Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR Reviews

$999.00 from Auckland Camera
Manufacturer: Nikon
Expert Reviews: 
 3.7
User Reviews: 
 4.7
Features
Usability
 4.8
Value for money
 4.4
Product design
 4.5
Image quality
 4.8
Durability
 5.0
 
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR

No reviews
Verdict: excellent like travel zoom
Pros: excellent optical quality Built quality is OK
Cons: telezoom is too short. Aperture is too small
6 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX Review

4.5
Verdict: If you are inclined to think that DX-format lenses are simply cut-down versions of full-frame optics then this zoom ought to change your mind. Not only does this 16-85mm zoom lens feature a silent-wave motor, for focusing that is both quick and quiet, but also it has Nikon's latest two-mode...
Pros: Solid MTF performance
Cons: Overall design doesn't 'gel
8 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR

No reviews
Verdict: Despite some shortcomings the Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR is still one of the best standard zooms available for Nikon crop cameras. It is very sharp throughout the range although there could be a little less field curvature at 16mm.
6 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S DX 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

3.8
Verdict: For those looking to go beyond what a kit lens has to offer their Nikon dSLR, there's Nikon's AF-S DX 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR. Compatible with all Nikon DX digital SLRs including the D300 , D60 , and D40 , there's an awful lot to decipher in its name.
Pros: Solidly built, Vibration Reduction image stabilisation, Strong manual focus capabilities
Cons: On the heavy side, Price is on the heavy side as well
11 years ago
 

Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

4.1
Verdict: The Nikkor DX 16-85mm VR was announced in January 2008 alongside the D60 DSLR. It equips all DX format bodies with a general-purpose range that's equivalent to 24-128mm, making it an ideal walk-around lens with wider coverage than most kit lenses.
Pros: Flexible range with 24mm wide-angle, Effective Vibration Reduction, Relatively quick and quiet SWM focusing, Metal lens mount with rubber sealing
Cons: Telephoto shorter than some kit zooms, Barrel shadow at 16mm with popup flash, DX 18-200mm VR available at similar price, Reports of undesirable bokeh around 50mm
10 years ago
 

Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR Lens

No reviews
Verdict: While I hope to create a full Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR Lens, my first priority is to include results from this lens in the lens comparison tools available on the site.
9 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR

3.0
Verdict: With an effective zoom range of 24-127.5mm on Nikon APS-C cameras, this lens is generous at both the wide-angle and telephoto ends of the scale. Despite this, it's surprisingly compact and sturdily built. Extras include a petal-shaped lens hood and soft pouch.
7 years ago
 

Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX AF-S Nikkor

No reviews
Verdict: Despite the limited focal length range, this lens is a versatile one for general purposes outdoors or even in museums with fairly poor light. The latter is because the VR works well enough that one can shoot through a small aperture for depth of field, and still be able to hand hold at ISO 1000 or...
Pros: Fairly small and handy, very sharp
Cons: Somewhat limited focal length range
6 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX Review

4.4
Verdict: With a second-generation VR system and handy focal range, is this the ideal all-purpose lens for Nikon DX-format bodies?
Pros: Solid MTF performance
Cons: Overall design doesn't 'gel
8 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S DX 16-85mm f3.5-5.6 G ED VR lens

3.5
Verdict: The Nikon AF-S DX 16-85mm f3.5-5.6 G ED VR is a well-built lens with very good sharpness and features to match, although its price puts it in a position for only the serious hobbyist looking for good glass in a medium zoom or for a working professional, such as a wedding photographer, who needs...
Pros: Solidly built; Vibration Reduction image stabilization; strong manual focus capabilities
Cons: On the heavy side; price on the heavy side as well
5 years ago
 

AF-S DX Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Zoom Lens

No reviews
Verdict: Jan 29th. One of Nikon's PMA announcements today is the new AF-S DX Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens designed for a broad range of shooting situations. When mounted on any DX-format Nikon digital SLR camera, the picture angle is equivalent to that produced by a 24 to 127.5mm focal length lens on...
11 years ago
 

