Sony Cybershot DSC-RX10 II Reviews

$1,421.00 - $2,511.28 from 13 retailers
Manufacturer: Sony
Expert Reviews: 
 4.4
User Reviews: 
 4.2
Features
Usability
 4.3
Product design
 4.8
Image quality
 4.3
 
 

Sony Cyber-shot RX10 II review: One serious superzoom

4.5
Verdict: The Sony Cyber-shot RX10 II is, just like its predecessor, a camera that's going to divide opinion. On paper its 24-200mm f/2.8 equivalent lens and 1-inch sensor combination sounds like the bees knees. Until, that is, you see the physical size of this camera: it's big, like DSLR-scale big.
Pros: Constant f/2.8 aperture and great lens quality, physical aperture ring control, weather-sealed pro-spec construction, fast autofocus and decent close-up ability, great tilt-angle LCD and built-in electronic viewfinder, ace slow-mo and 4K video capture
Cons: Limited upgrades compared to original model, no touchscreen controls, lens slow to travel through zoom, focus selector positioning not ideal, maximum focal length limitations, no pinpoint or more complex autofocus options, it's really expensive
3 years ago
 

Sony RX10 II review

4.5
Verdict: Sony first introduced its convention-defying RX10 bridge camera range back in 2013. Most bridge cameras offer monster-sized zoom ranges you might never use fully, which forces the makers to use tiny 1/2.3-inch sensors that compromise the image quality.
4 years ago
 

Sony RX10 II

4.5
Verdict: Two years after its predecessor invented the large-sensor, long-zoom category, the Sony RX10 II is here to take things to the next level. It aims to replace your bulky interchangeable-lens camera with a veritable Swiss Army knife compendium of photographic features in a beautifully-crafted body.
Pros: Excellent build quality; Superb viewfinder; Excellent image and video quality for its class; Bright and versatile zoom lens; Very fast autofocus; Great burst performance and depth; Incredible slow-motion capabilities; Really intuitive Wi-Fi image transfer; Good battery life
Cons: Expensive compared to its nearest competitors; Less zoom reach than rivals; Soft in corners wide-open; Slow buffer clearing; Small rear control dial has poor tactile feedback; Long delay to render each high frame-rate movie; No tilt/swivel or touch on the LCD panel
3 years ago
 

Sony Cybershot DSC-RX10 II

No reviews
Verdict: The RX10 mark II is an excellent example of a product that has almost everything you need for stills and video in one package. The versatility of the lens plays an important role, as do the quality of the sensor and the video capabilities.
3 years ago
 

Review: Sony RX10 II

4.2
Verdict: You might look at the price above and think, 'Wow, that's expensive for a bridge camera.' You'd be right too, except Sony's RX10 II is special.
3 years ago
 

Sony RX10 II review

No reviews
Verdict: Almost everything about the RX10 II is seriously impressive, but I have two niggling doubts that stop me giving it top marks. One is the lack of a touchscreen, which I feel is a significant drawback for video capture - something this camera is otherwise superbly equipped for.
3 years ago
 

Camera review: Sony Cybershot DSC-RX10

4.0
Verdict: Sony's Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 might have the shortest focal range - 24-200mm - in this shoot-out, but it uses a much bigger 1-inch image sensor compared with the 1/1.7-inch image sensors used by its peers.As a result, the RX10 is as heavy and bulky as a DSLR camera, due to the big sensor and huge...
2 years ago
 

Sony Cyber-shot RX10 Mark II review

No reviews
Verdict: The Sony Cyber-shot RX10 II is an update to the original RX10 (mark I) which retains its predecessor's 8.3x 24-200mm constant f2.8 zoom lens. The most significant update is to the sensor, which retains the older model's 20 Megapixel resolution as well as its 1 inch physical dimension, but introduces...
3 years ago
 

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 II review

5.0
Verdict: The lens is a Zeiss 24-200mm equivalent f/2.8, which again provides the aperture and focal lengths that most enthusiast photographers will need. Since the release of the RX10, Panasonic has released the Lumix DMC-FZ1000 – a bridge camera with a very similar specification to the RX10.
4 years ago
 

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 II

4.0
Verdict: The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 II ($1,299.99) is an update to one of our favorite premium superzoom cameras , the RX10 . Like its predecessor, it sports a 20-megapixel 1-inch image sensor and a fixed 24-200mm f/2.8 zoom lens.
Pros: Sharp f/2.8 zoom lens. 1-inch image sensor. Very fast autofocus. 12.5fps burst shooting. Tilting rear display. Excellent EVF. Solid control layout. Wi-Fi and NFC. High-def slow-motion mode. 4K recording
Cons: Autofocus inconsistent in HFR mode. Shorter zoom range than others in this class. External battery charger not included. Pricey
3 years ago
 

Sony Cybershot DSC-RX10 II

No reviews
Verdict: Unfortunately, that's really holding us back from giving this lens the Editor's Choice rating is the battery life. Within a couple of hours of going out and shooting (more like eight hours of doing it) the battery died on us and we had to resort to other cameras.
4 years ago
 

Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 II

4.0
Verdict: The Sony RX10 II is a high-end bridge camera that uses a larger than normal 1-inch sensor to achieve superior image quality. The sensor itself is an upgrade over that in the original RX10, as despite being the same physical size and 20.2MP resolution, its new Exmor RS design features a stacked...
4 years ago
 

Sony Cybershot DSC-RX10 II

4.1
Verdict: Bridge cameras have always been interesting beasts; generally able to do it all, just not always particularly well. But with the launch of the original Cyber-shot RX10 and Panasonic's Lumix DMC-FZ1000 in 2014, this category of cameras morphed into something more interesting.
3 years ago
 

