Netgear Orbi RBK852 AX6000 2pack Reviews

$1,161.09 - $1,549.99 from 8 retailers
★★★★ 3.9
   8 reviews
Manufacturer: Netgear
X
3.9 ★★★★
Based on 8 reviews.
 

Netgear Orbi WiFi RBK852 Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It's impossible to fault the Netgear Orbi WiFi 6 RBK852 for speed and range, with this Wi-Fi 6 mesh system delivering the fastest results we've ever seen. What you gain in performance you lose in features, however: this system lacks the parental controls and security features of the older Orbi system. This, combined with the high price, means the Netgear Orbi WiFi 6 RBK852 is for early adopters – the rest of us are better to sit tight.
Pros: 
  • Exceptionally fast
  • Excellent app
  • Tonnes of Ethernet ports
Cons: 
  • Misses features available in the older system
  • Expensive
1 year ago

Expensive but excellent, full solid house coverage

★★★★★ 5.0
Noting one of the other comments here I need to say I actually found the setup quite easy. Go into the setup pages of your old WiFi router and copy down the settings (I did screen shots then printed them) then turn it off and unplug it. Next with the Orbi phone app, follow the instructions. Plug in the new Orbi to the power, data cable from the ONT, and another from your ethernet switch if you have one. Select "New setup" on the phone app, Orbi tries to connect to WiFi and when it says "checking" go into the phone's WiFi setup, select the Orbi network (name and password on the sticker around the router) and enter the password. Stay with the...view more
9 months ago

Great once you get it working

★★★★ 4.0
It is very expensive and needs to be set up properly to work in NZ. It is not sold by PB Tech with the NZ settings. It was a waste of time to phone netgear after 2 hours on n the phone they suggested me taking it back ti the store to get it repaired. It wasn't faulty. The ap that it comes with is not functional enough to reset it for NZ. In the end I got a IT guru to come over and configure it for us. Once running, it has an enormous range and is reasonably quick, downloads of about 350 -950Mbps and uploads of200-470Mbps, depending on the app less than the 6 Gbps advertised. you could probably get he same results, installed alot easier and...view more
1 year ago

Great system let down by not having Circle Parental controls

★★★★★ 3.0
This is a great system however after purchasing it I discovered that it does not have circle parental control functionalities. Given the high price of the system I rather dismayed at this. Hopefully this may change with future firmware updates.
1 year ago

no 2.4GHz 5Ghz separate SSIDs

★★★★ 1.0
Algorithm sometimes very stupid, all devices connected to a single 5Ghz or 2.4Ghz only while keeping the other one doing nothing but a waste of resources, ONE is very busy, ONE is very lazy, which made wifi 6 the 5Ghz technology cannot do it's utmost, although it could, unfortunately, it's forbidden
1 year ago

A winner!

★★★★★ 5.0
I previously had the Orbi AC3000 mesh system and loved it. I recently tried WiFi 6 with an Asus XT8 but had all sorts of issues so took it back. Then tried a Nighthawk AX12 which was good but didn’t have enough coverage in some parts for my large house. So when the Orbi WiFi 6 was finally released I jumped on it and couldn’t be happier! Full coverage all throughout the house and yards. Getting full gigabit speeds on wired devices and up to 750Mbps wifi speeds on WiFi 6 devices and up to 580Mbps on older AC WiFi devices.
1 year ago

Well worth the investment!

★★★★★ 5.0
I have previously been using an AC3000 system and whilst it has been good, I was starting to suffer from a few dropout/signal issues in a multi-story setup with one satellite. I made the decision tomove up to the AX6000 over the AX4200 based on needing/wanting more LAN ports on both the router and satellites. Overall couldn't be happier. The feel of my WiFi has improved, but also my actual speeds are better and more consistent and no more dropouts. It just feels faster! Whilst not having any WiFi 6 devices yet, great to know it is ready for them.
1 year ago

Performs amazingly but with a catch

★★★★ 4.0
This product does exactly what it sets out to do. Whole house performance for the most part but has a tiny noticeable drop off at the edges of the home however, I think that is my own home so your experience will vary. Where you'll be scratching your head is with its other major feature, the internet security from Bitdefender. For the price tag, you'll only be entitled to a teaser of 30 day trial. You'd expect that they'd provide at least a year of subscription minimum... Just be sure you know exactly what you're getting because this part about the internet security wasn't clear when I made my purchase. All in all, the internet security thing isn't a deal breaker and I'd recommend it to anyone like me who is stuck with what your ISP gave you and is suffering due to poor wifi.
1 year ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X