Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4) Reviews

$34.00 - $80.69 from 4 retailers
★★★★ 4.1
Manufacturer: Final
X
4.1 ★★★★
Based on 41 reviews.
 

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age

★★★★★
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII has always been a bit of an oddball within the long-running series. Its real-time combat smacks of an MMO, like FFXI and FFXIV , but it's still a single-player adventure centered around a core party of characters.
Pros: 
  • Fast-forward function saves time
  • improves pacing
  • Unique departures for the series
  • like Gambits and a politically driven story
  • still feel fresh today
  • Individual License Boards give party members personality
  • shake up gameplay
  • FFXII was always meant to be played in HD
Cons: 
  • Grinding for gil can still get tedious, Junk seriously needs a "sell all" button, Gambits are a little simplistic, Hemming and hawing for hours over which permanent Jobs to assign your party members
  • Seriously: hours
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: "Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is more than just a fun game; it's an achievement for the RPG genre as a whole." © 2017 Square Enix. All rights reserved.
Pros: 
  • Superb combat via the Gambit system
  • compelling character arcs
  • fantastic voice acting
  • newly introduced job system
  • UI tweaks
  • gameplay adjustments
  • and tons of side content
Cons: 
  • An uninteresting villain and a predictable
  • by-the-book plot
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age Review

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII's relatable roleplaying adventure has aged remarkably well, and The Zodiac Age remaster improves it further in meaningful ways. The storytelling, visual design, and gameplay feel just as fresh and interesting as they did over a decade ago, and the various new enhancements and...
4 years ago

PS4 Review: Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Enter an era of war within the world of Ivalice. The small kingdom of Dalmasca, conquered by the Archadian Empire, is left in ruin and uncertainty. Princess Ashe, the one and only heir to the throne, devotes herself to the resistance to liberate her country.
4 years ago

FFXII: The Zodiac Age

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: With the passage of time, Final Fantasy XII has proven itself to be wildly ahead of the curve in terms of anticipating the kind of real-time, macro-focused gameplay that now permeates the RPG landscape.
4 years ago

PS4 Review - 'Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age'

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is an HD remake of Final Fantasy XII which first introduced the Zodiac Job System, a 12-job character progression system.
4 years ago

Year of the Chocobo

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Now here's an interesting beast. It's been just over ten years since Final Fantasy XII first made landfall. That's not much, especially when one considers the series' numbered entries have only just reached XV .
4 years ago

A Welcome Return

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Concept: Remaster Final Fantasy XII and make it easier for fans new and old to experience what the game does best Graphics: Improved visuals and performance make this game look even better than you remember Sound: Excellent voice performances help the characters come alive, and the grand soundtrack...
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age Review - Return to Ivalice and Reclaim the Throne

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII is a remaster done right keeping the source material largely intact but also adding some welcome new features.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I always thought Final Fantasy XII is way ahead of its time when it was first released. Playing the remaster version has cemented that thought. The game still feels fresh and modern even after a decade.
4 years ago

Better than I remembered

★★★★★ 2.5
Verdict: I hadn't played this game since 2006, but remembered I enjoyed it back then. I forgot how good the story, characters, and battle system we're. Also the graphics carried over very well in this remaster. This is the classic FF I've been needing!
3 years ago

Great for returning players and new alike.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: So many nice changes to the game from even the PS2 version. Love the game. This plays I guess closest to FFXI but allows you to make gambits(conditionals like if HP < 70% cast cure) for your teammates.
3 years ago

Final Fantasy 12: The Zodiac Age

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Every numbered Final Fantasy stands apart, calling back to past incarnations without continuing old storylines or necessarily maintaining the existing game mechanics. Yet there's something about Final Fantasy 12 that makes it feel even more distinct.
Pros: 
  • Sweeping sci-fantasy storyline
  • Fast-paced combat
  • Innovative systems
  • Superb production design
Cons: 
  • Graphics showing their age
  • Restrictive progress system
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age review – successful gambit

