Toshiba Canvio Basic Portable 2TB Reviews

$295.80 - $312.92 from 2 retailers
★★★★ 4.0
Manufacturer: Toshiba
X
 

Easy

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Purchased to back up my hard drive as PC keeps crashing, easy, plug it in to the USB and drag and drop, done complete drive just under A TB in a few hours
3 years ago

Good Product

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Till now, I have not found any kind of serious cons in this product. Speed is however sometimes a little bit frustating but overall the performance is okay.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Bulky/Heavy
5 years ago

Really easy and useful product

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Really easy to set up, useful backup for music, stylish in white. My second purchase, other smaller memory and black. So far they're doing exactly what is wanted.
3 years ago

Toshiba 1 tb

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It a nice product .Stylish design conceals formidable 1TB storage capacity. connectivity makes it speedy, while preinstalled tools make it easy to back up and protect your data, and jump from PC to Mac without difficulty.The Toshiba Canvio Slim II is a good all-around portable drive, with lots of...
3 years ago

Good product

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Got this to store my photos and music. So far it works great and easy to use, plug and load within 30 seconds. Hopefully this will last me a while.
3 years ago

Security software restrictive

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Great little drive, fast and sleek. Drive let down by pre-loaded software, particularly Toshiba's password tool.
6 years ago

good stufs at great price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: been using this device for 4months now not a single problem and the transfer speed is good too. price and offer was great and also the device works flawlessly.
4 years ago

Mass storage possible at silly prices - check out 6 / 7 years ago.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very cost-effective as a backup drive and works out so much cheaper than a collection of SD memory cards. Excellent performance and value. I would definitely recommend to anyone seeking backup and is far less hassle than using Cloud technology for this amount of storage (1 TB) (- obviously there are...
2 years ago

Five Stars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Good product
5 years ago

Affordable external drive, no bloatware

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Excellent price/performance, and contains no proprietary bloatware so it can be used right out of the box in a windows/mac/linux/laptop/desktop/server context with no issues.
7 months ago

Good Work Horse

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: There may be faster out there, but my experience with Toshiba has been good and I stick with brands that I know... will likely buy a 2tb when the price point drops. Good units!
Pros: Slim, lightweight, and reliable. It's quickly seen by all my systems from win 2k to win7 64bit. It goes into standby quickly which keeps power consumption down (important for laptops, a pain for desktop use). Wakes up relatively fast.
Cons: All portable drives are a bit pricey compared to a replacement drive. Getting the drive in a nice case with a warranty commands a bit of a price differential, but it should be a bit less
3 years ago

light and portable

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I use this as a backup drive for my laptop. This is a great little hard drive, and most of the time these are on sale so you won't have to spend a fortune. This drive will work with both Windows and Mac computers (though Macs will require this drive to be formatted a bit differently, but you can...
5 years ago

So Far, So Good

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Arrived early, plugged in, stored a bunch of data fast. Long term reliability. Who knows.
2 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Basic Portable 2TB

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: These are easy to take with you and use to store whatever you need to store. They do not require any software or external power source, just connect it to your computer and you are ready to roll.
4 years ago

seems to be adequate

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: purchase was an interesting experience, as was the activation. I was required to contact HP, MC,norton, Toshiba, make two trips to the geek squad, and...
Pros: compact
Cons: user manual
6 years ago

Small and sleek - fits in my purse.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Feels good to have all my photos restored after my old computer quit completely due to a possible electrical problem. The software is a little hard for me to muddle though, but I now have my photos back!
Pros: Convenient Interface, Fast, Lightweight, Reliable
5 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Basic Portable 2TB

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought this external HD in January 2018 and I am writing this review in July 2019. It was for backing up my wife's Mac laptop which it did do until about 2 weeks ago. We've since run various diagnostics on it, reformatted, Disk Utility'ed it but to no avail as it doesn't mount and errors out when...
6 months ago

highly recommended

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I used this primarily to store my music from my iTunes library. But there is more than enough space for more files. Great to free up space on your computer hard drive. It's portable, so I can take it anywhere.
Pros: Easy to use
5 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Connect 500 GB External Hard Drive

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I needed this to back up my computer. I attempted to back-up with CDs, which I had done in he past, but it was taking was too many and getting really cumbersome. Plus I was unable to access information on old back-ups to CD.
5 years ago

