Nikon Nikkor AF-S 20mm F1.8G ED Reviews

$1,073.43 - $1,499.00 from 11 retailers
Manufacturer: Nikon
Expert Reviews: 
 4.1
User Reviews: 
 4.8
 
 

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED Lens Review

4.0
Verdict: This compact ultra wide angle lens from Nikon costs around £680 and sports a bright f/1.8 maximum aperture, silent, internal focusing with full time manual focus override and Nikon's Nano Crystal optical coating, to improve contrast while suppressing ghosting and flare.
Pros: Very sharp when stopped down, Relatively compact and lightweight, Silent focusing, Low distortion for an ultra-wide angle lens, Good value, Nano-Crystal optical coatings
Cons: Falloff of illumination is quite severe at max aperture, Could be sharper at maximum aperture
5 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 20mm F1.8G ED

No reviews
Verdict: With the ultra-wide view of a 20mm lens, you're free to capture expansive landscapes and architecture, wedding parties, an entire band on stage, crowd shots and much more. Add low-light capabilities to that view, and the shooting possibilities are nearly endless.
1 year ago
 

REVIEW: Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED Lens Review

No reviews
Verdict: This compact ultra wide angle lens from Nikon costs around £680 and sports a bright f/1.8 maximum aperture, silent, internal focusing with full time manual focus override and Nikon's Nano Crystal optical coating, to improve contrast while suppressing ghosting and flare.
4 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 20mm F1.8G ED

No reviews
Verdict: Perfect for astrophotography and landscapes. This lens is almost always in my bag. I would have to replace it if lost or damaged. I use it on both FX and DX.
Pros: Tack-sharp for a 20mm Good coma at 2.8 Lightweight Excellent color and contrast Amazing starburst effect when stopped down
Cons: Difficult to manually focus (live-view for astro
1 year ago
 

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED

4.5
Verdict: The Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED is a high-quality, compact and relatively affordable wide-angle lens for full-frame Nikon DSLR users, although it lacks any form of weather-sealing and optical image stabilisation.
5 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED

4.0
Verdict: The Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED ($799.95) is just one of many in the company's series of f/1.8 prime lenses. It's the widest of the bunch, but even when shot at its maximum aperture it is quite sharp in the center.
Pros: Ultra-wide field of view. Wide aperture. 7.8-inch close focus
Cons: Some edge softness unless stopped down. Modest barrel distortion. Lacks optical stabilization
5 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED review

No reviews
Verdict: Fixed-focal-length lenses seem to be flavour of the month right now, particularly with photographers looking for the best-quality optics to match the latest generation of high-resolution sensors. As such, the AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED should prove to be extremely popular.
4 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED review

4.0
Verdict: As optical design and construction improved, Nikon was able to introduce a more conventional Nikkor 20mm f/3.5 lens in 1967, and in 1989 the first Nikkor 20mm f/2.8 autofocus lens appeared.
4 years ago
 

Nikon 20mm F1.8

4.2
Verdict: Finally Nikon have an ultrawide angle lens with a fast aperture of F1.8. It also has the amazing VR which means you can handhold this lens at ridiculously slow shutter speeds. This means it is perfect interiors, architecture and landscapes where you do not have a tripod.
4 years ago
 

Best Nikon ultrawide prime ever made

5.0
Verdict: I think the other reviewers are missing the point with build... This is designed to be ultra lightweight, and I am actually very happy with that. It is actually annoying sometimes carrying around very heavy lenses: when you put an f/1.4 lens on your camera you can more than double the added weight...
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
4 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 20mm F1.8G ED

4.0
Pros: Sharp at all apertures, lightweight, low distortion for the Focal Length
Cons: None
4 years ago
 

You will look at the world in a new way!

5.0
Verdict: "I am shooting with a Nikon D810 full frame. I wanted a lighter lens by Nikkor with a wider angle of view. So I did my research and traded in Sigma 35 mm F/1.4 for this Nikkor 20 mm F/1.8. The new 24 mm F/1.8 is still too new and rare to see if it's any good.
3 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 20mm F1.8G ED

5.0
Verdict: I had the opportunity to do some interior shots with both the Nikon 14-24 mm f/2.8 and the 20 mm f/1.8 lens. At f/5.6 the definition of the 20 mm lens was just as good as the super 14-24 mm lens (at the same focal length).
4 years ago
 

Wish I hadn't waited. A sublime lens.

5.0
Verdict: I sweated for a while before buying this lens, because I was worried 20mm would be too limiting. Too wide or too this or too that, but... it isn't. The 20mm 1.8 is now finding its way onto my D610 at almost every shoot, and the results are fantastic.
2 years ago
 

High-quality and versatile wide-angle lens

4.0
Verdict: This is an astounding lens. I sold my 16-35mm f/4 for it and Im not regretting it for a minute. Its better in pretty much every regard (apart from the obvious lack of zoom). Ithits all the marks, including some aspects that are not always covered in reviews, but are important to me for landscape...
10 months ago
 

AWESOME PRIME LENS!!

5.0
Verdict: I love the 20mm f1.8 lens. It's sharp. The ultra-wide lens is perfect! I shot low light desert scenery as well as rows of brown-stones and city buildings in Chicago at night. The lens performed perfectly. The bokeh is perfect. I highly recommend this lens.
4 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED

5.0
Verdict: Its lightweight ...compact in size...pretty quick to focus and its sharp. I really like how the glass renders the images, color and contrast are very nice. Little to no distortion as well. I wanted to go with the ultra-wide zooms but...if you want to use a ND filter set..
10 months ago
 

Beautiful color rendition and sharp end to end

5.0
Verdict: What a cracker of a lens. Beautiful color rendition and sharp end to end
3 years ago
 

Nikon 20mm f/1.8G ED AF-S Nikkor review by Jonas

No reviews
Verdict: optically excellent, light weight for its size, easy to travel with, and well suited for hand held low light situations. The two attached photos were taken hand held at night with an aperture of f/1.8, shutter speeds of 1/100 and 1/125, and ISO levels of 1250 and 3200 pic 1 & pic 2 or here
Pros: Bright, light weight and wide aperture
Cons: none for video
4 years ago
 

Don't think about it, just buy

5.0
Verdict: This must be the best I have ever bought, it is not too heavy, unlike my trinity of zooms. The sharpness is breathtaking from corner to cornet. The distortion is minimal and the colours and contrast are perfect for me. Incredible
2 years ago
 

Very solid lens.

5.0
Verdict: I really like this lens. It's on my camera 75% of the time. Clarity is good. Focus is fast. Distortion is absolutely reasonable. A quality landscape lens if you use primes.
1 year ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X