Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6 Reviews

$1,518.99 - $1,899.00 from 16 retailers
Manufacturer: Sony
Expert Reviews: 
 4.0
User Reviews: 
 4.8
 
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

No reviews
Verdict: What We Love. The Sony a6400 performed so much better than we had expected, making shooting with it a pretty cool experience. Externally, it looks more like an entry-level model crafted for inexperienced shooters and fledgling vloggers.
Pros: Excellent image quality, Accurate and very responsive AF, Great EyeAF, Wide ISO range, Nice noise handling, Burst mode of 11fps, Slightly improved battery life than predecessor, LCD tilts 180-degrees upwards, 4K recording at full pixel readout, Slow-motion recording available, Log profiles...
Cons: No IBIS, Rolling shutter, EyeAF's low-light performance needs improvement, SD card slot doesn't support UHS-II
4 months ago
 

Sony a6400 Review: An Excellent Performer With A Few Trade-offs

3.8
Verdict: Get the Sony A6400 mirrorless camera if you want speedy performance and good image quality in a relatively small package but don't mind a few shortcomings like limited touch-screen capabilities.
Pros: Good image quality, Full array of features, 4K video, Touch focus, Excellent performance, USB charging
Cons: Limited touch-screen capabilities, LCD not fully articulated, No in-body stabilization, Dense menu system, No external charger included
4 months ago
 

Sony a6400 Review

No reviews
Verdict: After lavishing so much attention on full-frame mirrorless cameras for the past two years, Sony has finally found the time to look again to the smaller APS-C format . The recently introduced A6400 ($900, body only) receives many features trickling down from Sony's full-frame line, despite being less...
Pros: Great new autofocus system, Solid image quality across the board, Expanded ISO range up to 102,600, 180-degree flip screen, Very good value for the price
Cons: No in-body image stabilization, AF performance depends on lens used, Some frustrating user interface elements
7 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 review

No reviews
Verdict: However, with Sony equipping the Alpha A6400 with some of its latest tech, most notably the advanced AF system, this camera could actually prove a more tempting proposition than the top of the range A6500, a camera that's now more than two years old.
Pros: Highly advanced autofocus, Decent burst shooting speed, Bright viewfinder, Good video features, Good value for the spec
Cons: No built-in image stabilization, No headphone jack, 16:9 aspect ratio screen
6 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

No reviews
Verdict: If you have a 6500 and a 6300, should you upgrade to this one No. Because you are getting the same image quality. If you want a good and affordable second camera for your film projects or are looking to upgrade from a phone or just want to switch to the Sony system, sure give this camera a shot.
2 weeks ago
 

Sony Alpha a6400 review: A thinner, cheaper, lighter mirrorless

3.8
Verdict: The Sony Alpha a6400 far from the beefiest camera in Sony's lineup but it's a great place to start if you're looking for one.
Pros: Great feel, Clean results, Interchangeable lenses
Cons: Lacks dials, Sony software is still a bit finicky
3 months ago
 

Sony α6400

4.4
Verdict: Please
5 months ago
 

Sony A6400 Review

4.0
Verdict: The new Sony Alpha A6400 is a camera with something of a split personality. On one hand it has the best AF system that Sony offers on any of their cameras, including the much more expensive full-frame models, but on the other it inherits the now dated design of the original A6000 model with its...
5 months ago
 

Sony A6400

4.0
Verdict: Sony's A6400 camera occupies a sort of middle-ground between its top-of-the-line a6500 model and the accessible, ultra-cheap a6000. It features an APS-C-sized sensor and is aimed at the enthusiast, budget-conscious photographer.
Pros: Fantastic AF tracking, Small size is great for travelling, Good range of accessories and lenses
Cons: Fiddly operation, Limited battery life, Viewfinder and screen using old technology
5 months ago
 

Sony a6400

4.5
Verdict: The Sony a6400 isn't an absolutely perfect camera, but its flaws are more foibles than deal breakers, so we're naming it our Editors' Choice. It's the rare camera that serves both consumer and enthusiast audiences.
Pros: Compact build. 24MP APS-C image sensor. Quick, accurate autofocus. 11fps continuous drive. Large, sharp EVF. Selfie LCD. Built-in flash and hot shoe. 4K video without recording limit
Cons: Omits in-body image stabilization. Flip-up screen not ideal for vloggers. Some operational frustrations. External charger not included. Only full-frame lenses are weather sealed. UHS-I card slot
6 months ago
 

