Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U) Reviews

$28.00 - $93.69 from 2 retailers
Manufacturer: Monster
Expert Reviews: 
 4.2
User Reviews: 
 4.9
 
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate Wii U reviewed

No reviews
Verdict: is a huge franchise in Japan, regularly topping the charts and often selling in the millions. Unfortunately for Capcom, however, something seems to have been lost in translation, and though not without its fans, the series has failed to make much of an impact in the West.
6 years ago
 

This is going to be BIG!

4.4
Verdict: After having a rough time with the demo, I've been pleasantly surprised at how fun and deep this game is. After a few hours of doing basic tasks and getting to know my weapons I am ready for some big hunts, and while I haven't played online yet, I can tell you that this game is going to be a runaway...
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

3.5
Verdict: "Ultimate still manages to provide Wii U owners with a lush world to explore--even if it doesn't take advantage of their console's full potential." "... figuring things out on your own feels liberating, but can also be daunting for beginners.
Pros: Getting into fights with giant monsters, Crafting your own weapons and armor, Seamless online experience
Cons: A high learning curve, Lack of detailed explanations, Clunky controls
6 years ago
 

Bigger, Better, Badder

No reviews
Verdict: The universe must be in harmony, because it seems like players in the West only get a new Monster Hunter when the stars are in perfect alignment. The last one to make it out of Japan was 2010's Monster Hunter Tri , and it's been a long three-year wait for another fix.
Pros: A new Monster Hunter is finally available! It's not a dream
Cons: The game's first few hours are painfully slow
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate review

4.5
Verdict: Nathan Misa is the senior games writer, reviewer and contributor for MMGN.com and GamesFix . He is seriously addicted to MH3U and needs medical assistance. You can hear his ramblings and thoughts here on MMGN, Google+ and Twitter .
Pros: + Combat is engaging and diverse, + Multiplayer hunting, + High customisation & replayability, + Wii U/3DS cross-play
Cons: - Takes a while to get to the new content, - Rough textures and clipping issues, - Camera control on 3DS a bit clunky
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate Review

3.5
Verdict: Monster Hunter is one of those games that everyone has heard about, but have never gotten around to playing. It's been knocking around since 2004 on the Playstation 2 days, before extending to other platforms since then.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U)

4.2
Verdict: The Monster Hunter series has become a veritable phenomenon for Capcom in Japan, and it's easy to see why. It has a lot of those niche, granular elements of classic, quintessentially Japanese action RPGs that you just don't see anymore, particularly because they sadly never caught on in the West.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

4.0
Verdict: Animal slaughter has never been this much fun.
Pros: Cool new features, Deep, rewarding gameplay, Difficult but rewarding, Multiplayer is great fun
Cons: Mostly unimpressive visuals, Online could use some tweaks, Repetitive and less fun when not playing multiplayer, Takes a good chunk of time before getting fun
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate review - Wii U

4.6
Verdict: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is a glorious game, and quite frankly it's the main reason I have a Wii U sitting on my desk right now. As the latest in the Monster Hunter line, it continues to deliver exactly what its fans have come to expect of it: a huge variety of large and challenging monsters to...
Pros: Monster Hunter remains a truly unique series, …And a damn satisfying one to play for those who love challenge, …And with over 40+ huge monsters to hunt, there's plenty of challenge to be had, …Which you can face with 12 weapon classes and dozens of weapons to acquire, …Along with a huge variety of...
Cons: Playing online with friends is a catacomb of bafflement at first, In-game graphics are on the dated side, even if the menus are sharp, The focus on gameplay rather than story may turn off or confuse some players
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

No reviews
Verdict: This is a rare situation. Usually I would slave over my keyboard trying to form a cohesive, and informative critique with the hope of educating the reader as to the quality of whatever game I am reviewing.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

4.2
Verdict: It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see that the Wii U is suffering from a lack of software, but some relief finally arrives in the form of Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate. The catch is that this technically isn't a new game, but rather an expanded HD update to Monster Hunter Tri.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U)

