Intel X25M 80GB Reviews

$360.87 - $382.42 from 2 retailers
★★★★★ 4.5
Manufacturer: Intel
X
4.5 ★★★★★
Based on 51 reviews.
 

Review of Intel X25-M Mainstream (SSDSA2MH080G2R5) SATA Solid-State Drive

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: 2011 seems to be the year that Solid State Drives (SSD) will move into the mainstream. Manufacturers are dropping the prices of this technology to help integrate them into more user systems.
Pros: 
  • +Fast
  • +Low power consumption
  • +Works with both laptop and desktops
  • +Includes 3.5" adapter
  • +Brings new life to older laptops/desktops
  • +Built in TRIM support
  • +Works with Intel SSD toolbox
  • +Three-year warranty
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Lacks firmware level garbage collection
11 years ago

Intel X25-M G2 80GB Solid State Drive (SSD) Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Intel has been dominating the performance CPU market since the release of its Core 2 Duo chips several years ago, but there's another sector of the market the firm has also been quietly attempting to conquer; Solid State Storage. Intel's......
Pros: 
  • - Solid construction
  • - Great read performance
  • - Strong random write speed
  • - Affordable
Cons: 
  • - Price compared to HDDs high
  • - SandForce options faster in real world tests
12 years ago

Intel X25-M SSD Review (160GB)

★★★★★
Verdict: If this review has showed us one thing, it is that fast sequential transfer speeds aren't important in the whole scheme of things. Out of the four SSDs we tested the Intel X25-M had the slowest sequential write speeds by far.
Pros: 
  • Super fast random 4K write performance
  • Super fast I/O performance
  • Doesn't cost an arm and a leg
Cons: 
  • Intel SSD Toolbox is currently Windows-only
11 years ago

Intel X25-M G2

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Last fall, Intel turned the solid state storage world upside down when it released the ground-breaking X25-M, the first drive to offer a combination of fast read and write speeds while using lower-cost multi-level cell (MLC) NAND Flash memory.
Pros: 
  • Blazing fast application open times
  • Low cost per gigabyte
Cons: 
  • Expensive overall
  • Modest write performance
12 years ago

Intel X-25M 160GB MLC SSD

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Last fall, Intel slapped the solid state drive market on the back of the head with the release of the 80GB X25-M MLC drive. That drive absolutely trounced the competition with its 200MB/s read speeds, incredibly low random-access times, and best of all, no random-write stuttering or cache overflows.
Pros: 
  • Blazing-fast reads and random writes
  • decent capacity.
Cons: 
  • Can't keep up in sustained writes
12 years ago

Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Intel Ups The Ante

★★★★★
Verdict: There's an old cliche' that certainly applies to commodity semiconductor and electronics technology, as well as many other competitive arenas; "go big or go home".  If you look at major semiconductor manufacturers, like Intel, AMD, Samsung and NVIDIA, you'll notice that they generally do not enter a
Pros: 
  • Fastest 225MB/s average reads
  • Blazing fast <1ms random access
  • Fastest real-world write performance we've seen to date
  • Generally 2 - 3X faster than other MLC-based SSDs
  • 3-year warranty
Cons: 
  • Expensive versus other MLC SSD drives
  • Much more expensive versus standard hard drives
  • Max 80GB density currently
13 years ago

Intel X25-M SSD Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Let us summarise the most important positive and negative points below: The main positive points: The Intel X25-M series drives are good in fact, extremely good. Reading access times are lightning fast and applications load in an instant, making the Intel X25-M series of drives ideal as the...
Pros: 
  • Silky smooth operation as a system drive and completely stable
  • Excellent reading performance
  • Outstanding 4K random I/O performance
  • Excellent multitasking potential
  • Lightning fast access times
  • Completely silent operation
  • Fast operating system start-up and shutdown times
  • Fast application
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Slow sequential writing speed
12 years ago

Intel X25M 80GB

★★★★★
Verdict: We also tried copying a test 1GB file, and the time it took to copy the file went from taking 58 seconds with the original Hitachi hard drive, to 11 seconds with the Intel X-25M. SSD drives are more famous for their great read speeds, but in this case, X-25M's write speeds was a massive improvement...
Pros: 
  • Super fast read speeds
  • recent price drop makes it a more feasible purchase
Cons: 
  • Like with other SSDs
  • you get less capacity for the money
12 years ago

