Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB Reviews

$72.37 - $251.53 from 23 retailers
Manufacturer: Western Digital
Expert Reviews: 
 4.0
User Reviews: 
 4.4
Features
Usability
 4.2
Value for money
 3.9
Features
 2.8
Performance
 4.0
 
 

Western Digital Caviar Black

4.5
Verdict: Storage always makes for a curious world. Western Digital's newest entry into the terabyte contest--it's second, if you count the company's Caviar Green drive--is geared for enthusiast performance. One look at the insides of this Caviar Black drive tells the entire tale.
Pros: Acceptable read and write performance for a terabyte drive, excellent random access speeds
Cons: Only "faster" than our fastest terabyte drive on one splotch of Vista tests
11 years ago
 

WD Caviar Black

3.4
Verdict: Got loads of important data to store? Or just an unusually large porn collection?
6 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB Hard Drive Video Review

5.0
Verdict: The Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB Hard Drive's interface is SATA 3 Gb/s (Gigabits per second), has a capacity of 1000GBs or 1TB, average latency of 4.2ms, a rotation speed of 7,200 RPMs, a 32MB buffer size, power consumption is 8.4W while being accessed and 7W when idle, the noise level is 24dBA
9 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB

No reviews
Verdict: WD1001FALS 5 years While Solid State Drives are sexy, new and considered "high performance", the truth of the matter is they are also bleeding edge technology and in some cases may in fact be slower than the more mundane alternative.
9 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1.0TB SATA Hard Drive Review

4.3
Verdict: WD's Caviar Black series SATA II hard drives feature a faster spindle speed and 32MB of onboard cache. Drive capacities range from 500GB through to 1.0TB, but all the Caviar Black series drives use Perpendicular Magnetic Recording.
10 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black 4TB review

No reviews
Verdict: We have to be honest here. The Western Digital Caviar Black 4TB is a bit of a letdown. It came out more than 6 months after the Hitachi 7K4000 4TB , yet the Hitachi is faster, cheaper, quieter and more efficient.
9 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB

4.5
Verdict: When Seagate sent over their new SATA 6 Gb/s Barracuda XT 2TB hard drive we were caught off guard. At the time I was neck deep in enterprise products and working with LSI on their new RAID controllers.
9 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 6Gbps

3.5
Verdict: Conventional wisdom says solid state drives (SSDs) beat traditional hard drives silly in any performance metric you care to mention. How can the likes of Western Digital's latest magnetic spinner, the Caviar Black 1TB WD1002FAEX, therefore hope to compete?
Pros: Lots of performance-enhancing features, Good balance between capacity and performance
Cons: Still much slower than an SSD, SATA 6Gbps interface is redundant
10 years ago
 

WD Caviar Black 2TB

3.5
Verdict: Review The 2TB Caviar Black is the second hard drive we have seen with a capacity of two terabytes. Glance back to our 2008 round-up of 1TB drives , which used three or four platters, and you can see that this is pretty much a doubling of areal density.
10 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black and RE4 2 TB Hard Disk Drive Review

No reviews
Verdict: The new 7,200 rpm 2 TB drives from Western Digital, RE4 and Caviar Black, achieved the same performance level. They are a lot faster than the 2 TB "green" models, making them to be the right choice if you are looking for a 2 TB drive.
10 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA Hard Drive Review

4.5
Verdict: The cost of hard drive storage keeps getting cheaper and cheaper, while the capacity getting larger and larger. A year ago, 1TB drives were several hundred dollars. Now, they're only a few tens of dollars more than their 750 GB and 500 GB brethren.
Pros: Speedy, Inexpensive
Cons: Performance could be just a little better
10 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black

3.4
Verdict: Caviar Black drives are Western Digital's flagship models, and the list of features doesn't disappoint. Every drive boasts 32MB of cache, and this is joined by features to prevent platters wearing out and knocks damaging the disk.
10 years ago
 

WD Caviar Black 1TB Hard Drive

No reviews
Verdict: Benchmarking the Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB has really opened my eyes to what kind of speed the latest generation of hard disk drives are capable of. As I mentioned during testing, I can remember when striping two IDE drives in a RAID0 array was the only way to see that kind of performance...
10 years ago
 

Western Digital's 6Gbps Caviar Black 1TB hard drive

No reviews
Verdict: Does Western Digital's latest Caviar Black 1TB stand out from the pack as conspicuously as the venerable 640GB drives that it effectively replaces? Not quite, at least based on the results we've seen today. But then the Black did have quite a lot to live up to.
9 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black and RE4 2TB Drives Review

No reviews
Verdict: It happens to all of us at some point. We constantly run short of hard drive space, no matter how incredibly cavernous you thought your current drive was when you bought it. Did you really expect Dragon Age: Origins and Borderlands to soak up almost thirty gigabytes between them? Didn't think so.
10 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB

