Sony DT 35mm F1.8 SAM Reviews

★★★★★ 4.8
Manufacturer: Sony
X
 

Excellent indoor lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Nice indoor and lowlight lens.Optics are very good, lens is sharp.Focusing is not silent at all.
Pros: Consistent Output, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Cons: Slow Focus, Weak Casing
6 years ago

Plastic Fantastic

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: This is a very good lens for the price. Sony's higher end version sells for $1500, and doesn't offer 7 times the performance. Physically, this is a small lens that's made of plastic. The mount is plastic and that may be a turn-off to enthusiasts. This makes it super light weight.
Pros: Sharp centers, light weight, cheap
Cons: Loud AF, soft corners at 1.8
7 years ago

Great value

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: My first prime lens, great price, lightweight, great in low light, used for aurora, glad I got it
1 year ago

Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: I owned it and shoot with my A77 : - Focusing with SAM motor : a bit noisy, not fast for action but accurate for most of the cases - Plastic built : looks cheap and the cost is cheap indeed - I recommend you to try some chose-up shots ( at about 0.30m ), you will be amazed by the result even at the...
Pros: Excellent sharpness, light (170gr), fast aperture for low light hand held
Cons: mainly plastic
7 years ago

great lens!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a great lens for portraits.. instead of a 50mm it's better to go for a 35mm on a aps-c sensor..
7 years ago

Sony DT 35mm F1.8 SAM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Good Points: Very sharp, great indoors in low light. Really good all round lens. Works out at 52.5mm on my Sony A200, which in affect gives you a standard lens.(as the eye sees) Bad Points: It is all plastic, which I don't mind as I'm not a heavy user.
8 years ago

Plastic Fantastic

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a very good lens for the price. Sony's higher end version sells for $1500, and doesn't offer 7 times the performance. Physically, this is a small lens that's made of plastic. The mount is plastic and that may be a turn-off to enthusiasts. This makes it super light weight.
Pros: Sharp centers, light weight, cheap
Cons: Loud AF, soft corners at 1.8
7 years ago

SAL-35F18

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I love this lens. It is super clear, great in low light, and produces some great pictures. I really like how sharp the pics come out using this lens. Thanks to all the help from the Crutchfield team on recommending this one. I was really shocked on how well it worked in low light and indoors.
Pros: Great low light/indoor lens great picture quality
Cons: none
5 years ago

Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18 review by lenslover

★★★★★
Verdict: I owned it and shoot with my A77 : - Focusing with SAM motor : a bit noisy, not fast for action but accurate for most of the cases - Plastic built : looks cheap and the cost is cheap indeed - I recommend you to try some chose-up shots ( at about 0.30m ), you will be amazed by the result even at the
Pros: Excellent sharpness, light (170gr), fast aperture for low light hand held
Cons: mainly plastic
7 years ago

Great full portrait lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: So the fast 50mm is the most popular lens when it comes to portraiture photography. But on a crop sensor camera such as mine the the 50mm lens is about 85mm and only lets me get the head and shoulders of a subject. I usually want to get the full scene of the picture which makes the 35mm perfect.
Pros: Good price, perfect length
Cons: feels kinda cheap
8 years ago

Decent lens for the cost.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great lens. Only issue i have is i can not utilize back button focus with my sony a99ii whether on manual or auto focus. But over all a nice lens
2 years ago

great value for money

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great lens for this price, only one disadvatage is plastic body, which makes on the oher side the lens very light, I hope it will last for a long time.
7 years ago

Ideal first prime lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: When you first pick up this lens you can see and feel where the compromises have been made to get a prime in at this low price point. Light-weight plastics and a plastic mounting plate - not a lens that will take much abuse. But at this price it's almost disposable!
Pros: Lightweight, Price, Sharpness, Small and Compact
Cons: Cheap Construction, Noisey SAM Motor
9 years ago

One of the best performers in the Sony budget Prime range

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The Sony Alpha range is not over-burdened with Prime lenses in the same way that the MFT format is but there are some gems in there and this is one of them. Its positioned in the Sony Alpha budget range but should not be overlooked due to that.
3 years ago

Fantastic images at low cost (comparatively)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I purchased this lens for my a35 camera after it was recommended that I add a fixed focus prime lens in my bag. I read a number of reviews and I'm extremely happy with my choice. The level of performance is fantastic.
7 years ago

Excellent

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have loved the lens since I got it. It fits my Sony Alpha 200 DSLR. The shots captured were great. Although Prime lens for Sony is costlier than Canon or Nikon, but its worth the money. Excellent choice for those who want to switch to Prime lens.
5 years ago

Plastic Fantastic

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a very good lens for the price. Sony's higher end version sells for $1500, and doesn't offer 7 times the performance. Physically, this is a small lens that's made of plastic. The mount is plastic and that may be a turn-off to enthusiasts. This makes it super light weight.
7 years ago

Sony

Plastic Fantastic

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a very good lens for the price. Sony's higher end version sells for $1500, and doesn't offer 7 times the performance. Physically, this is a small lens that's made of plastic. The mount is plastic and that may be a turn-off to enthusiasts. This makes it super light weight.
Pros: Sharp centers, light weight, cheap
Cons: Loud AF, soft corners at 1.8
7 years ago

Not A Keeper

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Wanted this lens for awhile and was disappointed . Very erratic auto focus on my A77. i could see some images would really pop the way everyone raves about this lens. The killer for me was the very loose focus ring. No dampening made it really difficult to manual focus. Returned it .
3 years ago

average lens but good price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Just like the standard zoom that had come with my old A200, the focus ring of the 35F18 SAM rattles. Its not broken, but it is so loose it looks like it is. Focussing speed is fair and it is a little noisy compared to modern more expensive lenses. For the price however, its good value.
4 years ago

Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM ( SAL-35F18 ) - Review / Test Report

★★★★★ 3.4
Verdict: The Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM ( SAL-35F18 ) is a member of the fairly new league of budget-oriented prime lenses made by Sony for the Alpha camera system. In terms of body design it is very related to the recently released 50mm f/1.8 DT SAM, 85mm f/2.8 SAM and 30mm f/2.8 DT macro SAM.
8 years ago

Sony DT 35mm f/1.8 SAM Lens

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: The DT 35mm f/1.8 SAM (SAL35F18) was one of three new lenses announced by Sony in July, 2010. Designed to provide an affordable, compact and lightweight prime lens with a popular focal length for both entry-level and advanced photographers it's less than one fifth of the price of Sony's other 35mm...
9 years ago

Sony DT 35mm F1.8 SAM

★★★★★
Verdict: This is what a 50mm prime on full frame is for crop camera\'s. It\'s a must have, for me anyway... A top lens for almost no money. You will enjoy this very much. And don\'t let the plastic feel fools you, it\'s the inside that does the trick.
Pros: - plastic fantastic - excellent portrait lens on crop camera - superb colors
Cons: - plastic feel
2 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X