Intel X25M 80GB

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: Until Marvell and SandForce released their first solid state drives Intel had a performance lead on all of their competitors. Unfortunately in our testing we found the 80GB Postville SSD lacked capacity and at the time the 160GB version cost substantially more than most consumers were willing to...
11 years ago

Intel X25-M solid-state drive firmware update

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Intel has updated the firmware for its four models of mainstream solid-state drives, the 80GB and 160GB 1.8in X18-M and 2.5in X25-M.
11 years ago

Intel X-25M solid-state drive (80GB)

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Intel's X-25M solid-state drive enjoys several advantages over both conventional disk drives and other SSDs, including improvements to data throughput, boot time and notebook battery life. If you can forget about the cost, this is by far the fastest data drive available.
Pros: 
  • Fast transfer speed
  • Low power consumption
  • Shorter boot times
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • High cost per gigabyte
13 years ago

Intel X25-M 80GB SSD

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: . With its expertise in all manner of integrated circuit design and its massive fabrication capability, if anyone could turn these much hailed mass storage devices from an expensive niche product into a truly mainstream commodity then Intel was it.
11 years ago

Intel X25M 80GB

★★★★★
Verdict: This is hardly the first time that we're meeting Huawei products for the pages of our website, but these were mostly manufactured by other companies and merely signed by Huawei. After the Ideos 7 Slim... We first saw the famed iPad back in 2010, when it debuted at Apple retail stores.
12 years ago

Intel X18-M and Intel X25-M review

★★★★★
Verdict: The Intel X18-M and Intel X25-M drives live up to the promise of solid-state drive's advantages over traditional, magnetic disk-based media.
13 years ago

Intel X25-M, beats HDD on all levels except price

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Incredibly fast and silent, too, but solid-state is still far too expensive for the mainstream.
12 years ago

Intel X25M 80GB

★★★★★
Verdict: Supplier: Intel Brand: Intel Website: www.intel.com RRP: R6,999.00 Review By: Neo Sibeko | NAG Magazine (January 2009) IT WOULD BE UNTRUE to say that Intel's X25-M SSD was a surprise when released, but we can say it was unexpected.
13 years ago

Intel X25-M SSD Review and Giveaway: Vroom Vroom Fast

★★★★★
Verdict: Replacing your traditional hard drive with an SSD, or solid state drive, is one of the latest ways to bring speed to your system allowing you to get into Windows faster, and thus get to work quicker.
Pros: 
  • Noticeable Speed Improvements
  • TRIM Support
  • Ease of installation
Cons: 
  • Size requires sacrifices for storage
11 years ago

Review Intel X-25M SSD 80 GB

★★★★★
Verdict: The Intel SSC X25-M 80 GB is superior to a normal hard disk in almost every field , but especially the secondary advantages like low energy needs, complete absence of noise and vibration, low weight and impact insensitivity makes the Intel SSD to an perfect choice for fans.
13 years ago

Great Upgrade

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: Very cost effective way to improve the speed of my PC. This drive is used for the operating system only while other programs are installed on another drive. With the new drive, Win7 starts up in about a third of what it used to! Very happy with this drive.
9 years ago

Excellent SSD even with the high cost

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: If your considering a SSD drive and can live with 80GB then this is the drive to buy! You will not be disappointed with this drives performance. Like moving from dial up to broadband you won't go back to traditional hard drives once you take this this drive for a spin.
Pros: 
  • Excellent read and write
Cons: 
  • none
12 years ago

Excellent drive, fast

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: No issues with install, fast, great product.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Install
  • Fast
  • Quiet
  • Reliable
11 years ago

Probably worth the money, but saving for later releases would be suggested

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This product by Intel is extremely good. While the price is a little high for the amount of storage that you get, you must keep in mind that this is a Solid State Drive. That means there are no moving parts in this drive, similar to flash storage in new phones and ipod touchs.
10 years ago

