Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8D Reviews

$180.00 - $309.18 from 24 retailers
Manufacturer: Nikon
Expert Reviews: 
 4.4
User Reviews: 
 4.5
Features
Usability
 4.2
Value for money
 5.0
Features
 4.2
Product design
 4.6
Quality
 3.3
 
 

Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8D

No reviews
Verdict: Don't wanna miss it - and don't restrict myself to portrait, works well outdoor, and for "party photography" as well
Pros: Very good value for the money, great for portrait. Sharpness of pics is unbeaten
Cons: None found so far for the lens itself, the housing could be a bit "less plastic
6 years ago
 

Nikon 50mm 1.8D Prime Lens

No reviews
Verdict: I picked up a copy of the ubiquitous Nikon 50mm F/1.8 prime lens over the weekend and tried my hand at forced manual focusing on the D40 body. For the first hour or so, I had a hell of a time, trying to gauge the focus through the viewfinder without any additional help.
11 years ago
 

Nikon 50mm F/1.8D a must for a photographer

4.7
Verdict: Easily the best lens in its price range and a must for a beginner or semi-pro in prime range. It is well know for its portability and bokeh effect.Best used in low light conditions and indoor for portraits and landscapes.
7 years ago
 

Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Lens

No reviews
Verdict: While I hope to create a full Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Lens, my first priority is to include results from this lens in the lens comparison tools available on the site. This page currently exists because it is required by the database and content management systems for me to post information and standard...
9 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8D

4.8
Verdict: I can still remember the sound of the AF while its hunting the subject- i listened it much. Under f/2.2 it was sharp as plastic bag covered with snot but at 2.2 and above it was quite good.
Pros: Cheap, good iq when stopped down
Cons: AF inconstancy, lack of sharpness when opened
2 years ago
 

Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8 D - Review / Test Report

3.6
Verdict: The Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8 D is a low profile lens with less sex-appeal than the big glass but it is an interesting lens nonetheless. At wide-open aperture it is a little soft at the image borders and the contrast level is a little on the low side.
11 years ago
 

A classic lens for people who want the classic '80s SLR feel when shooting

5.0
Verdict: First off, please do note that this is an AF-D lens, which means it auto-focuses on Nikon DSLRs with a screw mount (D7xxx series and all full frame Nikon DSLRs). Having said that, this lens is a must for anyone who wants the 'old-school' feel- to use the aperture ring on the lens itself.
2 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8D

5.0
Verdict: Amazing lens, specially when f1.8 shallow DOF. pictures are really sharp. Really good for portrait photography and the same time low light conditions. Cheap but best lens, love this.
Pros: Great lens worth for money
Cons: Nothing
3 years ago
 

Probably the best value for money lens you can own

5.0
Verdict: This is an excellent lens. Its lightweight, produces beautifully sharp images and is fast enough to extend the available light before you need to resort to a flash. The relatively wide aperture (compared with a zoom lens) produces a nice bokeh and at around $180 it makes no sense not to have one.
Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
5 years ago
 

Very pleased with this lens.

5.0
Verdict: Works perfectly on my Nikon D80 - the clarity of the pictures is amazing. I bought it to supplement a couple of zoom lenses that I have, and the lens quality appears higher with a fixed focus "standard" lens.
7 years ago
 

A must have for your kit bag

5.0
Verdict: They dont call these fast 50's for nothing. a very overlooked lens but when you use it right the results are amazing and you will end up using this more than all other lenses. great for outdoor shots and nice macro style close ups.just make sure you get UV filter to protect the lens.
Pros: Add Depth To Your Picture, Easy To Use, Great Resolution
Cons: Feels Slightly Cheap
7 years ago
 

Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor review by mohawk51

No reviews
Verdict: This one feels like it could break at any minute. I personally like the earlier version of this lens, the 50 F1.8 AIS (metal, not the pancake one). The one that focuses down to 0.45 I believe. I've had this version for some 20+ years. I'm not sure the 1.8D would last for 20 years.
Pros: None really come to mind
Cons: I've been spoiled by metal AIS lenses. Don't like the build of this one
7 years ago
 

Not for everyone...

3.0
Verdict: I don't agree that this is a must have lens. If you own a DX camera like the D90 or D7000 then the 35mm f/1.8 DX is probably a better choice because of the effect of the cropped sensor on focal length which makes this lens a 75mm in the real world.
8 years ago
 

Great Lense for the price

5.0
Verdict: Great lense for the price, it takes great shots but i am a little dissapointed that the AF feature does not synch with my camera. It is difficut to manually focus every time you move. This I do not like when trying to get children who move a lot.
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons: Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
8 years ago
 

Flawed Genius

4.0
Verdict: Perfect all rounder that's sharp corner to corner from f1.4 up and perfect for portraits on a DX body. Just let down by it's pedestrian and sometimes hesitant auto focus and its plastic body which I'd thought ought to be better on a lens that costs the thick end of £300 However I'd rather have...
Cons: Slow Focus
2 years ago
 