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: One of the best Final Fantasy games ever made, elevated by its innovative battle system but let down by weak storytelling and focusing on the wrong protagonists.
Pros: 
  • The Gambit system is excellent and makes for the best combat in the series, and Japanese role-players in general
  • Faultless presentation and an excellent remaster
Cons: 
  • Gameplay is surprisingly one note, with almost nothing but fighting
  • Story, and the two main characters, are severely underwritten
  • It still takes too long to get all the Gambit options
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: At the tail end of the PS2 era, Square Enix released Final Fantasy XII , a game that pushed what was technically possible on the console at the time, and even with the release of the PS3 just a few months later, sales of the game didn't dwindle.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★★
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age proves that once again, I find myself reviewing a remaster, and once again I find it being a game I had never played.
4 years ago

So many memories

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Paid a great price for the HD remaster. While its not my fav Final Fantasy (that title goes to 8 for me) or the worst (13...) its still a good RPG. The graphics are a nice shout back to PS1 game Vagrant Story and the story itself reminds me very much of Star Wars.
3 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age Review – Enormous, Compelling Yet Remarkably Weird

★★★★ 4.1
Verdict: First released back in 2006, Final Fantasy XII represented a departure from the usual rhythms of the franchise. Rather than a squad of heroes facing off against their foes in a disconnected battlefield, combat was tied to the same world you explored.
Pros: 
  • Fast-forward mechanic is a lifesaver
  • Job system adds depth
  • Graphics are a stark improvement
Cons: 
  • Remaster treatment spread a little thin
  • Pacing is still uneven
  • Vaan is still kind of a tool
4 years ago

I like the two versions of this game

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I like the two versions of this game. But if i have to choose one, i will choose the ps2 version because i dont fall in love with jobs from ps4
3 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age Review – Still Holds Up

★★★★★
Verdict: Most of my Final Fantasy experiences come from the so-called golden age of Final Fantasy, the PlayStation era – so Final Fantasy XII is a bizarre left turn compared to what I'm used to from the series.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age review

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: Chris checks out the PS4 remaster of 2006's Final Fantasy XII, The Zodiac Age.
Pros: 
  • Rewarding combat, and expansive character options
  • Gorgeous music, and solid voice acting throughout
  • Enjoyable over-arching story
  • Perfect reason for fans to revisit Ivalice
Cons: 
  • Far too much grind
  • Characters, and finer details in the story sadly lacking
  • Doesn't really embrace the remastering enough
  • Feels dated
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age for the PS4 is a high-definition remaster of Final Fantasy XII, which was released towards the end of the PS2's lifecycle in 2006, and is one of the darker, more mature entries in the long-running role-playing game (RPG) franchise.
Pros: 
  • Additions to character progression are welcome
  • Combat has tremendous depth
  • Locations and setting are still fresh
  • Fantastic
  • well-voiced story
Cons: 
  • Cut-scenes suffer from aspect ratio issues
  • Token PS4 Pro enhancements
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII is the Game of Thrones of the series. Never before have you seen political maneuvering like this in a FF game. With the game starting as your whole nation becomes a puppet state of an empire interested in war with the nation behind yours, you are quite literally the underdog in...
Pros: 
  • Improved textures
  • Autosaves
  • Speeding grinding up
  • Gambits
  • The map overlay
Cons: 
  • You either love or hate the new license board
  • Poor voice acting / dialogue
  • Trial mode save handling is unintuitive
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★ 4.3
Verdict: In all fairness, I should admit up front that Final Fantasy as a franchise fulfilled about 60% of my childhood escapism. The fantastical worlds and epic story-lines enthralled me for up to a hundred hours per game, and it was an opportunity to truly lose myself in a virtual world.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★★
Verdict: With Final Fantasy XV being in the spotlight for the past couple of months, we've seen barely any news surface with regard to Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age. Officially announced in June 2016, Square Enix have finally showed off what we can expect from the title with a more in-depth look at its...
5 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: While acclaimed when it came out in on the PlayStation 2 in 2006, Final Fantasy XII always felt like something of an anomaly. Square Enix, mindful that turn-based RPGs were beginning to feel like relics, made FFXII different to its predecessors in some fundamental ways, a change that left a section...
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age PS4 Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The release of a Final Fantasy game is something I like to experience. No matter the quality of the title in question, there is something magical seeing such a beloved series try different things within the genre. I was always interested in seeing what mechanics would change.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: And I am going to keep doing things in The Zodiac Age . It's taken the game I already loved so much and given me more. The Zodiac Age doesn't add things for the sake of adding them.
3 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII has really managed to get its hooks into me this time around, which I credit to Square Enix's excellent remaster. If you missed it the first time around (and you probably did), then now is the time to give this underappreciated gem a second chance. 4.5 /5
3 years ago

