Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (PS4) Reviews

$9.00 - $99.69 from 2 retailers
★★★★ 3.7
X
3.7 ★★★★
Based on 40 reviews.
 

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD Review

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: As a series, Final Fantasy has never been one for simple, uncluttered storytelling. The histories, religions and cultures of the various worlds within its over-arching, often disparate universe are de
Pros: 
  • Excellent combat
  • Decent story
  • Lots of characters
Cons: 
  • So much exposition
  • Plodding pace
  • Awful RTS sections
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Final Fantasy Type-0 originally released in Japan in 2011 for the PSP, and it was never localized for the West. Due to fan outcry, Square Enix acquiesced for the game to cross the s Pacific in an HD remake for the PlayStation 4.
Pros: 
  • Refreshing for a FF game to go back to the action-RPG combat
  • a wide variety of characters and fighting techniques
  • plenty of FF callbacks and references to keep fans happy
  • and a twisting and intriguing story that will keep fans on their toes and curious to learn more
Cons: 
  • It should have stayed with the handheld format
  • the graphics were a slight disappointment for a new generation of consoles
  • and the grinding and exploration was far too forced when it really didn't have to be
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD review (PS4)

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: The once-triumphant Final Fantasy brand has been in an awfully confused state for a good decade now. Two of the last four mainline entries have been MMOs, and Square-Enix spent two whole side projects trying, unsuccessfully, to dig themselves out of the hole that they fell into with Final Fantasy...
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It's quite appropriate that Final Fantasy Type-0 HD takes place within a military Akademia, following the exploits of 14 extraordinarily gifted cadets. The game is as punishing and uncompromising as the continental war that it chronicles, and it will school you.
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD

★★★★ 3.9
Verdict: While not the next-generation Final Fantasy game fans are anxiously waiting for, Type-0 is a fun action/adventure with a lot of compelling ideas. There's enough variety in the gameplay to keep the combat fresh for dozens of hours, and the story is surprisingly emotional for a political thriller.
6 years ago

Trust the 8 out of 10's.

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Get the fact that the camera is jarring out of the way first. You do learn to work well with it in battle but out of battle it is still makes me get a little ill. The battle is fast paced yet requires you to look for openings and dodge attacks instead of just blindly mashing away.
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Forget JRPGs, 'Final Fantasy' games alone are enough to form hard lines between various fans. 'Type-0' plays like it's meant to be enjoyed in bite sizes and in marathon sessions, and the story is so much more palatable and enjoyable than what one might expect from the past 15 years.
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (PS4)

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: "The inclusion of Steam Cloud saving and a number of PC-specific options shows that this clearly wasn't a slapdash effort, but the obtuse way some of those options are implemented and the weak mouse/keyboard control choices make it a case of "better, but still not perfect.
Pros: 
  • Lengthy adventure that breaks the FF mold
  • many options make it an improvement on previous Square Enix PC ports
Cons: 
  • Strange implementation of those new options
  • keyboard and mouse controls almost unusable
  • even high settings can't fully mask that this is a port of a port of a PSP game
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (PS4)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: 25 years ago, the "Summer of Final Fantasy" captured my imagination. I didn't really know what Final Fantasy was at the time, nor did I particularly care that said "summer" was just a marketing invention being peddled by Nintendo Power to drum up interest in role-playing games among American players...
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (PS4)

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: When it comes to Final Fantasy, everybody has a favorite era. Some people love the simplicity of the 8-bit games, while others prefer the polygonal look of those early PlayStation sequels. Often lost in this discussion is the PSP era, which I would argue was Square Enix at their most experimental.
6 years ago

This game is good. Its full of feelings

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I played this game halfway on PSP and now it's time to finish it on HD and PS4! This game is good. Its full of feelings. I hope to have a great time with it. As I played the PSP version I can compare them now. (Kinda dumb but oh well).
3 years ago

I would recommend this game

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great game , good storyline , great graphic
6 years ago

I didn't know what to expect but after getting used ...

