Destiny (PS4) Reviews

$14.99 - $44.69 from 2 retailers
★★★★ 3.8
Manufacturer: Bungie
X
3.8 ★★★★
Based on 59 reviews.
 

"Broken Promises"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Not the golden MMO shooter everyone said it was going to be, but still a great multiplayer shooter!
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: Not sure if you heard about the new game called Destiny, available now for current and last generation consoles only, meaning the Xbox 360, PS3, Xbox One and PS4 (if you did not hear about this game, chances are you are not from this solar system – Vader Ed.).
Pros: 
  • Well-polished shooter/MMO hybrid with addictive loot hunt properties
  • great visuals on next gen consoles
  • fun multiplayer experience with co-op and PvP options
Cons: 
  • Some dialog cheese
  • party search and creation could be improved
  • episodic missions can endlessly be replayed but with long term effect on the world
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Nei precedenti articoli abbiamo sottolineato la bontà della mossa di Activision e Bungie , di rendere disponibile l'alpha prima, solo su PS4, e la beta poi, su tutte le piattaforme, per far saggiare ai giocatori le qualità di Destiny , proponendo a conti fatti quella che era la prima porzione di...
Pros: 
  • Gunplay preciso e divertente
  • Un universo di gioco grande che crescerà esponenzialmente nel corso dei mesi
  • Impianto artistico e colonna sonora ottimamente curati
Cons: 
  • Pochi contenuti che si ripercuotono sull'end game.., ..
  • Su cui grava un sistema di ricompense dell'equipaggiamento deficitario e non stimolante, Crogiolo: modalità sufficienti nel numero e molto classiche
7 years ago

Destiny (for PlayStation 4)

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Destiny's strength lies in its amazing aesthetics. The alien worlds that developer Bungie depicts are beautiful and sprawling, and exploring them makes for an entertaining diversion.
Pros: 
  • Solid FPS mechanics
  • Fun sci-fi special abilities and scenarios.
Cons: 
  • Weak story
  • Horrid load times
  • Little end-game content.
7 years ago

Destiny Review

★★★★★
Verdict: It's called the Black Garden. You see it from a clifftop above, gazing across the blooming acres through a thick green haze, and imagine the sights that might be seen there, and the adventures you might have there.
Pros: 
  • Excellent fundamentals make it a joy to handle a gun
  • Fantastic vistas and magnificent soundtrack
  • Intricate competitive maps with clever touches
Cons: 
  • Repetitive missions containing repetitive encounters
  • Abysmal storytelling that makes you unlock and seek out basic plot elements
  • Endgame has you grinding the same bullet-sponge bosses over and over again
7 years ago

Destiny – Review (PS4, Xbox One)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: There are few games that can say they've changed the face of a genre forever, but it's no exaggeration to say that Halo did. Many of the mechanics it introduced became commonplace, and it almost single-handedly defined the console shooter.
7 years ago

The gunplay's the thing in Destiny

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I don't get Destiny. Which is okay, since I don't think Bungie gets it either, and they're the folks who made it. It resembles a lot of other games that do what Destiny is trying to do better than Destiny. Sometimes I'm embarrassed for Destiny.
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Destiny's post-E3 alpha was truly incredible. After many months of hype, Bungie's successor to Halo was playable. You could explore the tower, interact with folks in it, help someone in need during a story mission, and take a break from that to get into crucible battles that bore more of a...
7 years ago

Destiny PS4 Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: After creating a game with as much impact as Halo, there was always going to be high expectations for whatever developer Bungie did next. The developer moved on from their most famous work long ago but it's only now we get to properly see what they've been working on since.
7 years ago

Destiny Review – PlayStation 4

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: After years of hype and speculation, a fairly impressive BETA, and a rather epic live-action TV spot to celebrate its launch, Bungie Software's next-gen opus has descended upon the planet, polarizing the gaming world with the same effect of light and darkness found in the game itself.
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Bungie has crafted a very unique title without any direct comparison in the shooter genre with Destiny, and the game seamlessly blends online elements, PvE, and PvP together. Gameplay remains king and the high quality of the Destiny experience prevents any of the games shortcomings from degrading...
7 years ago

It's Good... but will it last?

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: From the start the story is vague at best and isn't very deep. However you will love just shooting anything that moves and team up with your friends online makes the experience worth the tag price.
Pros: 
  • Challenging
  • Easy to learn
  • Fun To Play
  • Good Audio
  • Graphics
  • Multiplayer
Cons: 
  • Too Short
7 years ago

Great product

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great product and great game Second time to buy it for the cheap and good quality.
Pros: 
  • Great game great product
Cons: 
  • Nothing
7 years ago

While Destiny has its streanghts it's weaknesses cannot be simply overlooked

★★★★★ 3.4
Verdict: Typically First Person shooters are not games that I can get into, it has to be the right type of story, set up and design. Destiny appeared to meet all that criteria. While Destiny isn't a bad game at all its definitely not that it promised.
7 years ago

Fun game. For a only a limited amount of time.

