Netgear R7000P Reviews

$326.45 - $348.90 from 4 retailers
★★★★ 4.1
Manufacturer: Netgear
X
4.1 ★★★★
Based on 48 reviews.
 

Netgear R7000 Router Review

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: Netgear's Nighthawk AC 1900 Smart WiFi Router, better known as the R7000, is for those who need to save a few bucks while creating an up-to-date wireless network. At $190, it's priced about $100 less than the competition (including Netgear's own R8000) and delivers strong throughput, but can't match...
Pros: 
  • Excellent combined throughput
  • Genie software
  • Removable antennas
  • Affordable
  • Open-source firmware
Cons: 
  • Disappointing range
  • Large in-wall AC adapter
4 years ago

Hangs just about every day

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I use the Nighthawk in Spain with Vodafone ONO and a CBN (Compal Broadband Network) CG7486E router. It sits in a room above where the CBN router is and the signal strength is excellent.
Pros: 
  • Fast when it works
Cons: 
  • Stops working just about every night
4 years ago

Netgear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Smart WiFi Router Review

★★★★★
Verdict: While most of us are always looking for the best possible PC hardware including CPUs, memory modules, graphics cards and solid state drives there are others who are struggling to find the best possible WiFi router to complete or to expand their home or work wireless network.
Pros: 
  • - Build Quality
  • - Design
  • - Wireless Performance (Fastest In Our Charts
  • - AC1900 Technology (Concurrent 802.11n & 802.11ac
  • - User Friendly Web Interface
  • - Features
  • - Technologies Used (Beamforming & TurboQAM
  • - Android & iOS App
  • - 4 Gigabit Ethernet Ports
  • - 2 USB Ports (USB 3.0 & USB 2.0
Cons: 
  • - Price (For Some
7 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: It seems NETGEAR is on a constant refresh loop with many of their product lineups. What started years ago as a single solution with the R7000 Nighthawk is now the name for an entire portfolio of products.
4 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★
Verdict: NETGEAR's original R7000 Nighthawk has stood the test of time, becoming one of the top-selling AC class routers. NETGEAR has wisely left the design alone, resisting the lure of a Rev A to shave a few pennies off manufacturing cost.
4 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: In all, despite the clunky web user interface, the Netgear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 is a triumph. It may not deliver the fastest top speed over 802.11ac, but its class-leading range across all network types more than makes up for this slight lack of top-end grunt.
7 years ago

Netgear R7000 Nighthawk 802.11ac Wireless Router Review and Giveaway

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: For future-proofing, it's a great buy. But for current needs, you'll get a better deal from a cheaper router.
7 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★
Verdict: Netgear's R7000 Nighthawk is one of the fastest, if not the fastest routers you can buy today. In addition to leading the field when it comes to throughput, the router offers stellar range and a host of features that differentiate it against other AC1900 routers, like the Asus RT-AC68U and Linksys...
7 years ago

Netgear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Wireless Router Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Netgear's R7000 Nighthawk Dual-Band AC router delivers everything that a flagship router is supposed to. Cutting-edge speeds, user-friendly GUI and a competitive price
7 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★
Verdict: As far as we're concerned, if we put everything together, Netgear provides one of the better routers currently available with the R7000 Nighthawk. It especially performs exceptionally well on 802.11ac and when under heavy loads, The other tests show it performs well in other areas too.
7 years ago

love it!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: My family really enjoys our new wifi router. The set up was really easy, and we have about 15 devices connected to our internet. It has increased our internet speed significantly and we enjoy our purchase.
2 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This router has successfully served as the backbone of a 30 device network with ten users. It was running DHCP up until recently (before moving to a dedicated server) but rarely had any issues.
Pros: 
  • - Tonnes and tonnes of settings
  • - Full of features
  • - Solid dual band
  • - Guest network works properly
  • - Doesn't choke on high traffic
  • - Looks great
  • - Customizeable
Cons: 
  • - Large size, - Router has to reboot for even small setting changes, taking everything offline, - Free support is only offered for 90 days
  • After that it's paid
  • Luckily I haven't ever needed it
5 years ago

Prepare to pay the price.