Great drive at a good price.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is my second Toshiba Canvio external HD. The first has been working fine as a backup drive on my dual-boot Windows XP Pro/Windows 7 PC. It is a USB v. 2.0 drive but this latest drive is USB v. 3.0 compatible. I intend to use it as an external backup drive for a newly built Windows 8.1 tower.
5 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Basic Portable 2TB

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Product as described worked fine out-of-the-box. I have had no issues with it to date but it is only three weeks since I bought it. If it proves to be reliable over the next 12 to 18 months I would probably buy another one. Easy to setup ; conveniently small physical size ; excellent capacity.
1 year ago

Bang For The Buck

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This compact little hard drive is an amazing deal for anyone who needs a reliable and easy to carry backup drive. My PC found it right away and drivers set up with no issues. Started filling it with my lossless music collection and have had no issues moving files back and forth amongst several...
6 years ago

Not advertised capacity

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: The hard drive has a nice design and is quite compact. It has fast operations and is simple to use. My only problem is that the capacity it 698Gb as opposed to the advertised 750Gb which is disappointing.
Pros: nice design
Cons: not the advertised capacity
6 years ago

Toshiba Canvio 500 GB External Hard Disk

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: "Good that this external Hard disk does not need separate power , it will be powered by usb connection . copied all my hard disc data on my lap top on to the external hard disc .52 gb was transferred in about 15 minutes , Best price .
5 years ago

Another Brilliant hard drive from Toshiba

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: My 5th Toshiba hard drive as they have never let me down. This new design is smaller and looks nicer than the old one and is so extremely quiet. It was as simple as plug and play so can't fault it at all.
4 years ago

Works brillantly

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Works brillantly with my Toshiba Laptop
2 years ago

Hard drive

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: 1TB is PLENTY! This is fab, ive managed to add so much to this hard drive already with loads of space spare. I dont think ill ever get atound to using all this space.
Pros: Nice small size, easy to use
5 years ago

Great HD

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Format the drive before you use it, plug it into a USB port on the PC for fastest access. I have three of these drives now, replacing all my old 1 TB drives and love them.
5 years ago

Don't Bother!

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I purchased this product because my Toshiba laptop was having issues and I was needing to send it in to the Toshiba repair depot a third time for repair. I used this device to do a complete system backup so that I could restore my computer to it's glory when it came back.
Pros: None
Cons: Waste Of Money, Worthless
6 years ago

Worth !

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Was looking for a 1TB hard drive, then found this. Way better option for the such a great price:) It was definitely worth it.
3 years ago

great product

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: i use this on the wiiu. i bought the white version for my white wiiu. it works perfectly. it really is plug in and play. no problems at all. matches wiiu perfectly too. even has same blue led. would recommend for sure and would buy again.
6 years ago

Very Good Portable Hardrive

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This is a well priced hard drive with lots of storage. I am your average computer user and had problems with using it to back everything up. It would be helpful if it came with clear instructions on ways to use it.
Pros: Attractive Design, Compact, High Capacity, Quiet
Cons: A bit confusing to use
9 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Basic Portable 2TB

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: These 1TB Drives from Toshiba are great little drives. Their small size is amazing compared to some others, and I have always had better luck with the Toshiba Drives than some of their competitors (WD, Seagate). I am using these drives on a server that only has USB 2.0 and they work great.
6 years ago

"Stunningly quick transfers, but easy to interrupt!"

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Why did I choose this hard drive? I was prompted to buy a new external hard drive when my iphone memory became too full! 2000 photos in, and my iphone started to slow down and send me warnings about my storage space.
Pros: super fast transfers, usb powered
Cons: easy to disconnect- moving can interrupt transfers
3 years ago

Not At All

★★★★★ 3.4
Verdict: why to buy toshiba hard disk when the world most popular and the best in quality leading brands hard disk do available for the lesser price in this. toshiba do have fair quality but not comparable to the leading brands which do provides greater interface and high quality hard ware in their hard...
6 years ago

The product will work fine anyways. The hdd is best i have ever ...