Camera Lense

5.0
Verdict: Takes sharp beautiful pictures. I'm in the learning stages of using this lens but so for I am very well pleased with the product.
5 years ago
 

Great price great lens

5.0
Verdict: I love manual focus and its very very good for portraits. if you have children and want to take photos of them do not miss it. one of the must have lens.
7 years ago
 

Nikon Nikkor AF 50mm F1.8D

5.0
Verdict: Bought the 50mm 1.8 for my Nikon D7000. Coming from my 18-200mm lens, this is Outstanding. It takes Crisp sharp Images even when the subject is in motion. I had been debating on this 1.8D vs the 1.8G (which is more expensive) and decided to give this a shot.
9 months ago
 

Difficult to get tact sharp with manual focus.

3.0
Verdict: Focusing on near things are easy to do but focusing a human body from a distance with manual focus is very difficult to do so. Once u get it, camera image quality is good, nice bookeh, cheapest too
3 years ago
 

wouldn't autofocus at first.

5.0
Verdict: Just got the lens today and right out of the box I couldn't get it to autofocus on my Nikon D7000. This lens seemed to be a very tight fit when I twisted it onto the camera body. I could manually focus the lens, but couldn't get it to autofocus.
Pros: Small and compact
Cons: Tight fit
4 years ago
 

Fast and cheap prime lens

4.0
Verdict: Really fast lens with manual aperture control that takes really great photos indoors using ambient light without the need for a flash. The lens itself looks well made and is very compact.
6 years ago
 

Great Quality

5.0
Verdict: Although I am a complete amateur, this lens is very easy to use. I was looking for a good portrait lens that would allow good light in those low light situations that you didn't want to use a flash. This was exactly what I was looking for.
5 years ago
 

Perfect manual focus lens

4.0
Verdict: I bought this lens when I was just starting to figure out how to use my dslr, and it was not difficult to figure out. It is perfect for portraits and nature shots as well. It does not focus well on things less than 5 inches away. However, I believe you can shoot macro with it.
Pros: clarity, bokeh, focus
Cons: MF only
5 years ago
 

Absolutely stunning lens.

5.0
Verdict: Absolutely stunning little thing. Images are crisp & sharp. I\'m a self taught photographer & use this little beauty outdoors all the time & sometimes in my studio shoots. I can 100% recommend getting this lens, it\'s definitely one for the collection. I wouldn\'t ever go anywhere without it!
Pros: ,
6 years ago
 

Grymt!

4.0
Verdict: Helt klart ett objektiv som är användbart. Speciellt till porträtt bilder och det passar perfekt som första objektiv efter kitobjektivet. Den stora bländaren gör att du kan fota när det är mörkt vilket gör att du slipper brusiga bilder eller använda blixt.
Pros: Priset, helt klart, Den stora bländaren, Bildkvaliteten är fantastisk för priset, Fungerar både med DX och FX kameror, Litet och smidigt
Cons: Finns inte mycket negativt men 50mm blir 75mm på DX så det passar inte så bra i alla sammanhang, Det är ett manuellt objektiv, kräver därför en kamera med motor om man vill ha autofokus
9 years ago
 

Good lens wth shortcomings

3.0
Verdict: The lens does not have an internal motor and so I had to focus manually. This resulted in more than 80% of shots being out of focus with an aperature setting of 4 or bigger. When I get the focus right however, the photos are stunning.
Pros: Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons: Hard to focus manualy
8 years ago
 

Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

5.0
Verdict: This lens is a little gem! It's pretty soft wide open, but gets better quickly stopped down, and better means excellent here. This little 50mm lens is one of Nikon's sharpest lenses, though the AFS f/1.4 version might allow for a little more sharpness at f/1.8.
Pros: - *very* sharp stopped down (f/4) - inexpensive - small - lightweight
Cons: - soft wide open
9 months ago
 

1.8 is Sweet

4.0
Verdict: Purchased this lens for use in low light situations, like inside restaurants and photographing food. It's on Ken Rockwell's top 10 Nikon lenses list. Have also used it for street photography. Nifty addition to my lens collection without breaking the bank. Lightweight!
2 years ago
 

It is the lense I needed.

4.0
Verdict: Good quality and price.
1 year ago
 

"Hot spot" aberrations at apertures lower than f/11 - please, please, do not purchase this lens. Research it first.

1.0
Verdict: When a customer purchases a lens from Nikon, it is generally assumed that the product will meet the highest standards of quality and dependability. This is why I was so surprised to discover a "purple spot", or "pale blue dot" visible at lower apertures on the AF Nikkor 50 mm 1.8...
5 years ago
 

A photo journalist's best companion

4.0
Verdict: Not all the time a photo journalist can use the flash on the camera to click pictures. Certain pictures have to be clicked without anyone noticing it. This is where the Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8 D Lens comes into play.
6 years ago
 

Nikkor AF 50mm f1.8D

4.0
Verdict: Not as good as AFS 50mm F1.8G for regular photography, slower focus, but manual control over aperature works better for video recording since it can be done on the fly. Optional reverse mount works for Macro photography. Impossible to turn down when on sale!
6 years ago
 

Huge surprise

No reviews
Verdict: I purchased this lens for its low light ability compared to kit lenses and its affordable price. I was not expecting the huge jump in clarity and sharpness, or the instant focus ability, now I see why pros tout prime lenses. Very highly recommended.
5 years ago
 

Unbelievably Sharp!!!

