Sony BDP-S6700 Reviews

$145.74 - $252.66 from Amazon
★★★★★ 4.6
Manufacturer: Sony
X
4.6 ★★★★★
Based on 32 reviews.
 

Happy with Purchase

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: 4k Upscale player: For the price, it has a nice picture and great audio. Since this is a 4k Upscale player, you will not get true UHD picture, but it is the cheapest option you will find short of buying a true 4k player. Easy to use interface and set up. Small, compact player
4 years ago

Inexpensive but a good performer

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Though one of the budget bluray players this one gives a surpringly good performance. It will play bluray and DVDs, providing crisp pictures and good sound. It is easy to set up and with its built in wifi enables connection to the likes of Netflix.
4 years ago

Brilliant

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Two weeks old and no longer works, will not connect to any apps, it's not my Internet connection, everything else in the the home is 100%,total reset back to factory settings, still will not connect, now back in box, really annoyed
3 years ago

It gets the job done

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought this Bluray player because Amazon Prime would not be supported on it in a few weeks. Crutchfield's price was the lowest of any online merchant. It's almost tiny, probably close to half the size of my old Sony. My only complaint is that it takes two tries to sign on to Netflix.
Pros: 
  • Supports many online entities
  • Small size
  • Brilliant picture with DVDs
Cons: 
  • Sluggish when signing on to Netflix
2 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I purchased this region free blu ray player recently as it also upscales to 4k , I have had if for a few weeks so I am now posting my impressions with use . the good blu ray player is small and will fit in most places , loading times for blu rays are extremely quick to menu , upscaling to 4k is...
3 years ago

does not run app right

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: GGGGREAT picture. WOOWWW!. Does not have a search feature for apps. So what is on it, is what u get. No movies anywhere app. And I can't search for it. You have to use vudu that is pre-loaded ( link it with movies anywhere account ) , Runs amazon video but oddly. Like a phone app, limited features.
3 years ago

Small but great

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I needed a small dvd player to fit on top of small table. This dvd player is about half the size of all dvd players I have ever owned. Hook up is easy. It also communicated with my sony 800d television without any issues. Looks great as well.
4 years ago

This product does not work in India, spoke to ...

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: This product does not work in India, spoke to the vendor he says this is a different region code DVD RC 3 and BR RC A. Don't buy. I am returning the piece, not sure when will I get the money back..
5 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this three weeks ago. Excellent product like all thevSony products what we own would highly recommend.
6 years ago

Great bluray player

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I recently bought this.. after trawling through the specs of many other Bluray players. This model i found had it all.. from super wifi connectivity to a bluetooth connection that can send the movie sound track to any BT device. The smart apps are a nice bonus as is the 3D playback.
5 years ago

A MUST FOR WATCHING FILMS

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: THIS BLUERAY PLAYER TOOK ABOUT 15MINS TO SET UP REALLY EASY TO USE WITH INTERNET FILMS UNLIMITED AND MUSIC
5 years ago

I like the Bluetooth audio out.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I purchased another 3D player but during setup I realized that 1 more cable to run(toslink) was 1 more too many so I looked for a player that had Bluetooth audio to remotely connect to the soundbar. This is for outdoor movie night. As far as the player goes it is a little slow to startup and play.
5 years ago

Good

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought as a replacement for a blue ray that must be close to 10 years old. First things I noticed was that the machine was half the size, had wi-fi built in (others needed an RJ45 cable which doesn't work in our house) and the price was less than I had budgeted.
2 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Decent player. One of the few in the price range I could find that would stream DTS-HD to my receiver. One star off because the "Smart" features and channels Sony has for Canada are pretty weak. I wouldn't get it for this purpose unless you are lacking a Blu-Ray player AND a Netflix capable device.
5 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Sony is yet to launch an Ultra HD Blu-ray player and might not do so until 2017, so in the meantime we'll have to make do with its latest ‘regular' Blu-ray player, the BDP-S6700. It may not play UHD Blu-rays but it will upscale regular Blu-rays and DVDs to 4K, as well as offering a wealth of other...
Pros: 
  • Sharp
  • punchy pictures
  • Simple menu system and fast operation
  • Generous features
Cons: 
  • Dull design
  • Plasticky build
  • No ITV Player or All 4
6 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700 Blu-ray Player

