Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Reviews

Manufacturer: Panasonic
Expert Reviews: 
 4.3
User Reviews: 
 4.8
Features
Usability
 4.0
Value for money
 3.2
Features
 3.2
Product design
 5.0
Sound
 5.0
 
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 review

No reviews
Verdict: Panasonic has a long history of delivering high quality video performance across its digital camera line-up. It's G-series of CSCs has seen some impressive video innovations, most recently in the form of the GH4 which took the crown of being the first CSC to boast 4K video capture.
Pros: 4K video capture a bonus, Excellent buld quality
Cons: Lack of touchscreen, Proliferation of buttons may intimidate inexperienced photographers
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 digital camera with 4K video shooting

4.5
Verdict: This is a camera for those of you who want a shooter than can perform well for both still shots and video recordings.
Pros: Big zoom, Fast focusing, 4K video and plenty of other features
Cons: SD card is in the battery compartment, Switching to 4K video takes a few steps, EVF is a little small
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

4.1
Verdict: Still shooting is only part of the story, though. The FZ1000 is the first compact camera to support 4K video recording (at an impressive 100Mbps bit rate), so it's ready for the next generation of televisions a few years before they (may) take off.
Pros: 1"-type sensor produces excellent image quality, Bright F2.8-4 lens covers 25-400mm equiv. range, Best-in-class autofocus performance, Zoom/focus ring around lens, Future-proof 4K video recording with 100Mbps bit rate, High quality 8MP stills can be extracted from 4K video, Large grip makes camera...
Cons: Bulky, Easy to accidentally rotate focus/zoom ring, Single dial operation adds extra step when adjusting exposure, Use of rear dial during video recording can be picked up by microphone, No Auto ISO in movie mode, Lacks built-in ND filter, 1080/24p only available using AVCHD codec at 24Mbps bit rate
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix FZ1000

No reviews
Verdict: ​ According to recent buyers, this camera is perfect for beginners and amateur photographers. It has automated settings that require no processing from your side except for cropping. It has a good zoom that allows you to take pictures at a good enough distance.
Pros: Has a sharp EVF, 1-inch image sensor, Integrated with Wi-Fi, 4k video shooting ability, Burst shooting at 11.8 fps
Cons: It is bulky, Doesn't have a weather seal
1 month ago
 

Panasonic FZ1000

4.0
Verdict: What we're looking at is a terrific 4K camera, and it is a follow-up to the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH4 , the first compact system to have 4K video recording. Often times a company's first foray into a new type of market can come off as clumsy, and yet Panasonic's second effort is worth writing home...
Pros: 4k Capability, Special LEICA custom-made lens, 1-inch sensor, 20.1 Megapixels, Depth From Focus (DFD) Technology, HYBRID OIS prevents blurry images, Macro Photography at 3 inches, Many artistic filters, Smartphone/tablet control via app
Cons: Not a lot of big zoom features, No touchscreen, Many buttons could confuse amateurs, Unable to access 4K footage frame-by-frame
4 years ago
 

Panasonic FZ1000

No reviews
Verdict: In 2013, the Sony RX10 set a very high benchmark for just what a long-zoom camera could be, with a large 1"-type image sensor and generous 8.3x zoom lens. Now, Panasonic puts forth a spectacularly-capable challenger in the 16x zoom Panasonic FZ1000, and despite the same sensor size and an even more...
Pros: Extremely compact compared to interchangeable-lens camera with similar lenses; Comfortable grip and controls; Bright, far-reaching 16x zoom lens; Excellent electronic viewfinder; Versatile tilt/swivel LCD; Excellent performance; Great image quality, Extremely compact compared to an...
Cons: Body materials feel a bit plasticky; Connector compartment door is fiddly; Limited raw buffer depth; Battery life below average for class; No built-in neutral density filter, Body materials feel a little plasticky compared to the Sony RX10, Connector compartment door is fiddly to open and close,...
4 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 Review

4.5
Verdict: The Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 is one of the cheapest 4K video recording devices available, and offers an array of impressive video features. However, if you don't want to record 4K video, and just want a camera capable of taking excellent photos, with a good zoom lens, then the Panasonic Lumix FZ1000...
Pros: Good noise performance, Great lens performance, Great image quality and bokeh, 5 customisable function buttons, Lens hood provided, High speed Full HD video at 100fps, Microphone socket, 4K video recording, Can save 8mp still images from 4K video, Dual-axis electronic level, Wi-Fi built in
Cons: Touch-screen would have been nice, Some vignetting when shooting wide-angle, Large
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 review

No reviews
Verdict: Although it's large for a bridge camera the FZ1000 has lots going for it including a versatile focal length range, a 1-inch sensor, raw and JPEG image recording and the ability to produce high quality images in many situations.
5 years ago
 