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I didn't know what to expect but after getting used to the camera speed the rest shines. The game has a nostalgic JRPG quality to it that I've missed. Also, the serious tone of the game certainly helps push the story forward.
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: All in all, Type-0 HD is a satisfying Final Fantasy package, with over 50 hours of main story content and a ton more if you strive to complete all extra tasks, world map exploration and fill in all missing entries the history section.
Pros: 
  • + War of Magic vs Tech premise
  • + Class-0 offer diverse playstyles
  • + Satisfying real-time action combat
  • + CGI cutscenes
Cons: 
  • - Still leftovers of PSP visuals/mission design
  • - Cringe-worthy English voice-acting
  • - Second playthrough and research necessary to understand ending
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD review

★★★★★ 2.5
Verdict: Final Fantasy Type-0 finally comes West in the form of a new-gen port. Has it successfully made the jump across consoles? Was it any good to begin with? Alan takes a look.
Pros: 
  • Typically great music
  • A variety of combat styles
Cons: 
  • Terrible visuals
  • Groan-inducing audio
  • Boring
6 years ago

The kids are alright.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It is fitting that a game about war--its passionate triumphs, its bloody defeats, its tragic consequences--would focus so heavily on combat. In Final Fantasy Type-0, you guide a group of gifted teenagers through numerous campaigns to capture opposing cities and kill the powerful beings aiding enemy...
Pros: 
  • Combat is fast and engaging
  • Mission structure actively encourages use of all 14 characters
  • Meaningful leveling and and ability customization
  • Primary characters' personal stories properly reflect the ravages of war
Cons: 
  • Most NPCs were left out of the HD treatment
  • Clunky narrative fails to explain key concepts
6 years ago

After 50 hours of playing this...

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: To mitigate the aspect of grinding levels for 14 characters up to as far as 99th level... there's a nice "Secret training" option that unlocks fairly early and allows you to log out in the training facility and gain a few levels (EXP boost every 2 hours you're not playing) for up to 24 hours before...
Pros: 
  • This is not turn-based Final Fantasy so if you're looking for FF1 - FFX-2 combat style, this will not be what you expect
  • However, the story is very gritty and engrossing and once you get used to the fact that you'll be dodging a LOT and using mostly ranged combat, you find out the game isn't as...
Cons: 
  • The only real con in my opinion is the grinding aspect of the game
  • I started on "Officer" difficulty (aka normal) so maybe if I had started on "easy" I could have blown through it more quickly...
6 years ago

"Losing the Final Fantasy touch..."

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: All in all, I have to say that I'm not sure who Square Enix were aiming for with Final Fantasy Type-0 HD, but it almost certainly wasn't the core Final Fantasy fans that I would consider myself part of.
Pros: 
  • It's different to the usual fare
  • has an interesting story line and time management requirements
Cons: 
  • The gameplay isn't that good
  • combat is button mashing
  • characters 2D and interfaces claggy
5 years ago

Disappointed

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Really disappointed, I tried twice to get into it but I really did not like it. The battles were confusing and just not fun. final fantasy is one of my favourite game series, even though this is a spin off. Even at 5.99 new I felt I wasted my money.
4 years ago

Its the best best best ever game in the world

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: OMG! What a game
5 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (for PlayStation 4)

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: Square-Enix has been milking the Final Fantasy XIII sub-series for years, despite the disappointment of the first FFXIII game and the diminishing sales of its sequels, FFXIII-2 and FFXIII: Lightning Returns.
Pros: 
  • Responsive, varied action
  • Full of call backs that will appeal to fans of the series
Cons: 
  • Awkward, segmented structure is clearly designed for a portable game
  • Cast is crowded and uninteresting
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (PS4)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Final Fantasy Type-0 HD is a solid, compelling release that never truly feels at home on its platform. It's still the game so many yearned to play, and though it may not be a core numbered entry, it stands up well to the franchise's marquee releases. Just know what you're getting into.
Pros: 
  • Great music
  • fun combat
  • interesting atmosphere
Cons: 
  • Spaces feel a bit confined for PS4
  • textures stand out too much
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Originally released in Japan for the PlayStation Portable back in 2011, Final Fantasy Type-0 finally makes its way stateside after a long wait. Though it won't be gracing a portable platform like most anticipated, this HD update arrives exclusively on the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.
6 years ago

Game Review: Final Fantasy Type-0 HD [PS4/XboxOne]

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: Final Fantasy Type-0 HD is the most fun I've had with a JRPG in years. I feel it's important to start with that statement as talking about its flaws, which there are quite a few, may make you think it's not worth your time.
Pros: 
  • Superb combat
  • Perfect for gamers that lack time
  • Lots to do
  • New Game + works well
Cons: 
  • Awful English dub
  • Quest system should be better
  • Port feels a bit half hearted in places
  • Graphically poor
  • World map broken up by load screens
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I don't want to exaggerate the point, however. While the plot might be sinister and the motivations of its cast less ham-fisted and predictable, Type-0 fails to deliver a genuinely adult sequence of events.
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD review

