Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM For Canon Reviews

$1,459.00 - $1,775.00 from 4 retailers
★★★★★ 4.6
Manufacturer: Sigma
X
4.6 ★★★★★
Based on 37 reviews.
 

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Review

★★★★★ 4.7
Verdict: Half the price of the Nikon equivalent, but this optic proves that it can still hold its own
Pros: 
  • Two-part lens hood
Cons: 
  • f/16 performance
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm f1.4 EX DG HSM

★★★★★
Verdict: The Sigma AF 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM is a short telephoto lens with a bright f1.4 focal ratio. Announced February 2010, it's the only 85mm large aperture alternative to Nikon or Canon's own primes that offers auto-focus. The short telephoto lenses from Samyang and Zeiss are manual focus only.
9 years ago

Hands-on Report: Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM lens review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: First announced at the PMA tradeshow in 2010, the is Sigma's second serious prime offering, joining the warmly regarded . The 85mm F1.4 features 11 elements in 8 groups with one SLD (special low dispersion) glass element and one glass mold element, all oriented towards aggressively managing flare...
11 years ago

REVIEW: Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM

★★★★★
Verdict: Can this wide aperture short telephoto still produce the goods, despite being almost half the price of similar camera manufacturer's lenses? Gary Wolstenholme investigates.
Pros: 
  • Excellent optical performance
  • Great build quality
  • Responsive autofocus
  • Supplied hood with extender for APS-C cameras
Cons: 
  • Hyperfocal markings are too close together to be useful
  • Sigma want the review sample of this lens back
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM Lens

★★★★★
Verdict: The Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM Lens ($1,450 list) is a fast portrait lens available for Canon, Nikon, Sony/Minolta, Pentax, and Sigma D-SLR cameras . The optic is capable of capturing an extremely shallow depth of field when shot wide open, making it possible to create a smooth, pleasant blur behind...
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Lens Review

★★★★★
Verdict: The Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Lens hit the streets with great anticipation and generated many requests for a full review. Reasons for the interest? First, the 85mm focal length is very useful - especially for portraits.
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM: A Fast, Full-Frame Prime

★★★★★
Verdict: The Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM lens (average price: $969 on various Internet sites) is designed for full-frame cameras; with an APS-C multiply by your usual factor. At about 25 oz, I'd describe the lens as substantial, but not hefty.
9 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 HSM

★★★★★
Verdict: Sigma has finally delivered an important lens which has been missing from the Pentax lineup for almost a decade: the new 85mm F1.4 EX HSM. Before its release, Pentax owners had to rely on the legacy FA* 85mm F1.4 , or its slightly slower and shorter cousin, the FA 77mm F1.8 Limited .
10 years ago

Sigma AF 85mm f/1.4 EX HSM DG (EOS) - APS-C format Review / Lab Test

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: The Sigma AF 85mm f/1.4 EX HSM DG delivers a convincing performance on APS-C DSLRs although it stays somewhat short of the Canon EF 85mm f/1.2 USM L II here. The lens is impressively sharp in the image center - even at f/1.4 - but it's comparatively softer towards the borders/corners here.
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Lens Review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: A wide aperture short telephoto lens with silent focusing, which should be perfect for portraiture.
Pros: 
  • Excellent optical performance
  • Great build quality
  • Responsive autofocus
  • Supplied hood with extender for APS-C cameras
Cons: 
  • Hyperfocal markings are too close together to be useful
  • Sigma want the review sample of this lens back
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM For Canon

★★★★★
Verdict: I have used this and both Nikkor 85mm 1.4's and I find this at least as good as the new 1.4G and far superior to 1.4D. AF is faster in Sigma
Pros: 
  • Fast
  • consistent and accurate AF
  • very sharp at all apertures (at least in the center of the frame
  • I don't mind the lack of sharpness in the corners wide open)
  • very good contrast wide open
  • beautiful bokeh
Cons: 
  • Longitudal CA
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM For Canon

