SilverStone Raven RV05 Reviews

$113.60 from Elive
★★★★ 4.2
Manufacturer: SilverStone
X
4.2 ★★★★
Based on 16 reviews.
 

SilverStone Raven RV05

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: The SilverStone RV05 is the latest Raven mid-tower chassis with a 90°-turned internal layout. Sporting the same elaborate looks as all other cases in the family, it aims to please the mainstream with its compact size and interesting price tag. Will the RV05 capture our heart or instill fear?
6 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05

★★★★★
Verdict: The SilverStone Raven RV05 ($117) is a full-size PC tower with a compact design-the PC case will accept a full-size ATX motherboard and has room for up to three foot-long graphics cards, but the chassis itself only measures 20 inches tall and 20 inches deep.
Pros: 
  • Low price for a Raven-branded case
  • Massive bottom-mounted fans make for excellent, quiet cooling
  • Supports multiple large graphics cards
Cons: 
  • Build quality is modest in places
  • No external drive bays
  • Room for only two 3.5-inch hard drives
  • Requires a slot-loading slim optical drive
  • Cable routing can be tricky
7 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05B-W PC Case Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Over the years we've seen a very large number of PC Cases some big, some small, some tiny, some with just the basic features you find with low-cost models, some with extra bells and whistles, some that offer weird positioning for the hardware, some casually looking and some looking like nothing else...
Pros: 
  • - Build Quality
  • - Design
  • - 90 Degrees Mainboard Orientation
  • - Airflow/Cooling Levels (2x180mm Fans
  • - Fan Controllers
  • - Radiator Space (Top 120mm/Bottom 280mm
  • - Top Handles
  • - Quick Release Side Panels
  • - Price (For Some
Cons: 
  • - Drive Spots (2x3.5"/2x2.5"
  • - Power Supply Size (Need To Remove Drive Cage
  • - Noise Levels (For Some
6 years ago

Silverstone Raven RV05 Case

★★★★★
Verdict: Since the launch of the first Raven chassis back in 2008 the product line has served as a test bed for radical new directions in chassis design. The most famous of these is the patented rotated motherboard design that orients the motherboard 90 degrees so that all of the cables exit out the top of...
Pros: 
  • Great Styling
  • Solid Construction
  • Heavy Gauge Side Panels
  • Dual 180mm Air Penetrator Fans
  • RPM Switch
  • Slim Slot Optical Option
  • Larger Opening for Cables
Cons: 
  • Limited space for watercooling gear
  • No external 5.25" drive bays
  • Seven expansion slots
  • Small PSU requirement
7 years ago

Silverstone Raven RV05-BW Chassis Review

★★★★★
Verdict: I have yet to find a Silverstone Raven series chassis that I didn't absolutely love. While one could argue that rotating the motherboard isn't massively innovative, it does offer some advantages and unique style points.
Pros: 
  • Great build quality
  • Room for large graphics cards
  • High-quality fans pre-installed
  • Extensive dust filters pre-installed
  • Slot-loading drive bay is a welcome solution to the removal of 5.25″ drive bays (removed to make chassis smaller
  • Competitive price tag
Cons: 
  • Internal cables should be more discreet
  • Rubber USB port cover isn't tethered to chassis
7 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05 Case Review

★★★★★
Verdict: The Raven RV05 appears to be an attempt from SilverStone to develop a case not plagued by the issues that the previous models of the series had. By rotating the motherboard tray, the length of the case had to be significantly increased, leading to overly long and peculiarly shaped designs.
6 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05 Rotated Computer Case Review

★★★★★
Verdict: The SilverStone Raven series of cases long ago broke the mold when it comes to "normal" computer chassis. Its design execution has always been good and the Ravens' airflow characteristics are excellent.
7 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05

★★★★★
Verdict: SilverStone's big-and-bulky Raven began life as a somewhat unusual PC enclosure aimed squarely at high-level enthusiasts. Realising that the premium end of the market may be drying up, the new RV05 takes the stack-effect formula and makes it more accessible to mainstream users.
7 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05

★★★★★
Verdict: July 18, 2014 by Lawrence Lee Product SilverStone Raven RV05 ATX Tower Case Manufacturer SilverStone Street Price US$115~$120 When the original Raven case was launched in 2008, it seemed like a crazy experiment.
7 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05

★★★★★
Verdict: The RV05 comes securely packed between two thick pieces of styrofoam and also has a black cloth covering around it to help further protect it from getting marked up or damaged in any way.
6 years ago

Aircooled super case

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This can is the best i'v seen for cooling performance. I swapped from a NZXT H440 and dropped 10 degrees on my CPU and GPU. The panels can be a bit cheap and theres screws EVERYWHERE but with time and effort the rig looks sweet, silent and dust proof.
6 years ago

RV05

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I decided to get this case because I couldn't wait for the FT05 any longer and I had all the other components for my build. They have the same internals and looks didn't really matter to me.
Pros: 
  • - Looks great (has a white led inside the pointed lip on the front) - Stays cool with stock Air Penetrators - Accepts a 120mm length radiator with a 120mm fan on each side
  • - Removeable bottom and rear filters - Easily accessable with quick release latches.
Cons: 
  • - Limited to 160mm length PSU if you want to use the hard drive bay
  • (Not stated on SilverStone's website) - Cannot access the manual eject button on slim optical drive without taking the drive out
7 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05

★★★★★
Verdict: The landscape of the modern PC chassis has changed over the years and in looking back at a time ruled by simple beige boxes we have come a long way. Many of these original designs lacked adequate cooling and often came with power supplies designed specifically for that case.
Pros: 
  • Great Styling Solid Construction Heavy Gauge Side Panels Dual 180mm Air Penetrator Fans RPM Switch Slim Slot Optical Option Larger Opening for Cables
Cons: 
  • Limited space for watercooling gear No external 5.25" drive bays Seven expansion slots Small PSU requirement
7 years ago

Silverstone RV05B-W 90 Degree Motherboard Mounting SSI-CEB/ATX/Micro-ATX Computer Case (NO PSU) with Side Window Panel

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I have this case in white and found it very difficult to work with on the amd platform. I found cable length to be a problem and the only place to mount my rad was at the bottom pushing heat up trough my case
5 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: love this case, cable managment is a bit of a pain, but the airflow and design is amazing
6 years ago

SilverStone Raven RV05 Review

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: It's fair to say Silverstone don't run with the pack when it comes to the internal layout of a PC. We guess we ought at least to be grateful that they don't make cars, for if they applied the same alternate lateral thinking they'd probably have the driving seat in the back and facing the opposite...
7 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X