Intel X25M 80GB

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: This opinion is perhaps more generally for SSD drives than just this intel disk. Will never be able to go back to a mechanical back into the laptop. + Quiet (Completely silent!) + Selection + Fast + Shock Resistant + Energy efficient Can not set the price as less as it is easily worth it.
11 years ago

Intel X25 80GB Solid-State Drive Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Intel ships one of the fastest storage devices we've ever seen, but it costs a pretty penny. You know you want one.
Pros: 
  • Very fast read speeds
  • exceptional write performance for an SSD
  • almost no heat
  • silent
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • write performance in some apps still inferior to fast rotating storage
13 years ago

Intel 160GB X25-M SSD

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Verdict Although performance hasn't increased exponentially, Intel's second generation SSDs offer far better value for money and better reliability.
12 years ago

Lightning Fast

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: My wife has what would have been referred to as a high end laptop 3 1/2 years ago that was coming due for replacement. We opted to replace the hardrive with this intel ssd instead. It's now lightning fast. boots up to full ready in under 40 seconds, program open in a blink.
Pros: 
  • Super fast upgrade for our PC
Cons: 
  • still relatively expensive
9 years ago

Quite possibly the best investment you can make in your PC

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Typically, a mechanical moving parts hard drive is the greatest bottle neck in a high performance PC, due to the fact that these moving drives just cant read and write data fast enough to keep up with the rest of the system.
Pros: 
  • Awesome read/write times
  • superb reliability since there are no moving parts to break down
Cons: 
  • High cost per gigabyte
  • but still so worth it
10 years ago

Intel X-25M solid-state drive (80GB) Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Intel's X-25M solid-state hard drive represents a major leap forward for the solid-state drive category. While we've heard about the benefits of solid-state hard drives for years–faster access and boot times, improved battery life–Intel's drive raises expectations for the category as a whole.
11 years ago

To SSD or not ? How Intel X25-M Solid State Drive performs in a HTPC

★★★★★
Verdict: I use my HTPC every day to watch movies, but I don't like to wait until it boots. To be honest, it was never that slow to boot, I have a AMD Phenom II X4 Deneb at 3.0Ghz on a Asus M4A785-M motherboard, and the system is pretty nimble as it is.
12 years ago

Review Horizon

Intel X25M 80GB

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I decided to by a solid state drive to improve the speed of my computer. I had already done the standard upgrades such as RAM and graphics card but sometimes the computer could still lag behind.
Pros: 
  • So fast
  • no noise
  • very little heat
  • great performance
Cons: 
  • Requires an adapter to install into desktops as it is 2
  • 5" instead of 3 .
9 years ago

Intel 80GB SSD (X25-M MLC)

★★★★★
Verdict: Intel's 80GB SSD (X25-M MLC) is one of the fastest hard drives in existence. We ran a battery of tests against it, drove it for a month, and we're ready to show you the future.
13 years ago

Intel X25-M, round 2 : 10 SSDs compared

★★★★★
Verdict: The new X25-M firmware allows the Intel SSD to put the problem we picked up on last year behind it, namely the lack of stability of performances with varying loads. What Intel originally described us as "expected behaviour" has in fact been reviewed and in the end recognised as a problem that needed...
12 years ago

Intel X25-M SSD Review (12)

★★★★★
Verdict: Intel NL was kind enough to send us their "mainstream" solid state drive for review, the MLC based 80GB X25-M series. The X25-M series of drives have a 2.5 inch form factor, SATA2 connection and SATA power connector.
Pros: 
  • Silky smooth operation as a system drive and completely stable
  • Excellent reading performance
  • Outstanding 4K random I/O performance
  • Excellent multitasking potential
  • Lightning fast access times
  • Completely silent operation
  • Fast operating system start-up and shutdown times
  • Fast application...
Cons: 
  • Expensive
  • Slow sequential writing speed
8 years ago

Intel X25-M 160 GB

★★★★★
Verdict: Not yet reviewed by editors.
12 years ago

Great Hard Drive!! Can't go wrong!!