Nikkor AF-S 16-85mm f/3-5-5.6G ED VR DX - Review / Test Report

3.4
Verdict: Despite some shortcomings the Nikkor AF-S 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX is probably still the best DX standard zoom lens in Nikon mount to date. It is very sharp throughout the range although there could be a little less field curvature (curved focus field) at 16mm.
11 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR

No reviews
Verdict: Vibration Reduction (VRII) Image Stabilization minimizes the effects of camera shake, allowing handheld shooting at up to 4 shutter speeds slower than would otherwise be possible, assuring dramatically sharper images.
1 year ago
 

Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX Review

4.0
Verdict: Handling and features Performance Verdict Specification This all purpose zoom for Nikon DX format SLR cameras provides an angle of view equivalent to a 24-127mm lens on a 35mm camera and costs around £450. It also sports Nikon's latest vibration reduction system and a silent wave focusing motor.
Pros: Very useful zoom range for general purpose photography, Vibration reduction, Very sharp at 16mm, Internal focusing
Cons: Drop off in resolution as the lens is zoomed (although the performance is still good, Occasional squeaking from the focusing motor on the tested sample
8 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S DX 16-85mm F/3.5-5.6 G ED VR review

3.0
Verdict: With an effective zoom range of 24-127.5mm on Nikon APS-C cameras, this lens is generous at both the wide-angle and telephoto ends of the scale. Despite this, it's surprisingly compact and sturdily built. Extras include a petal-shaped lens hood and soft pouch.
8 years ago
 

REVIEW: Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX Nikkor Lens Review

No reviews
Verdict: This all purpose zoom for Nikon DX format SLR cameras provides an angle of view equivalent to a 24-127mm lens on a 35mm camera and costs around £450. It also sports Nikon's latest vibration reduction system and a silent wave focusing motor.
10 years ago
 

Best combination of zoom range.

5.0
Verdict: My D80 came with the 18-135mm lens. After using this lens for a while I evaluated which focal lengths that I used the most. This lead me to purchase the 16-85mm.

The 135mm focal length required a tripod or other stead mount to get blur free images.
Pros: Durable
5 years ago
 

Nikon 16 - 85 mm Critical Review

4.0
Verdict: For general purpose, all-around photography, Nikon's kit lenses - the ones which come as part of a package deal with a camera outfit - are very good. One reviewer, for his / her purposes, found the 18 - 105 lens just as good as the 16 - 85 mm lens. For that person's use, I have no argument.
4 years ago
 

Exceeded my expectations...

5.0
Verdict: For me, this is pretty close to the perfect lens and the reason I recently switched from the Olympus 4/3 system to Nikon. Sharpness at all focal lengths is as good as any lens I've owned and better than most. Unbelievably solid construction too. The lens balances perfectly on my D60.
Pros: very sharp, even wide open • effective vibration reduction system • solid construction • excellent resistance to flare • weight • 5-year warranty
Cons: slight distortions, most evident at wide end of focal range • cost
11 years ago
 

excellent

5.0
Verdict: excellent len!
7 years ago
 

Great landscape lens

5.0
Verdict: I considered buying the Nikon D7000 with the normal one or two "lens outfit" but decided on this lens instead. I am glad I did. The 16-85 mm focla length is useful for everthing from portraits to landscape photography and is clear and sharp at both the low end and the high end focal lengths.
Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
8 years ago
 

No its not perfect but on a trip

5.0
Verdict: I got 3 lenses and this one is now "glued" to my camera . No its not perfect but on a trip , this single lense does an heck of a job
4 years ago
 

Versatile sharp lens

5.0
Verdict: I purchased this lens about a year ago and immediately started using it as my primary lens for my D5200, good size and weight, versatile focal range, I recommend this lens as a primary lens for the dx cameras, a little wider and a little longer than the standard, 18-55 kit lens
3 years ago
 

