Sony Bravia KDL-55EX500 55in Reviews

★★★★ 4.0
   8 reviews
Manufacturer: Sony
X
Reviews: 
★★★★ 4.0
 

Sony Bravia KDL-55EX500 55in

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Sony Bravia KDL55EX500 55nch Full HD LCD TV
Pros: 
  • picture quality hd or sd is on a par with the best out there,extensive settings menu allows tweaking of almost every aspect of display,tv will channel 5.1 dolby via hdmi from any capable connected equipment(ps3,pvr
  • ect) to my surround system via optical cable,what an exellent feature!
Cons: 
  • lacks an sd card reader
  • so-so sound from the inbuilt speakers
  • needs some tweaking out of the box to give its best
  • one year warranty sucks
11 years ago

Be very wary of buying this model.

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: We bought the Sony Bravia Flatscreen TV last week as a replacement for our other television that was fried by a power surge during a thunderstorm.  Personally, I think it SUCKS!!!!!
8 years ago

Its a SONY...

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: First....its a sony, anyone up to date with the times knows what im saying here. I placed this TV with my Sony souround sound and there is no longer a reason for me to go to the movie theater, better picture, sound, and hell I can pause when theres a bathroom break needed, not to mention the comfort...
10 years ago

Great TV For The Money

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Got this Sony at a really good buy. Picture quality is excellent. Features are excellent. Would highly recomend to anyone looking for a quality set for the money. If there is a minus to this set, it is the sound does change when you change channels.
8 years ago

FABULOUS T.V. LOVE IT!! AND AT A GREAT PRICE TOO..

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Hi! My Accord here.. absolutley love the T.V. great picture and sound.. have hooked it up to my Sony surround system! Have been wanting a Sony for ages for that reason.. but couldn't afford one until I saw this one on Ebay! so thanks heaps!! for the T.V. at this great price!! Cheers My Accord
9 years ago

Beautiful TV at a relatively blowout price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: When looking for a TV, start with the following: -Do I need 3D Yes, then buy a 3D compatible LED TV in your price range. No, then continue -Will I ever watch blu-ray discs No, then buy a cheap/clearanced 720p LCD TV in your price range Yes, then you should get 1080p and continue -Do I care about...
Pros: 
  • -Sony quality with a high-mid level price that beats the new wave of LED edge-lit TVs
  • -Extremely strong picture quality - keeps up with any non-LED LCD display
  • -Great bezel design
  • Simple and elegant, love the brushed steel look at the bottom.
Cons: 
  • -No 3D compatibility (can only accept 60hz signal and doubles it) -Power consumption a bit high
  • Better than any plasma but a bit below average for a higher end non-LED LCD
  • Of course a decent amount higher than an LED backlit screen.
10 years ago

Sony Bravia KDL-55EX500

★★★★★ 3.2
Verdict: > Of the four Sony LCD TVs we've reviewed this year so far, the KDL-EX500 is both the least expensive and the most impressive for the money. It lacks the thin chassis of its LED-based brothers, along with the eye-catching Monolithic design of the company's flagship models.
Pros: 
  • Reproduced somewhat deep black levels
  • accurate color in bright areas
  • matte screen works well in bright lighting
  • solid picture adjustment options
  • streams video via USB
Cons: 
  • Dark areas tinged somewhat blue
  • benefits of 120Hz difficult to discern
  • some smoothing evident in 1080p/24 processing
  • fewer picture controls than some competitors
10 years ago

Sony Bravia KDL-EX500 review: Sony Bravia KDL-EX500

★★★★★ 3.2
Verdict: The Sony KDL-EX500 LCD TV incorporates respectable image quality with essential features at a wallet-friendly price.
> Of the four Sony LCD TVs we've reviewed this year so far, the KDL-EX500 is both the least expensive and the most impressive for the money. It lacks the thin chassis of its LED-based brothers, along with the eye-catching Monolithic design of the company's flagship models. It even lacks an Ethernet port for Internet extras, along with many of the more-advanced picture controls found on competing models in this price range. What it doesn't lack, however, is solid picture quality for an LCD, comparing well with both competing CCFL-backlit models and the edge-lit LEDs that cost much more. Among mainstream LCD TVs, the Sony KDL-EX500 is a very good value.
Pros: 
  • Reproduced somewhat deep black levels
  • accurate color in bright areas
  • matte screen works well in bright lighting
  • solid picture adjustment options
  • streams video via USB.
Cons: 
  • Dark areas tinged somewhat blue
  • benefits of 120Hz difficult to discern
  • some smoothing evident in 1080p/24 processing
  • fewer picture controls than some competitors.
10 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X