golden oldie

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Had the original from release. HD remaster does not disappoint. The new job system is great too. And at £12 It is a bargain.
3 years ago

A re-release that didn't need to happen.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Nothing about the game has changed, it just has been re-released to give it another chance to make some money.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age

★★★★★ 2.6
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age is the perfect example of what is wrong with modern day role playing video games. Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age is also a good reason we need more American made role playing video games.
3 years ago

Final Fantasy 12 The Zodiac Age review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Zodiac Age is an anomaly in the Final Fantasy lineage, a game made with the kind of singular directorial vision only matched by the Sakaguchi games (and, arguably, Naoki Yoshida's more recent Final Fantasy 14).
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age is not a perfect game, but it's pretty damn close . With all the things it did right, my only complaints by the end of the game was its overall lack of difficulty and the way magick was handled, but neither had a particularly significant impact on my experience.
4 years ago

"Great game"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I never played the original but I enjoyed playing through this. I had my doubts about the gambit system, but you get the hang of it rather quickly. Mostly just focused on the main story, there are a lot of other things to do, I'll probably attempt do them on another playthrough. Great game.
4 years ago

What's your sign

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: What's your sign As a remaster it ticks pretty much all the boxes for every crowd -- Japanese/English audio, original or re-orchestrated music, a speed multiplier (with an x2 or x4 toggle) to make running about the field or combat go faster.
3 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age Review &#8211; Opening Gambit

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is an excellent remaster with plenty to offer fans new and old. If you never experienced the game during its heyday or simply couldn't get past some of its shortcomings, The Zodiac Age is a perfect way to re-enter the game or start from scratch.
Pros: 
  • Vast improvements to UI
  • map and more
  • Zodiac job system is much more intuitive
  • Orchestral soundtrack offers excellent ambiance
Cons: 
  • Tags
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII HD: The Zodiac Age Review

★★★★★
Verdict: The PS4 is fast turning into a remaster paradise, with a considerable amount of historical PlayStation titles coming to the system since its launch. This isn't a bad thing, many people now owning PS
Pros: 
  • The way a remaster should be done
  • Gambit system is fantastic
  • Fantastic suite of options to play with
Cons: 
  • Acting is a bit stilted
  • Some sections are a bit long winded
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age Review – Reading the Signs (PS4)

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Final Fantasy XII: International Zodiac Job System , which ended up only being released in Japan, introduced some significant changes and additions in the games including the titular Zodiac Job System, which solved the original's late-game problem of each character ending up pretty much the same.
Pros: 
  • Great story and characters
  • Impressively improved visuals
  • Excellent audio and soundtrack
  • Significantly improved gameplay
Cons: 
  • Visuals lose detail during close-up cutscenes
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age (PS4)

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Overall, Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is an impressive remake for the entry. Instead of taking the easy way out with an HD upscale, Square Enix gave the title the extra polish and features it needed to be a great title. If you missed this the first time, don't miss out again.
4 years ago

A masterful rebirth – Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age review

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: Remastered games typically get a fresh look and an express ticket to the shelf with little else to show for their new clothes. Square Enix has a tradition of adding extra things to each of theirs, adding a little bit each time to Final Fantasy remasters, but this time around they brought out far...
Pros: 
  • Graphical upgrades aplenty
  • Zodiac Job System fundamentally changes the game
  • Zodiac Spear box restrictions removed
  • Trial mode gains carry over into Story mode
  • A host of quality of life improvements
Cons: 
  • Balancing is occasionally lacking
4 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X