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Destiny was one of those games that I picked up based off of what my friends were pressuring me to do. After getting the game I was quickly sucked in to the main story mode. However, the story is quick and easy to plow through especially if you have friends who you can play with who have already...
4 years ago

Destiny (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I think this games lower rating is due to everyone having way too high if expectations for it. I really really enjoy this game. I stopped playing all my other games to play every night. It's highly addicting.
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★★
Verdict: Players around the world had an opportunity to sink their teeth into Destiny during the game's alpha and beta tests, both of which provided insight into what to expect from its final release.
Pros: 
  • Stunning visuals across four planets
  • Balanced and intense combat
  • A unique multiplayer experience
Cons: 
  • Load screens can be tedious
  • Can be overwhelming for new players
  • More difficult to enjoy without friends
7 years ago

Destiny Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Some excellent gameplay let down slightly by poor story and characters.
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★★
Verdict: Destiny is Activision's attempt to try and appeal to a mainstream audience of some of the most popular genres that reside in the games industry today. It's a game that fuses first-person-shooter with RPG and MMO elements to try and appeal to as many gamers as possible.
7 years ago

Destiny review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: We can't imagine how the elevator pitch for Destiny went; there's simply too much to explain in a few short sentences. At the most basic level, developer Bungie's first major project since leaving Microsoft in charge of the Halo franchise is a "shared-world shooter", influenced by loot-grinding RPGs...
7 years ago

Way overated. Hot and Cold but give It a go

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Lets start with the fact that the game is way overated. Way hyped just like Watch Dogs. Bungie have took out which was meant to be with original content and now are going to release them has DLC (Money grabbers) The graphics and art work is very pretty and pleasent, however the edges are a bit...
7 years ago

Didn't live up to the hype.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I was so hyped for this game, but it failed me, and many others. I didn't get many chances to play with friends due to other commitments so I had to rely on solo play, and my god was it a grind. The game gave you nothing for all your hard work and it just got so tiresome.
4 years ago

Great game but very disappointed to find out this version ...

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Great game but very disappointed to find out this version only contains a fraction of the levels and missions you can do. You need to get the Taken King version to play all of them. You will quickly finish this version.
5 years ago

Destiny review

★★★★★ 3.2
Verdict: I've certainly enjoyed my time with Destiny , and I'm sure there's something there for every kind of console gamer. It's just that, between the game's lifeless world, vague story and lack of true incentivisation, I don't know if I can actually recommend it to someone that's on the fence.
Pros: 
  • + One of the most polished
  • balanced games of recent years
  • + Great map design in PvP
  • + Mindless grind can be addictive
Cons: 
  • - The story is incomprehensible
  • vague and disappointing
  • - The environments are just too repetitive
  • - Weapons lack differentiation
7 years ago

Destiny review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Destiny is already the biggest launch of a new property in the history of games, but can it possibly live up to the very high expectations we have for it? Siobhan Keogh has the verdict.
Pros: 
  • Beautiful graphics
  • Solid mechanics
  • Plenty of gear to toy around with, and some challenging gameplay and smart design that is hugely satisfying to overcome.
Cons: 
  • Combat and mission structure in story missions is highly predictable
7 years ago

Game requires always online internet connection and that too a pretty stable one

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Disk is not the final build. This is the beta and will require additional 2.4gb and another 100gb to fully update (as on 12/15/2014). Game requires always online internet connection and that too a pretty stable one.
6 years ago

Destiny

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: As Destiny opens, you are revived from death by a small robotic Ghost, who quickly gets you armed and tells you the world is in great peril. A powerful relic known as The Traveler led to mankind's golden age, but it also attracted dangerous forces who seek to control its powers.
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: From the Creators of Halo and the company that brought you Call of Duty. In Destiny you are a Guardian of the last city on Earth, able to wield incredible power. Explore the ancient ruins of our solar system, from the red dunes of Mars to the lush...
Pros: 
  • - Shooting feels great
  • - Fun to play with friends
Cons: 
  • - Lack of content
  • repetition
  • - Loot system often unfair
7 years ago

Destiny – The Verdict

★★★★★
Verdict: A month after Destiny launched, and I finally getting around to writing my Verdict. Why has it taken me so long? If you cast your mind back to when Steve and myself shared our thoughts on the game , I made the argument that Destiny is much more of an MMO than a normal game, and that as with any MMO,...
7 years ago

No other words but "Brilliant"

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: So my partner has a PS4. I love it because he hides away and plays on it for hours!! I do go on it, I watch Netflix or I play Peggle which I love! But the other day he called me in about this game he had brought. He had been round a friends and played it and thought he had to have it too.
Pros: 
  • Amazing graphics
  • Endless gameplay
Cons: 
  • Slightly pricey
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★★ 1.5
Verdict: Why do some games make it so hard to love them?
Pros: 
  • Easy to pick up controls
  • gorgeous on next gen consoles
  • a number of great story elements
Cons: 
  • The PvP is atrociously "balanced"'
  • almost no content to the game itself
  • everything feels very samey
  • missions grow repetitive quickly
  • an ungodly amount of grinding for post-level 20 content
  • many elements of the game aren't present in said game
  • spits in the face of Xbox owners
7 years ago

Destiny (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Vast, beautiful, and endlessly satisfying, Destiny is like a gradually-opening puzzle box of ever-more involving FPS depth. What's already there can be explored for tens of hours. What's to come is an incredibly exciting prospect.
7 years ago

Cool game but no brain needed to play

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Good game so far. Been playing a few hours a day for the last few days. I was expecting a little more from the hype though. Maybe its early and it will be getting better, Only time will tell I guess. I do find that its just running around and shooting up monsters...
7 years ago

Alright...