Good quality everyday lens for a hobbyist willing to spend a good amount

4.0
Verdict: Good for an everyday lens - the range is really good and it is something better than the kit lens zooms that you can get for cheap.
5 years ago
 

I expected much more for the price

2.0
Verdict: I bought this to replace the very basic lens that came with the camera. I already had a zoom and I hoped this one would keep me from having to switch lenses. The photos did not come out very clear which was why I bought the lens.
Pros: Replaces the limited lens it came with
Cons: for $600 I expected better zoom and better clarity
9 years ago
 

nikon 16-85mm ED VR Lens

5.0
Verdict: I have only had this lens for a few days but I am pleased with the results so far. The colors are very true. There is a little distortion but I'll need to work with it more to see if it's my inexperience or the lens.
Pros: VR
Cons: high price
11 years ago
 

"Nikon 16-85mm lens - does it deliver?"

5.0
Verdict: Nikon 16-85mm lens is the digital answer to Nikon 's highly popular 24-120mm lens in the film era. This lens has a great range, pretty accurate focussing and reasonable to excellent sharpness throughout its aperture range.
Pros: Colors, bokeh, controlled chromatic aberration....and sharpness
Cons: Price
10 years ago
 

Very sharp lens

5.0
Verdict: This lens is much better than some of the online reviews would have you believe. I trusted the reviews that I read from people who actually bought one and they were right, its a great lens.
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons: Heavy
9 years ago
 

... ageing 18-70mm Nikon lens (that is also a really good lens), so I'm not completely certain about the ...

5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens from Amazon Warehouse deals to replace an ageing 18-70mm Nikon lens (that is also a really good lens), so I'm not completely certain about the history of the lens before I got, but to me it looked to be brand new.
1 year ago
 

great lense

5.0
Verdict: I bought this a month ago. It is slightly snug when fitting on my camera, other than that, it works great. Covers the focal range on a great majority of the subjects.
2 years ago
 

Magic lens

5.0
Verdict: Great lens. It has given me more options when taking photographs
5 years ago
 

maybe I put too many hopes on this lens.

4.0
Verdict: thinking to use it with my new D7000 for all-around lens, not better than nikon 18-135mm, whitch I got with D80 kit, except the VR, It is a good quality built lens, but not justify the MSRP, so far slightly out of focus, but I'm working on it.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Too expensive
2 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR

4.5
Verdict: I've used this as my main "walk-around" lens for a few years now. I wanted the 24mm equivalent on the wide end and some telephoto (wish it had a little more, actually, like the Sony).
Pros: useful zoom range
Cons: wish it were sharper. had one mechanical issue
7 years ago
 

Great lens!

5.0
Verdict: Sharp, compact and lightweight (for a zoom) ... did I mention it was sharp! This is my go to lens, it rarely leaves my camera ... nice range (24 to 128 mm on a DX camera). Unless you're a pro photographer, this lens is worth condideration. Look up the multiple reviews online. Happy shooting!
8 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR

5.0
Verdict: Stunning - excellent general purpose but saturation on landscape pictures is superb. Fast focussing with VR stabilisation makes this my No 1 lens and it is used even more than my 18-200mm. I also have the 24-85mm D which is also great but tends to get left for close ups mainly.
Pros: Size/ weight, speed, wide angle capabilities, saturation, VR and price
Cons: None on my copy
9 years ago
 

Love it - Great Lens

5.0
Verdict: I purchased this lens along with my D90 two months ago. I picked this over the kit lens because of reviews promising delivery of durability and sharpness. My 3 year old tested the durability of the lens by dropping it on a tile floor, its still works.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
9 years ago
 

with excellent results from nikon d5200

5.0
Verdict: As a serious amateur photographer, this lens has been an idea addition. I have used this for portrait photos and several events, with excellent results from nikon d5200. Sharp, detail pictures.
1 year ago
 

