Sony Alpha DSLR-A230 + 18-55/3.5-5.6 + 55-200/4.0-5.6 Reviews

Sony Alpha DSLR-A230 + 18-55/3.5-5.6 + 55-200/4.0-5.6
From 0 retailers
Manufacturer: Sony
Expert Reviews: 
 3.5
User Reviews: 
 3.9
Features
Usability
 3.5
Value for money
 3.8
Features
 3.1
Image quality
 3.7
Durability
 3.3
 
 

Sony Alpha DSLR-A230

 
3.5
Pros: The Sony Alpha DSLR-A230 has fast autofocus; high magnification viewfinder for its class; dual card slots; relatively simple, straightforward operation; built-in wireless flash and image stabilization; helpful SteadyShot indicator
Cons: Smallish grip; default settings produce suboptimal photos
Verdict: A modest update over its predecessor, the Sony Alpha DSLR-A200 , the Alpha DSLR-A230 offers the same essential feature set in a redesigned body with sufficient quality and performance-enhancing firmware tweaks to merit the term "upgrade.
3 years ago
CNET
 

Sony Alpha A230

 
4.0
Verdict: It's one of the cheapest entry-level DSLRs on the market, but is the Sony Alpha A230 good value for money?
7 years ago
TrustedReviews
 
 
3.0
Verdict: As the lightest-ever Sony digital SLR camera at 450g, the A230 is also a little light on features at first glance.
8 years ago
PC Advisor
 

Sony A230

 
3.0
Pros: User friendly, Good value, Eye sensor focusing, Image-stabilised body, HDMI-out port
Cons: Plasticky feel, Uncomfortable handgrip, Blocky design and control layout
Verdict: Currently the lightest-ever Sony single-lens reflex camera at about a pound, the A230 is a little light on features at first glance. Aimed squarely at beginners, this 10.2-megapixel SLR has a retro-look on-screen help guide through its 2.7-inch LCD, illustrating the effects, for example, of...
8 years ago
Macworld
 

Sony Alpha A230

Verdict: The A230 is the cheapest and lightest digital SLR camera in Sony's Alpha range. It costs just under £460 and weighs 450g, including the 18-55mm zoom lines in the standard kit.
8 years ago
Computeractive
 

Sony Alpha DSLR-A230

 
3.5
Pros: Competitive price. Lightweight. Good image quality. Noise is unnoticeable up to and including ISO 1600. Clever interface guides beginners.
Cons: LCD does not support Live View. Kit lens produces soft images at wider apertures. Still image frame rate is a bit sluggish when compared with comparable cameras
Verdict: The Sony Alpha DSLR-A230 delivers terrific value and solid shots for an entry-level SLR, but it lacks features such as HD video capture and Live View, which you'll often find on higher-end models.
8 years ago
PC Magazine
 

Sony Alpha a230 review

 
4.2
Verdict: Sony A230 has a sleek new look, but is the latest entry-level Sony a tempting offering? The What Digital Camera review of the A230 investigates...
8 years ago
What Digital Camera
 

Sony A230

Verdict: The first thing you notice when picking up the Sony A230 is that the build quality feels cheaper than its predecessor. There is little doubt that at least some of its weight loss comes from the use of less robust materials (which probably helps Sony's bottom line too), and is not only due to the...
8 years ago
PhotographyBLOG
 

Sony Alpha A230 DSLR camera review

 
3.5
Pros: Good, sharp results using 18-55mm standard zoom, user friendly, realistic colours, small form factor, large-ish LCD
Cons: Plastic feel, blocky design, no Live View, grip too small to hold as comfortably or tightly as we'd have liked
Verdict: Though it may be the current runt of the Alpha family, the A230 doesn't prove a pig to use, in spite of our grumbles about the too small grip and lack of Live View. With large, well spaced controls - big buttons and chunky mode and command dials - it offers a beginner friendly and inexpensive route
8 years ago
Pocket Lint
 

Hands-On Review: Sony Alpha a230 Digital SLR

Verdict: Sony's latest consumer DSLRs have been restyled with new ergonomics and more intuitive interfaces, but retain the best features and technology of their predecessors.
8 years ago
Marketnews
 

Sony Alpha DSLR-A230

 
4.0
Pros: Built-in IS which works with any lens, Beginner-friendly user interface, One of the cheapest DSLRs around
Cons: More noise than rivals at high ISOs, Slow continuous shooting, No live view or movie mode, Body shape may not be to all tastes
Verdict: Sony's Alpha DSLR-A230 is one the company's latest entry-level DSLRs. Announced in May 2009, it's the successor to the Alpha A200, and inherits many features from this earlier model including the same 10.2 Megapixel CCD sensor and built-in image stabilisation which works with any lens you attach.
8 years ago
Camera Labs
 

Sony Alpha A230 18-55mm kit review

 
2.0
Verdict: A low price for a digital SLR, but the A230 isn't as impressive as its predecessor or its competitors.
8 years ago
expertreviews.co.uk
 

Sony a230 DSLR Digital Camera Review

 
3.5
Verdict: Sony's Alpha 230 is one of the lowest priced entry-level digital SLRs on the current market (at RRP $949 for the single lens kit and $1,199 for the twin lens kit) and for those about to graduate to the DSLR realm, it may be an option to consider especially given its simple design and overall
8 years ago
Buy-n-Shoot.com
 

Sony Alpha A230

 
3.4
Verdict: The Sony Alpha A230 sits at the low end of its latest range of digital SLRs, but compare the specifications with its bigger brother - the Sony Alpha A330 - and you could be forgiven for thinking there was some mistake.
8 years ago
PC Pro
 