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: There's a USB input, used for media playback, just underneath those buttons while the rest of the connections are situated on a panel at the rear;...
Pros: 
  • Spotless disc playback
  • Loads of apps
  • 24p output with streaming services
  • Easy to use interface
Cons: 
  • Is it worth spending £150 on a non-UHD player
  • Build quality is mediocre
  • No 50Hz output for streaming services
6 years ago

Sony Bdp s 6700 DVD

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Sony bdp s 6700 dvd is i newly purchased. This is excellent picture And audio quality.
4 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700 Blu-ray player review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It's sleek, it's small and it's most definitely smart, but Sony's latest Blu-ray player begs a big question: Why hasn't Sony made a machine that plays Ultra HD Blu-ray discs? Given its movie studio arm's propensity to push 4K movies, that's something of a surprise, but the Sony BDP-S6700 isn't...
6 years ago

No major advantage over a 5 year old player

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This unit was compared to a Sony BDP-S380 (2011) on a 4K capable TV. The TV naturally stretches the 1080p video to fill the screen. This player (BDP-S6700) would upscale the video first before sending it to the TV. The difference between the quality of both images is negligible.
3 years ago

perfect blu-ray disc player

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: we love our new sony blu-ray disc player. we chose this model for the features, the price, and the good name (Sony). it was easy to set up and works great. we have had great luck with other Sony products, so we decided to stick to them.
5 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700

★★★★★
Verdict: The BDP-S6700 by Sony has an impressive set of features, a slick design and a fair price. Most importantly, it has strong picture quality and lets you watch 3D discs or stream video from hundreds of services. The player upscales DVD and Blu-ray discs and plays them in a higher-resolution format.
Pros: 
  • This player has more downloadable apps than others
Cons: 
  • It doesn't support Ultra-HD discs
7 years ago

Sony Blue Ray Player

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Just don't be quick to use the player I got frustrated in trying to set up the player and choose French as the language. I don't speak French and it doesn't come with a manual or could I find one online.
3 years ago

Sony 4K Upscaling 3D Streaming Blu-ray Disc Player - Black (BDPS6700)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: If people actually read the description of this player before buying it, I think the 6700 would have four and a half stars rather than 4. There are a lot of reviewers complaining that this player won't play their 4K blu ray's or stream in 4K.
4 years ago

Good purchase

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought to replace separate DVD and HDD units. Takes up little space and, after studying instructions, seems pretty easy to use. Pleased with feature where 2 programmes can be recorded whilst watching something else! Would recommend to others.
3 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700 Blu-ray Disc Player with 4K Upscaling - Black

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • Looked great and promised a lot of spec
  • for the money
Cons: 
  • After getting the first replaced because it would not stay powered up the second did the same
  • Ended up getting a different model
6 years ago

Fast Blu-ray start up; great image

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I got this primarily for the ability play 3D Blu-ray disks via my recent projector setup. I had an old Blu-ray player, but it took so long to start up I had long ago switched to the convenience of iTuned and Netflix.
4 years ago

Sony BDPS6700B Black - 4K Smart 3D Blu-Ray Player with Integrated WiFi, 1xHDMI

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Delivers all the features I wanted at a competitive price.
4 years ago

Blue-Ray DVD

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very happy with this product
2 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It is so very good and high quality. Works with 4K but not HDR.
3 years ago

Sony BDP-S6700

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Be warned false advertising DOES NOT PLAY 4k DISCS!!! I bought this player specifically to play 4k disk as it's advertised as a 4k player. Once it arrived I realised it's not a 4k player but only upscales Blu Ray discs. The 4k should be taken out of the heading as it's misleading!
3 years ago

Access to Netflix, ABC and SBS

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very happy with the DVD as it provides the necessary access for Netflix, ABC Iview and SBS on demand. Disappointing you can't add any apps to it, but I really have what I need.
3 years ago

BDP-S6700 FAILED in only three months!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I am/was a big fan of SONY products and own multiple TV's, the wife's laptop, disc players BDP-S6700, BDP-S3500 and (2) BDP-S5200, etc. I have never had an issue where I needed service so having a failed device and a failed service policy has soured my opinion of SONY.
2 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X