Nikon Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F4G ED VR Reviews

$1,535.00 - $2,149.00 from 15 retailers
Manufacturer: Nikon
Expert Reviews: 
 4.4
User Reviews: 
 4.7
Features
Usability
 4.8
Value for money
 3.8
Features
 4.8
Product design
 4.8
Image quality
 4.8
 
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F4G ED VR

No reviews
Verdict: The Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm 1:4G ED VR, announced in February 2010, has the distinction of being the world's first ultra-wideangle lens to feature optical image stabilization. It's designed primarily for use on full-frame DSLRs, as a less-expensive alternative to the likes of the 17-35mm 1:2.8D or...
Pros: Very high image quality on both DX and FX formats, Excellent build quality with dust and moisture sealing, Highly effective optical image stabilization, Fast, silent autofocus with manual override
Cons: Huge barrel distortion at 16mm on FX cameras, Relatively big and heavy for its class (larger than many F2.8 wideangle zooms, Slightly inelegant flare handling
9 years ago
 

Nikon's AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR Zoom; Ultra-Wide For FX, Moderate Wide For DX Nikon D-SLRs

No reviews
Verdict: When you talk about lenses these days you always have to bring in the multiplication factor, especially when you have a lens that fits comfortably on both so-called full-frame and APS-C sensor cameras.
9 years ago
 

Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm f/4 G ED VR (DX) - Review / Lab Test Report

3.4
Verdict: On our 10 MP DX test camera, the Nikkor AF-S 16-35 VR is a very good wide-angle to normal zoom lens that shows excellent resolution in the center and very good border and corner sharpness at most focal length and aperture settings.
10 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S 16-35mm F/4G ED VR Lens Review

4.5
Verdict: The lens many Nikon photographers have been waiting for, an ultra wide-angle professional quality zoom lens with a constant aperture of F/4, Nano-Crystal lens coatings and Vibration Reduction.
Pros: Good all-round resolution performance, Lighter than f/2.8 lenses, Accepts 77mm filters, Vibration Reduction
Cons: Barrel distortion at 16mm, Vignetting at 16mm
9 years ago
 

Nikon 16-35mm f/4G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor

No reviews
Verdict: I sort of bought this lens by accident. I was in Hong Kong on holidays and more or less determined to buy some camera gear whilst there. I can't say I really wanted this lens over other lenses such as the 24-70 but it was in a better price range than that lens.
Pros: Excellent performance at pretty well all focal elngths and apertures, highly effective VR
Cons: None really but the build quality seemed a little less than I expected but having said this it is still very good
8 years ago
 

REVIEW: Nikon AF-S 16-35mm F/4G ED VR

No reviews
Verdict: Being the first of its kind, Nikon's new 16-35mm f/4 ultra-wide zoom, selling for £879, has garnered quite a lot of interest, especially from those who wish to use filters for landscape work, as Nikon's current top-line ultra-wide, the 14-24mm F/2.8 can't accept filters.
Pros: Good all-round resolution performance, Lighter than f/2.8 lenses, Accepts 77mm filters, Vibration Reduction
Cons: Barrel distortion at 16mm, Vignetting at 16mm
8 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F4G ED VR

No reviews
Verdict: Back in August 2007, when Nikon introduced the D3, their first full-35mm-frame, FX format digital SLR , they simultaneously updated five lenses: two shorter constant f/2.8 zooms: 14-24mm and 24-70mm and three 400, 500, and 600mm super telephotos with AF-S and vibration reduction (VR).
6 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR

5.0
Verdict: If you have read the entire review and downloaded some of the full-resolution samples provided, you will probably agree that the Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR is a very fine lens.
9 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR

4.0
Verdict: If you love capturing images and video at dramatic wide angles, the Nikon AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR ($1,259.95) is a lens that should be on your radar. It's one of a trio of modern G-series Nikkor zooms that cover ultra-wide perspectives on full-frame cameras , sitting between the AF-S Nikkor...
Pros: Good center sharpness. Optically stabilized design. Ultra-wide field of view
Cons: Noticeable distortion at 16mm. Soft edges at wider apertures
4 years ago
 

AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR Lens

4.2
Verdict: The AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR lens provides a lower-priced (though still expensive) alternative to Nikon's other wide zoom lenses, which are a full f-stop faster. Designed to meet the performance demands of the company's FX sensor DSLRs, it is also fully compatible with DX-format cameras and...
Pros: You want an ultra-wide zoom lens for landscape or architectural photography, You require professional performance and build quality at an affordable price, You want high resolution at all focal lengths, along with good flatness of field, You'd like built-in image stabilisation, You'd like a lens
9 years ago
 