Nikon 16-85

5.0
Verdict: This is a wonderfully versatile lens for Nikon crop sensor DSLRs with a 35mm equivalent focal range of 24-127mm. This makes it ideal for all types of photography from landscapes to portraits. It is very sharp across the whole focal range and has Nikons wonderful VR system to help with camera shake.
4 years ago
 

highly recommended lens

4.0
Verdict: this lens is a great big help to me,being lightweight it makes carrying it around easy,having m.s. i cant lug around heavy lenses,so this is ideal for me.
Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight
4 years ago
 

+100500

5.0
Verdict: good glass Sharp, and well done.Best for crop cameras. Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
6 years ago
 

Billiant lens

5.0
Verdict: Used with my D7000 I have found this to be an exceptionally sharp and useful lens to keep on as standard. A significant upgrade from the 18-70mm that I had on my previous D80. It goo to have the extra 2mm at wide, and also a useful overlap with my 70-300mm.
6 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR

4.0
Verdict: A great on the camera all the time lens. It feels well built, and the focus and zoom rings are tight and smooth, plus it has a metal mount. Optics are very good and sharp, but for the price I would expect a slightly faster lens.
8 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S DX 16-85mm Lens

5.0
Verdict: This is a very clear upgrade over the 18-105 kit lens that I have been using on my Nikon D90. The slight drop off in zoom is more than compensated for by having a better constructed lens that delivers sharper pictures across the entire range of zoom.
10 years ago
 

Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX AF-S Nikkor review by dda

No reviews
Verdict: Not the fastest, but in combination with my other gear, perfect for all round situations. Built Q is fine, but I stepped over from Olympus and I do have to state that Nikon should aim to do better here.
Pros: Good build Q / Sharp / Perfect for normal use
Cons: Not the fastest, but in combination with my other gear, perfect for all round situations
8 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S DX 16-85mm F3.5-5.6G ED VR

5.0
Verdict: I wanted to get something better than a kit lens to put on my new D 7100. While I'm not a pro photographer and I would love to to have some of Nikon's pro glass. I just couldn't justify the money. What I got for one third of the money is a lens that will hold it's own against Nikon's 24-70.
6 years ago
 

maybe I put too many hopes on this lens.

3.0
Verdict: thinking to use it with my new D7000 for all-around lens, not better than nikon 18-135mm, whitch I got with D80 kit, except the VR, It is a good quality built lens, but not justify the MSRP, so far slightly out of focus, but I'm working on it.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Too expensive
8 years ago
 

Good lens for dx bodies , wide to tele

5.0
Verdict: This is the best general purpose lens for nikon dx bodies and well constructed with metal inner tubes and metal mount with some weather sealing too , I love the wide 16 mm which is 24 mm when converted to full frame very good for landscapes .
9 years ago
 

Exceeded my expectations...

5.0
Verdict: For me, this is pretty close to the perfect lens and the reason I recently switched from the Olympus 4/3 system to Nikon. Sharpness at all focal lengths is as good as any lens I've owned and better than most. Unbelievably solid construction too. The lens balances perfectly on my D60.
Pros: very sharp, even wide open • effective vibration reduction system • solid construction • excellent resistance to flare • weight • 5-year warranty
Cons: slight distortions, most evident at wide end of focal range • cost
11 years ago
 

An Excellent Zoom Lens from a Genuine Camera Maker!

5.0
Verdict: I explored two zoom lenses: Nikon AF-S Nikkor VR 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED (IF) DX and Tokina 16-50mm f/2.8 ATX Pro DX. In this review, I will discuss the Nikkor AF-S 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR IF and will soon post a review of the Tokina 16-50mm f/2.8 as well.
Pros: Excellent focal range, image quality and packs all wonderful technology--AFS/VR/ED/IF--to make an excellent lens
Cons: 67mm filter size is a stinger! Build quality. Confusing focal length designation
10 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X