Shure SE425 Reviews

$434.00 - $599.00 from 3 retailers
★★★★ 4.2
Manufacturer: Shure
X
4.2 ★★★★
Based on 30 reviews.
 

Shure SE425

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: For most people, $300 for earphones seems absurd, but for audiophiles, something in this price range can be considered slightly beyond entry level. Mind you, that's entry level for someone aspiring to one day own $1,350 custom-molded earphones, but Shure's new SE425 ought to placate the audiophile...
Pros: 
  • High quality, flat-response audio performance
  • Detachable cable can be replaced, rather buying a new pair of earphones
Cons: 
  • Fit can be tricky to secure at first
  • Not for bass lovers
11 years ago

Shure SE425 Sound Isolating Earphones

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Shure is a leading audio equipment manufacturer for professionals and consumers alike. The Shure SE425 Sound Isolating Earphones are just a step down from the company's flagship in-ear monitor, the beloved SE535 . Are these headphones doomed to stay in the shadows of their bigger brother?
10 years ago

Shure SE425 Earphones with Removable Cables

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Although the Shure SE425 earphones only have dual drivers, the sound reproduction is similar to my Westone UMPRO 30 earphones. The SE425 are only slightly lacking in richness at the low end of the audio scale. The SE425 are very comfortable and lightweight.
6 years ago

"Shure SE-425 earphones"

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I have not compared these earphones to other comparable earphones. This review is basically my experience so far with these earphones. These earphones provide very clear sound and are functionally outstanding for use as in ear, on stage monitors.
9 years ago

Big Bucks but worth it!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I had to replace a set of Senheisser's I lost. Even though it was more than I planned to spend I said 'what the heck'. I am glad I did. The noise isolation is fantastic and it allows me to hear good things in the music I never noticed before and I have an excellent home system with top end Klipsch...
Pros: 
  • Comfortable
  • Compact
  • Durable
  • Good Bass
  • Great Sound
  • Lightweight
11 years ago

Shure SE425

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Let's not beat around the bush, eh? These are fantastic. Five stars. Next, please…?
Pros: 
  • Energetic
  • Solid midrange performance
  • Immersive sound
Cons: 
  • Does not pack quite as much bass as some competitiors
9 years ago

Shure SE425

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: If you're familiar with Shure's naming conventions you'll be able to tell that the SE425s are the company's latest dual-driver offering; a model down from the triple-driver SE535s and the successor to the three year old SE420s .
Pros: 
  • Robustly built
  • Replaceable parts
  • Sound great
Cons: 
  • Fairly expensive
  • Bulky cable
11 years ago

Shure SE425 review Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Shure SE425s sound brilliant, and will probably blow your mind if you've only ever tried budget or bundled headphones before. The detachable cable might just save your bacon too.
Pros: 
  • Great audio quality
  • Very precise high tones
  • Detachable cable
Cons: 
  • Tough to switch earbuds
  • Some won't like the earloop style
10 years ago

Fiddly but worth the faff

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It takes a bit of faff to get the right fit into your ear (for me at least) but once they are in properly and you have a good tight seal (and maybe some EQ tweaks) these will spit out some of the best sound for their price range. I can hear instruments I have never heard before in some tracks.
7 years ago

Shure SE425 Sound Isolating Earphones

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought these to replace an old pair of SE530's after reading some previous reviews saying that they compared favourably. The sound is similar with the high's and mid's, but I found the SE425's to have a very weak bass response compared to the SE530's.
9 years ago

Shure SE425

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: After owning a pair of SE215's for four years (had to get two replacement sets due to cable fraying) I made the decision to upgrade and get the SE425's, which arrived in the post this morning.
Pros: 
  • Great Sound
  • detachable cables
  • range of tips (fit)
  • clear housing design
Cons: 
  • Takes a bit of time to get on (at first)
  • L shaped jack may be a problem for some iPhone users
10 years ago

Shure SE425

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Of course, sound quality is perhaps the chief concern for a pair of earphones costing almost half a grand, and the SE425s don't disappoint in this department. We wouldn't expect them to, either, given the fact that they feature the same impressive internal technology found in the SE420s.
Pros: 
  • Fantastic audio quality
  • Durable design
  • Useful extras
Cons: 
  • Won't fit all users comfortably
  • Take some effort to put on
  • No modular cable design
11 years ago

A stellar set of IEMs, not for bass addicts or electro or dub-steppers.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great Set of Headphones!! If you are into your acoustic sounds, classical music, jazz and even rock music. These are the pair of IEMs that you need for the right balance of bass, mid tones, and all-round tight sounding IEM that will pick out the most subtle of instruments.
9 years ago