No reviews
Verdict: Back when the 3DS handheld was looking for saviours during the Holiday season of 2011, a certain mustachioed plumber was joined in Japan by Monster Hunter 3 G , an expanded version of the popular Wii title Monster Hunter Tri .
6 years ago
 

Review: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U)

4.5
Verdict: When the original Monster Hunter Tri was released on the Wii in 2010 it was something of a revelation as it was the first proper game in the series to be released globally on a Nintendo console; it also represented many firsts for the series as, according to my in-depth (and kinda heavy) guidebook...
Pros: A wealth of things to do, Gorgeous visuals, Robust online mode, Very addictive gameplay
Cons: Quite a steep learning curve, Some players will have seen most of the game before
6 years ago
 

The Ultimate Hunt

4.5
Verdict: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is the latest entry in Capcom's long running action RPG series. An updated version of Monster Hunter Tri , which originally appeared on the Wii, the game brings the series' unique brand of action to both the 3DS and Wii U.
6 years ago
 

Review: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Nintendo Wii U)

No reviews
Verdict: : All in all. Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is still Monster Hunter , and while most fans would be okay with this all the same, the “Ultimate†subtitle added to this version definitely needs to be emphasized.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

4.1
Verdict: It takes a special kind of gamer to really enjoy this one. Back when the PlayStation 2 ruled the earth, I had become addicted to a little game called Final Fantasy XI. If you can remember (or google), the game was the first true online experience for the PS2 and for the Final Fantasy series.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate Review

4.4
Verdict: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is a good update of a great game that is starting to show its age, but it's still very much worth your time and money. The monsters are stunning, the fights can be incomparably exhilarating, and the 3DS and Wii U connectivity is really impressive – even if the online...
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U)

4.6
Verdict: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for the Wii U is an excellent introduction to the series, easing you into its systems and ensuring that you are well-equipped for the challenges to come. The game's emergent nature provides nearly limitless value, multiplied even further by the online commmunity present on...
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (WiiU)

4.0
Verdict: Diving into Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for the first time was a somewhat daunting experience given the epic proportions and complexity of this enhanced port of Monster Hunter Tri for Wii.
6 years ago
 

Monsters and Blood Abound

4.5
Verdict: Monster Hunter is a series that I was always on the outside looking in. This Capcom classic normally was on PlayStation, and since I was an Xbox guy I could only watch my cousin play it.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3: Ultimate

3.0
Verdict: Monster Hunter 3 is a confusing game. It's a beautiful, fascinating wet dream for people with OCD. It's not without problems though, mainly that it's a weird, chore of a cramped wet dream for people with OCD.
6 years ago
 

Control issues and a lack of online play hamper what's otherwise an outstanding Monster Hunter game.

No reviews
Verdict: Gathering mushrooms. Mining ore. Fishing. Slaying giant dragons made of rock. Whether or not this sounds familiar depends heavily on your experience with the Monster Hunter series thus far.
Pros: Excellent large-scale battles, Huge amount of compelling customization, Monsters are fantastically realized
Cons: No integrated online play, Without the Circle Pad Pro, the underwater camera is atrocious, Controls are awkward
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U) Review

3.5
Verdict: Being the latest kid on the video game block, the Nintendo Wii U needs a solid roster to appeal to potential new owners and one of these big names is Capcom's increasingly popular Monster Hunter series.
6 years ago
 

Ultimately, it is still Monster Hunter...