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Anyone who likes to shoot portraits knows that a wide aperture prime lens is a really useful asset to have at your disposal. The problem, however, is that the price of these extra wide aperture offerings is quite often excessive.
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG Lens

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: Sigma's new 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM lens is designed for use with full frame digital cameras but can also be suitable for cameras with smaller APS-C sized sensors. On the Nikon D7000 body we used for our tests, it provided the 35mm focal length equivalent of 127.5mm.
11 years ago

[REVIEW-SIGMA 85mm f1.4 EX DG HSM lens]

★★★★★
Verdict: This 85mm f1.4 lens is for full frame and also APS cameras, coming in mounts for Sigma, Sony, Nikon, Pentax and Canon. We tested it on two Canons, the full frame 5D MkII and the APS 7D, where its effective focal length is approximately 127mm.
Pros: 
  • This is an ideal portrait lens on either camera type
  • It is also a remarkable optic when used in low light
  • With the two Canon bodies, both of which have excellent low light performance, we were able to take photographs when almost in darkness
Cons: 
  • We could do without the slapping noise when focussing
  • What causes this in Sigma lenses
12 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM Lens – Review

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: I am a big fan of fixed lenses so I jumped at the chance to play with Sigma's 85mm f1.4 lens. The lens is designed for full frame DSLR cameras but can also be used with cameras with APS-C sensors giving a focal length of about 127.5mm.
Pros: 
  • Quick focusing
  • Quiet focusing
  • Robust size
  • Price
9 years ago

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM review by mayur

★★★★★
Verdict: I am currently using APSC sensor camera D5000. Purchased this as later I will upgrade to full frame. Photo quality is very good. Just like the way things gets blur into creamy bookeh & the subject is tack in focus.
Pros: 
  • bookeh
  • build quality & fast auto focus..
Cons: 
  • nothing to complain.
9 years ago

(International Version)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: (International Version) Having used this lens in the past, I knew it was a winner. I was hesitant to purchase the International Version but went ahead and took the plunge. No regrets. The attached photo was taken at f2.8 1/4000 and the focus point is exact.
4 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM For Canon

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens for indoor use mainly on my Nikon D700. Before this lens, I had a Nikkor 85/1.4D which I loved to use on my previous camera (Nikon D300). But when changing to full frame camera (D700) the Nikkor 85/1.4D was not often used because I needed to step down to F2.8 to get it sharp and...
Pros: 
  • Compared to Nikkor 85/1.4D, the Sigma 85/1.4 is much sharper on all areas outside center on F1.4-F5.6
  • For F>5.6 I have not bothered to test but expect both are equal, Filterhood is superior to Nikkor 85/1.4D since it can be detached more easily and protects front lens better, Autofocus speed is...
Cons: 
  • Build quality is not in class with Nikkor professional lenses
  • Compared to Nikkor 85/1.4D, the difference is obvious even for people with no photo interest
  • I would say that build quaity is basically on par with Nikkor mid-class lenses, Manual adjustment of focus is very difficult due to only 90...
11 years ago

Excellent lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Used mainly as a portrait lens but also covered some low light events where flash couldn't be used. Used wide open at a distance produced otherwise unobtainable and sharp exposures.
Pros: 
  • Durable
  • Sharp Focus
  • Strong Construction
7 years ago

Absolutely stunning glass!!!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Absolutely stunning glass!!! Maybe I have good copy, but it is sharp from corner to corner wide open at F1.4. Downsides: heavy and little bit of chromatic aberration wide open.
4 years ago

I absolutely LOVE it!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens already used couldn't afford the prize of a new one...At first I had some doubts about it , after a careful and long research I decided to go for it. I'm so glad I did it. It's an amazing cam, picture sharp. Been using it since I bought it... My portraits come out crispy clear.
9 years ago

Great lens, better than canon equivelent

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I use this for shooting indoor volleyball with a canon 6d. It is very sharp, finds focus quickly. Lets me shoot at 1/1000 with good ISO.
Pros: 
  • Fast / accurate auto-focus
  • Razor Sharp
  • Strong Construction
Cons: 
  • Heavy
9 years ago

