Canon EF 70-300mm F4-5.6 IS II USM Reviews

$819.00 - $1,206.35 from 19 retailers
★★★★★ 4.6
Manufacturer: Canon
X
4.6 ★★★★★
Based on 26 reviews.
 

Awesome lens for both full and crop frames

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens and it takes awesome pictures on both my 6D and 90D. Under good light, I can not tell a difference in picture quality between this lens vs my 70-200 F4 L IS. and the extra reach to 300mm is very good to have.
2 years ago

Very happy with the sharpness

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I just purchased this lens from B&H and although it came with a little speck of dust on the inside front element, I tested the lens and it has no effect on the image, I was thinking of returning it to get another copy, but my lens is so sharp wide open from 70 to 300, I am so pleased with the...
3 years ago

Opening package broke my heart for the third time.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I wish I could give the lens 5 stars, unfortunately there was a quality control issue with Canon on the EF 70-300 II IS, there is an internal metallic flake that you can see when the zoom is retracted. I will be returning this lens for a third time, all previous lens have the same issue.
4 years ago

Took a few test images

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: "I just bought this lens yesterday and haven't been able to play with it much, but last night I took some pictures of a near full moon without a tripod. When I framed the moon in the lens I could see a lot of movement and shake since I did not support the camera.
4 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM Lens Review

★★★★★
Verdict: With a "II" in the product name, it is only logical that a version "I" of this lens existed and in this case, that lens is the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens . Interesting is that the version "I" lens was itself a replacement of a very similar lens, the Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens...
6 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm F4-5.6 IS II USM

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I use this lens pretty heavily at sporting events (mostly racing practise and test sessions) and it is an excellent lens for medium range shots - eg when you're behind a boundary fence or in the stands taking pictures of the track.
3 years ago

One Star

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The shown price is higher than the MRP.
4 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm F4-5.6 IS II USM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The image stabilization is nice. You can hear it engage and disengage, but it's no louder than a shutter click. Focusing makes virtually no noise at all. I don't use the LCD on top of the lens at all, but it functions pretty nicely if you did need to use it.
2 years ago

Canon EF 70-300 mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM

★★★★★
Verdict: The Canon EF 70–300 mm f/4–5.6 IS II USM, presented in September 2016, is an official successor of the EF 70–300 mm f/4–5.6 IS USM model, launched in 2005. The new lens's optical construction is more complex than that of its predecessor; it also features a bigger filter diameter, a better autofocus,...
Pros: 
  • Very good image quality in the frame centre
  • Good image quality on the edge of the APS-C sensor apart from the 70 mm focal length
  • Slight longitudinal chromatic aberration
  • Low lateral chromatic aberration
  • Lack of any serious distortion problems
  • Low astigmatism
  • Not bothersome coma
  • Moderate...
Cons: 
  • Weak image quality on the edge of the frame at 70 mm
  • Average performance against bright light
  • A bit too high vignetting level on full frame
4 years ago

REVIEW: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Here we have Canon's new, updated version of their moderately priced 70-300mm full frame lens. It offers improved AF, improved optical quality and a new electronic display. We coupled this to the Canon EOS 5DS R body, so let's see how the lens performs and handles.
4 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM is a mid-range telephoto zoom lens for Canon's DSLR cameras, incorporating both optical image stabilisation and a new, fast and silent Nano USM motor for autofocus.
Pros: 
  • Fast autofocus
  • Up-rated image stabilisation
  • Build quality
  • Offers great balance between portability and image quality
Cons: 
  • Hood costs £75 extra
  • Lacks a weather seal around lens mount
  • Highlights can look hard-edged towards the long end of the zoom
5 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Despite the fact that the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 IS II USM lens is not an "L" series lens, it is still capable of producing excellent images. Thanks to its relatively small size and light weight, it would make an ideal companion for photographers who want to have a long telephoto length in...
4 years ago

Great lens for the target market

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: There is a tendency for reviewers to consider the performance of a lens without considering the investment, e.g. comparing a non L zoom to a L fixed-focal lens. They are apples and oranges as far as I am concerned.
2 years ago

Canon ef 70 300 is ii usm

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Excellent lens for the price. Used on a crop sensor camera gives a very useful range of 480 mm. Quality of images very impressive, almost as good as my L series 70-200 f4. Only down side is there isn't a lens hood included. Excellent service from John Lewis as usual.
3 years ago

So far so good..

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: So far so good ... Enjoying this lens... Using mostly for birding ... On a crop sensor so it ends up being 480 mm but you still have to be close enough to fill the frame ... Delivery within tht two days i requested pick up a post office nearby .
3 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM review

★★★★ 4.0
Pros: 
  • Fast autofocus
  • Up-rated image stabilisation
  • Build quality
  • Offers great balance between portability and image quality
Cons: 
  • Hood costs £75 extra
  • Lacks a weather seal around lens mount
  • Highlights can look hard-edged towards the long end of the zoom
4 years ago

Great improvement on old 70-300 USM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Took delivery of this lens today and after a couple of hours wandering along the local canal these are my initial thoughts. Good bits: On my 760D, AF is blisteringly fast and really accurate even in poor light. Much, much faster than the old version and probably faster than my L lenses!
Pros: 
  • Consistent Output
  • Easily Interchangeable
  • Lightweight
  • Quick Focus
  • Sharp Focus
Cons: 
  • Focus By Wire Mf
4 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm F4-5.6 IS II USM

★★★★★
Verdict: Close in on the action with the EF 70–300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM telephoto zoom lens. With a wide zoom range and fast, near-silent autofocus, it can be ideal for anyone looking to capture distant subjects.
3 years ago

Very good zoom Lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Price is great for this lens. You can take very good pictures and quite even very sharp if using a tripod. The sharpness is getting lost towards the edge of the picture. Not by much though, and you need to scrutinise this to see it. This is the best zoom lens at this price/ level.
2 years ago

Canon Telephoto Zoom Lens EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM for Canon Digital SLR Cameras

★★★★★ 2.5
Verdict: Another great lens, excellent zoom range on the APS-C camera I have, plus very quiet, and so far nice focusing. Recommended.
4 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 USM IS II - Review / Test Report

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Usually you can bank on Canon for delivering some of the best tele lenses across all classes and that also applies to the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 USM L IS II. Canon managed to improve the lens in many aspects compared to its predecessor.
3 years ago

Brilliant lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This lens is amazing exactly what I wanted for my new canon and worth the money. Photo quality is better than I could have asked for.
2 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm F4-5.6 IS II USM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Direct replacement for the OEM product
2 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 USM IS II - Review / Test Report

★★★★★
Verdict: It's always fun to test (or read about) the latest, high-end lenses but the truth is that most of the market action is still in the bottom- to mid-level segment and, yes, we neglected this here lately.
3 years ago

Perfect ! Very fast and sillent

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: + very fast, sillent, light weight - poor quality plastic material but not the worst. Very good quality photos
2 years ago

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS II USM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: My second "nano" lens. And just as lovely as the first. You have to see tobelieve the speed and smoothness of AF acquisition. The new tech makes it borderline silent. Great, must buy. The display is a Nice gimmick that is something I hope canon will add it to all nano lenses in the future.
Pros: 
  • NANO, NANO! I suspect Canon was unsure to add this in the name
  • But serious, this has to be one of the nicest AF system drives in history
  • FAST AF
  • And I dont mean fast but like instant
  • Very smooth and accurate
  • Very nice IQ
Cons: 
  • None
2 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X