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • Bought one then two
  • Durable
  • High Quality
13 years ago

Extremely Fast

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This SSD from Intel (Generation 2 i.e. G2) works with XP as Intel in G2 now provides a TRIM function for XP which you must set to run on a daily schedule, so that the SSD remains fast. Otherwise it does not keep running fast.
11 years ago

[Review + Contest] Intel Solid-State Experience: A look at X25-M's

★★★★★
Verdict: Pages: 1 2 3 4
11 years ago

Intel X25-M SATA 80GB MLC SSD

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: Most computer enthusiasts will acknowledge the fact that one of the biggest deterrents to a truly blazing rig is the bottleneck created by the traditional storage devices of the day.
Pros: 
  • Phenomenal linear read speed of 243.5 MBps
  • Extremely swift 0.09 ms response time
  • Low power consumption may reduce data center energy costs
  • Resistant to extreme shock impact
  • Up to 80 GB of SSD capacity
  • 5-Year Intel product warranty
Cons: 
  • $6.25 per gigabyte of MLC SSD storage space
  • Poor linear write speed in comparison to the competition
13 years ago

Intel X25-M 'G2' TRIM Enabled Firmware and SSD Toolbox Review

★★★★★
Verdict: (26OCT2009) After this firmware went live, some users were reporting their G2 becoming unresponsive after updating. What is odd is the first boot after the update worked fine for many, but after a reboot their drive became unresponsive. Intel is following the reports and is on the case.
12 years ago

Intel's second-generation X25-M solid-state drive

★★★★★
Verdict: Intel has updated its X25-M SSDs with new 34nm flash chips, tweaks to reduce latency and speed random write performance, much lower prices, and the...
12 years ago

Review: Intel X25-M 80GB SSD

★★★★★
Verdict: It has almost been a year since I wrote about the future of computing and how I thought that it was all about Solid State Drives (this was before I became infatuated with the cloud ). Well I finally got my hands on one.
13 years ago

Quick Little Drive

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought this drive to run Win7 Ultimate. Has been running well for the last year. Bootup on the EVGA board is a bit slow (has nothing to do with the hard drive) but once you're past post this thing zips.
Pros: 
  • Fast - Small - Comes with 5.25" Adapter Plate
Cons: 
  • - None
10 years ago

Nice & durable product.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Arrived in good shape. Working fine, looks durable & sturdy, really stealing price.
4 years ago

Intel X25-M

★★★★★
Verdict: Intel's offering has simply fallen behind the rivals
Pros: 
  • Improved performance with recent firmware update
Cons: 
  • Overall performance still behind other SSDs
12 years ago

my best bye

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: what can say about perfection i ordered late afternoon by 8 the following morning i installed new operating system ran first time and no problems since thank you
11 years ago

Intel X25-M G2 120GB

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: wow this game is amazing i only play this in the pc og my cousin now i want to play it cause it is very cool
11 years ago

Intel X-25M 80GB SSD Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Intel X-25M 80GB SSD Review Manufacture Page: Intel® Mainstream SATA Solid State Drives Part Number: SSDSA2MH080G1C5 TechWiki Info: Intel X-25M SSD Price: Click Here to Compare Prices Warranty : 3 year It certainly has been a while since we last looked at the state of Solid State drives, but this...
12 years ago

Intel X25-M SSDSA2MH080G2K5 2.5" MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Quickly, Quiet, light weight to the point that I thought I received a hollow shell. None. Initial time employing a solid state drive. Rebooting is really rapid, installations take mere seconds, there's a fluidity to the complete knowledge that you just can't get with a HDD.
9 years ago

Intel X-25M solid-state drive (80GB)

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: Intel's X-25M solid-state drive enjoys several advantages over both conventional disk drives and other SSDs, including improvements to data throughput, boot time and notebook battery life. If you can forget about the cost, this is by far the fastest data drive available.
Pros: 
  • Fast transfer speed
  • Low power consumption
  • Shorter boot times
Cons: 
  • Expensive
13 years ago

Intel X25-M Reloaded: Generation 2 Cometh (Updated!)

★★★★★
Verdict: You know how the Intel X25-M rocked the SSD world last year, but as with all things related to tech, it's time for an update. After months of delays, we finally have the second generation Intel X25-M drives flooding the retail channel with their 34nm flash memory technology. The end result
12 years ago
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X