FIRST LOOK: Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

No reviews
Verdict: Panasonic has been steadily increasing the size of the sensors in its FZ long zoom cameras and the recently-announced Lumix DMC-FZ1000 represents a big step up from the 1/2.3-inch type (6.17 x 4.55 mm) chip in last year's FZ70 to a 1-inch type sensor measuring 13.2 x 8.8 mm.
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

No reviews
Verdict: Thanks in no small part to their lens zoom range, bridge cameras are still a buoyant section of the fixed lens camera market. In fact, according to Panasonic's research the most important feature for prospective bridge camera buyers is their lens zoom ratio, followed by the lens quality and then...
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

4.5
Verdict: Shortly after the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 ($899.99) was announced, Sony dropped the retail price of its similar RX10 from $1,300 to $1,000. It was a clear response to the FZ1000's more aggressive price point.
Pros: Superior image quality at higher ISOs. Very fast autofocus. 11.8fps burst shooting. 1-inch image sensor. 16x zoom range. 4K video capability. Vari-angle LCD. Sharp EVF. Integrated Wi-Fi with NFC
Cons: Bulky. Lacks built-in ND filter. Not weather sealed. Physical controls could be better. 4K video is cropped and requires manual exposure control
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

5.0
Verdict: This is a camera that really can do it all. It has a decent telephoto range and fast performance for sports and wildlife, excellent image quality in low light and convincingly the best video mode we've seen this side of £1,000.
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 review

5.0
Verdict: The FZ1000 is incredibly versatile – a single, fixed lens camera capable of shooting fantastic stills and video in almost any situation. If you're about to head off on holiday and are looking for a do-it-all companion to document anything you might come across on your trip, from majestic vistas to...
Pros: Superb image and video quality, Huge zoom range adds to versatility, Large, crisp viewfinder
Cons: Somewhat bulky for a bridge camera
4 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

No reviews
Verdict: With the Panasonic Lumix FZ1000, Panasonic has taken the convenience of a mega-zoom point-n-shoot digicam and combined it with the quality and performance of a dSLR/ILC. It sports a large 1-inch 20.1-megapixel imaging sensor, 25-400mm f/2.8-4.0 Leica zoom lens, light speed AF system and an amazing...
Pros: iAuto shooting mode is accurate and easy in all situations allowing anyone to use the camera, Image quality is excellent in all shooting modes, Dedicated Video Capture Button is always ready to record, 12x optical zoom lens (35mm equivalent of 25-400mm) is very versatile, 5-axis image stabilization...
Cons: The body could use a second control dial for adjusting shooting settings, Battery life is very short when using the convenience features on the camera like WiFi, On the more expensive end for a point-n-shoot camera, Larger than most ILCs (some may like this
4 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix FZ1000

4.4
Verdict: The Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 is a DSLR-styled super-zoom camera with a 16x / 25-400mm range, a decent-sized 1in sensor and 4k video recording capabilities. Announced in June 2014, it represents a new premium category in the Lumix super-zoom lineup, complementing rather than replacing the ageing but...
Pros: Excellent image quality and noise performance, 2359k dot EVF with eye sensor and eye-detect AF, Fully-articulated screen, 4K100Mbit/s UHD video, 100 / 120fps 1080p for slow motion, Fast 49-area AF with DFD for improved Continuous AF, 7 frame auto bracketing, Wifi and NFC with good smartphone remote...
Cons: No weather-sealing, Slow zoom controls, No Auto ISO in movie manual exposure mode, No silent exposure control for movies, Screen isn't touch-sensitive, Can't switch between regional video frame rates, No built-in ND filter
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 review

4.5
Verdict: Bigger isn't always better, but if you want a premium superzoom camera then physical size is an inevitable part of the package. In the case of the Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 it also means a jumbo feature set, including a 25-400mm f/2.8-4.0 equivalent zoom lens paired with large 1-inch sensor.
Pros: Great image quality, stacks of physical controls, ample zoom and fast aperture, 4K video capture on board, 12fps burst mode, silent electronic shutter options up to 1/16,000th sec
Cons: It's big, expensive, pinpoint autofocus accuracy seems to lack, no physical aperture ring, f/4.0 maximum begins at 175mm, no built-in ND filter, less premium than Sony RX10
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 Review

4.6
Verdict: Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 Review - Packing a 20.1-million-pixel 1in CMOS sensor and 4K-video recording, the Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 pushes the bridge camera class in a new direction
Pros: 4K video capture a bonus; Excellent build quality
Cons: Lack of touchscreen; Proliferation of buttons may intimidate inexperienced photographers
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

No reviews
Verdict: Either way, all of these specifications on the FZ1000 are incredibly impressive for a fixed lens camera, and sure, you won't be able to use your own lenses on this camera like you can on the other 4K capable cameras, but it also costs half that of the next camera.
5 years ago
 

