Sony HDR-AS100VR Reviews

★★★★ 4.1
Manufacturer: Sony
X
 

Nice unit.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I have only used the camera once. It worked well and the quality of the video was relatively good. However, you need an android or I-phone to see the image the camera is seeing.
3 years ago

Get the camera; skip the LiveView Remote

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I give the camera five stars, but the LV Remote only one star. I've used the GoPro Hero 3+ Black and wanted something better. The AS100V Action Camera is better in just about every way: much better battery life; better picture quality; but most of all, it includes motion stabilization.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Good Camera Battery Life, Great Motion Stabilizatio, High Quality Video, Lightweight
Cons: Liveview Remote Unusable
5 years ago

***DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA***

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I bought this camera to take videos underwater. As soon as this camera is submerged underwater in its own housing, the image becomes blurry. As soon as the camera is out of water, the image goes back to being sharp and clear. Talked to Sony.
Pros: Easy to carry around, Good battery life, Small
Cons: Limited Accessories, Poor Underwater Quality
5 years ago

Great video/photos but little awkward to use.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This little camera packs a punch. Makes a no-skill photo buff like me take some great photos. I originally bought this camera for the action camera purposes only. I was gonna use it for mountain biking, snowboarding and any random action video activities I find myself immersed in.
4 years ago

Great Little Camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I used this little camera (and the headband which I purchased separately) to record some sledding runs on the mountain. It performed beautifully. Once I remembered to take it off of the 'Hold' function so I could record, it went smoothly.
Pros: Ease of use (After reading the instructions
Cons: None...that I have found yet
5 years ago

Great picture and sound

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Definitely better than expected picture and sound quality and the remote viewing is really helpful especially when the camera is mounted on a helmet. Love the GPS. Colour balance could be better in snow as some images have a slight blue tinge.
5 years ago

its a excellent product by Sony and very useful for action shooting ...

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: its a excellent product by Sony and very useful for action shooting but the accessory is little bit costly
5 years ago

Very Happy

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Exceeds my expectations. Very good image quality and features. Having the remote display and controls makes it very easy to use and confirm framing. Controls could be a little easier to use.
5 years ago

Outstanding action cam for the money.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I upgraded to the AS100V from a Contour Roam2, which was a decent action cam, but it didn't have a lot of useful features, and it wasn't good at capturing license plates. Primarily, I mount an action cam on my helmet while cycling so that I can capture incidents with aggressive motorists.
Pros: SteadyShot feature really smooths out potholes and bumps. Pro mode (50 Mbps) video quality is very crisp. GPS function works well. Sony PlayMemories software is straightforward. Easy to adjust settings on the fly. Camera is compact and streamlined.
Cons: Somewhat expensive compared to most action cams. Battery life on Pro mode is at most two hours
5 years ago

"A must to have"

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: All this while i am using a different brand of action camera. When i found out that sony have come out with Action Cam i said to my self I must get me one of those and I did. Its much better in every aspect, clear in shot, video, low lights and durable.
Pros: Fun to use
Cons: Cant think of any
4 years ago

Great Price and Great service

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: All of the extras that came with the camera made it a great buy. Too expensive to buy all of the accessories separately.
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
5 years ago

Works great!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Definitely on par with my original GoPro camera. Shoots great video and comes splash proof from the factory. Sony has various mounts for any application, I had no issues with mounting to my motorcycle helmet. I would highly recommend...
5 years ago

Sony Handicam for road bike

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Great purchase, very happy. Haven't yet used it to it's full potential but very happy.
Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
Cons: Battery life
5 years ago

Sony HDR-AS100VR

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Start by saying that this camera is sick! Bought GoPro for yes believed as many others that it would be "best" but after 2-3 days of use at home so yeah realized that it is not the "worst thing". Gave it back.
5 years ago

Sony AS-100V Action Camera

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This is a very good sport action camera. Definitely one of the best if not the best in the market for the time being. I think that the GoPro Hero3+ Black Edition has a slight edge over the Sony in overall picture quality and in low light (sensitivity & noise).
Pros: Optical Image stabilizer Stereo mic quality/Sensitivity Picture quality Battery life Size/Ergonomics Ease of use Low light sensitivity in 1080 30P mode Underwater housing included Splash proof without underwater housing PRO mode recording mode @ 50MB per second (micro SDXC required
Cons: Low light sensitivity in 1080 60P mode Photo picture quality
5 years ago

Brilliant small dive camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this camera just before our Barbados Christmas break because my old underwater camera was ancient.
5 years ago

Sony POV Action Camera (HDR-AS100V)

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: Sony's Action Cam series used to be the affordable choice for extreme videographers, but at $299.99, the newer HDR-AS100V model's price tag is creeping closer to its more expensive rivals like the Editors' Choice GoPro Hero3 Black Edition .
Pros: Lightweight, streamlined design. Well-designed mobile app. Decent video in bright environments. Image stabilization
Cons: Video quality suffers in low-light situations, even on overcast days. Shallow water depth limit
5 years ago

Great quality / fantastic price

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I looked at the GoPro and then was very excited to see the AS100V on releaase. So easy to use with the kids and great results. The fish lens and HD recording is amazing. Sometimes in water get beads on lens but they wash off quickly. The stablisation is great too.
Pros: Ease of use and excellent results
Cons: Water pooling on lens
5 years ago

Sony HDR-AS100VR

★★★★★ 3.3
Verdict: When Sony initially announced they would be entering the already saturated market of helmet cameras, there was a lot of excitement, and of course naysayers, claiming that GoPro had the market cornered.
Pros: image stabilization, good image quality, gps, wi-fi, intuitive layout and operation, low-light
Cons: image stabilization, good image quality, gps, wi-fi, intuitive layout and operation, low-light
4 years ago

Sony HDR-AS100VR review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: You don't need to know how it works; it just does. The rubberised remote automatically pairs with your camera without any of the hassle associated with smartphone remote apps. Once the two have shaken hands you can frame your shot with the small colour LCD, which is bright enough to work just fine...
Pros: Easy to frame shots thanks to remote screen, Rugged, waterproof case, Works with any standard tripod, Microphone input, Good video quality for an action cam
Cons: Vulnerable without its waterproof housing, GoPro beats it on video quality
5 years ago

Sony HDR-AS100VR POV Action Video Camera

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Offering the best battery life in its class at well over 2 hours, and by far the best audio, the AS100VR is one of the better all-around action cameras available. Sony's Action Cam is similar to the other camera models in this category in terms of its basic recording capabilities along with a 170...
5 years ago

Sony Action Cam AS100V Review: GoPro Finally Has Some Competition

★★★★★
Verdict: For years, if you wanted an action camera you would buy GoPro by default. And for good reason! Sony has caught up in a hurry though. Its newest entry into the increasingly crowded field looks like it might be one of the first legitimate GoPro alternatives.
5 years ago

Sony HDR-AS100VR

★★★★★
Verdict: The real question is "Should you buy it over the Hero 3+ Black?" Based on performance alone, we would say no, but the cost factor may sway you. The standard kit the Action Cam AS100V comes in is only $270-a full hundred and thirty bucks cheaper than the
Pros: The Sony's image quality is generally excellent, and more or less comparable to the GoPro Hero 3+ Black. Many people will prefer the punchier colors out of the box. Battery life is fan-freakin-tastic, coming in at two hours and forty minutes of consecutive shooting (in 1080p 30fps with Wi-Fi and GPS...
Cons: I experienced major software issues with constant card failures. The waterproof housing is only waterproof to 16 feet, which is ridiculous, and water really sticks to the lens. The surf mount is totally unusable, and a sure recipe for losing your camera.
5 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X