4.0
Verdict: If you need 2TB of storage but don't want to sacrifice performance, Western Digital's Caviar Black (WD2001FASS) might be for you. This SATA II 3.5in internal hard drive lacks the power-saving features of the company's GreenPower drives but provides a faster spin speed and better overall performance.
9 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB review

3.0
Verdict: The Western Digital Caviar Black range of hard disks is backed up by a five-year warranty, which is reassuring if you're after a storage disk for important data; remember to back up all the same, as a warranty won't get lost data back in case of damage or failure.
6 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB

4.0
Verdict: Of their entire lineup, the Caviar Black sits nicely in the middle of WD's VelociRaptor 10,000rpm drives and Caviar Green 5,400rpm energy saving drives. The new SATA 6Gbps interface also helps improve overall performance, especially burst speeds.
8 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black Review (2TB)

No reviews
Verdict: Western Digital's Caviar Black hard drive series has grown to be synonymous with performance and speed in the consumer desktop space. The newest and highest capacity Caviar Black is a 3.5" 2TB 7200RPM model with 500GB platters and other Western Digital goodies like dual processors, dual actuators...
Pros: Fast performance, High-capacity, Low startup power requirements
Cons: Slower than enterprise counterpart
8 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black 2.0TB (WD2001FASS) SATA Hard Drive Review

No reviews
Verdict: A few months back, Futurelooks took a close look at one of the first 2TB drives to hit the market, the Western Digital's Caviar Green 2.0TB SATA2 Hard Drive . A couple of the features that the drive boasted was its massive 2.0 TeraByte capacity while still enjoying respectable low level power...
9 years ago
 

Western Digital 7200RPM Caviar Black and RE4 Series 2TB Hard Drive Review

No reviews
Verdict: Earlier this week, Western Digital announced two new additions to their 2 TB product lines.  These new models nudge up the capacity of their Caviar Black and RE (not REx-GP) lines, bringing 2 TB capacities to every series except for their Blue line.
10 years ago
 

WD Caviar Black

4.5
Verdict: If you're looking for a combination of speed and capacity in a single internal hard drive, the Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Hard Drive ($190 street), better known as the Caviar Black, is hard to beat.
Pros: Impressive areal density. Excellent single drive performance.
Cons: Ill-suited for RAID 0
9 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB

5.0
Verdict: I bought this Western Digital Black 1TB around July of 2012. I've formatted my PC 3 times, switched CPU, GPU, RAM, etc. and this drive has never let me down. It's 80% full of games right now (since I don't want to take the risk of using it for important or personal data at his age) and it still gets...
Pros: Very Reliable, Inexpensive compared to SSD, Fast enough for a mechanical drive
Cons: Noisy (Normal for HDD
2 years ago
 

Ensuring Data Safety

5.0
Verdict: I selected the WD Black 2 TB HDDrive as a final level of defence against data loss from attackers. This was triggered by the appearance in my inbox of a suspicious eMail. I knew someone had been caught this week by opening an attachment -- it was on a anti-fraud program, so I 1: Deleted the eMail...
2 years ago
 

Need anyone say more

5.0
Verdict: It's Western Digital. It's high performance Black. It's a good price. If you have a need for a new hard drive with a good size, good transfer speed and a nice large buffer, this is it. Why even ask...
4 years ago
 

If you want this product get it from OcU

5.0
Verdict: perfect packaging, easy to install highly recommend this :)
4 years ago
 

Over the years have had 4 WD hard drives and have been pleased with them all

5.0
Verdict: Installed this in a elderly PC...still on Windows XP. Worked perfectly as I would expect from a Western Digital product. Over the years have had 4 WD hard drives and have been pleased with them all.
3 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB

3.0
Verdict: Really good. I use it with a Samsung 850 evo 250gb for best results. I have Windows on the SSD and frequently used programs. And then all the games, images, videos and more applications on this disk. I recommend this strongly if you have an SSD to.
3 years ago
 

Hard disk came broken

5.0
Verdict: First hard disk delivered to me was warped and did not work, I had to go to the UPS store and get a replacement which took 5 days, but once I got the replacement the hard disk worked flawlessly. Although I was angry that it came broken to me.
Pros: Great write/read speed Easy to install
Cons: Came broken
3 years ago
 

Great value HDD

5.0
Verdict: Get a this quality HDD and your good to go for storing all your files on.
4 years ago
 

A very fast drive with plenty of capacity

No reviews
Verdict: This hard drive is easily in the top 3 7200rpm drives available right now. Of course, it doesn't even come close to a half decent SSD, but the performance you get out of this is unbeatable.
9 years ago
 

Congratulations, Western Digital! You earned five stars!