Very good bridge camera

4.0
Verdict: I'm new to the DSLR world having come from film. I was going on vacation and tried to find film and couldn't find any, so I decided to buy a digital one. First stop I found a camera shop (I know, right??) and the guy sold me on a PMC-FZ200 (this one's predecessor).
Pros: photo quality, zoom, macro, display
Cons: trying to figure out controls on the fly - not intuitive, no printed manual
3 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

3.0
Verdict: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 is a feature-rich ultra-zoom with the widest field-of-view and longest zoom of any fixed-lens camera. Its 60X optical zoom offers dependable image-stabilization and a previously unseen 20-1200mm equivalent range. This versatility is both highly practical and fun.
Pros: Extreme wide-angle, 20mm-equivalent, Good lens sharpness, Low optical distortion, Quick autofocus in good light, Fast shutter-lag, Quick and responsive, Awesome LCD visibility, Usable video framing overlay mask, Plenty of controls, Good ergonomics, Respectable battery-life
Cons: Softness from NR above ISO 200, Noise visible at all ISO, Poor color accuracy, Very slow autofocus in low-light near telephoto, Self-timer resets, Modal EC control, Minuscule EVF, Not always Exposure-Priority
4 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

5.0
Verdict: Is Panasonic the pioneer of modern digital photography? The electronics giant firmly believes so, stating the future of capture will be to shoot ultra hi-res video and extract still images from the footage.
5 years ago
 

If a digital SLR isn't your thing, grab the next best thing, which is this thing

4.5
Verdict: This is a camera for those of you who want a shooter than can perform well for both still shots and video recordings. It has a long zoom, plenty of speed, and can capture pictures with great clarity.
Pros: Big zoom, Fast focusing, 4K video and plenty of other features
Cons: SD card is in the battery compartment, Switching to 4K video takes a few steps, EVF is a little small
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

No reviews
Verdict: by Michael Reichmann A Bridge to Somewhere...Oh yes, and this time with a number of very meaningful differences. So-called Bridge cameras are one of the categories of cameras that are doing well.
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

4.5
Verdict: The Panasonic LUMIX DMC-FZ1000 is the world's first bridge camera to feature 4K video recording. The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 is a super-zoom camera featuring a wide-angle 16x zoom lens equivalent to a focal range of 25-400mm, a 20.1 megapixel 1-inch MOS sensor, a 3-inch 921K-pixel rotating LCD...
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

4.0
Verdict: The Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 is a high-quality bridge camera with great image quality for its class. It gets you that DSLR feel and a versatile 16x optical zoom without risking getting lured into spending thousands on lenses.
Pros: Relatively large sensor, Good image quality, Decent handling
Cons: Quite large, Limited zoom ring
3 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Review

2.2
Verdict: Having Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Review (Digital Camera), we find it the best digital camera and has the best function, inspire you to keep in touch with this camera.
5 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

4.8
Verdict: Panasonic takes on the RX10 with the FZ1000...and wins
5 years ago
 

Amazing Camera

5.0
Verdict: I have had a number of bridge, SLR and compact cameras and this is the best combination of all of them. Amazing pictures, endless adjustments (if required) or fully auto if not. Results are superb.
3 months ago
 

It survived Iceland storms !

4.0
Verdict: I just returned from 10 days in Iceland where I had a great chance to put the FZ1000 through its paces. It performed fantastically well. From super cold to high winds to rain - nothing deterred it from taking crystal clear, super sharp photos and videos (although I had to be careful with it in the...
Pros: Comfortable size, Fast Focus, Leica Lens
Cons: Can't Monitor Video Sound, Not water resistant
4 years ago
 

Fantastic Camera

5.0
Verdict: great camera , lots of features , crisp sharp detail, no having to carry lots of lenses and risk dirt on sensors , brilliant
1 year ago
 

Wise buy

5.0
Verdict: Opted for FZ1000 rather than FZ330 which also has great reviews. Best decision I reckon as images are pleasing so far. Doubt I'll ever go back to my old Canon 440D Dslr. All I require In one neat package ready for my wildlife shots and cruise holiday pics.
1 year ago
 

Excellent overall camera, but could a few improvements

4.0
Verdict: I use this camera in a variety of ways, most recently for travel photography. I hope Panasonic reads this because here are a few improvements I would like to see: a better focusing system that resolves the focus point down to a point so one can zero in on where the focus is desired.
Pros: Convenient, Easy to use, Inexpensive
Cons: Not splash proof or dust proof, So-so focusing system
1 year ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