Sony A6400 review

No reviews
Verdict: The Sony A6400 is a solid mid-range mirrorless camera with an APSC sensor delivering good quality 24 Megapixel photos and 4k video. Improvements to the autofocus system mean it'll track and stay focused on subjects more successfully than any camera at its price point whether you're shooting stills...
7 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

No reviews
Verdict: At their headquarters in San Diego, the Sony A6400 was unveiled, the company's latest APS-C Mirrorless camera. Situated between the Crop Sensor cameras, Sony is incorporating quite a lot of cutting edge technology into their brand new A6400.
7 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

4.2
Verdict: The A6400 is not much of an upgrade over the A6300, other than the flip-up screen. It retains many of the pluses of its predecessor, like fast shooting speeds and 4K video, along with the disadvantages, including a lack of in-body stabilization and excessive rolling shutter.
5 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

No reviews
Verdict: The premium APS-C and full-frame mirrorless camera worlds are colliding. Canon just recently launched its budget EOS RP full-frame mirrorless camera for about a Rs. 1,10,000, which puts it in roughly the same segment as other notable cropped sensor mirrorless cameras such as the Sony A6500 and the...
Pros: Reliable eye and tracking AF, Compact, Very good image and video quality, Respectable ISO performance, 180-degree tilting display, Good battery life
Cons: Noticeable rolling shutter at 4K, Hot shoe accessories can block LCD
5 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

4.2
Verdict: It's hard to overstate just how good the autofocus system is on the Sony a6400. It's got one of the best implementations out there: not just in its price range, but on the market, period.
Pros: Family and social photography, fast action and sports, world travelers and anyone looking for the best autofocus bang-for-your-buck
Cons: Those photographers seeking a more engaging or more fun shooting experience, those with larger hands and shooters that need consistently pleasing JPEGs out-of-camera
3 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

3.8
Verdict: If you're in the market for a new standalone camera, the Sony a6400 has a range of features that'll make almost any photographer happy.
Pros: Great autofocus features, Selfie mode, Video and still shooting options
Cons: Some button and design layout issues, No built-in stabilization
3 months ago
 

Sony A6400 review: Pint-sized mirrorless packs a punch

4.0
Verdict: A truly excellent camera, the A6400 is likely to tick a lot of boxes when it comes to the wants of photographers everywhere. It's small enough to be properly portable but with excellent image quality and enough power to keep photographers happy whether they're shooting static landscapes or ferocious...
Pros: Excellent picture quality, Small and transportable, Great video quality
Cons: Battery life could be better, Image quality at high ISOs is lacking
3 months ago
 

Great AF, solid in lowlight

5.0
Verdict: Fast, smooth, and of course an awesome high frame rate for recording video. 4K capability's, up to 120fps, slog, and at a great price. Great intro/intermediate camera for video and photo
3 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

5.0
Verdict: Over the past 18 years of digital photography, I went from point and shoot digicams to a Nikon D40 to a Pentax Kr to a Sony NEX-5N and then a NEX-5T. I always liked my Sony NEX cameras, but the picture quality indoors and jpeg colors weren't exactly amazing.
3 months ago
 

Good video & photo quality

3.0
Verdict: Bought a couple of weeks ago after using a fugi Menu system confusing and not selectable on touch screen. Flip up screen could be improved upon as fouls mic and eye piece - battery life not brill but all in reasonable value for features and looking forward to some rewarding results
5 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

5.0
Verdict: This is the best camera I have ever used by far. I've shot with the Canon 60D, Canon 6D, Panasonic GH5 and several Pentax models. The picture quality and autofocus are amazing. Although it lacks in body stabilization, the OSS lenses do fine. This is a great camera for the money.
2 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

5.0
Verdict: Ordered this camera ahead of my vacation after reading the good reviews about it. When I got it, right out of the box, on my first attempt to take a picture I got a "Camera Error" message and camera froze.
1 month ago
 

I AM GETTING PHOTOGRAPHS I NEVER THOUGHT I COULD

5.0
Verdict: I had heard a lot about this product on Youtube good and bad. I was going to the Photography Show at Birmingham NEC. So visited the Sony stand to have a closer look. And was not disappointed. So impressed I bought one off one of the trade stands at the show.
5 months ago
 

Sony Alpha a6400 Telephoto Lens Kit

5.0
Verdict: Great little camera. Picture quality is amazing, super fast auto focus!
3 months ago
 

Sony Alpha A6400 + 16-50/3.5-5.6

5.0
Verdict: Before I go any further, I want to let you know that I am a complete beginner. All my current knowledge comes from 1 month of heavy researching camera reviews, etc. So if you are interested in a newbie's perspective, here you have it: I initially wanted to get the Canon M50, since it was more...
2 months ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X