Sony RX10 II

4.0
Verdict: The Sony RX10 II is a dream camera for many. It combines great general image quality with incredible video skills, super-rapid shooting speed and a lens that offers both a wide zoom range and constant max aperture of f/2.8 throughout. This is an amazing combo.
Pros: Versatile, high-quality lens, Good image quality, Good manual control, Excellent speed and slo-mo video skills
Cons: Expensive, especially against RX10, Limited display tilt usefulness
4 years ago
 

Sony Cybershot DSC-RX10 II

4.6
Verdict: Sony has once again shown that it has the point-and-shoot game figured out. So much so that it continues to be its own biggest competitor. Both the RX10 and RX100 lines share the same problem: their predecessors are just too good, cost less, and are still on the market.
3 years ago
 

Sony RX10 II review

5.0
Verdict: The best bridge camera ever? Quite possibly
Pros: Superb all-round image quality and handling, Excellent lens, HFR shooting opens up new possibilities, 4K video
Cons: Expensive, Shooting in HFR can be tricky
3 years ago
 

Sony Cyber-shot RX10 II Review

4.5
Verdict: The Sony Cyber-shot RX10 Mark II features the World's first stacked 1.0 inch BSI CMOS sensor with a DRAM memory chip. The camera features 40x Super Slow Motion Capture, 4K Video Shooting, High-speed Anti-Distortion Shutter, and 14fps continuous shooting.
Pros: Constant f/2.8 aperture lens, Excellent image quality, Excellent noise performance, 4K video recording, High speed video, Weather-sealed body, High resolution electronic viewfinder, High speed continuous shooting, Fast focus and shutter response, Built in Wi-Fi and NFC
Cons: Price seems very high (but may come down, Raw not available at the same time as creative effects, JPEG Super Fine not an option when shooting JPEG+RAW
4 years ago
 

Sony DSC-RX10 Mark II

4.4
Verdict: Announced in June 2015, Sony's Cyber-shot RX10 II introduces many of the same new technologies as the RX100 IV (which we reviewed in November 2015 but in a larger, SLR-like body with a long zoom lens.
3 years ago
 

Bought The Camera For Video

2.0
Verdict: I bought this camera for a 4K video camera and the possibility of a single travel camera. I also have the Panasonic GH4 and Canon 5D MK2, the issues I have had with removable lens DSLR cameras are sensor spots, I do clean my camera sensors and getting sensor spots on photographs is no big thing, an...
3 years ago
 

decent for video

4.0
Verdict: It's a decent camera I only use it for video It was cheap it has Slog and built in ND filters records at broadcast rates which makes it even more useful if you can't afford a real video system then this is a good alternative.
1 year ago
 

Five Stars

5.0
Verdict: good!
3 years ago
 

early, but promising

4.0
Verdict: travel main use at this time
good flexibility
love ability to capture stills during video
hate not being able to read card outside of body
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Large Clear LCD, Take Pic During Video
Cons: Auto Focus Slow At Times, Bulky, Full On To View Images, Hood Hard To Use, No Auto Pop Up Flash
4 years ago
 

Sony Cybershot DSC-RX10 II

4.0
Verdict: What can I say, this camera is a video workhorse! 100mbps 4k(uhd), 1080p 120/60/30, and slow motion 240/480/960! I regulary use RED cameras, and I have to say I am VERY impressed and please with the video quality that comes out of this camera.
3 years ago
 

Sony Cybershot DSC-RX10 II

No reviews
Verdict: Everyman camera
3 years ago
 

Lovely saturated pictures in vivid mode

4.0
Verdict: Enjoyable camera to use that rewards with lovely images. Love the 2.8 aperture throughout. Only two grips - it's very slow to turn on, and connecting to a smartphone isn't easy or intuitive.
1 year ago
 

Great travel mm camera!

5.0
Verdict: Keh, the seller, is terrific. The condition they listed on the Sony Rx10 ii was "like new" and that's exactly what I received. The camera came with keh 6 month warranty as well! Terrific camera... Highly recommend for travel!
1 year ago
 

Nice, but charging problem

4.0
Verdict: Nice,but charging problem
2 years ago
 

Not all I was hoping for.

3.0
Verdict: Photography is my hobby, I recently downsized from a full frame SLR as it was too heavy and awkward to carry. The Sony RX10ii is not my first bridge camera but will be my last. I was hoping for better quality for £1000+.
Pros: Superb Quality For Type
Cons: Bad Battery Life, Complicated Controls, Lens Knock, Not Good In Low Light
3 years ago
 

SONY Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 II High Performance Bridge Camera - Black

5.0
Pros: Pictures nice \u0026amp; sharp with a great zoom. Easy to use. Not heavy
2 years ago
 

Amazing

5.0
Verdict: The 24-600mm Zeiss lens is surprisingly sharp, even with images blown up to 100%. This is like an entire bag of several lenses in one compact camera. Multiple functions can be customized, the electronic viewfinder is very bright, and the readouts of the viewfinder and LCD screen can be customized as...
Pros: Sharp lens, easy to hold, lots of features, weather resistant, so usable and versatile that it motivates me to take more photos
Cons: The menu can be complicated. The raw ARW files cannot be processed by most software like Photoshop, but you can download a version of Adobe Camera Raw for your software to convert the ARW files to DNG, which works with just about everything. No built-in ND filter (minor criticism)
2 years ago
 

So far, this thing is a dominator!!

5.0
Verdict: Loving on this camera - after two weeks of use. I got it for the ultra high framerate feature - 960fps is amazing - and I've been using it as my goto knock around camera. Never thought I'd be so in-love with a fixed lens setup, but the RX100ii is great. Super fast lens with a decent zoom.
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Great Resolution, Large Clear LCD, Small / Compact
4 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X