1.0
Verdict: Congratulations to Western Digital! I'm very happy with the way how you make most of the hard drives reliable over the years and I'm really proud of all of the hard work you've done. ? You've just earned five stars on this one...additional stars can be purchased for $72.99! ☆ Third time's a charm!
10 months ago
 

Big improvement over previous drive

5.0
Verdict: I purchased this WD Black performance HD to replace a failed drive in a HP7-1262 desktop. After formatting and reinstalling Windows 7 I couldn't help but notice how much faster this drive is. The price was very reasonable on it and for anyone replacing a HDD this would be a wise choice.
1 year ago
 

WD Black are extremely reliable drives

5.0
Verdict: Great performing drive and comes with a 5 year warranty!
Pros: These drives come with a 5 year warranty, are very fast, and extremely reliable. I use theses drives for many years and have never had any issues. If you are considering purchasing a new 1TB drive, I wouldn't look at any other brands or types (ie red, blue, green)
Cons: Absolutely none
5 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

5.0
Verdict: Nice large driveRapid for a non SSD tough driveQuietGood Value Not an SSDNot as major as some other difficult drives The drive performs fantastic, is pretty rapidly, and does what a tough drive demands to do.If you want a large rapid drive, this is a great selection.
6 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD2001FASS 2 TB: Fast and reliable

5.0
Verdict: A great reliable hard drive
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Expensive now
8 years ago
 

WD 1TB Black Edition 64MB Performance SATA3 7200RPM Internal HDD. Maximum performance for power computing. 5 Years Warranty

2.5
Verdict: Best performing HDD for frequently used files.
2 years ago
 

Great Hard Drive

5.0
Verdict: This was an easy install, and is a super quiet hard drive. The cloning software made it easy to clone my smaller drive, and saved a lot of time without the need to reinstall windows.
3 years ago
 

Perfect As A One Gig Replacement Hard Drive

4.0
Verdict: The subject drive was boxed well and was delivered in a short period of time. But the drive came with no power or data cables. Also, you will need to download the software and instructions to clone the old drive's files and Operating System to the new drive.
3 years ago
 

WD1000FZEX, an excellent storage solution

4.0
Verdict: The Western Digital WD1003FZEX is by far the best 1TB SATA HDD for the money. Superior performance and longevity make it an ideal replacement/upgrade for your aging drives.
4 years ago
 

Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black SATA6 64MB 7200RPM Hard Drive

5.0
Verdict: Absolutely the best hard drive. With no equal or peer anywhere. Incredibly fast able to achieve max..
7 years ago
 

64mb cache drive inside!

5.0
Verdict: JR.com has the best price on the 2tb caviar black edition drive. It was advertised as 32mb cache model WD20000LSRTL. I googled that and found nothing. So I crossed my fingers hoping that they would ship me the 64mb cache version, and to my suprise, they did!
Pros: Durable, Fast Connectivity, Quiet, Reliable, Versatile
9 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS

1.0
Verdict: I had this drive about three weeks on a brand new system..I just got done loading two weeks of OS and other programs and getting it the way I wanted..I just moved today 300 gigs of data off five hard drives 5-7 years old and did a virus scan and noticed system frozeI rebooted and cant see drive on...
Pros: NONE I SEE
Cons: DIED IN THREE WEEKS
10 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB

No reviews
Verdict: When I first started this assignment, I really was not prepared for the sheer amount of time and effort involved in properly testing storage. In the past, I had pretty much taken hard drives and their technology for granted. It sure seems simple enough until you start looking for the differences!
9 years ago
 

Overpriced

5.0
Verdict: Found these a bit overpriced for the capacity nowadays but these are just what we were looking for so it works!
10 years ago
 

Western Digital Caviar Black WD1003FZEX 1TB

5.0
Verdict: Was DOA, all busted up and dented as if it had been dropped down a flight of stairs.
1 year ago
 

WD 1TB Desktop Performance Caviar Black HDD Retail Kit (WD10

5.0
Verdict: WD is always a reliable manufacturer of high quality hard drives. This drive is no different. I use it on my Mac Pro as a time machine backup. 7200rpm speed is the maximum these HDD drives deliver. Very happy with the performance.
1 year ago
 

As good as you can get for the price

5.0
Verdict: Bought this to replace a 'non-performance' Samsung hard drive which started giving errors until failed altogether. This happened when I started doing a lot more video editing. So far this new drive is excellent and faster than previous. Why not five stars Maybe I'll upgrade review a year from now.
2 years ago
 

Great value HDD

5.0
Verdict: Get a this quality HDD and your good to go for storing all your files on.
4 years ago
Powered by
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X