5.0
Verdict: I recently bought a Lumix FZ-1000 new as a Christmas present to my self; my most recent digital camera is about 15 years old(!), and is not a patch on this Lumix. Even though this is actually a 4 year old camera that was still in stock at a store, it still caused me to sit a lot, after trying...
9 months ago
 

Novice posts pics from HONEY ISLAND SWAMP TOUR, Slidell, LA

4.0
Verdict: I thought Id share some pics that I took yesterday with my FZ1000 during our Honey Island Swamp Tour (Slidell, Louisiana) yesterday (5/14/19). I took all of these pics from a MOVING boat! I had the camera on automatic, so I didnt even have to think!
6 months ago
 

Great camera

5.0
Verdict: Bought to upgrade my FZ150(which was a good camera). This camera has a lot more features plus 4k video my main interest. The 4k works great as does everything else. I'm not a professional but for my uses I am very happy with the purchase.
1 year ago
 

PANASONIC Lumix FZ1000EB Bridge Camera - Black

5.0
Pros: Make prints from 4 k video. Ease of changing settings. Rotating screen
Cons: No
1 year ago
 

Great

5.0
Verdict: Bought for my wife as she is in to photographing allsorts. She is happy with its ease of use, the quality she gets so if she is happy then so am I.
10 months ago
 

A stunning bit of do it all photographic kit!

5.0
Verdict: After reading umpteen glowingly positive reviews about this camera, I finally bought it and collected it from the efficient and gorgeous Teresa Marino from Ted's Elizabeth Street store yesterday, Saturday 16 August 2014. I've been test driving the camera today, 17 August.
Pros: Easy to use, Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Complicated, Bulky
5 years ago
 

A marvellous peice of kit

5.0
Verdict: I carry my FZ1000 wherever I go. I particularly like taking pictures of wetland birds at the WWT Reserve in Slimbridge, Gloucestershire. The only shortcoming, the price one pays for such a flexible zoom lens, is in the photographs taken at large apertures and at very long focal lengths.
Pros: Easy To Use, Good Sized Screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons: Heavy
2 years ago
 

A Great Camera and well worth the asking price.

5.0
Verdict: I got fed up with lugging my Sony A77 around and trying to decide which of the six lenses to take etc, in a nutshell the Fz1000 not only replaced all that dslr gear but it does it better.
2 years ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

5.0
Verdict: Before purchasing my camera I read "everything" on the internet. The last camera I purchased was under $100. This one was near $600 and every aspect of this Panasonic was worth every dime.
1 year ago
 

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000

4.0
Verdict: Extremely good pictures. Easily o handle. Wifi to mobile only works sometimes
1 year ago
 

Exactly what I wanted.

5.0
Verdict: Was limping along on an old Lumix ZS3 still that only used for its nice zoom. So rarely used it the past couple years as my LG G3 and G4 took comparable pictures just without the zoom.
3 years ago
 

THIS is the bridge camera I was waiting for!

5.0
Verdict: "I was torn between the RX10 or FZ1000 and I can say I made the right decision! For this price point, if you were buying a low end SLR with kit lenses, then you'd be paying the same and getting far less. If you are ok with 24-400mm reach then this is a great camera.
4 years ago
 

Great camera

5.0
Verdict: I was looking for a Bridge camera and this received a high rating from Which? but was a little out of my price range until I found it on pixmania. Takes impressive photos and is relatively easy to use.
4 years ago
 

Money well spent

5.0
Verdict: Having been the owner of a Nikon p900 superzoom I was disappointed with the image quality with the small sensor. With the one-inch sensor on this camera and up to 400 millimeter lens you still have the digital Zoom capability, maybe not as far-reaching as the Nikon but gives you a well extended...
1 year ago
 

Love this camera

5.0
Verdict: Love this camera. I also own a FZ300 which I will sell now because this camera offers so much more. I will miss the weather sealing, the longer zoom and touchscreen and when Panasonic releases a bigger brother to the FZ1000 with those features I will purchase it.
2 years ago
 

Excellent camera with high spec with low price

4.0
Verdict: Excellent fixed lens camera I ever used in my life Better than sony
2 years ago
 

The Lumix FZ1000 Is Quite The Camera, BuyDig Bundle Is A Good Deal.

4.0
Verdict: BuyDig is easy to deal with! That is why I had no qualms ordering from them rather than Amazon.
Pros: I opted for the Lumix FZ1000 when my 3 week old Sony a77 mk II decided to lose 989 pictures I had taken, in one day, at a music festival! So to go from that to the Lumix was a $1,000 downgrade. But, I have been pleasantly surprised with the FZ1000.
Cons: Camera: It can be the MOST infuriating camera, ever. Menus are hard to navigate UNTIL you have spent 'hours', sitting down, getting to know them. Things like setting the AF area is not as intuitive as you like. But it can all be done with time and patience.
2 years ago
Powered by
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X