Nikon 16-35mm f/4G AF-S VR Lens

No reviews
Verdict: While I hope to create a full Nikon 16-35mm f/4G AF-S VR Lens, my first priority is to include results from this lens in the lens comparison tools available on the site. This page currently exists because it is required by the database and content management systems for me to post information and...
9 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F4G ED VR

No reviews
Verdict: Landscapes, cityscapes and interiors often require an extra-wide-angle lens to capture the complete picture. With the AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR, you not only get focal lengths that cover a remarkably broad range, but your images will also benefit from the handheld steadiness of Nikon's VR...
1 year ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F4G ED VR

No reviews
Verdict: Extremely useful, will spend a lot of time on your camera.
Pros: Super sharp at every focal length, constant aperture
Cons: Feels plastic, flimsy hood. Lots of distortion
4 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S 16-35mm f/4G ED VR Review

5.0
Verdict: The most obvious thing about this lens, however, is its quietness: it really is virtually silent in AF mode. It is also very quick and focuses both accurately and reliably. Manual intervention can be used in AF mode but there was no occasion when it was needed during testing.
Pros: Stunning optical quality
Cons: Slippery barrel finish
9 years ago
 

Nikon AF-S 16-35mm f/4G ED VR Review

4.8
Verdict: This new lens, the Nikon 16-35mm, is the world's first ultra-wide zoom to offer vibration reduction (VR-II) technology. The What Digital Camera Nikon AF-S 16-35mm f/4G review finds out how it fares
Pros: Stunning optical quality
Cons: Slippery barrel finish
9 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F4G ED VR

5.0
Verdict: So wonderful to have this lens in its original box after 3 days. Great service and delivery.
Pros: Brand new & original as ads
4 years ago
 

Excellent lens, well built and practical

5.0
Verdict: Bought this because I have already the 14-24mm but I am always worried about damaging the lens during outdoor photography. The 16-35 in my opinion is more practical as a travel/outdoor lens. The only thing I miss on that lens is the look at 14mm. Which is why I intend to keep both.
5 years ago
 

good walk around lens

5.0
Verdict: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: none
9 years ago
 

Highly recommended!

5.0
Verdict: I recently switched to the full frame Nikon D700 camera, and wanted a really good and versatile wide angle zoom lens. I researched this lens on 3-4 different lens review sites, and because the reviews were quite good, I decided to buy it.
7 years ago
 

Nikon 16-35mm f/4G ED VR II AF-S Nikkor review by CraigH

No reviews
Verdict: I preordered this lens when it was announced, something I don't ever do, but I wanted an ultra wide for FX to go the the Grand Tetons with. I read the initial reviews posted by the internet forum nay-sayers and felt a bit discouraged. Then I got the lens and actually used it.
Pros: Very sharp, fairly light weight, perfect ultra wide range, balances nicely
Cons: None
7 years ago
 

Excellent for the price

5.0
Verdict: I debated on this versus the 14-28. This is considerably smaller and lighter which appealed to me. I took this on a recent vacation to Ireland and was expecting major distortion and some softness at the longer end based on some (not all) reviews.
1 year ago
 

Terrific Lens

5.0
Verdict: Great lens for scenics and shooting in cramped interiors. Focal length range is a short, but still very useful. Allows for very short camera to subject distance with distortion very well-controlled at all apertures and focal lengths. Great depth-of-field.
8 years ago
 

Sharp from edge to edge

5.0
Verdict: I just received this lens a few days ago. In a time-lapsed starscape test, at 16mm the stars are in sharp focus all the way out to the corners of the video. I look forward to many more fine images from this great lens.
3 years ago
 

Worth every penny

5.0
Verdict: I have used the best lenses Nikon has to offer and boy they are nice. This one is Just a little slower, but just as sharp yet not as expensive or heavy as the 14-24 f2.8. Very happy with the purchase and quick shipping.
Pros: Sharpness ,cost ,weight
Cons: It's not f2.8 but so far I haven't needed it
4 years ago
 

This is the Wide Angle Lens You Need

5.0
Verdict: You want tack sharp, you got it. You want great focusing capabilities, you got it. Color fidelity is excellent. Yes it's a little heavy, it's a professional lens, get over it.
6 years ago
 

Great versatile wide angle - xlnt for travel

5.0
Verdict: Purchased this lens last year and recently took it with me to Vietnam, Cambodia . I was very impressed with the quality of the images produced It is a superb street camera.
6 years ago
 

NICE

5.0
Verdict: This lens is AWESOME. If you love wide, it does wonders on a full frame camera. Before purchasing, I've debated between this lens and the legendary 17-35mm. In the end, I wound up buying this lens and am loving it; no regrets whatsoever. A cool feature of this lens is its focusing distance.
6 years ago
 

Excellent Lens for So Many Applications - It has earned a special spot in my camera bag, and I always take it with me.

