Happy with my purchase.
1 year ago
 

Wasn't what we were expecting

5.0
Verdict: We bought this product after doing lots of research and then finding that it was on sale. We ended up exchanging it for another brand of laptop as the wifi connection was unreliable and it was very slow to render video edits on a video editing programme we were using.
5 months ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 (Commercial Model) - Intel Core i5 / 13.5" / 8GB Ram / 256GB SSD / Intel HD Graphics 620 Integrated GPU (Surface Pen Not included -Sold Separately)

2.5
Verdict: Fantastic machine. Very pleased with the hardware and performance. One issue though, Microsoft's fault, is there is no printed visual accompanying the laptop showing what each connectors is. As a result, we bought the wrong connector to connect this to an external Monitor.
1 year ago
 

Good but not really good enough

5.0
Verdict: It is a good little laptop but does not really replace a desktop device. This replaced a Dell Precision M6700, which has been a good workhorse for 5 years. Build quality is OK, though the keyboard is hit and miss at times and I find that I must often go back and insert spaces or missing letters.
1 year ago
 

great unit

5.0
Verdict: This is a great device, very light tablet section.
1 year ago
 

Best 2in1 High Performance Laptop

5.0
Verdict: Best 2in1 High Performance Laptop. Only had a problem with charger, which is not working from one side, but Microsoft store will replace that. It's working great.
Pros: Battery Life, Display Screen, Easy to Set Up, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Performance, Quality, value
1 year ago
 

Efficient

5.0
Verdict: Looks great, does everything I need it to do. Holds battery charge well.
5 months ago
 

This is a beast! Buy only if you need it though...

5.0
Verdict: It's expensive as hell, but this laptop meets all my needs. I'm both a creative and work in tech. So I have the power I need to do any of my consulting work as well as my arts - Including, but not limited to, drawing, video editing, and photo editing.
1 year ago
 

Microsoft Surface Book 2 Core i7-8650U 16GB 512GB 15in

5.0
Verdict: Was really looking forward to it. When in tablet only model, the battery less than 4 hours (seriously) (1) The better design can consider power cord be able to charge to the tablet screen side without the screen attaches to the base.
1 year ago
 

Review from 3d artist, zbrush user

4.0
Verdict: There is so many zbrush user who would love to use surfacebook for zbrush, however due to a lack on screen shortkeys and constant interference with Wacom drivers this is not possible. Machine has enough juice to run zbrush without no problem, but it is missing few fundamental things.
1 year ago
 

more than expected

5.0
Verdict: "excellent piece of kit, still learning everything but already exceeds expectations. "
1 year ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X