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Iwas definitely under the impression that this router could provide signal throughout my 2 story home. It was better than my old netgear router but I still had to purchase a netgear range extender to cover the further points of my house.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Set Up
  • Fast
  • Fast Connection Speed
Cons: 
  • Dissappointing Coverage
6 years ago

An expensive and not useful solution

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: The worse technology for an expensive device, after the setup it lost the configuration in less than one week, I did it again twice, all my cameras and devices was offline several times, it wasn't my provider issues, I'll keep my cheap and stable router tplink, it's just 1/3 of the NETGEAR router...
2 years ago

Easy setup, seems to work...ok

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The setup for this device was extremely easy. I really like the inclusion of Disney Circle and some of the other advanced features. As far as operationally, I'm getting periodic network drops in which I will lose my internet connection. The local LAN stays online.
2 years ago

NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Smart WiFi Router - 802.11ac Dual Band Gigabit (R7000)

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I got this router about 3 days ago. So far it is a great router. I did struggle with connecting when I first set it up but I called customer service and they got it up and running quickly. I'm sure if I had read the directions thi step would not of been needed, haha. The strength if great.
3 years ago

Major Dissapointment

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I am a CCNP certified network engineer, I understand how this equipment is supposed to work, but it fails miserably at what it is supposed to do.
Pros: 
  • Wired connectivity is rock solid
Cons: 
  • I have had a Dell laptop
6 years ago

I got a lemon

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Was happy after spending about 50 minutes with Netgear cust. service upon first purchase. Speed great and wireless. Then had to reset router after 2 days (no connection). Then everyday. And even multiple times per day. Final after 5th week, it quit working altogether.
Pros: 
  • Quiet
Cons: 
  • Build Quality
  • Expensive
  • Performance
  • lemon
3 years ago

Great router

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I'm SO happy with this router! Our old router required us to reset the router multiple times per day- not with this one!! It was extremely easy to install, worked immediately. I've used it with my iphone, ipad, and PC. Works great with all and extends the reach of our wifi.
4 years ago

Netgear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: This is Netgear's long awaited ‘AC1900 Wi-Fi' rival to current top dogs the and . We say "long awaited" because this sassily named router actually launched at the same time as its rivals in the US, but we have waited five months for it to appear in the UK.
Pros: 
  • Fastest peak throughput yet
  • Slick design
  • Front mounted USB port
  • Class leading USB network performance
Cons: 
  • Loses out at range to AC1900 rivals
  • Asus & Linksys rivals offer easier setup
  • Premium pricing
5 years ago

Netgear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: KitGuru says: Once you look past the peculiar styling you'll find an impressive piece of hardware
Pros: 
  • High 802.11ac transfer speeds
  • Simultaneous 5GHz+2.4GHz
  • Easy set-up
  • USB 3.0 port for add-in storage
  • USB 2.0 printer support
  • Impressive QoS options for consumer market
  • Decent set-up software with heaps of options
  • Weird and wonderful styling (if you like that sort of thing)
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Poor 2.4GHz 802.11n performance
  • mainly because of the tiny A6100 USB adapter
  • Takes a while to save changes in set-up
  • Limited appeal for professional market
  • Weird and wonderful styling (if you have conventional tastes)
7 years ago

Netgear R7000 Nighthawk Router

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: The home networking demand is growing on a daily basis, so at AVForums we decided to put the new 'Nighthawk' Wireless router under the microscope.
Pros: 
  • Design
  • Wi-Fi Range
  • Briiliant QoS
Cons: 
  • Price
7 years ago

Netgear Nighthawk R7000 802.11ac router review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: From every 802.11ac wireless router we've tested to date, the Netgear sets the benchmark of what is currently possible. It's our fastest 802.11ac router. Here's our Netgear Nighthawk R7000 802.11ac router review.
6 years ago

Netgear R7000 Nighthawk Smart Wi-Fi Router review

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: The Netgear R7000 Nighthawk is a router that squeezes as much as possible onto the specification list. With a reasonably high price of £165 (US$184, AU$255), it's a high-end model, and it comes with a 1GHz dual-core processor.
7 years ago

Netgear R7000 Nighthawk AC1900

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Outlandish design, but rip-roaring performance leads to a well-deserved A-List award for Netgear's flagship router
7 years ago

Netgear R7000 Nighthawk review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk: Not cheap, but this exciting-looking router is the stuff of dreams
7 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★
Verdict: I know the phrase "first-world problems" is overused these days, and I overused it myself lately when a resident daughter was moaning bitterly about the parts of our house where the wifi signal is non-existent. But then internet black holes are very annoying.
6 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: There is little to dislike about this unit. I found the installation easy enough although instructions were very basic (I am a beginner). Wifi speeds appear to be good, although I am only sending the signal around a small house and cannot comment on distance of the wifi as I have not tested this.
3 years ago

Definitely looks the part, but looks can be deceiving.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Definitely looks the part, smooth, slick, stealth like appearance. The UI is clear, concise and exactly what you want it to be. Handy apps for your tablet and phone give complete control. The 5Ghz wireless network gives superb speeds, definite improvement for my Shield Tablet in console mode.
7 years ago

So much better than the VM provided router!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have been frustrated by the Virgin Media CM Router for some time and needed something a little more powerful. The stock firmware seems good but I will probably be flashing it with ddwrt or tomato. Good build quality and I got it in the sale.
3 years ago

not for newbies!