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The game is definitely fun for the first quarter of the story mode then continues to be the same thing over and over again. Go to this place, let your ghost work on it while you fight waves of enemies, repeat. The gameplay of it is quite fun with a mix of both Halo and Call of Duty.
Pros: 
  • mix of many games
Cons: 
  • short story
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: It's been the talk of the gaming world ever since it was introduced. Some say it was overhyped, others say the hype was justified. Now it's finally here and everyone has had the chance to get some hours logged.
7 years ago

Destiny (PS4) Review – A Triple Genre Glorious Bastard Lovechild

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: Never before has a game received as much hype as Bungie's latest offering, Destiny . The creators of the Halo franchise, one of the best first person shooter and multiplayer games ever made, had a lot of expectation on them right from the announcement of this game and the hype train didn't slow down...
7 years ago

Worth every penny

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Fantastic game, don't buy this verison though guys. Buy Destiny: The Collection as it includes all content. This version only includes the base game which is completely out of date.
4 years ago

Boring

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: 0/1000 wouldn't waste my time thinking about playing this also never got my rebate (i filled it out and sent it out in the mail months ago)
Pros: 
  • Its often free with a rebate card and sometimes an extra game
Cons: 
  • $3 shipping horrible game
5 years ago

Great and unexpected

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I'm not a Halo fan. I think they keep on making the same game on and on. So I was not very interested in Destiny, but zavvi made a pretty good price and I ordered it. Well, this game is great.
7 years ago

Review: Destiny (PS4)

★★★★★
Verdict: One decade later, Bungie finally breaks away from the Halo franchise to bring us Destiny: an online, first-person sci-fi shooter that promises to be alive in the way MMOs are. Now that it's out, however, all we're left with is the sting of disappointment.
Pros: 
  • It's a looker
  • especially in terms of colour compared to recent shooters
  • "Crucible" PvP modes a good contender for competitive folks
Cons: 
  • Recycled maps
  • repetitive mission design and uninvolved story makes campaign a bore
  • Not the large
  • eventful multiplayer shooter we were promised (at this time)
7 years ago

An awesome Game ..

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The game is awesome. Love it
6 years ago

Destiny (PS4)

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Biggest disappointement ever. It was supposed to be a great game, with a lot of content, lot of things to do, lots of planets to explore... It just look like a f**king demo! Do NOT put 50$ in that, it is not worth it at all.
7 years ago

Game of the year already

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: On day one release Destiny has sold $500 million dollars worth of stock on the very first day. This just shows that the demand and anticipation for this release was literally "astronomical" from the get go youre thrown into the open world of Destiny and you have to find your way through the ruins of...
7 years ago

Destiny

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Good graphics and responsive. A bit weak on a storyline and it becomes repetitive after the first few hours. Upgrading your gear and customising your weapons are interesting but get tedious after a while too. All in all a good game but not what I expected from all the hype that was made about it.
5 years ago

anexample of what is to be expected

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: its an borderlands hybrid of call of duty or halo, which iook foward to another one but not any time soon cause there is a few things i have to do before i become legend.
7 years ago

Destiny: House of Wolves Review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Destiny is a deeply flawed experience, and yet I've spent nearly 50 hours with the game. It's a fundamentally sound shooter, and one that plays well with others. Everything around that core shooting experience brings the game down though. There's simply too much grinding and not enough content.
Pros: 
  • Prison of Elders mode is great
  • New equipment system means less grinding
  • Trials of Osiris looks to put a cool spin on PvP
Cons: 
  • Prison of Elders mode is great
  • No raid
  • New social area is very small
  • Trials of Osiris looks to put a cool spin on PvP
6 years ago

Destiny: House of Wolves DLC Has Bite

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: GiN Guest Reviewers Craig Charles and Chris Wolf have been playing Destiny since the beginning. They've stuck with it through its various ups and downs, and now are jumping into the brand new Destiny DLC: House of Wolves. Each will offer their thoughts on the new DLC.
6 years ago

Destiny (PlayStation 4) Review

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: The day has finally come, ladies and gentlemen. Bungie has finally released its highly anticipated MMO-shooter and nothing could be more exciting than to get hands-on with it. It's still weird to think that Bungie isn't working on the beloved Halo series anymore, but hey, times change.
6 years ago

Great overall game play and story line.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I am a year 1 destiny beta play and still love D1. It was a great game from PVE to PVP. There was always something to work towards or do, even now when destiny 2s forsaken is getting ready to drop.
3 years ago

Could be better

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Gameplay is repetitive and very often it is getting disconnected with different error codes.
6 years ago
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X