★★★★★
Verdict: Such is the quandary at the heart of every long-running game series. Type-0 HD bears all the hallmarks of a game simultaneously keen to escape its past while being forced to embrace its heritage.
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type 0 HD

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Good game. A bit short, but fun.
5 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD Review – Fans Rejoice, Type-0 Makes a Successful Western Arrival

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Here we are with yet another HD remaster to add to our collection – Final Fantasy Type-0 HD. What's different about this HD remaster; however, is that the original was released about 4 years ago as a Japan exclusive PSP game.
6 years ago

"Interesting, but feels old"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Has a familiar style and feel to it. As if Final Fantasy 12 and Crisis Core were combined. Making for an interesting game to play, although the story does feel weak. And as for HD, I honestly feel it is misleading, graphically it showed no improvement on Final Fantasy 12
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The graphics are not ps4 material yet acceptable, game play makes up for it, its fun, fast paced and exciting specially in missions, The down side is normal encounters which are repetitive and doesn't require brain or skill to beat them.
6 years ago

PS4 Review - 'Final Fantasy Type-0 HD'

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Originally released in Japan (2011) for the PSP only, Final Fantasy Type-0 HD brings the world of Orience to next-gen consoles, allowing for a new type of FINAL FANTASY experience, featuring a gritty worldview and an action-packed battle system.
6 years ago

Surpised by Square Enix

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: This game is only tolerable by hardcore final fantasy gamers Im really surprised they released such garbage. This game would have only been good on a handheld but dont even waste your time trust me. STORY is completely confusing and just starts in the middle of no where.....
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (PlayStation 4) Review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Final Fantasy fans have waited a long time to finally get their hands on Final Fantasy Type-0 HD . It was released on the PSP in Japan in 2011 and although it hasn't come over on the ideal platform (surely PSP to Vita would have made the most sense), this HD remaster on both PlayStation 4 and Xbox...
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD (PS4)

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: When you see or hear the name "Final Fantasy," you already know its legacy. It's one of the most successful franchises in the industry, but for gamers, it's not the financial success we talk about.
Pros: 
  • Visuals | Fighting | Sorties | Characters | Variety
Cons: 
  • A Bit Short For A Final Fantasy Game
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD Review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Near the end of my nearly forty hours playing Final Fantasy Type-0 , I couldn't quite figure out why I was still enjoying myself. The story is trite, the gameplay antiquated, and the lack of great visuals incredibly disappointing. And yet, it still feels like a true Final Fantasy game.
Pros: 
  • As a fan
  • hard not to enjoy the Final Fantasy-ness of it all
  • 40 hours plus
  • with many side missions
Cons: 
  • Dull graphics via PSP port
  • Tags
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD review – back to school

★★★★★
Verdict: It comes with a demo of Final Fantasy XV, but is there more reasons than just that to buy this upgraded portable game
3 years ago

Decent FF Title

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Only got this for the FFXV demo but was pleasantly surprised
4 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD Review – Class Zero (PS4)

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Let's just be honest here, people. Most of you will be picking up Final Fantasy Type-0 HD not for the game itself, but for the Final Fantasy XV demo that is included with day one copies. While the demo is all kinds of neat, don't sleep on that little Final Fantasy game packaged in with the demo.
Pros: 
  • Combat is fluid and engaging
  • Each cadet feels unique and fun
  • A well told story
  • The school setting really works
  • Solid entry to the FF franchise
  • That soundtrack is sexy
  • Remote play on Vita is a good (or preferred) alternative
Cons: 
  • PSP to PS4 upgrade.
  • not the best way to do it, That camera has some big issues, $60 price tag, Might have been better as a Vita release
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD PS4 Review

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Due to my everlasting hope against hope for a localization, I kept myself away from as much of Final Fantasy Type-0 as I could in order to leave my inevitable experience in the world of Orience as fresh as possible.
6 years ago

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD – Out of its Element

★★★★★ 2.2
Verdict: As earnest of an attempt as Square-Enix made in bringing Final Fantasy Type-0 to the States, the PlayStation Portable game's transition to HD only magnifies the cut corners seen in a handheld game.
Pros: 
  • Darker tone
  • Combat styles are varied and fun to learn
  • Interesting perspective on loss
Cons: 
  • Poor exposition with a bloated cast
  • Abhorrent voice acting
  • Camera has a mind of its own
  • Visual update isn't thorough
  • Side content is insubstantial
6 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X