5.0
Verdict: Every photograph is a compromise (e.g., shutter speed, ISO, f/stop), every piece of equipment is a compromise (e.g., cost, weight, capabilities). For what I like to do, this lens is perfection. Nikon offers quite a few similar lenses, so you might want to shop carefully.
1 year ago
 

Overall A Great, Flexible Lens

4.0
Pros: Fast / accurate auto-focus, Flexible, High contrast, Sharp, VR
Cons: Lacks 'brilliance, Poor in Low Light
5 years ago
 

I used this lens with my Nikon D750, and ...

5.0
Verdict: I used this lens with my Nikon D750, and I found the pictures not very sharp. I returned the lens to Amazon.
3 years ago
 

Unleash the Potential of your FX DSLR

5.0
Verdict: A truly great lens I've had for a year and have come to know as my go-to for interiors, architecture, capturing big grandeur nature scenes, and shooting vehicles. When I put this lens on my D800E on a tripod and shoot with a cable release in Mirror-Up mode, it consistently shows that my investment...
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus
6 years ago
 

Amazingly Sharp!

5.0
Verdict: This lens is fantastic on a full frame camera (D700 / D3). It's one of the sharper ultra wide / wide angle zooms out there and easily surpasses the 17-35 f/2.8. The VR is also extremely good, I can shoot 1/30s and have no blur in the photo.
8 years ago
 

best ultrawide zoom out there

5.0
Verdict: This is Nikon's best and sharpest ultrawide zoom, even better than the beastly 14-24mm. It is sold out and backordered everywhere. The sale price is excellent and you should get yours before they sell out!
Pros: sharp, sharp, sharp
Cons: nothing
10 years ago
 

"I would buy this product again and agai

5.0
Verdict: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Great for Night Pictures, Lightweight, Strong Construction
8 years ago
 

Clean and sharp, easy to hand hold.

3.0
Verdict: I needed a good ultra wide angle lens for western landscapes, eastern fall color, busy cityscapes, opportunities of the moment, and more. I couldn't be more pleased by large images created with this lens on a D750. Sharp, with very good detail and contrast, and control of internal reflections.
1 year ago
 

Poor Performer

5.0
Verdict: I own a lot of Nikon lenses and this one is the biggest disappointment to date. I really don't know what Nikon were thinking It has horrendous barrel distortion at 16mm and is soft past 30mm. Edge sharpness is poor throughout but almost unusable at 35mm.
2 years ago
 

Excellent sharpness, VR makes a huge difference for low ligh

4.0
Verdict: Pros: On my D800 this lens is as sharp as my nikon 20 and 35 mm primes. In a zoom that is a spectacular achievement. It is obviously much slower but for the landscape shooting I do with it the VR lets me hand hold down to half a second easily and a second if I brace myself on something.
5 years ago
 

Bees Knees

3.0
Verdict: I use this lens for wider shots of the landscape and capturing images of sky and water. The lens is pin sharp and I have noticed no distortions in my images (although I don't test to the nth degree). This is a must have for me and I don't think I could bought a better lens for the quality / cost.
Pros: Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
4 years ago
 

A good easy to use ultrawide

5.0
Verdict: The 16-35mm f/4 is a solid but not spectacular lens. It can't compare to optically or in build quality to the Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G, 17-35mm f/2.8D or Tamron 15-30mm f/2.8 VC but it has advantages in other areas. The build is good and it is weather sealed.
1 year ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF-S 16-35mm F4G ED VR

5.0
Verdict: A lot of mixed reviews out there. I having nothing bad to say about this lens. Opposite in fact. It is sharper across the frame than the 17-35 with less vignetting (almost nil), better contrast and 16 is nice to have on the wide end. The VR is very useful on a wide angle lens.
9 years ago
 

Love this lens, not too big, travel grea

4.0
Verdict: Great for travel, not too big, great for landscape photos.
Pros: Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus
9 years ago
 

Three Stars

3.0
Verdict: The lens is working fine.
8 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X