Samsung Galaxy S5 Active SM-G870A 16GB Reviews

Expert Reviews: 
 4.4
User Reviews: 
 4.3
Features
Usability
 3.4
Value for money
 4.6
Features
 4.8
Product design
 4.7
Sound
 3.8
 
 

Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

4.5
Verdict: If you want to keep your smartphone safe from scratches, spills, thumps, and drops, chances are high you'll be buying a thick, heavy case. There just aren't that many truly rugged phones around these days , and the few that do take a beating don't have all the smarts.
Pros: The Samsung Galaxy S5 Active has a sturdy build, excellent physical controls, and a convenience key that double as a camera shutter. Inside, it has the same top-tier specs as the Galaxy S5
Cons: It lacks a fingerprint scanner, it's slippery, and apart from its tougher aesthetic, the S5 Active isn't much tougher or athletically-minded than other dust- and water-resistant smartphones
5 years ago
 

Samsung Galaxy S5 Active: A Flagship Phone With Klingon Aesthetics

No reviews
Verdict: Armor worn and swords swung by actors in ancient and medieval movie adventures are often constructed of plastic, etched and painted to look like the heavy metal ware worn and wielded by the original warriors. Samsung has pulled some similar materials tomfoolery with its Galaxy S5 Active .
5 years ago
 

Samsung Galaxy S5 Active Review

4.0
Verdict: Sometimes a little bit of waterproofing isn't enough. That's where the Samsung Galaxy S5 Active comes in. Not content to just resist dust and moisture, the S5 Active adds chunky bumpers and reinforced edges for military-grade toughness that laughs in the face of casual dangers, like getting smashed...
Pros: Military-grade 810G durability, User-programmable Active button, Physical buttons for Home, Back and Menu, Colorful display, Solid battery life
Cons: Bigger and heavier than regular GS5, No fingerprint reader, Audio sounds strained at max volume
4 years ago
 

Samsung Galaxy S5 Active Review

4.5
Verdict: Samsung's Galaxy S5 Active loses the fingerprint reader in favor of tactile buttons and a solid plastic shell. Inside, it's the same powerful Galaxy S5, with long battery life and top-end performance.
Pros: Very powerful, like the Galaxy S5, Nice camera, Ruggedized exterior, Long battery life, MircoSD slot, Removable battery
Cons: No fingerprint reader, Phone vibrates when speaker is cranked
5 years ago
 

Samsung Galaxy S5 Active (AT&T)

4.5
Verdict: The Galaxy S5 Active makes no real compromises to earn its more adventurous designation. I don't care for fingerprint scanners, and I think the Active key will be genuinely more useful for the majority of people. Otherwise, it offers the exact same experience as the standard GS5.
Pros: Spectacular screen. Excellent camera. Drop- and waterproof. Customizable Active key
Cons: Thick, reinforced corners. Bloatware
5 years ago
 

Featured Review: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active (AT&T)

No reviews
Verdict: Last year, Samsung did something a bit different with the Galaxy S4. They didn't just launch a Galaxy S4 and a Galaxy S4 Mini but also a Galaxy S4 Zoom and a Galaxy S4 Active. The Galaxy S4 Active was a really rugged smartphone that was made from the Galaxy S4 but featured a LCD display instead of...
5 years ago
 

Samsung Galaxy S5?Active

No reviews
Verdict: All of my co-workers have some sort of bulky case like the OtterBox for protection. I see no need for that with the S5 Active. In this Business, If you don't protect your phone, its only a matter of days till your in the market for a new one.
4 years ago
 

Samsung Galaxy S5 Active

4.4
Verdict: In order to appeal to the more outdoorsy crowd, Samsung introduced the Galaxy S5 Active. Although not certified to be a truly rugged phone, the S5 Active is water and dust resistant. For better protection, Samsung added reinforced plastic corners, which provides extra scuff-proofing.
Pros: Additional plastic reinforcement for shock protection, Fast performance, Great screen with crisp and bright colors
Cons: Slippery and difficult to grasp, Bulkier than standard smartphones
5 years ago
 

Samsung Galaxy S5 Active SM-G870A 16GB

No reviews
Verdict: IP 67 dust and water resistant Military-grade ruggedness ratings Great camera Beautiful display Solid construction Lacks fingerprint scanner Poor low-light performance The design isn't for everyone The Galaxy S5 Active is not a watered down (no pun intended) flagship in a rugged body.
Pros: IP 67 dust and water resistant Military-grade ruggedness ratings Great camera Beautiful display Solid construction
Cons: Lacks fingerprint scanner Poor low-light performance The design isn't for everyone
5 years ago
 

Combat ready

No reviews
Verdict: As the Northern hemisphere enters the summer season, it's the second year in a row that Samsung releases a rugged version of its incumbent flagship. This time around, it is a toughened take on an already IP certified device, so they went through the roof with military-grade protection against all...
5 years ago
 

Samsung Galaxy S5 Active Review

No reviews
Verdict: Think of the Samsung Galaxy S5 Active (released May 2014, listed at $659 without contract by AT&T) as a stronger, tougher cousin of the Galaxy S5 (released April 2014). The Galaxy S5 Active dropped its predecessor S5's fingerprint sensor, a security feature to augment the usual password protection.
5 years ago
 

Five Stars

5.0
Verdict: works perfectly
3 years ago
 

samsung galaxy s5 active

4.5
Verdict: glass broke after the slippery design slid out of my lap and broke the supposedly more durable glass. I think I was sold a line of bull. it only fell two feet and landed on a corner. when I called AT&T to complain. they told me it would be a $200 deductible to fix.
Pros: Great interface and software
Cons: not durable as advertised
4 years ago
 

This phone is everything you can want in a durable phone.

3.0
Verdict: This is my second S 5 Active. I broke the screen on my first one and the grandkids trashed the charging port. They got it and I got the new one. Even though it's the same phone a few of the operating features were ever so slightly different. Nothing i couldn't figure out quickly.
1 year ago
 

an interesting Phone

4.0
Verdict: a phone at a very good price, with quality and insurmountable qualities. As much as an old unit, you can change your stack in a very easy way, and its format is great for free time.
1 year ago
 

call me mr drop a phone

5.0
Verdict: Man, i dropped this phone so many times. My bezel is busted and cracked but the phone continues to withstand horrendously catastrophic crash landings. To the extent of thinking it must be a part of the avengers or something.
3 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X