Final Fantasy XV Day One Edition (PS4) Reviews

$35.99 from First Games
★★★★ 4.1
Manufacturer: Final
X
4.1 ★★★★
Based on 33 reviews.
 

Final Fantasy XV (for PlayStation 4)

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: The open-world design of the first half of the game, with its myriad quests and details, shines brilliantly and hearkens back Final Fantasy's golden days. However, the linear second half lacks the optional content that makes the first part genuinely fun to play through.
Pros: 
  • A large open-world environment that's filled with iconic monsters to hunt and quests to undertake
  • Excellent soundtrack, visuals, and attention to detail
  • Simple, but enjoyable, combat system
Cons: 
  • Sloppy, poorly paced story
  • Horrible camera work
  • Linear second half and bizarre gameplay changes make finishing the game a chore
4 years ago

Be a good Big Brother.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: George Orwell, the author of Animal Farm and Nineteen Eighty-Four, is the sort of writer whose work is unlikely to ever feel irrelevant or unimportant. Although his writing is only explicitly mentioned a few times in Orwell, the game questions modern surveillance techniques and the security of...
Pros: 
  • Convincing characters and plot
  • Thrilling "aha" moments
  • Impactful choices and discoveries
  • Your job hits the right note between feeling important and hugely invasive
Cons: 
  • Some rules feel arbitrary
  • A few glitches and crashes require rebooting the game
  • Text logs of phone conversations feel unnatural
5 years ago

Final Fantasy XV Review

★★★★★
Verdict: There are some games that seem like they may never come out and Final Fantasy Versus XIII was one of those games. First announced back in 2006, the game st
Pros: 
  • Enjoyable story
  • Brotherhood between leads feels natural
  • Enthralling combat
  • Open world from start
Cons: 
  • Awkward battle camera
  • Limited driving
5 years ago

Final Fantasy XV Day One Edition (PS4)

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: "Simply put, it's a must-have for fans of the series, as well as for those who are looking to get into the franchise for the first time." © 2016 Square Enix Inc, Square Enix. All rights reserved.
Pros: 
  • Gorgeous graphics
  • a beautiful score
  • fluid and fun combat system
  • fantastic main characters
  • and stellar performances (particularly that of Ray Chase
Cons: 
  • Not much character development outside of the main party
  • underutilized villain
  • technical hiccups
  • repetitive side quests
  • and a boring first act
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV Review

★★★★ 4.1
Verdict: When I'm riding chocobos across the beach at dusk with my three friends and hunting iconic Final Fantasy monsters in a huge, picturesque open world, feels like nearly everything I could want from a modern Final Fantasy.
5 years ago

Final Fantasy XV (PlayStation 4) Review

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: It's been a hard road for the old-school Final Fantasy fans out there, with the series filled with delays, disappointments, broken promises and… a lot of Lightning. Despite all of these problems, there has been the promise of a better tomorrow constantly ahead, as Kingdom Hearts III , Final Fantasy...
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV is a Stunning Success

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Hey all. I'm pleased to bring you all the review for a game ten years in the making, something I was not going to do because I never actually received a review copy of the game. However because of how long this game has been in development and my thoughts on it, I'll give Square Enix a pass.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV [PS4] review: Is it worth the wait?

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This game might have minor flaws (such as an occasionally unpolished UI and bad camera angles), and at times the voice-actors didn't display the emotion needed for certain scenes. In the end, new and old fans of the franchise will enjoy it anyway.
4 years ago

PS4 Review: Final Fantasy XV

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: The long wait has definitely paid off. Final Fantasy XV is right up there along the JRPG greats and earns it's own place as one of the few games that have spent years in development hell and turned out to be amazing. Most that have haven't had that luck…
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Throughout Final Fantasy XV , seams are sometimes exposed that reveal the game that was promised to us by Square Enix in seven years' worth of trailers: a chaotic, overambitious mess of fantasy tropes, draped in modern fashion sensibilities, closer in form and function to its non-MMO predecessors in...
4 years ago

Great Game!

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: This game has many interesting additions to it. I thought the car aspect was a cool and interesting part of the story. The battle design is fun and fast paced, and supplies great graphics to boot! The game has so many things to uncover, and side missions to do. OH!
4 years ago

Do not buy this game if you already own the original!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: If you are expecting this game to come with all of the dlc and all of the updates right on the disc, I'm afraid you will be disappointed. You have to download everything from all of the updates to the dlc, a whopping 50gb+.
3 years ago

Birthday Present

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I got this for my fiancé for his birthday. He has wanted this game since last year, but with the coupons and rewards, it made it affordable. Can't wait to see his face when I give this to him.
4 years ago

Awesome

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Gift for my son at Christmas and he loves it.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: [As Originally Written on SNo2 .] At first I ignorantly told myself that I would not do a review for Final Fantasy XV because it was simply too big of a game and by the time I'd probably seen enough, my review would be all but obsolete and unnecessary.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV Day One Edition (PS4)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It's not my first Final Fantasy, but man I've gotta say, it's loads of fun, from gameplay to characters, you'll find yourself enjoy a great journey. Even if you're not familiar with FF series, this game is still amazing as a standalone game! no previous knowledge required, just enjoy it.
4 years ago

