Seagate Desktop Barracuda ST4000DM000 4TB Reviews

$209.97 - $288.71 from 5 retailers
Manufacturer: Seagate
Expert Reviews: 
 4.4
User Reviews: 
 4.1
Features
Value for money
 4.6
Features
 4.6
Quality
 4.6
Performance
 4.4
 
 

Seagate Desktop HDD ST4000DM000 4TB Drive Review

4.2
Verdict: For a 4TB drive, this makes it a pretty good choice for a secondary storage drive- provided you need a lot of it and you can afford it. A single SSD and a single HDD- slap it in your mini-ITX rig and you get a lot of performance and storage space.
5 years ago
 

4TB Seagate Desktop HDD ST4000DM000

4.4
Verdict: Seagate has recently re-branded their consumer storage products, formerly named Barracuda, in time for the launch of their 15th-generation. The 4TB Seagate Desktop HDD (OEM model ST4000DM000, retail kit STBD4000400) features a SATA 6Gb/s interface with Native Command Queueing (NCQ).
Pros: Very good 146 MB/s data transfer speeds, 3rd-generation SATA 6Gb/s compliant controller, Massive 4-Terabyte storage capacity across four platters, 64MB Cache buffer improves burst transactions, Low-power standby conserves energy, 2-Year Seagate product warranty, UEFI Systems can utilize all 4TB out...
Cons: 5900 RPM rotational speeds offer lower performance, 2.1TB Barrier not removed via native hardware instruction on older O/S's, Previous Barracuda XT series offered 5-year warranty
6 years ago
 

Seagate Desktop Barracuda ST4000DM000 4TB

4.6
Verdict: Seagate takes storage capacity to the max with the Desktop HDD .15, but does it have the performance for the digital age?
6 years ago
 

Seagate Desktop HDD.15 4TB Hard Drive Review

No reviews
Verdict: Seagate's hard drive lineup is in the midst of some significant changes and their new Desktop HDD.15 4TB drive is the headline act. Gone are the Barracuda, Constellation, Barracuda XT and Momentus lines of yesteryear, all of which have been replaced with a simplified naming scheme.
6 years ago
 

A solid HDD from Seagate after their abysmal 1. ...

1.0
Verdict: A solid HDD from Seagate after their abysmal 1.5TB and 3TB drives which had massive failure rates. The drive requires you to initialise it as GPT in Windows in order to make 1 partition for the entire drive but that is simple to do. The speeds are decent for a HDD and 4TB is a lot of space.
3 years ago
 

It works

5.0
Verdict: I use this as a backup drive which I slot in to an Icy Dock hot swap bay on the front panel of my case (MB171SP-B) and then store in a fire safe. Because of my intended use the 5900rpm does not bother me, in fact it may help it run cooler and live longer u2013 so itu2019s actually a plus for my...
3 years ago
 

nice

5.0
Verdict: very good large capecity
Pros: Durable
Cons: Flimsy Construction
5 years ago
 

Seagate Desktop Barracuda ST4000DM000 4TB

4.5
Verdict: Great drive so far, will get more soon
6 years ago
 

Not the best drive, but amazing price

5.0
Verdict: I bought these only because they were so cheap. Normally I'd shell out for the "Enterprise" Seagate drives, WD Reds/Blacks, but these were so much less. They're pretty much what I expected... A slow, but very budget friendly drive.
Pros: Price! Wait for this to come on sale.
Cons: Slowest of 4 different sets of drives, Noisy
2 years ago
 

PS4 memory upgrade.

5.0
Verdict: Worked perfectly for what we wanted it for. We used it with the Nyko data bank to upgrade our PS4 memory! Also super quick shipping! Thank you!!!
2 years ago
 

SEAGATE Barracuda 3.5" Desktop HDD - 4 TB (ST4000DM000)

3.0
Verdict: It was pretty underhanded of Seagate to hide the slow RPM by not displaying it or even putting it in their data sheet. The only place the RPM is written anywhere is on the sticker on the face of the drive. They don't display that in any promo images.
Pros: The drive worked, technically, but it's only 5,900 rpm
Cons: The Barracuda line became popular because they were 7,200 rpm and worked really well, but this one is only 5,900 rpm and they don't display that..
5 years ago
 

Clarification on the size reported by Windows

5.0
Verdict: For HDs with capacities in TB, Windows is going to report the capacity in tebibytes, which means it 'essentially' divides the TB figure by 1.1, which will give you a smaller capacity number. In the case of a 4TB-advertised drive, Windows will report it as 3.63TB.
Pros: Nice price
Cons: Don't know
2 years ago
 

Just to correct Brad's review

5.0
Verdict: Every hard drive is like this because of how space is reported. You DO have a 4 terabyte drive. But it reports in tebibytes. So, that 4TB drive will be reported as 3.63TiB. The actual capacity is 4,000,650,883,072 bytes. That is 4TBs, which is reported in a different unit. Terabytes vs tebibytes.
3 years ago
 

4TB HDD at a fair price.

5.0
Verdict: I find in my experiance that larger HDD have more of a chnace of having bad sectors or smart errors when purchased new. I always test my drives out of the box to ensure no bad sectors or smart errors which are indications of things to come.
3 years ago
 

4TB Works works and works

5.0
Verdict: 4TB Used for recording to works and no lag as far as i have see and tested. Nothing i have found wrong with it and good for Price :)
6 years ago
 

Great Experience

5.0
Verdict: Excellent drives
2 years ago
 

Okay drive, but better available.

4.0
Verdict: Suitable performance. Died after 2& half years service. 6 months outside warranty! In comparison, Western Digital Red, whilst slightly more expensive, offer better overall performance, and come with a 3 year warranty, so I guess I'll stick to buying WD in future.
2 years ago
 

Seagate Desktop Barracuda ST4000DM000 4TB

1.0
Verdict: It's a cheap 4tb drive
Cons: The spin up from standby on this drive is incredibly loud and takes about 7 seconds for your computer to become responsive. For a backup drive, it spins down constantly. Power management is not configurable, at last on MacOS.
5 years ago
 

Great Price, High Storage, low power

5.0
Verdict: I use these drives in my NAS, I have absolutely no complaints, no failures yet and don't expect any in the near future.
4 years ago
 

REMEMBER TO BUY SATA CABLES!

1.0
Verdict: This is a bare drive. Which means it doesn't come with any cables!! Fortunately, my motherboard came with several SATA cables and the PSU always comes with several power cables, so I didn't have any issues installing it.
1 year ago
 

Seagate Desktop Barracuda ST4000DM000 4TB

5.0
Verdict: These hard drives are priced well and have ample space. I am using them in a NAS environment and recommend them highly. They worked without any extra configuration. Truly Plug-n-play.
6 years ago
 

RE:What a waste of time

5.0
Verdict: Do your homework before you buy a drive, you gave bad reviews to a good hard drive because you didn't know how to use it in MAC, this drive works great and I get the 4 TB.
6 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X