Sony DSLR-A230

 
4.2
Pros: You want an affordable interchangeable-lens camera with fast autofocusing in bright light, You want body-integrated image stabilisation that works with all lenses, You'd like a wide range of user-adjustable controls and functions, You're interested in shooting raw files and are prepared to edit them
Verdict: Sony's Alpha DSLR-A230 is a modest update of the A200, which we reviewed in January 2008. Although this camera was one of three models announced in mid-May, it has taken until mid-September for a review unit to reach us, which is a pity as we were able to review its ‘sister' model, the A380 back in...
8 years ago
PhotoReview
 

Sony Alpha A230

 
4.0
Pros: Nice design, Image stabiliser, Dual slot SD/SDHC & MS, Easier GUI (Graphical User Interface, Minimalist design to prevent confusion
Cons: No OK button despite being asked to use it, No live view
Verdict: Sony continue to challenge their rivals with the release of new DSLRs. The Alpha A230 is an entry level model for users moving up from prosumer compacts.
8 years ago
ePHOTOzine
 

Sony Alpha DSLR-A230 review Review

 
3.5
Pros: Fast autofocus, High-magnification viewfinder for its class, Dual memory-card slots, Relatively simple, straightforward operation, Built-in wireless flash and image stabilisation, Helpful SteadyShot indicator
Cons: Smallish grip, Default settings produce sub-optimal photos
Verdict: The 10.2-megapixel Alpha DSLR-A230 is a decent entry-level digital SLR for those seeking to delve deeper into the world of photography. It's reasonably fast, offers useful design features and is capable of taking some great photos.
8 years ago
CNET
 

Sony Alpha DSLR-A230

 
3.5
Pros: Fast autofocus, High magnification viewfinder for its class, Dual card slots, Relatively simple, straightforward operation, Built-in wireless flash and image stabilisation, Helpful SteadyShot indicator
Cons: Smallish grip, Default settings produce suboptimal photos
Verdict: We're on the fence vis-a-vis the photo quality. Part of the problem is Sony's choice of default values, especially in its Creative Styles. As Pentax does with its K2000, Sony's attempt to provide more "consumer friendly" images with its default Creative Style settings results instead in poor colour...
8 years ago
CNET
 

Lovely camera, but beware one crucial flaw.

 
2.0
Verdict: I've had this camera for about a month now and I'm pretty satisfied with image quality, ease of use, size, weight etc. Pro's - - It's lightweight - The aperture, ISO and shutter speed controls are fairly fluid, meaning you can react with versatility to specific lighting conditions.
5 years ago
Amazon
 

Happy with purchase,vendor and the whole E-Bay experience

 
4.0
Verdict: excellent value overall. purchased Sony because of compatibility with Minolta lenses. After talking with a friend he bought the A500...that will be my next because of additional features. Seller was excellent and exceeded all expectations. this is a great 1st serious DSLR.
5 years ago
Ebay
 

Great camera

 
5.0
Verdict: Couldn't be happier. This is a great camera at a great price. I also like that I can expand its capabilities by purchasing different lenses n filters for different applications
5 years ago
Amazon
 

Love it, just need to know how to use it

 
4.0
Verdict: We bought this camera around Christmas time as a gift to ourselves.  We reviewed a lot of SLR cameras before we chose this camera.  We wanted something practical, reasonable, easy to use and didn't want more of a camera then we would use.
5 years ago
viewpoints
 

The Sony A230 is an excellent camera for beginner photographers.

 
4.0
Pros: small and light, easy to use, good image quality, high ISO, price, dual card slot
Cons: noise at high ISO, complicated flash
Verdict: The Sony A230 is an entry-level DSLR camera that has a small and simple user interface. With a bright 2.7 inch LCD screen in addition to creative style settings, sharp menu color scheme options and an on-screen help guide, the Sony a230 offers convenient operation with reduced controls.
6 years ago
Ciao
 
 
4.0
Verdict: This is my first DSLR and I honestly got it b/c of the price point (Walmart had it for around $350 including 2 4G memory cards). I didn't know a whole lot about cameras or photography when I bought it but I have had it for maybe 6 or 8 months now and I am very pleased.
6 years ago
dpreview.com
 

Average Camera! Get The a200 or a290!

 
3.0
Pros: Average image quality, small form factor, low weight, SDHC compatible
Cons: No improvement over predecessor, bad ergonomics, low build quality
Verdict: Don't buy it! Get the a200 or a290
6 years ago
Dooyoo
 

Great at it price

 
4.0
Pros: Good Image qualityEasy to use
Cons: No live viewNo video
Verdict: great at it price level,
6 years ago
PriceGrabber
 

Great Camera

 
5.0
Verdict: This is a great camera for a mid-entry level SLR. I have used the Sony and the comparable Canon and found the Sony to take much better pictures overall. The popup flash is nice to have, but for better quality flash pictures you will want to invest in a flash unit.
7 years ago
Walmart
 

More than enough for semi pro.

 
4.0
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast / Accurate Auto-Focus, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Large Clear LCD, Quiet
Cons: Noisy At High ISO, Poor In Low Light
Verdict: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
8 years ago
Ritz Camera
 

My first dslr camera

 
4.0
Verdict: Just wanted to re-submit my review as for some reason it previously listed itself as anonymous...so here goes. It is difficult to compare a camera when it is your first one, however, I do still have a few things I'd like to point out about the Sony a230.
8 years ago
Photo answers
 

Sony a230: great camera

 
4.0
Pros: Help Guides , Battery , Bright LCD, HDMI Out, SDHC, Strong Construction, User Friendly , 9 Point AF
Cons: Hot Shoe , Loud, a little heavy, Shallow buttons, Small grip
Verdict: After about a week with this camera, I really like it. I am a photographer and I needed a D-SLR, I w
8 years ago
epinions.com
Powered by TestFeaks