4.2
Verdict: Capcom's Monster Hunter team seems to be well aware of what their fans want, and with the multitude of improvements found in this remastered edition of MH3, newcomers have a very good reason to hop on the bandwagon and start enjoying this great franchise. It's certainly true in my case.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate Review

4.6
Verdict: Nintendo is publishing the latest Monster Hunter game in Australia, and hopes that 3 Ultimate will draw discerning hard-core gamers to the WiiU and 3DS. Nintendo may yet succeed, as it's a fantastic game.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

4.4
Verdict: Remember the Nintendo Wii U? I do, but only because I've sporadically flipped it on to scan new Skylanders toys into my collection. Other than that, the system has been all but ignored since I finished New Super Mario Bros. Wii U.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

4.5
Verdict: Monster Hunter debuted on the PlayStation 2 in 2004 and we stepped into a game that was larger than life. The series has maintained its classic gameplay over several systems and now we get the ultimate experience with Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate on Nintendo Wii U and Nintendo 3DS.
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate: Wii U

4.0
Verdict: As much as I have wanted to play it since its rise to fame on the PlayStation Portable, I've always had to admire the Monster Hunter series from afar. Entry into Capcom's beast-slaying world requires many, many hours of solid play after all, and life has so far conspired to prevent my wanting...
6 years ago
 

Hours and hours of goodness!

5.0
Verdict: Great looking, great playing, deep action rpg. I just got into this series, and i'm hooked already! Very fun and it will make time fly by without even noticing it. Maybe not for everyone, but i'm diggin' it!
3 years ago
 

Love this game

5.0
Verdict: I love this game lots. I have never had a chance to play a MH before, but I ordered 3 Ulitmate from FS for [...] bucks (a steal!) and won't look back. Not for the casual gamer for sure. I love Daemon and Dark Souls and this game is holding me over nicely until Dark Souls II.
5 years ago
 

This is a must own!

5.0
Verdict: This game is amazing and one of the reasons I bought a Wii U. Every time you fight a monster it's like fighting a boss battle every time. This game has great multiplayer. Team up with 3 other hunters to take on the monsters in all their glory.
5 years ago
 

Excellent game

5.0
Verdict: Graphics - Good, runs in 1080p with smooth framerate but is obviously a full HD version of a last gen game. Gameplay - Hundreds of hours especially if you use different tactics or weapons. There is a huge amount of new items and weapons compared to Tri.
5 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U)

5.0
Verdict: I've had this for about a week or so now. just bought a WiiU same time as the game, Ive played MH since #1 so i know how th game plays and feels. i never got to try thr wii version of tri, but this one as i can tell is so much better. it plays smooth and the online is fabulous.
6 years ago
 

Lots of Depth

5.0
Verdict: This game has an absolute insane amount of things to collect and acquire. To sum it up, it basically has you hunting large monsters to complete quests or hunt for certain crafting materials.
6 years ago
 

A huge game with so much to give

5.0
Verdict: I previously reviewed Monster Hunter Tri, the previous western release before Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate. Having been a monster hunter fanatic for a few years now, I eagerly anticipated this game. Anyone that is familiar with Monster Hunter Tri will find much has changed with this game.
6 years ago
 

"The best Wii U game :)"

5.0
Verdict: I put over 200 hours into Monster Hunter Tri on the Wii and there is still tons of content for a returning player like myself to be found here. An amazing port that should be in every Wii U owners collection :)
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U)

No reviews
Verdict: Best MH game by far! and it's in HD too!
6 years ago
 

Began a true hunter!

4.0
Verdict: Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is the apotheosis of imagination and hunting of imaginary creatures. I play with my friends and the enjoyment it's infinite! You must buy this game and you'll see a wonderful world!
6 years ago
 

HD Monster Hunter Tri

5.0
Verdict: If you have played MH tri on the wii you know what your getting with MH3U its the same set up,the village is the same the quests are the same. The graphics have been brought upto date,they arnt amazing in comparison to other current gen games,but compared to MHT on the wii they are a major...
6 years ago
 

Intense Game

5.0
Verdict: This game is a great game for intense gamers only. If you like laid back easy light hearted games, this game is not for you.
Pros: So challenging and rewarding
Cons: Can get pretty hard
6 years ago
 

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (Wii U)

No reviews
Verdict: Monster Hunter 3 is a huge time waster, in a good way. With hundreds upon thousands of things to hunt, craft, and find in this enjoyable game unlike any other, MH3U is definitely worth paying full price.
5 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X