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: All I wanted was better wi-if and this seemed to fit the bill.... until it arrived! The phone jack doesn't plug into this - a router with no phone connection? So I had to buy a modem as well.
6 years ago

NETGEAR Nighthawk R7000 WiFi Cable & Fibre Router - AC 1900, Dual-band

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • Easy to set up and use
  • Gives good coverage around the house and into the garden
Cons: 
  • Bit pricey
5 years ago

5Ghz is flaky

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Exchanged for a different router with a more reliable 5Ghz radio. If the 5Ghz band isn't critical for you and you don't require an advanced firmware (without going aftermarket) then this router would be just fine for you.
Pros: 
  • -Great range -Great speeds -Easy to set up
  • and takes the very minimum of oversight/knowledge -Firmware is great for people who don't want have to figure things out
Cons: 
  • -5Ghz band is flaky and the 5Ghz radio seems to drop very frequently -No stand for different orientations -Although the stock firmware is easy to use
  • there are very minimal advanced settings
5 years ago

Bought this for my father-in-law. He lives in a ...

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought this for my father-in-law. He lives in a winding farmhouse, with lots of rock and solid walls. This router beat out all the rest to project through his entire house, even into the basement, even outside. The signal is strong, the speed is fast. Nighthawk indeed.
3 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Sitting at the peak of Netgear's consumer router mountain, the Nighthawk R7000 is a high-powered unit that's aimed at gamers and anyone else who wants to supercharge their home network.
Pros: 
  • Stand-out design
  • Excellent short-range speed
  • Useful mobile features
Cons: 
  • Long-range performance wasn't great
7 years ago

Netgear Nighthawk R7000 Router: Australian Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Having good Wi-Fi in your house makes life so much easier. Faster speeds mean you can stream HD video from your PC to TV without tangling cables all over the place. The extra range means you can check emails in your car before you back out of the driveway.
7 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: It worked with me for 3 months on ADSL. It's speed was great. I had my internet upgraded to Fibre 2 days ago. The Router is simply not responding. I phoned for help. It was unfortunate that the Phone Support just expired. 1.
7 years ago

"Amazing"

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: After a lot of research went with the NightHawk – Amazing. When combined with the opensource firmwares from netgears own site, it will handle Vlan tagging and works fantatically with new UFB.
7 years ago

Netgear Nighthawk review: One of the best 802.11ac routers you can buy

★★★★★
Verdict: Netgear was first to market with a new 802.11ac router powered by Broadcom's BCM4709 SoC (system on chip), which is based on a 1GHz, dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 processor. The Netgear R7000 is packed with tasty features, and it delivers exceptionally good performance.
7 years ago

Netgear R7000P

★★★★★
Verdict: Today we're looking at the Nighthawk, one of Netgear's mot recently released routers to feature dual-band 802.11ac connectivity. Looking every bit like a stealth fighter of the same name, it's not something you might expect to see in an office environment.
7 years ago

Huge improvement

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Huge improvement to the ISP supplied equipment....
2 years ago

Great router

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Easy set up and very powerful. Coverage is great. No issues at all.
4 years ago

Ok

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: It's ok. Nasty bulky thing. Setup is ok. UI for settings is very basic
3 years ago

More than doubled my range

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: More than doubled my household range (2.4gig) form old Cisco wireless Lynksys. Stable signal. Good internet interface. Wireless printing now with w/ 3Gig usb port; a savings from having to buy a new AirPrint laser printer! Have not yet attached my HD for photos and music central storage
Pros: 
  • Installs Easily
6 years ago

Huge upgrade and exceptional product

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Fast, easy, simple to configure. I have not set up the backup or the usb network drive yet. but I intend to. I am replacing a failing decent quality N router and changed nothing but the router. My speed went from 10 Mb/s to over 50 and in non peak around 100. I can now stream from my network drives.
5 years ago

Good & Bad

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Pretty easy setup, pretty fast, good range. I thought it was a bit pricey - but not horribly expensive. Died between 5 - 6 weeks. Could be a fluke, but it took time, energy and money to replace and re-setup. That bumped it DOWN to 3-stars rating.
3 years ago

NETGEAR NightHawk R7000 Gigabit Wi-Fi Router Dual-Band & Tri-Stream AC1900, 4 x Gigabit LAN, 1 x Gigabit WAN, 2 x USB, 3 x High Performance Antennas, Beamforming, QoS

★★★★★ 2.5
Verdict: Excellent. A huge step up on my previous, more entry-level, WiFi router. Genie control app is handy for keeping teenager in check. Easy setup. Has been bulletproof so far (after 1 month).
5 years ago

This is the best Wi-Fi router for the price!

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: I replaced my Cisco Linksys WRT610N v2 with this Netgear Nighthwawk router a couple of months ago, and it changed my life. This thing is a ROCK! Outstanding range, jaw-dropping performance and speed, unequalled reliability, at what I consider to be a reasonable price.
6 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X