4.0
Verdict: It's amazing that one of Nikon's sharpest lenses ever is also one of its cheapest! You can pay three times as much for the 1.4D version, but you'd be very hard pressed to tell the difference between the final images.The only drawback to this lens is that it is very prone to lens flare.
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Sharp, Strong Construction
Cons: Prone to lens flare
7 years ago
 

Does not AF (autofocus) with the D3000, D5000

4.0
Verdict: The AF only works with the DSLR cameras that have the autofocus motor within the camera body - if you are using a D3000, D5000, etc you need the AF-S. However this AF lens will focus with versions like the D7000 and others because they have the built-in focus drive motor.
7 years ago
 

Dirts inside lense.

5.0
Verdict: there are two big black dots ( should be dirts) inside the lense. picture quality is good, hardware is garbage. Probably they sell the open box lense as brand new one. Never come back.
1 year ago
 

Great lens

5.0
Verdict: I previously had a Sony alpha A mount camera and used minolta lenses. This 50mm (along with my new Nikon camera) blows my old gear out of the water. The images are clear and the bokeh is beautiful.
1 year ago
 

Great results

5.0
Verdict: Good lens at the price. Works on both SLR and DSLRs. The lens is quite sharp at either end of the apertures. Needs to be handled carefully though because of its plastic built but that is something any camera user is accustomed to
4 years ago
 

Nice lens to buy

No reviews
Verdict: with Warranty from croma, its trusted service.
5 years ago
 

Superb value for a very capable lens.

5.0
Verdict: I have been pleasantly surprised at the quality of images I consistently get from this little lens. For the price, there isn't much to complain about. No, it's not the sharpest lens in the world when shooting it wide open - nor will it produce the best bokeh at that range - but stopped down to...
5 years ago
 

Great Nifty Fifty

5.0
Verdict: Make sure your camera has an AF motor built in (higher end Nikons, such as D7000, D7100, any FX camera) otherwise the lens will be completely manual. Also remember if you have a DX sensor, your lens won't be f/1.8 @ 50mm, but something like f/2.7 @ 75mm.
Pros: Very fast lens Bokeh is great Very inexpensive Works on FX and DX sensors Fast focus
Cons: No internal AF motor, so you need a camera that has a AF motor or be okay with manual focus Does not come with lens hood Focusing is loud
5 years ago
 

Surprisingly Crisp

5.0
Verdict: This lens is really suited for nearly any activity. Indoor, low light shooting, weddings and special events, landscape and wildlife, night shooting with long exposures, and with the reversing ring it becomes an amazing macro lens.
7 years ago
 

"Great DX portrait lens, if a touch outdated"

5.0
Verdict: "The good: Optically excellent in all respects. Makes a nice close portrait lens on DX. Build quality is decent, although not up to the standards of Canon's L or Nikon's older manual versions. The bad: Focus gearing is a bit on the slow side for such a small lens (~4 turns for macro to infinity).
8 years ago
 

Nikon 50mm f1.8 AF Lens

No reviews
Verdict: I've recently accquired this lens for use with my Nikon D40. The Nikon 50mm f1.8 is the cheapest lens in the Nikon lineup, but it is also one of the sharpest. The lens is able to shoot at apertures ranging from f1.8 to f22, and with a minimum focusing distance of 0.5m.
10 years ago
 

great value for the price

5.0
Verdict: this was my first every prime lense I used along with my nikon D3300 and D7100. On my 3300 it would not auto focus but on the 7100 it does. other than that this took my amateur photography to a whole other level.
11 months ago
 

Hard to beat for the $$

5.0
Verdict: I bought this to get me started with my D610 a few months ago, and have been very impressed with most every shooting situation. In lower light it does hunt sometimes, and I kinda wish I would have sprung for the 1.4D or 1.4G, but I don't anticipate this being my most often used lens.
1 month ago
 

Nice Buy

5.0
Verdict: This lens is an amazing deal. A 50 mm focus , also gives an amazing picture and image quality. IT attracts pictures in low vision , this can give a good deal to all the photographers.
6 years ago
 

Love this lens!

5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens as I wanted a good low light lens but this lens is a great all round lens! Tack sharp, fast, great in low light, light weight, makes a great portrait lens & has nice bokeh
6 years ago
 

Loving the sharpness

5.0
Verdict: It's hard getting used to a non-zoom lens again, I feel like it makes me concentrate on the entire process more. Love the lens, it's fast and sharp. And a crazy low price!
7 years ago
Powered by
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X