Shure SE425

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: A replacement for a pair I managed to destroy, so I knew what to expect. Although the description is wrong. It's the 535's that come in bronze.
8 years ago

Shure SE425

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: A lot of things can be said about these, but I try and make it compact: There are better IEMs, for sure. There are worse IEMs, for sure. Not everybody may like the very neutral sound of the SE425, but I do.
10 years ago

Shure SE425

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: I use these when exercising next to cars. I used to use sealed closed back headphones which didn't block out noise well, but these definitely do. When outside in a loud environment and wearing these, I set the MP3 player's volume to the same level I use when listening to these IEMs in a quiet room.
Pros: 
  • Noise isolation
  • It's like wearing hearos earplugs
Cons: 
  • The wires are really stiff
  • sound isn't anywhere close to a similar priced over the ear headphone
9 years ago

Great headpones

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: They are expensive, but if you can spend the extra money I feel that the SE425's are well worth it. Very good separation of sound from crisp highs to booming lows. I've been using the foam ear inserts and they provide exceptional noise reduction.
6 years ago

This Buds For Me :)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: These are marvelous. My first pair of Shure ear buds lasted nearly 10 years. I am old school so I am not into wireless. The new earbuds easily manipulate around the ear for a good fit, I forget they are on.
Pros: 
  • Sound
  • comfort
  • flexibility of use
  • color (they are clear)
Cons: 
  • There are still wires to manage
5 years ago

Fantastic sound and noise isolation

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: I finally broke my Shure E3C earbuds after almost seven years of faithful service. I crazy glued the stem back onto the earbud and the buds still work, but I felt nervous about the stem breaking again and getting stuck in my ear.
Pros: 
  • Bass and treble response
  • secure fit
  • awesome sound isolation
  • Strong warranty
  • Almost audiophile performance (but not quite)
Cons: 
  • Foam sleeves hard to remove
  • Proper insert is a two-hand task
8 years ago

Ok sound but extremely unconfortable

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I used to own a pair of Klipsch X10is, and decided to upgrade when the cable broke. After reading lots of reviews about the sound quality I took the plunge with these. To start with, these headphones are extremely awkward to put on or get in your ear and the plastic molding has to be constantly...
2 years ago

Shure SE425 review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: While the pro-monitor look and awkward fit won't appeal to some, the superior sound quality and long lasting build quality shouldn't fail to impress. If priority no.1 is performance we're not sure you'll find a better sounding pair of in-ear headphones for the price.
Pros: 
  • Noise isolation
  • Replaceable parts
Cons: 
  • Dull design
  • Awkward fit
7 years ago

Awesomeness

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Wonderful fit and amazing sound quality. Sleek design I can't get enough of these things. Can't wait to use them during my next live set.
6 years ago

Shure SE 425-V Dual High Definition MicroDriver Earphones

★★★★★
Verdict: I love listening to my iPod through my earphones, and I have a thing for high quality earphones. I always try to go out of my way to get myself high quality earphones, despite their high prices.
2 years ago

Cracking earphones but questions around robustness

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I've owned a pair of 425's since their initial release and really rate them.
6 years ago

Great sound but poor quality

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Twin drives provide absolutely great sound performances and are especially outstanding when listening to female singers. But the wire is too sloppy and I have experienced serious sound losses for the right earbud.
6 years ago

very nice product indeed

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very happy with the produxt and delivery time. Sound is incredible
7 years ago

Five Stars

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Amazing sound, perfect isolation. Over the ear needs a little adjusting.
4 years ago

Shure SE425

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: The Shure SE425 earphones are a relatively high-end product from the Illinois, US-based company. They sit approximately in the middle of the SE range, which includes the following models: SE112, SE215, SE315, SE425, SE535 and SE846. See our review of the SE215 here. The SE425s come in at [...]
Pros: 
  • Balanced
  • clear reproduction Replaceable cables Ergonomic design Strong sound isolation
Cons: 
  • Over-the-ear cable positioning won't please everyone
6 years ago

Review: Shure SE425

★★★★★
Verdict: Shure SE425 Review I would like to thank Shure for sending me this pair of SE425 to review. I will try and write as honest a review as possible. I am by no means an audiophile, I love my music and I like to enjoy it through good headphones and speakers.
9 years ago

Shure & Solid

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: I'm a keyboard player. I use in-ear monitors for both rehearsals & stage performance so I can hear what I'm playing without getting drowned out by drums/bass/guitar, etc. Had (and still have) an older pair of equivalent Shure in-ears (about 20 years old) but the plastic sheathing around the wire to...
5 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X