Game Review: Final Fantasy XV

★★★★ 4.4
Verdict: To say audiences have been waiting a while for Final Fantasy XV would be an understatement. Originally not a numbered entry in the Final Fantasy series, the game has seen many changes over the years. At times this shows in the finished article.
Pros: 
  • Looks lovely
  • Fun combat
  • Team chemistry is great
  • Lots to do
  • Some of the best dungeons in a Final Fantasy
  • Lovable cast of characters
Cons: 
  • Story isn't explained as clearly as it could be
  • Some weak chapters
  • The troubled development shows at times
  • Some odd glitches
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It has been ten years since we were at E3 2006 and Square Enix announced Final Fantasy XIII Versus, and since then it has been a roller-coaster back and forth between hope and despair.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy 15 review

★★★★★
Verdict: This troubled history is one of the reasons Final Fantasy 15 is so difficult to pin down. For a series universally known and loved for its emphasis on storytelling, can I recommend a Final Fantasy game despite its unsatisfying story?
5 years ago

"The latest hit in a lineage to rival the Yamato Dynasty"

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Final Fantasy XV: Day One Edition (PS4) Context Being a gamer brings with a curious sense of notions about what you're character and temperament might be. Elder generations tend to think people such as myself hide away in their bedroom and stare at computer screens for 18 hours of the day without...
Pros: 
  • Gorgeous graphics
  • intuitive gameplay
  • charming and well developed character interactions
Cons: 
  • Shaky and stretched plot
  • relatively low longevity
  • seeming reliance on DLC
4 years ago

A seriously addictive game.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: There is simply so much to do in this! I don't even know where to start. It's a really good game, the graphics are beautiful and the storyline is well thought out.
4 years ago

Perfect

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought this game a week ago and it's honestly one of the best games I have played in a long time. Final Fantasy XV is perfect to current fans and for brand new players to the franchise to quickly get a hold of the ropes
4 years ago

Final fantas- meh

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The graphics in the game are amazing, as are the music and the first half of the story. I honestly feel like the story was incredibly rushed towards the end and it totally detracted from the overall game.
3 years ago

Amazing RPG

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Final Fantasy is an amazing RPG. Noctis the Crown Prince of the Kingdom of Lucis embarks on an epic journey with his best friends through a world of larger-than-life to seek his fortune.
4 years ago

Great game!

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Great game. Awesome graphics and game play. Shipping was super fast.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV Review – Fun For Everyone

★★★★★
Verdict: Final Fantasy XV represents a bold change of direction for the iconic, longevous franchise. Booting up Final Fantasy XV, the screen simply reads "a Final Fantasy for Fans and First-Timers".
5 years ago

Final Fantasy XV review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Baz hits the road in Final Fantasy XV, the long, long-awaited next core entry in the revered series.
Pros: 
  • The group's dynamic is great
  • As always, FF's world design is top notch
  • Beautiful scenery
  • Link attacks are satisfying
Cons: 
  • The English voice performances are dire
  • It relies on external media to tell its story
  • UI issues
  • Boring side quests
  • Combat instability
5 years ago

"[spoiler] willing to wait another decade for a better story"

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: [spoiler alert] finished it today, halfway thru the game the story changed in a drastic way and it wasn't even a final fantasy game anymore it felt very different. the last half simply felt – uncoordinated, unexplained properly, rushed, randomised sequences of events happening.
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV Day One Edition (PS4)

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: It all starts on the road with a broken down car. A group of four friends on the way to a wedding are now stranded in the outback after living in the massive city of Insomnia. It is from these humble beginnings that our adventure unfolds, a prince without money forced to now work for his dinner.
Pros: 
  • Amazing graphics | Impressive dungeons | Tragic
  • heartfelt story
Cons: 
  • Cindy | Not being able to choose your summon | Interact and jump on same button | Long load times
4 years ago

Final Fantasy XV

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: While it occasionally buckles under its own ambition and the game falters somewhat as the plot ramps up, overall 'Final Fantasy XV' is a beautiful, exciting game that I dearly loved.
4 years ago

D I love the new battle system- use wait mode

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Finally finished the game after 90+ hours of gameplay :D I love the new battle system- use wait mode. Trust me the game will have more of a strategic play rather than mashing all the buttons. I haven't played the DLC content, hopefully, it adds more story to the missing parts in the main story line.
4 years ago

Ff15

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Honestly love this game and haven't had this much fun on a final fantasy game since 7. Only problem is the very linear story from chapter 13 but don't let that dissuade you. The combat is fun and the side quests are pretty cool as well
4 years ago

PS4 Review - 'Final Fantasy XV'

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: In Final Fantasy XV, previously known as Final Fantasy Versus XIII, the armed forces of Niflheim launch a devastating assault upon the Kingdom of Lucis, casting Crown Prince Noctis and his comrades out of their homes and into the fray.
5 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X