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I bought this product 2 years before. I think that writing a review immediately after you recieve a product is of no use. The product will work fine anyways. The hdd is best i have ever bought. It contains 2 modes. one for USB 2.0(white) and other for USB 3.0(blue). hdd is handy and light weight.
2 years ago

Worked for 5 months, now HDD doesn't spin up.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: First harddrive I've personally had fail on me in 21 years in the IT industry. Worked great for 5 months then just failed, not impressed. Got 2 of these, the other is running ok, but won't be trusting it for anything important.
4 years ago

Reasonable device

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: The device worked right out of the packaging and seems to be a reasonable product for the money.
4 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Basic 1 TB External Hard Disk

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very Smooth Process and highly impressed with the service.
5 years ago

Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile review: An SSD makes this the portable media server to beat

★★★★★
Verdict: Toshiba's Canvio AeroMobile portable Wi-Fi media streamer lives up to its name. At least if you associate "Aero" with aerogels and not flying cars . This portable storage device and wireless media server weighs a mere 4.23 ounces.
5 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Slim II (1TB)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Toshiba Canvio Slim II offers almost everything I want in a portable hard drive. It's sizeable storage-wise, thanks to a 1TB 5,400rpm spinning drive, speedy thanks to USB 3.0, and offers a surprising number of features for a product with such a minimalist aesthetic.
Pros: Stylish design conceals formidable 1TB storage capacity. USB 3.0 connectivity makes it speedy, while preinstalled tools make it easy to back up and protect your data, and jump from PC to Mac without difficulty
Cons: USB 3.0 only. No encryption solution
6 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Plus 3.0 1.5TB Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: In our file-copy test, whereby we hustle 30GB of data over its fat USB 3.0 pipe, the Toshiba took second place overall with a time of 10 minutes, 34 seconds, which was almost two minutes slower than the WD drive, but faster than the Adata unit.
Pros: Sizable capacity; great software, affordable
Cons: Cloud storage trial didn't work, no specs stand out
6 years ago

Value for money and does the job! No software required.

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: Efficient, basic device well priced device which seems well made and 3 year limited guarantee is not to be sniffed at. Hopefully longer lasting than the WD products I have used and is quite compatible with my i-mac and Time Machine.
Pros: Very easy to use & to configure to iMac via disk utility. It is small and robust & does not need an external elect. supply, just USB unlike my 2 previous WD essential ext drives that have totally failed. Basic storage for pics/music/documents
Cons: 1st time 4 hrs to back up via Time Machine. Lack of software makes use more intuitive unlike WD where you can see and ID files quite easily so retrieval may be a bit more difficult - but they are there
6 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Slim II (1TB)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Toshiba Canvio Slim II offers almost everything I want in a portable hard drive. It's sizeable storage-wise, thanks to a 1TB 7,200rpm spinning drive, speedy thanks to USB 3.0, and offers a surprising number of features for a product with such a minimalist aesthetic.
6 years ago

Toshiba Canvio 1 TB: Tough Terabyte

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Hard drive capacities are on the rise and only a few days back, we tested the Seagate Momentus 750GB , an internal hard drive for notebooks. Today, we're looking at something all of us could use, an external portable hard drive.
5 years ago

Toshiba Canvio 2.0 External Hard Drive

★★★★ 4.1
Verdict: The highest-capacity external drive we tested, the Toshiba Canvio 2.0 holds up to one terabyte of data
Pros: Lightweight, Back up files, folders or entire system easily
Cons: Poor security
9 years ago

Good bundled software, for a price

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: If you're eager to try out Pogoplug PC, the Toshiba Canvio Connect is a good buy, especially if your computer supports USB 3.0. Otherwise, keep looking for better deals.
Pros: The compact Toshiba Canvio Connect Portable HDD offers decent performance and a generous set of bundled software, including Pogoplug PC, which turns a host computer into personal cloud server
Cons: The drive is not compatible with some USB 2.0 ports and its current pricing is noticeably higher than that of its peers
6 years ago

Toshiba StorE Canvio 500GB review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: A cheap portable hard disk, but the included software needs refinement
6 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Basic Portable 2TB

★★★★★
Verdict: Its very fast and easy setup Best HDD out there in the market !!!! Its kinda heavy you cant carry with you always but still its compact compared to others in the market.
6 years ago

Toshiba Canvio Basic Portable 2TB

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: A slickly made external with average speeds and software, the Canvio Slim II is a workable backup and supplemental-storage drive for mobile use.
Pros: Aluminum-sided design, Activity light signals USB 2.0 or 3.0 connection, Nifty (if patchwork) software bundle, including password-protection utility
Cons: Use of password-protection utility requires foresight, No 2TB capacity, Slightly behind other 1TB portables in our tests
5 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X