The best all-round 85mm lens for pro use at a great price. Recommended!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I've been shooting with Canon's 85mm f/1.8 lens for the last two years and have always been happy with its performance, especially considering its price. The bokeh was nice, great sharpness at 2.8, light and very fast AF. I've always wanted to move up to one of the bigger 85mm lenses though.
8 years ago

Best combo of value and quality in an 85mm

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have used both the Nikon 85mm 1.4 and this Sigma lens, with equally impressive results.
Pros: 
  • Affordable
  • durable
  • sharp
Cons: 
  • slower autofocus
  • not Nikon (if you are dedicated to a brand
8 years ago

Love this lens!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This lens will take some getting used to when shooting wide open. You have to really know your focus point, but used well this lens produces beautiful soft depth of field and bokeh.
6 years ago

Nice portrait lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have just purchased this but I had demoed it before deciding to buy it. It is a very nice portrait lens and very fast at f1.4. I took some shots at f1.4, f2, etc. and was amazed at how sharp they were. It was also much less costly than Canon's 85mm lens.
Pros: 
  • Fast / accurate auto-focus
  • Nice Bokeh
8 years ago

A great lens for the price

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The lens works great with my 5dMK3. Huge but not too heavy. Images seem just a bit flat, but easily fixed in post. I do find some chromatic problems, but those too are easily fixed in post. This lens finds the light for you.
Pros: 
  • Cheap when compared to Canon "L" lens
  • Auto focus is fast.
Cons: 
  • Some Chromatic issues
8 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM For Canon

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I love using this lens when doing beauty portraits or head shots. It's super fast and sharp and creates beautiful photos. It has a good weight to it and feels nice in your hands. Would definitely recommend Sigma lenses when you can't afford Canon or Nikon, etc.
8 years ago

Great Portrait Lens All my reviews

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: I've researched this lens and tried the Canon high end version. PROs Price, Quality is close to perfect. CONS only that sigma don't do as good a kob on their other lenses as they've done with this 85mm. It deserves a truely big 10/10 from me...
9 years ago

Five Stars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Love the photos I'm getting from this lens!
6 years ago

excellent product

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: excellent product
9 years ago

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: I am a very happy owner of Sigma 50mm f/1.4 HSM. So I am very excited to purchase a Sigma 85mm for portrait photography. I must say that I am very please with the results in term of sharpness and bokeh, of subjects within about 5 meters.
Pros: 
  • Sharpness
  • f/1.4
  • silent and fast focus
Cons: 
  • weird auto focus
  • PF
6 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM For Canon

★★★★★
Verdict: The Sigma 85mm f/1.4 is simply perfect for portraits. Anyone who likes to shoot portraits knows that a wide aperture prime lens is a really useful asset to have at your disposal. The problem, however, is that the price of these extra wide aperture offerings is quite often excessive.
11 years ago

My favorite lens!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Best portrait lens ever! Best in it's class!! (85mm1.4) Sharp with a fast AF!!
6 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM For Canon

★★★★★
Verdict: Designed for use with full frame digital cameras. May also be used with smaller APS-c size sensors with a corresponding effective increase in focal length to about 127.5mm with most cameras
4 years ago

Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: As is often the case with Sigma products, a lot of thought has gone into this lens. For example, the lens hood has a two-section design that perfectly matches a full-frame sensor in its shorter form and shades the reduced size of an APS-C sensor when it is extended.
Pros: 
  • Two-part lens hood
Cons: 
  • f/16 performance
11 years ago

Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM For Canon

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: Beautiful fast prime and superb bokeh! After making some microadjustments the AF works fine on my 5dm2 and the lens is sharp even wide open. To me the AF feels more accurate than with my Canon 35/1.8 although a bit slower. Haven't compared to 85L, but surely a great value for the money.
Pros: 
  • Beautiful Bokeh
  • build like a tank
  • accurate AF
  • good overall feel
Cons: 
  • Size
  • weight
6 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X