Pentax SMC-DA 10-17mm F3.5-4.5 ED Fisheye Reviews

$1,075.00 - $1,123.54 from 4 retailers
Manufacturer: Pentax
Expert Reviews: 
 3.7
User Reviews: 
 4.7
Features
Value for money
 4.2
 
 

REVIEW: Pentax SMC P-DA Fish-Eye 10-17mm f/3.5-4.5 ED Lens Review

No reviews
Verdict: v This strange lens offers the distorted view of a fisheye lens, with the convenience of a zoom lens. It offers a 180degree field of view, from corner to corner when set at 10mm and the equivalent of a 25.5mm lens on a 35mm camera, with lots of barrel distortion, at 17mm.
5 years ago
 

Pentax SMC-DA 10-17mm F3.5-4.5 ED Fisheye

4.0
Verdict: The lens gives a viewing angle of 1800 at 10mm and 1000 at 17mm and being a DA format lens this equates to a 15mm-25.5mm full-frame equivalent.
7 years ago
 

Pentax SMC DA 10-17mm f/3.5-4.5 ED[IF] Fisheye - Review / Test Report

3.4
Verdict: Traditionally fisheyes are often used for aerial-, underwater- and some kind of indoor photography. Due to the uncorrected extreme field-of-view the fisheye perspective can produce some oooohs and aaahs from your audience but it shouldn′t be used too often in presentations because the effect of...
11 years ago
 

Expensive for the quality. At Lowest 10mm on the ...

3.0
Verdict: Expensive for the quality. At Lowest 10mm on the edges see lot of curvature / distortion. Not worth the 50k I paid for this.
2 years ago
 

Lenes Wide Open

5.0
Verdict: It works well for what I want, a fisheye to wide angle zoom. Cuts down the number of lenes I absolutely must take with me. Solid feel, a good quality product. That said non-zoom lenses are better, but only just.
3 years ago
 

Great Lens to use

5.0
Verdict: This lens is one of hardest to use because of image distortion is very serious. However, once you have used, you can't stop because it makes the object emphasised. So Great!!!
8 years ago
 

Wide, Wide

5.0
Verdict: This is a very fun lens to use. It provides full frame images on a digital slr through the entire zoom range. It is about the equivalent of a 15-26mm lens on a 35mm camera. It is a great match for the 18-55 kit lens that comes with most Pentax digital cameras.
Pros: Compact size. Good quality optics. Smooth operation. Zoom
Cons: No filter system. Only useable on digital cameras
12 years ago
 

Full metal barrels, decent sharpness across the frame.

5.0
Verdict: An unusually well made fun lens which has full metal construction even the inner barrels.
Pros: Full metal barrels, decent sharpness across the frame
Cons: Visible CA
12 years ago
 

Pentax 10-17mm f/3.5-4.5 ED IF SMC P-DA Fish-Eye review by tachyon1701

No reviews
Verdict: This lens is so fun! I bought it at first with some hesitation that I might not use it as often because it is seemingly "less practical" than normal lenses. But this has become my favourite lens to bring everywhere! You can really be creative with this lens and take some specacular pictures.
Pros: Pentax build quality, quick AF, light
Cons: Can't attach filter to protect lens (like most fisheye lens
11 years ago
 

Pentax SMC-DA 10-17mm F3.5-4.5 ED Fisheye

5.0
Verdict: Originally I was looking at this for external architecture and museum interiors. I am amazed at how close your able to get to the subject and still capture everything. The ability to take in 180 degrees is great, and with software your able to remove the fisheye effect if needed.
Pros: Great quality and construction finish. Feels like a fine instrument. Dead on instant focus - no hunting. Great bag/case
Cons: None
12 years ago
 

Pentax SMC-DA 10-17mm F3.5-4.5 ED Fisheye

4.0
Verdict: I orginally wanted a wide angle and rented this lens since the wide angle was unavailable. The lens is a great fun lens and you can do a lot of creative shots. Great for night photography if you have a subject that has a lot of curvature.
6 years ago
 

Fun perspective

5.0
Verdict: I have the Pentax 12-24 lens already, but found that I really wanted something that was going to offer another perspective. The DA 10-17mm f/3.5-4.5 ED(IF) by Pentax offers a fish-eye look at 10mm while having minimal distortion by 17mm.
Pros: fisheye at 10mm but pretty straight at 17mm
Cons: hard to add polarizing filter
9 years ago
 

Five Stars

5.0
Verdict: What a great lenses. Wow! So many great pictures. Really in love. Money well spent.
1 year ago
 

Fantastic lens but a few minor issues

4.0
Verdict: I love it! I'm still giving it 5 stars even though I have a few complaints. I use this for real estate photography. I had been reluctant to buy it because almost all reviews were about fisheye, fisheye, fisheye. However it is very workable for indoor use if given the chance.
3 years ago
 

Nice Lens.

4.0
Verdict: "I would like to start by stating am a very amateur photographer. I have read many reviews about extra wide vs. fisheye lenses. I do not have an extra wide angle lens and so I relied on online reviews to make my choice.
7 years ago
 

Great, fun lens!

5.0
Verdict: I orginally wanted a wide angle and rented this lens since the wide angle was unavailable. The lens is a great fun lens and you can do a lot of creative shots. Great for night photography if you have a subject that has a lot of curvature.
6 years ago
 

Good all round lens, top quilaity build. A very fun lens to use!

5.0
Verdict: This is an excellent lens, perfect for multiple uses. It is perfect for landscape photography, live band photography and has displayed amazing results with nighttime photography. I've been using this on my K-5 alongside the 18-135mm lens and it has become my favourite lens yet!
5 years ago
 

Very surprised at how good it is

5.0
Verdict: I was wary of buying this lens, as a fisheye is quite a niche item. However, I am delighted. I also have the Pentax 12-24mm and at the same focal lengths it is just as good, though this is fisheye so looks a lot wider.
Pros: Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
2 years ago
 

So much fun with this lens

5.0
Verdict: This lens is included fisheye function 180 degree at 10mm and ultra wide 100 degrees at 17mm. Sure, there is lots of distortion in 10mm because it is fisheye, but it is not a bad point you cab create many creative photo from it. At 17mm, you can take 100 degree with just a few distortion.
Pros: Both fisheye and ultra wide in the same lens, good build quality
Cons: Cannot install filter, an unique design of lens cap if lost it have to pay much for it
11 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X